Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Black Circus
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Black Circus

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Instantly with Amazon Music Album
Other Formats & Versions Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, September 12, 2006
"Please retry"

Mumford and Sons Concert Sweepstakes Mumford and Sons Concert Sweepstakes

Product Details

  • Audio CD (September 12, 2006)
  • Original Release Date: 2006
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Locomotive Spain
  • ASIN: B000H9I11Y
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #752,951 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Enter The Carnival
2. The Black Circus
3. Intunerie I
4. Enchanted Mind
5. Intunerie II
6. Forever Carousel
7. Freakshow
8. Gypsies' Dance Pt. 1
9. Intunerie III
10. Wisdom
11. Intunerie IV
12. Disciples Of The Entities

Editorial Reviews

About the Artist

MANTICORA was formed in 1997 by Lars Larsen (vocals), Kristian Larsen (guitars) and Mads Volf (drums) - these three have made up the core of the band ever since. In the early days the band was a foursome with bass player Rene as the last member. Soon after the band recorded the now legendary mini CD "Dead End Solution", which marked the beginning of the MANTICORA-trademark sound; hard hitting power metal with both epic and thrash elements.

In early 2005 the band toured throughout Europe together with Angra and Edenbridge. The tour was a great success for the band and they made a lot of new fans and friends there. Joining the core of Lars, Mads, Kasper and Kristian was session-guitarist Stefan Johansson and Swedish keyboardist Andreas Lindahl. The band then did their first ever (highly successful) US appareance at the ProgPower Festival in Atlanta, GA (September 2005).

The band has just finalized its 5th full-length album, the first part of the 2-album concept "The Black Circus". Lyrically it deals with the horror story of a travelling circus in 19th century New England. With "The Black Circurs Part 1" you get exactly what you could expect - a band evolving and fine-tuning all their best assets, be it the power metal side of their sound, or the dark/progressive mind. MANTICORA has never sounded better!

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
As the previous reviewer stated I cannot believe there have not been more things said about this album as it is truly an amazing piece of art. While it might take a few listens to get a feel for the type of music Manticora produces and for the actual story itself, when you finally get used to it "it bends minds". The story itself is very entertaining and dark: a traveler comes across a traveling circus and chooses to come along. Personally Iike to listen to the album from start to finish rather than choose a few songs at a time, the interludes create a great amount of ambience for the album and some are especially haunting. The songs themselves are all very creative lyrically as well as musically. "Forever Carousel" and "The Black Circus" are my two favorites because of the varying paces and unique sounds added to each song. The only song that I was disappointed with was "Freak Show". The lyrics for the album are all done in a way that if you read them from the lyric booklet they would seem like coherent letters (hence the album name), however each song is done with enough musical integration to make you almost forget about this fact. Unfortunately, "Freak Show" is slow and you actually realized that the singer is simply reading a letter. The slow, monotonous music to go along with this track actually makes the singer sound ridiculous at some points when he tries to "sing a sentence". This album is absolutely fascinating when you follow the story and get a sense for the "transformation" that the main character goes through. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys power metal, horror, the circus, and everything in between.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By M. Hutchason on October 29, 2008
Format: Audio CD
I bought this CD off of iTunes a few months ago in anticipation of Manticora's tour with Jon Oliva's Pain/Circle II Circle. I listened to it once and didn't quite get it. I didn't realize at the time that this was a concept album....I bought it based on the review that this was "the best offering" from the band. After seeing them in concert, I got it. They are, live, on the level of Anthrax or Queensryche in terms of quality. Since that show, I bought part 2 of Black Circus and have listened to nothing but those 2 CD's since. These 2 CD's are catchy, full of great music, and contain a hell of a story. On Part 2, Lars sounds a bunch like Dee Snider, which I think is great (Come on TS, put out something new!!!!). Anyway, you WILL NOT be disappointed with this CD if you choose to forego Part 2. This is the better of the 2. Enjoy, and welcome to the show:)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in