Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How do you rate this?
It is difficult if not impossible to rate a movie like this. On a pure movie-making standpoint this movie achieves negative stars, so many negative stars. It has to. Otherwise giving it even one star would create a wickedly skewed curve in all of movie-creation that makes the worst of the very worst movies you have ever seen Five-Star movies. Yes. This movie is so...
Published on February 23, 2011 by Brian Straight

versus
36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So awful, and yet so wonderful in its awfulness.
Birdemic: Shock and Terror (James Nguyen, 2008)

I have seen many, many bad movies over the years. Many. Hundreds, perhaps thousands. And of those, there are a select few that are so indomitably awful that they transcend bad and achieve a sort of awful greatness, a train wreck effect that compels you to watch the movie over and over again, trying to make sense...
Published on May 12, 2010 by Robert Beveridge


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How do you rate this?, February 23, 2011
By 
Brian Straight (Olathe, KS United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Birdemic: Shock and Terror [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It is difficult if not impossible to rate a movie like this. On a pure movie-making standpoint this movie achieves negative stars, so many negative stars. It has to. Otherwise giving it even one star would create a wickedly skewed curve in all of movie-creation that makes the worst of the very worst movies you have ever seen Five-Star movies. Yes. This movie is so terrible that it makes EVERY MOVIE EVER MADE a five-star movie. The Room, through Plan Nine, up to Inception on through Citizen Cane and Casablanca. Every. One. Of them. Now five-star movies.

The plot? What plot? The text message you just got from your 12-year-old child composed in net-speak has more of a plot than this thing. Basically we have a hero, a heroine, some secondary characters and stuff happening and, oh yeah, some eagles have achieved single-positional, non propulsive, flight and are being generally annoying and sort-of lethal to the population of Somewhere, California. Our heroes are some lame ad-guy who is a millionaire but takes his love interests on dates in the locally-owned Mexican restaurants our heroine is a pretty young model talent who gets her pictures taken in the strip-mall photo shop and has, somehow, become the cover model for direct-mail catalogs for Victoria's Secret. The two meet completely by chance and creepy stalker-like behavior and are so turned-off by life they decide to go out on a couple of dates before rubbing uglies in an hourly-rate motel by the interstate. Remember, our lead male recently became a millionaire from business dealings and our lead female is a cover model for a major lingerie chain, it's at about this point the birds of the world turn into "CGI" sprites and begin "attacking" people at random. And by "attack" I mean they hover around them, squawk like seagulls and are capable of expelling an acidic venom although they do this only once. Random things happen, random vehicles pull in and out of parking places and then things just stop. It makes "The Happening" look well thought-out and executed.

The audio is very jumpy (movie's fault not the disc's) as in one shot the actor's voice is mostly audible and in the next shot the actor's voice is drowned out by background noise, the whole movie was also apparently shot on that VHS Camcorder that's been hiding in your parent's attic for the last 15 years, the "CGI" is done on the 400MHz computer sitting next to it and somehow looks less like a bird than the sprites in "Duck Hunt" did on the Nintendo, heck, the animals on your Farmville plot look more realistic. Dialogue is muddied by actors who weren't taught to annunciate and by a production so broke apparently no second takes occurred causing much of the dialogue to seem like the final take of a scene was also the dress rehearsal for the scene.

So, you may be wondering why I find it hard to rate this movie it's obviously terrible.

Well.... It's so terrible you simply have to see it. It'll shock and confuse you on how this production was financed, produced and distributed. Money has been invested in this thing. And it's absolutely terrible. You have to see it to believe it, do it with some friends, some drinks and some coat hangers (you'll find out). So on a movie level it's no-stars. On an entertainment value? Five stars. Seriously, you'll laugh at how bad this movie is and remember making a better movie for your 9th-Grade Mass Media class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So awful, and yet so wonderful in its awfulness., May 12, 2010
This review is from: BIRDEMIC - Shock and Terror (DVD)
Birdemic: Shock and Terror (James Nguyen, 2008)

I have seen many, many bad movies over the years. Many. Hundreds, perhaps thousands. And of those, there are a select few that are so indomitably awful that they transcend bad and achieve a sort of awful greatness, a train wreck effect that compels you to watch the movie over and over again, trying to make sense of it. Night of the Lepus. Beware! The Blob!. Shriek of the Mutilated. I'm sure you can come up with another dozen of your favorites. Add to that list the second half of Birdemic: Shock and Terror. I mean, when people rush into your convenience store and scream "the eagles killed my friends!", and you've been hearing reports about killer eagles on the radio all day, wouldn't you think your first reaction would be to go to the front door and remove the prop holding it open? But no, folks. That's the kind of genius that was involved in putting this mess together.

The first half of this abyss of stupidity is actually a romance, not a horror flick. Rod (Alan Bagh in, thankfully, his only screen role) is a software salesman who runs into a high school classmate, Nathalie (Student of Virginity's Whitney Moore), who's become a fashion model, by chance in a diner. After a painfully awkward meeting scene that encompasses everything one shouldn't do in a meeting scene, they begin dating, etc., etc. There are a couple of foreshadowing moments that something will go wrong (and as soon as you hit the first one, you'll know you're trapped in yet another horrendous ecohorror movie with a MESSAGE), but for the most part, it's played as a straight drama/romance. Fifty minutes into the movie, however, it switches direction into ecohorror. The opening piece of this half of the movie is so badly done that I defy anyone to see it without laughing in near-hysterical disbelief. It is at this point that the movie transcends is horrible beginnings and becomes worthy of sticking on your short shelf of movies so truly awful that you can't help but love them. I've seen CGI this bad in a handful of Sci-Fi Channel Original Movies, but I've never seen any worse. The acting is horrible (as it was in the first half), but more notably, the actions taken by the characters are invariably idiotic. (The not-closing-the-door thing in the opening paragraph? Tip of the iceberg, baby.) And when you get to the final scene, please resist the urge to throw things at the television. You don't want to break your screen.

Like all movies that find themselves on the list, it lacks any redeeming qualities whatsoever. If you are not appreciative of cheesy movies, do yourself a favor and stay far, far away from this one. If, however, you can appreciate the demented (sub-mental?) genius involved in the crafting of such braindead classics as Kingdom of the Spiders, then this is one you need to see. Stick it out through the first forty-five minutes, though, and you will be amply rewarded. ˝
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ed Wood, Jr., move over, February 25, 2011
By 
This review is from: Birdemic: Shock And Terror (DVD)
This film might quite possibly be the ne plus ultra of bad filmmaking, Ed Wood, Jr. notwithstanding. And I almost missed it. The first scene, a thoroughly quotidian scene in which the film's dashing young hero enters a restaurant and is shown to a booth, was so bad that I nearly stopped the movie after that single minute. But something, perhaps that apparently inborn trait that draws us, like moths to bug zappers, to the grotesque in life--traffic accidents, open wounds, Lindsay Lohan--or maybe just the laziness that comes with a Y chromosome and keeps me from extending the energy to push the remote, made me keep watching. And to think what I would have missed!

Birdemic is astonishingly inept. The coverage, for instance, during any of the conversations in the film is embarrassingly bad with the result that there are unnatural pauses interspersed throughout any conversation (the flaw that nearly prevented me from watching the film). Or perhaps it's the editing that truly sucks. A few shots should have ended long before they actually did. At any rate, the film moves along ineptly for a good 15 or 20 minutes until it achieves its true glory, something hinted at in a few scenes but never fully realized until the middle of the film. I'm talking about the special effects.

There is a scene early in the film in which the aforementioned dashing hero and the fetching heroine are on a date. Those who have seen the date montage for Leslie Nielsen and Priscilla Presley from, I think, the first Naked Gun film will understand the true beauty of this scene. The young soon-to-be lovers pause to admire three birds hovering near a tree. The problem is that the birds look less real than the atomic octopus sans motor in Ed Wood's Bride of the Monster. Technology has given us amazing CGI, but true auteurs, like James Nguyen, whose mess Birdemic is, have an ineptitude that transcends the march of progress. So we find out when the birds attack.

For those who are not familiar with avian martial strategy, it is, I gather much the same the world over. The birds make sounds like WWII airplanes and then dive bomb their targets. Upon reaching these targets, they explode. Bird boom pow. At this point in the film, I was a bit confused. I had not known that birds explode, but later, a scientist appears a la War Games's Falken (albeit without the fun video) and explains that global warming is to blame and that, apparently, one of the well-known effects of the death of krill in the oceans is exploding birds. I may have missed some of the technical points of this tendentious character's bloviating, but I think I got the gist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BEST JUSTIFICATION FOR A "NO STARS" OPTION PLEASE!, August 7, 2011
By 
This review is from: Birdemic: Shock And Terror (DVD)
As most reviewers have unanimously agreed, This is the "best" worst movie ever made. I just think it's THE worst movie ever made! Granted, I howled in sheer disbelief at the hilariously awful bird effects, but that certainly isn't meant to be complimentary. Writer/director (?) James Nguyen may have been a precocious child running around making home movies with his family but he evidently suffers from Peter Pan syndrome and has never grown up.
There are no redeeming qualities and its undeserved cult status has prompted an upcoming sequel called BIRDEMIC - THE RESURRECTION and Alan Bagh is reprising his role as Rod. If Bagh isn't the worst actor in cinematic history, I don't know who is. I won't go into the other horrible "actors", the absence of sound editing, the pompous global warming warning. The birds sum it up---unless you want to experience the most embarrasing 90 minutes in the anals (oops..annals) of movie history, AVOID.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Birdemic=shock and terror?, May 2, 2012
This review is from: Birdemic: Shock And Terror (DVD)
I love really bad movies. Troll 2, Thankskilling, Broken Springs...terrible horror movies are kind of my forte. When I saw the trailer for Birdemic on Netflix (and that it received 3 stars) I thought it looked perfect.

Unfortunately, Birdemic is not a movie that is so bad it's funny. It's a movie that is so bad it is way past the point of being funny. It's really just sad. The first third of the movie is backstory on the characters and is painfully boring; the acting is some of the worst I have ever seen; the "story" makes no sense at all; and the editing might be the worst editing any movie has had ever, in the whole history of filmmaking.

God, this movie is bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the right kind of bad..., August 28, 2012
By 
This review is from: Birdemic: Shock And Terror (DVD)
Holy crap...

For the interest of full disclosure, I didn't actually buy this product from Amazon. I watched Birdemic on YouTube where it is completely free for anyone willing to put up 90 minutes of their time that they will never ever get back.

To start, I feel like I should point out that I'm very seasoned in the world of "bad movies." I own the Ed Wood Box, Starcrash, Troll 2, Konga, Dragon Wars, and every MST3k DVD box set except the unbelievably expensive vol 9. I heartily enjoy movies that are so bad they're entertaining. "Birdemic" is not one of those movies.

It can basically be split into two parts:

Part 1: Rod is a software salesman, Natalie is a model. They meet in a restaurant, talk, date, then fall in love. This takes 47 minutes. If you're wondering how this could possibly take the better part of an hour, please be informed that you will see tons of scenes of people parking cars, walking in and out of houses, and Natalie having unbelievably awkward conversations with her planet-sized mom. You will see Rod succeed at his job, in a way that is filmed as though it were a cutscene from a PS1 videogame. You will also see a handful of Natalie/Rod dates, which should prove to be cautionary examples of exactly what not to do on a date, including stilted dialogue, questions that sound more like a job interview than any known normal social interaction, ridiculous dancing to a karaoke R&B singer, and going on a DOUBLE DATE to a filming of AN INCONVENIENT TRUTH!!!! Nothing against Al Gore and his honestly legitimate but occasionally ill-executed crusade to convince people to give an actual damn about the planet they live on, but an honest-to-god DOUBLE DATE to his SLIDE SHOW MOVIE????? SERIOUSLY?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!?!?!?!?!

Part 2: The bird attack. This is the remainder of the movie... kind of. Rod and Natalie spend a night in a cheap hotel room (despite the fact that Rod seems to have a pretty awesome house to take her home to), wake up to find that out of nowhere (literally, there is ZERO foreshadowing to this event) eagles are attacking their hotel. I say eagles, but what I actually mean are flying_eagle.gif graphics overlayed on any given scene. That means that the eagles stay stationary whenever the camera moves. Its ungodly bad. Rod goes to the next room where he finds a random guy named Ramses and his girlfriend. The four of them swing hotel coat hangers at the CG birds long enough to escape to someone's crappy van where they drive around, pick up two kids who's parents were killed by the eagles, pay too much for gas, get sort of robbed by a fat cowboy, find their double date friends from earlier dead from the eagles, meet a hippie who lives in a tree, then they catch a fish and cook it on the beach til the birds leave for no reason and the credits roll.

To me there are three types of bad movies:

1. The type that are well funded and should really know better. (see the Transformer series, or the new Star Wars trilogy)
2. The type that are low budget, but cynical and clearly have less than artistic goals behind them. (see Monster-A-Go-Go or Santa and the Ice Cream Bunny)
3. The sincere, noble failures. These films are done by people who really have a passion for movies and a strong desire to make one of their own, but none of the resources or talent to make anything resembling good one (see Ed Wood's output during the 50's, Robot Monster, Teenagers From Outer Space, etc.)

This film clearly falls into #3's category. This guy wanted to make a movie, really loved Hitchcock's "The Birds" and did the best with what he had (which seems to only be a video camera and a laptop for special effects). But that by itself does not make for an entertaining experience. Where to begin? The sound editing is consistently horrible. At no point does the director try to cover up whatever white noise is going on in the background, nor does he try to sync it with whats going on, making every cut extremely noticeable. Second, the movie has tons of padding. None of the first 40 minutes matter at all. Character development would be one thing, but at no point do Rod and Natalie seem like actual people. That would be dismissible enough if the bird attacks had any weight to them, but regardless of the terrible special effects, none of the post-attack events flow into the next to provide any kind of building action. Things just happen, then other things happen, none of it building to anything else. An environmental message is clumsily tacked on to a few scenes, but even then no one seem to know any motivation for any given part.

The saddest part of all of this is that while its all baffling and unbelievable, none of it really that interesting in even an ironic sense. This is simply an awful movie, boring from start to finish.

I know throwing stones at a movie like Birdemic is essentially pointless. The only people who even see a movie like this are here just to point and laugh at a complete failure. While this movie succeeds at being a complete failure, it doesn't do so in a way that merits repeated or even an initial viewing. There are other terrible movies out there that reward your attention better than Birdemic.

If you want a bad movie that's worth repeated viewings, check out R.O.T.O.R. or StarCrash or Troll 2 or Dragon Wars or Robot Monster or Megaforce or the obvious choice, Plan 9 From Outer Space.

But trust me, there is no reason at all to check out Birdemic. Everything you see on the 13 minute "best of" on YouTube is literally all that's worth seeing. Save your devotion for a terrible movie that's actually worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Citizen Kane of bad movies., December 4, 2010
By 
Sirand (Hollywood, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Birdemic: Shock and Terror [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Words alone won't do Birdemic justice. This isn't a movie, it's an experience. Like having your brain fried on LSD, spritzed with lemon juice and tossed into the grand canyon.

Plan 9 From Outer Space? The Room? Rank amateurs compared to the brilliance of James Nguyen. This movie has everything: Exploding birds, romantic thrills, mountain lions and the most mind-blowing anti-acting you'll ever witness.

Grab a bottle of vodka and a coat hangar, pop in this movie with a bunch of friends and prepare for the greatest night of your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't praise a terrible film, September 8, 2011
By 
This review is from: Birdemic: Shock and Terror [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Yes, one star for the worst film I have seen in years....and years....and years. I made the mistake of purchasing this on blu-ray. BLU-RAY for heaven's sake! This is more amaturish than a film I made at six years old with a 16mm bell and howell. Looks as if the film-makers are attempting to beat Ed Wood's "Plan 9 From Outer Space" for the worst film made. Wood's film IS terrible - but certainly it is technically hands and feet above this garbage. I would give a terrible movie (but one fun for that reason) five stars if there was a serious attempt to present a film with any technical merit. Absolutely nothing in this film shows techincal adequacy. The soundtrack is full of sound mismatching - or total dropouts. The special effects (eagles or whatever) are so laughable that it seems the film-makers are relying on people to see the film (or review it here) just for the fun of seeing something truly crappy (and that's very kind, indeed.) Watching this film is difficult due to its techincal inadequacy - specially the sound. Watch ten minutes for a laugh at how horrible a film can be. Then go on to better things (which will be so easy you won't have to even think about it.) But don't praise and give credit to film-makers who obviously intend to make a terrible movie hoping to get praise for a "so bad it's good" film when they really show no talent and certainly do a disservice to the film's actors and to its audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I loved every second, May 22, 2013
This review is from: Birdemic: Shock and Terror [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Reasons I loved this movie:

- Getting scratched on the face is a fatal injury
- A character says, in all seriousness, "I hear a mountain lion. I've got to go."
- Its message is a profoundly confused ecological sermon, and from beginning to end it is anything but subtle.
- All of the fatal scratch injuries look like vaginas made of play-doh.
- Exploding killer birds, you guys!
- Forest fires consist of a few burning branches.
- Traffic continues as normal, even though the wise forest hippie says the birds are only attacking people in their cars or at gas stations.
- Some more brilliant dialogue. "Oh look, a fishing rod. Maybe I can catch a fish. Oh look, a stove. We can cook it."
- Global warming causes bird flu and SARS.
- The bold choice of recording all sound for the film with what sounds like a circa-1970s tape recorder.
- The unnatural, awkward first date dialogue that everyone in the movie uses throughout, with Pinter-esque pauses between each line.
-There is zero explanation of why the birds attack or why they stop.
- The painfully long and awkward final scene in which the survivors stare out at the dozen or so birds flying away over the ocean, and the birds make no progress at all.

But by far, my favorite aspect of the movie is the digital effects, which completely speak for themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hitchcock - Still The Master of Avian Suspense, October 18, 2013
This review is from: Birdemic: Shock And Terror (DVD)
From Director/Editor/Cameraman/Script Writer James Nguyen. This is not the worst film ever made – that dubious honor has been endlessly tossed about like a golden hot potato; from “Plan 9” to “Heaven’s Gate” and lately to “Manos, The Hands of Fate”- but it certainly is a contender for the bottom 10. Most bad films suffer from smatterings of failures from one or two of flimmaking’s components: bad scripting, bad directing, bad acting, bad continuity, bad editing, bad makeup, bad financing, etc. “Birdemic” simultaneously suffers errors from all of these categories and more. There simply is not one element of filmmaking in this environmental tribute gone akimbo that works. The most glaring defect (other than the entire movie)? It’s the sound. Student and amateur filmmakers alike know how truly tough sound can be and often opt for no sound in an attempt to get it right. Nguyen chops his effort off at the knees by always getting the sound (and everything else) wrong. Indeed, making “Birdemic” as a silent film would have spared us all the pain and torture of the choppy, on-off, staccato, volume hopping, out of place sound that we are forced to endure. Another defect is the editing. Once upon a time, editing once involved painstaking late night hours of manual labor with sharp knives and adhesives. No longer! In today’s digital age, successful edits are only mouse clicks away. Yet apparently, Nguyen is unaware of this, leaving all of his edits (delightfully?) painful. As if to pad the running time, overly long tracking shots fail to move the story forward yet demand our attention, actors wait awkwardly for Nguyen’s “cut!” which never arrives, viewers are left to stare at a static shot of a Chevron gasoline sign for a full minute, etc. The list is almost endless. And then there is the acting….if you can call it that. Our leads just can’t seem to get anything right. Aided by Nguyen’s apparently unedited script, their interactions are unerringly awkward, trite, and (you guessed it) laughable. “Birdemic’s” best performance is provided by a ten year old girl stuck under the family sedan who plausibly behaves like a ten year old girl who is stuck under the family sedan. Has typecasting a ten year old ever saved a movie before? One saving grace for the morning water cooler crowd is the seemingly endless string of notable quotes. Mercifully, this film sports more memorable quotes than a low grade Charlton Heston sci-fi flick. Other pleasant surprises include girls in bikinis, machine guns hidden in mini-vans, and some street justice meted out by one dive bombing kamikaze bird who thwarts a highwayman preying upon our protagonists. Regrettably, the surprise and uncredited cameo guest appearance by the Parrots of Telegraph Hill appears all too early to save the ambiguous ending. If Le Bad Cinema is your treat, then this film can’t be beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Birdemic: Shock and Terror [Blu-ray]
Birdemic: Shock and Terror [Blu-ray] by James Nguyen (Blu-ray - 2011)
$29.98 $13.86
Usually ships in 9 to 13 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.