Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Maxwell Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars8
5 star
87%
4 star
13%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Price:$11.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 3, 2012
This is a great season of Bizarre Foods, but hopefully it's not the last set. Travel Channel - Gaiam Studios has moved onto releasing Bizarre Foods America and hasen't released all from the original series as of yet.
The episodes they skipped are ---> (1)Ethiopa (One of my favorite episodes, it has a huge segment on spider dishes) (2)Cambodia (3)Halloween Special (4)Wisconsin (5)Germany (6)Sulawesi (7)Florida (8)Bali (9)Taste of the Tropics (10)Kalahari Special
Five of those listed are from the Bizarre Worlds series, but the other 5 are from the regular Bizarre Foods show.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2013
If you've never seen this show before, this is the time to do it. It's been on the Food Channel for some years now but watching it on DVD is a lot better. No commercials and you would want to see some episodes over and over again. Somewhat like a travelogue, you get to see Andrew Zimmern as he goes around the world sampling all kinds cuisine you can imagine. The emphasis though is mostly on the unusual and sometimes totally unheard of. In the process, you also get to see people, the places they inhabit, their culture and unique practices. Always in a jolly mood and with an insatiable appetite, Zimmern has the knack for bringing out the best (and the worst) of whatever is there to eat. Mind you, not all are mouth watering. Some are downright disgusting. But otherwise, it won't be bizarre, wouldn't it? Be adventurous. There's a lot out there that need to be sampled even if only by watching a truly great series like this one!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2015
I ordered this for my girlfriend who teaches high school World Geography. Her kids can't sit still for anything, but she can now use this as a bargaining chip to reward them with at the end of the each section. It works! She and I have always been fans and we will be watching these ourselves which is just icing on the cake for this purchase. Andrew Zimmern does an amazing job of conveying his experiences as an outsider in an unfamiliar world into a very engaging and (mostly) classroom-appropriate way. What makes this work as so muh more than just a pacifier is that Andrew is an ambassador of food and culture. He also does it with nothing but respect for the people and their culture, a willingness to participate in whatever comes his way, and the ability to laugh at himself (often alongside the native people). This teaches the kids, not only about food and culture, but how to respect those people and cultures that are foreign to them. We will definitely be ordering the other collections to prepare for the next school year.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2013
Great new places or great new views of old favorites. The food is your call.

Indonesia - Makes me want to plan a trip.

Embassy Row - This is a street to take a walk on and grab a bite at the end.

Finland - Just never knew.

New York - Big Apple with big tastes.

Rio de Janeiro - Brings back memories of walking the back streets keeping an eye of the crew of the USS Ronald Reagan.

Suriname - New take on South America.

Morocco - Could have left it out, but it does add to the first time Andrew went there.

Sardinia - I wish I had see this before I lived there; but he missed La Maddalena (former home of a US Navy base and homeported ships and submarines). Yes, the US Air Forces was there to in Decimomannu.

Montreal - Makes you want to take a trip over the Northern border. What are you doing in Canada?

Jamaica - Got to love the Island life.

Bonus Features - Great missing (never before released) places; should have been included before.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2012
Always like this series but am disappointed that each season is split into 2 parts for dvd release. Prices do add up!!! If uk release it in one volume per season, i'll definitely get it from there.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2013
I like the DVD content, and the transition is also very smooth. I receive the DVD a few days after purchase it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2016
Fearing man
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2014
niiiiice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.