Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Look Park Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$20.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(4 star). Show all reviews
on October 18, 2013
From Director/Editor/Cameraman/Script Writer James Nguyen. This is not the worst film ever made – that dubious honor has been endlessly tossed about like a golden hot potato; from “Plan 9” to “Heaven’s Gate” and lately to “Manos, The Hands of Fate”- but it certainly is a contender for the bottom 10. Most bad films suffer from smatterings of failures from one or two of flimmaking’s components: bad scripting, bad directing, bad acting, bad continuity, bad editing, bad makeup, bad financing, etc. “Birdemic” simultaneously suffers errors from all of these categories and more. There simply is not one element of filmmaking in this environmental tribute gone akimbo that works. The most glaring defect (other than the entire movie)? It’s the sound. Student and amateur filmmakers alike know how truly tough sound can be and often opt for no sound in an attempt to get it right. Nguyen chops his effort off at the knees by always getting the sound (and everything else) wrong. Indeed, making “Birdemic” as a silent film would have spared us all the pain and torture of the choppy, on-off, staccato, volume hopping, out of place sound that we are forced to endure. Another defect is the editing. Once upon a time, editing once involved painstaking late night hours of manual labor with sharp knives and adhesives. No longer! In today’s digital age, successful edits are only mouse clicks away. Yet apparently, Nguyen is unaware of this, leaving all of his edits (delightfully?) painful. As if to pad the running time, overly long tracking shots fail to move the story forward yet demand our attention, actors wait awkwardly for Nguyen’s “cut!” which never arrives, viewers are left to stare at a static shot of a Chevron gasoline sign for a full minute, etc. The list is almost endless. And then there is the acting….if you can call it that. Our leads just can’t seem to get anything right. Aided by Nguyen’s apparently unedited script, their interactions are unerringly awkward, trite, and (you guessed it) laughable. “Birdemic’s” best performance is provided by a ten year old girl stuck under the family sedan who plausibly behaves like a ten year old girl who is stuck under the family sedan. Has typecasting a ten year old ever saved a movie before? One saving grace for the morning water cooler crowd is the seemingly endless string of notable quotes. Mercifully, this film sports more memorable quotes than a low grade Charlton Heston sci-fi flick. Other pleasant surprises include girls in bikinis, machine guns hidden in mini-vans, and some street justice meted out by one dive bombing kamikaze bird who thwarts a highwayman preying upon our protagonists. Regrettably, the surprise and uncredited cameo guest appearance by the Parrots of Telegraph Hill appears all too early to save the ambiguous ending. If Le Bad Cinema is your treat, then this film can’t be beat.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2013
If you're looking for a fantastic film, complete with thrills, suspense, and "shock" AND "terror", then you might want to look elsewhere. Birdemic not only fails to deliver any shock or terror, it also fails to deliver decent acting, a well written script, and proper pacing. It's okay though, because this movie's failures are its highlights. Each missing piece of quality leads to a treasure trove of laughs. If you are looking for a "so bad it's good" movie, then look no further. Adding insult to injury, the blu-ray version of this film doesn't add any higher quality to the film presentation, as it looks as though this was shot on an amateur handheld camcorder, so it's up to you whether you'd want to opt in for the extra durability of a blu-ray disc or just go with the standard DVD. That being said, let me tell you a little bit about the film.

"Birdemic" is movie inspired by Alfred Hitchcock's "The Birds", it's a poorly written love letter if anything. The movie starts with the main protagonist, Rod, going through the paces of his everyday life (Warning: this takes up roughly 45 minutes of the film). He drives his hybrid around town, scores a big sale at work, installs solar panels on his house, starts reconnecting with a girl he knew in high school and even goes on a double date with his best buddy to see Al Gore's "An Inconvenient Truth". At this point it should be apparent that the film is riddled with unnecessary scenes, and when you're actually watching it you'll have had eco-friendly messages slapped in your face the entire time. Just when you think the film might not be about any sort of "birdemic", "shock", or "terror" the birds attack. The CG effects used to create the birds is so bad you could potentially laugh out loud at the sight of it. From the spontaneous attacks of the birds onward, Rod and friends must fight for survival while seeking answers as to what might have caused this birdemic. This leads our "heroes" to find many differing personalities that all say the same thing: "global warming is causing this." All of this draws to a close in an ending that completely dismisses any questions you may have about the rest of the film by pointing out that even the movie doesn't know why the birds attacked.

I would highly recommend this film only if you and a group of your friends want to bond over mocking the production value and ask questions such as "What was the director thinking?", "Why is this even in the movie?" or my personal favorite "Are those birds actually exploding on impact?" because, yes, the birds are do in fact dive bomb things and explode. Otherwise, I cannot in good conscience recommend you purchase it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2015
I'll admit that when it comes to bad movies I just can't resist them. I do have standards and haven't enjoyed every b-movie that I've seen, but I'm still none-the-less ready for the next one. So as I've seen the previews for this movie several times and have heard people talk about it, I knew that it was time to see it. I just rented this movie lately and while I admit this movie does have many flaws it's not entirely without its charm.

The movie focuses on Rod a software salesman who while eating out spots a beautiful and hot lingerie model named Nathalie. Rod follows Nathalie claiming to have gone to the same high school and her and hoping to keep in touch. She gives him her number and they start dating. They go just about everywhere together and even double date with their friends. At first the only eerie thing they come accross is a dead bird on the beach. Upon Rod and Nathalie both receiving great promotions in their jobs, they soon fight out about these killer birds. These birds consist of mostly eagles, vultures, and some seagulls. They possess razor sharp talons that when they swoop down they can cut a person in an instant, toxic liquids that they spew at people, annoying cawing sounds, they can maneuver pretty fast, and for some reason they can dive and explode. Along the way the couple meet survivors such as a tree dwelling hippie, 2 frantic children, a gas thief, an overcharging gas station clerk, a lone scientist, and another loving couple.

The movies flaws are several but not enough to ruin the enjoyment. The movies flaws are as follows: the sound dips in and out, the edits are often rushed and random, the acting fairly bad, the musical score is boasts random tunes that sometimes have nothing to do with the mood of the scene, the score also comes and goes without warning. The sound effects also come and go unexpectedly. As we all know, the special effects for the birds are both terrible and fake looking. To each his own, but I could've done without the environmentalistic preaching. Finally, the ending needed some adjustment the way that it's both confusing and just leaves the movie hanging.

So given all of that I imagine you're wondering why should anyone watch this movie at all. Well for starters, it has really good character development and as such allows you as the viewer a reason to care if Rod and Nathalie survive. The special effects are so bad that they're hilarious. The acting is also hilariously bad. I don't know as to whether this was intended to be a tribute to Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds or not, but as for how this movie holds its own it never pretends to be something that it's not. There's lots of beautiful scenery. It gives you are reason to care about humanity and fighting for what's rightfully yours. Above all this movie so bad that it's actually good. It's so much fun to make fun of this movie and surprisingly there's plenty to MST3k even before the birds come into it. Rifftrax would just have a field day here.

In closing, if you've seen the previews than you already know as to what to expect from the special effects. As unwatchable as the previews make this movie look, as well as its flaws that I listed, aren't likely to bother you at all than definitely give this movie a try and I believe that you'll be pleasantly surprised. In particular it's the perfect movie if you really need a good laugh. 31/2 stars actually.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2011
If you like bad movies, this is the latest legend. The sound editing is terrible, the effects laughable and it's main highlight is its myriad of driving and parking scenes. But if you're into bad movies for the comic effect you will love it.

Best watched with the accompanying Rifftrax (Google Rifftrax to find the website where you can purchase it) from the guys behind Mystery Science Theater 3000.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2014
This movie is completely ridiculous but that is why it's good. It has terrible special effects and acting. It's really just plain amazing how bad some movies can be. I appreciate the art of failure here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2011
This movie is so dumb and stupid, that it's laughable, just like Tommy Wiseau's masterpiece, The Room. After watching it a 2nd time with friends, it's a little better, but that's not saying much. The lead actor is always talking about his lame job, the sound is choppy, the birds are incredibly fake looking, the actors are terrible, and they talk about global warming every 10 minutes. Rod is a software salesman who runs into a fashion model named Natalie. They show their melodramatic love story until finally the birdemic starts. (It takes 47 minutes for the birds to start attacking) When they attack, that's when the fun of this movie begins. When they shoot at the birds, it's like the old Nintendo game, Duck Hunt. Rod and Natalie meet up with survivors and help two kids who lost their parents, but don't seem to care enough. Will they survive? This movie is worth a watch. It's so bad, it has to be seen to be believed. I would recommend BIRDEMIC: SHOCK AND TERROR!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2011
The terribleness of this film is completely awesome. The acting is absurdly hilarious, as are the bird graphics, audio levels, and the plot. I cannot wait to share this with friends. I wouldn't say it's the best horrible movie I've ever seen, but it's definitely up there. People complaining about the movie must not have much of a sense of humor and/or must have completely failed to read any reviews or information about the movie. Certainly do not buy/rent/watch this movie if you expect to get anything meaningful or serious out of it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2015
What a bad movie. Really awful. I'm glad I had this experience.

If you want to see some slightly better camera work and scripting, you can check out my rather unsuccessful youtube channel: SlomoFastpaced
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2015
Beautiful and terrible. Everyone was cringing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2016
The best worst movie since Jaws 3!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.