Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Voyage Cyber Monday Video Game Deals Outdoors Gift Guide on Tikes
Biting Cold: A Chicagoland Vampires Novel and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

  • List Price: $15.00
  • Save: $2.87 (19%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 15 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Biting Cold (Chicagoland ... has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Ships from Amazon!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Biting Cold (Chicagoland Vampires) Paperback – August 7, 2012

212 customer reviews
Book 6 of 12 in the Chicagoland Vampires Series

See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
"Please retry"
"Please retry"
$5.43 $1.23

Take an Extra 30% Off Any Book
$12.13 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 15 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • Biting Cold (Chicagoland Vampires)
  • +
  • House Rules (Chicagoland Vampires)
  • +
  • Biting Bad (Chicagoland Vampires)
Total price: $39.00
Buy the selected items together

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Take an Extra 30% Off Any Book: Use promo code HOLIDAY30 at checkout to get an extra 30% off any book for a limited time. Excludes Kindle eBooks and Audible Audiobooks. Restrictions apply. Learn more | Shop now

Editorial Reviews


Praise for the Chicagoland Vampires novels:
"These books are wonderful entertainment; and if you are looking for a vampiric role-model, you couldn't do any better than Merit of House Cadogan. Chicago is lucky to have her." -- #1 New York Times Bestselling Author Charlaine Harris

Praise for the Chicagoland Vampire novels

“These books are wonderful entertainment.”—#1 New York Times Bestselling Author Charlaine Harris

“A strong-minded, sharp-witted heroine who will appeal to fans of Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse series and Laurell K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake.”—Library Journal

“A refreshing take on urban fantasy.”—Publishers Weekly

“If you loved Nancy Drew but always wished she was an undead, sword-wielding badass, Merit is your kind of girl.”—Geek Monthly

About the Author

Chloe Neill was born in the south of the USA and currently resides in the US Midwest. SOME GIRLS BITE was her debut novel and is the first in the Chicagoland Vampires series. She is also the author of the YA Dark Elite series. --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

Hero Quick Promo
Holiday Deals in Kindle Books
Save up to 85% on more than 1,000 Kindle Books. These deals are valid until November 30, 2015. Learn more

Product Details

  • Series: Chicagoland Vampires (Book 6)
  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: NAL; 1 edition (August 7, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0451237013
  • ISBN-13: 978-0451237019
  • Product Dimensions: 5.3 x 0.8 x 8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 11.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (212 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #203,169 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Important Information

Example Ingredients

Example Directions

More About the Author

Chloe Neill is the New York Times bestselling author of the Chicagoland Vampires Novels, the Devil's Isle Novels, and a YA series, the Dark Elite. Chloe was born and raised in the South, but now makes her home in the Midwest. When she's not writing, she bakes, works, and scours the Internet for good recipes and great graphic design. Chloe also maintains her sanity by spending time with her boys--her husband and their dogs, Baxter and Scout.

Connect with Chloe at

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

57 of 60 people found the following review helpful By Jen (Red Hot Books) TOP 500 REVIEWER on August 7, 2012
Format: Paperback
I had a really hard time getting into this book. As a big fan of Ethan and Merit, I had high hopes for the reunion brought on by the events of Drink Deep. Granted, I wasn't overly excited by the prospect of the Mallory arc, but that turned out to be a moot issue anyway, since very little of the book is about her. Let me back up.

This book begins right where the last one left off, with Ethan and Merit in pursuit of Mallory and the dark book she covets. There are a lot of longing looks and lingering emotions, but they can't act on them because of the pressing nature of their mission. They actually apprehend Mallory pretty fast. She's not the Big Bad after all. The real bad guy (who I won't name so I don't spoil you) quickly takes center stage as Merit, Ethan, and the gang try to figure out how to defeat him.

Here's the thing, I felt like the first quarter of the book was delay-delay-delay on the Ethan-Merit love fest. Then Ethan develops a problem that makes him push Merit away before they can ever really get back together. This is where I went from a little bored to a bit annoyed. We've been there and we've done that with these two, ad nauseum. I felt like we, as readers, earned a big payoff on these two after all we have been through with them. I cried for two darn books over Ethan's death and Merit's mourning. We've moved past sexual tension into the realm of "you've got to be kidding me."

As for the action-arc, it was fairly good, though nothing entirely earth shattering. I felt more anxious about the looming judgement from the GP on the future of Cadogen House than any real danger from the bad guy. I mean, what's the worst he could do? After we survived Chloe Neill killing Ethan, any other worst-case scenario is going to seem tame by comparison.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful By Ann on August 9, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
An okay read, average, nothing outstanding IMO. Lots of story with a bit of Ethan/Merit's romance (and thank you CN for keeping Ethan alive in this one). The situation with Mallory is sorted more or less, Catcher is hurt and disappointed by her actions to say the least and who knows where that will leave their relationship. Jonah drops in for a small part and my favorite shifters Gabriel and Jeff are featured. Tate is the main attraction and he's got quite the secret and with Mallory's assistance makes bad things worse. The house's situation with the GP is tenuous and major decisions for Cadogan House's future go down. Overall a decent story with a good ending.

My disappointment here is that this bk is nowhere near as good as the first 3 bks which I've re-read numerous times. The series drew me in for the interesting characters, great story, the romance element and an all around good time spent with Merit and crew. Maybe this series has reached a point where all those things have for the most part played out and from here on out it will be about Merit's adventures. While interesting, that just doesn't reach out and pull me in like it once did. What I've always loved about this series is the witty banter from Merit and Mallory, Catcher and his snarky personality, geeky Jeff who's stud to the water nymphs, fun with Lyndsey and sexy cowboy Luc, Ethan, Ethan and more Ethan. Don't want to leave out bad boy Morgan and even Grandpa Merit was endearing. I guess the series has just lost the fun it once had and turned more serious. Just not enough grins to balance out the drama which is what I miss most about Merit and friends.

I'm sure fans of the series will enjoy this one, while those riding the fence....well, it's just a shame the kindle version isn't lendable.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful By A Book Obsession.. on August 7, 2012
Format: Paperback
The universe should have given Merit at least a small break for a happy reunion after certain someone's miraculous return. But that just isn't in the cards as her somewhat former best friend's turn to the dark side stands in the way. Mallory is determined to steal a something that would unleash all evil unto the world, and Merit has the best chance at stopping her. It becomes a wild goose chase across the country in a fight that she must win at all costs. But Mallory isn't the only problem as someone else wants the book too, and he makes Mallory's powers look like parlor tricks. Merit is in for the fight of her life.

I was utterly crushed by the events of Hard Bitten. Losing Ethan was simply horrible. I was every bit a shambled mess as Merit was, right up until the very end of Drink Deep when the awaited miracle happens. Now in Biting Cold, I had expected Ethan and Merit to be head over heels for each other and all the issues and insecurities between them to be a thing of the past. So, when they weren't I couldn't help being a little disappointed. Of course once I took a step back I realized that even death wouldn't have been some miracle cure for the issues between them. Granted, it definitely was a major wake up call for Merit, but that doesn't mean she would be able to be happy with the constant indecision Ethan finds himself in when it comes to her. There is a whole lot of healing that needs to happen first, along with a good deal of change, but it seems like they are finally taking a step in the right direction. Only time will tell, as there have been so many false starts, I am almost afraid to believe this one will stick, but I have more hope this time around than I ever did before.

It really is amazing how much Merit has grown from the start of the series.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Biting Cold (Chicagoland Vampires)
This item: Biting Cold (Chicagoland Vampires)
Price: $12.13
Ships from and sold by

Want to discover more products? Check out these pages to see more: politician vampire, chloe neill chicagoland vampires series order, vampire sun, vampire affair