Kindle Price: $7.99

Save $7.01 (47%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Get the Free Kindle App

Enter email or phone number to get a link

Processing your request...

Biting Cold: A Chicagoland Vampires Novel Kindle Edition

207 customer reviews

See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$7.99

Length: 348 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $3.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Audible Narration: Ready

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for the Chicagoland Vampires novels:
"These books are wonderful entertainment; and if you are looking for a vampiric role-model, you couldn't do any better than Merit of House Cadogan. Chicago is lucky to have her." -- #1 New York Times Bestselling Author Charlaine Harris

"A wonderfully compelling vampire heroine." --USA Today bestselling author Julie Kenner

"[A] strong-minded, sharp-witted heroine who will appeal to fans of Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse and Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake." --Library Journal
 
"Delivers enough action, plot twists, and fights to satisfy the most jaded urban fantasy reader."--Monsters and Critics"If you loved Nancy Drew but always wished she was an undead sword-wielding badass, Merit is your kind of girl." -Geek Monthly

About the Author

Chloe Neill was born in the south of the USA and currently resides in the US Midwest. SOME GIRLS BITE was her debut novel and is the first in the Chicagoland Vampires series. She is also the author of the YA Dark Elite series.

Product Details

  • File Size: 1686 KB
  • Print Length: 348 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0575113421
  • Publisher: NAL; 1 edition (August 7, 2012)
  • Publication Date: August 7, 2012
  • Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B007HU7JHS
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #28,937 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Chloe Neill is the New York Times bestselling author of the Chicagoland Vampires Novels, the Devil's Isle Novels, and a YA series, the Dark Elite. Chloe was born and raised in the South, but now makes her home in the Midwest. When she's not writing, she bakes, works, and scours the Internet for good recipes and great graphic design. Chloe also maintains her sanity by spending time with her boys--her husband and their dogs, Baxter and Scout.

Connect with Chloe at www.chloeneill.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

55 of 58 people found the following review helpful By Jen (Red Hot Books) TOP 500 REVIEWER on August 7, 2012
Format: Paperback
I had a really hard time getting into this book. As a big fan of Ethan and Merit, I had high hopes for the reunion brought on by the events of Drink Deep. Granted, I wasn't overly excited by the prospect of the Mallory arc, but that turned out to be a moot issue anyway, since very little of the book is about her. Let me back up.

This book begins right where the last one left off, with Ethan and Merit in pursuit of Mallory and the dark book she covets. There are a lot of longing looks and lingering emotions, but they can't act on them because of the pressing nature of their mission. They actually apprehend Mallory pretty fast. She's not the Big Bad after all. The real bad guy (who I won't name so I don't spoil you) quickly takes center stage as Merit, Ethan, and the gang try to figure out how to defeat him.

Here's the thing, I felt like the first quarter of the book was delay-delay-delay on the Ethan-Merit love fest. Then Ethan develops a problem that makes him push Merit away before they can ever really get back together. This is where I went from a little bored to a bit annoyed. We've been there and we've done that with these two, ad nauseum. I felt like we, as readers, earned a big payoff on these two after all we have been through with them. I cried for two darn books over Ethan's death and Merit's mourning. We've moved past sexual tension into the realm of "you've got to be kidding me."

As for the action-arc, it was fairly good, though nothing entirely earth shattering. I felt more anxious about the looming judgement from the GP on the future of Cadogen House than any real danger from the bad guy. I mean, what's the worst he could do? After we survived Chloe Neill killing Ethan, any other worst-case scenario is going to seem tame by comparison.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful By Ann on August 9, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
An okay read, average, nothing outstanding IMO. Lots of story with a bit of Ethan/Merit's romance (and thank you CN for keeping Ethan alive in this one). The situation with Mallory is sorted more or less, Catcher is hurt and disappointed by her actions to say the least and who knows where that will leave their relationship. Jonah drops in for a small part and my favorite shifters Gabriel and Jeff are featured. Tate is the main attraction and he's got quite the secret and with Mallory's assistance makes bad things worse. The house's situation with the GP is tenuous and major decisions for Cadogan House's future go down. Overall a decent story with a good ending.

My disappointment here is that this bk is nowhere near as good as the first 3 bks which I've re-read numerous times. The series drew me in for the interesting characters, great story, the romance element and an all around good time spent with Merit and crew. Maybe this series has reached a point where all those things have for the most part played out and from here on out it will be about Merit's adventures. While interesting, that just doesn't reach out and pull me in like it once did. What I've always loved about this series is the witty banter from Merit and Mallory, Catcher and his snarky personality, geeky Jeff who's stud to the water nymphs, fun with Lyndsey and sexy cowboy Luc, Ethan, Ethan and more Ethan. Don't want to leave out bad boy Morgan and even Grandpa Merit was endearing. I guess the series has just lost the fun it once had and turned more serious. Just not enough grins to balance out the drama which is what I miss most about Merit and friends.

I'm sure fans of the series will enjoy this one, while those riding the fence....well, it's just a shame the kindle version isn't lendable.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful By A Book Obsession.. on August 7, 2012
Format: Paperback
The universe should have given Merit at least a small break for a happy reunion after certain someone's miraculous return. But that just isn't in the cards as her somewhat former best friend's turn to the dark side stands in the way. Mallory is determined to steal a something that would unleash all evil unto the world, and Merit has the best chance at stopping her. It becomes a wild goose chase across the country in a fight that she must win at all costs. But Mallory isn't the only problem as someone else wants the book too, and he makes Mallory's powers look like parlor tricks. Merit is in for the fight of her life.

I was utterly crushed by the events of Hard Bitten. Losing Ethan was simply horrible. I was every bit a shambled mess as Merit was, right up until the very end of Drink Deep when the awaited miracle happens. Now in Biting Cold, I had expected Ethan and Merit to be head over heels for each other and all the issues and insecurities between them to be a thing of the past. So, when they weren't I couldn't help being a little disappointed. Of course once I took a step back I realized that even death wouldn't have been some miracle cure for the issues between them. Granted, it definitely was a major wake up call for Merit, but that doesn't mean she would be able to be happy with the constant indecision Ethan finds himself in when it comes to her. There is a whole lot of healing that needs to happen first, along with a good deal of change, but it seems like they are finally taking a step in the right direction. Only time will tell, as there have been so many false starts, I am almost afraid to believe this one will stick, but I have more hope this time around than I ever did before.

It really is amazing how much Merit has grown from the start of the series.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in