Customer Reviews


909 Reviews
5 star:
 (659)
4 star:
 (156)
3 star:
 (57)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


184 of 188 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get these extra spools and buy bulk line.
I somewhat agree with the guy from Vegas that this is a waste of money, EXCEPT that this is about the only way to get extra spools for your Black & Decker weed whacker. Note that you can buy a spool of 600 feet of .065 line from Amazon (Desert Extrusion brand, price is $8.80 for 600 feet in March 2007). Then, with the bulk line, plus these 3 spools, plus the spool that...
Published on March 12, 2007 by Granville Bentley

versus
177 of 195 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money
What the other reviewers fail to mention, maybe because they failed to try, is that the AFS on the trimmer continues to work flawlessly with hand wound string, and at less than 1/4 the cost it's seems like a huge waste to buy the pre-wound spools. It only takes 2 minutes to rewind a spool, so even when I do run out in the middle of a job, I just look at it as a 2-minute...
Published on July 2, 2005 by Adam Woodrum


‹ Previous | 1 291 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

184 of 188 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get these extra spools and buy bulk line., March 12, 2007
This review is from: Black & Decker AF-100-3ZP 30-Feet 0.065-Inch Line String Trimmer Replacement Spool, 3-Pack (Lawn & Patio)
I somewhat agree with the guy from Vegas that this is a waste of money, EXCEPT that this is about the only way to get extra spools for your Black & Decker weed whacker. Note that you can buy a spool of 600 feet of .065 line from Amazon (Desert Extrusion brand, price is $8.80 for 600 feet in March 2007). Then, with the bulk line, plus these 3 spools, plus the spool that came with the weed whacker you can have up to 4 spools ready to rock and roll at minimal cost. Unlike the guy from Vegas, it takes me more than 2 minutes to hand-wind a spool, but not a lot longer, it's pretty easy to do, my main advice being I find it better to not try and wind more than 25 feet onto a spool even though it presumably can hold 30 feet of line. Everytime I wind more than 25 feet I get a lot of jams until the line gets those extra few feet chewed off. Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


177 of 195 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, July 2, 2005
By 
This review is from: Black & Decker AF-100-3ZP 30-Feet 0.065-Inch Line String Trimmer Replacement Spool, 3-Pack (Lawn & Patio)
What the other reviewers fail to mention, maybe because they failed to try, is that the AFS on the trimmer continues to work flawlessly with hand wound string, and at less than 1/4 the cost it's seems like a huge waste to buy the pre-wound spools. It only takes 2 minutes to rewind a spool, so even when I do run out in the middle of a job, I just look at it as a 2-minute break from yard work. Of course, if your one and only concern is convenience, you may be looking at the right product. Be aware, if you've had trouble with rewinding trimmers in the past, it may be because you're using old line, which tends to get brittle over time. Buy some new line and try again. If you buy the three-pack of spools three times, you just paid for your trimmer again.

Thanks for reading,

Adam

ps. Two stars for effort, but the cost is just ridiculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Black & Decker Trimmer Line, July 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black & Decker AF-100-3ZP 30-Feet 0.065-Inch Line String Trimmer Replacement Spool, 3-Pack (Lawn & Patio)
I like the convenience of the Black & Decker cordless trimmer and the automatic line advancement feature, but it went through the 1st spool in only 3 quick sessions on an average size home lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a good value for me!, November 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black & Decker AF-100-3ZP 30-Feet 0.065-Inch Line String Trimmer Replacement Spool, 3-Pack (Lawn & Patio)
Found this 3 pack at Amazon and was thrilled! Locally at the big box stores, I pay 8 dollars for one spool. And yes, I have wound my own for less cost but a lot more frustration. I found this to be a good value for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Replacement String, June 11, 2007
By 
This review is from: Black & Decker AF-100-3ZP 30-Feet 0.065-Inch Line String Trimmer Replacement Spool, 3-Pack (Lawn & Patio)
Amazon had it cheaper and in stock where local stores didn't have it. I would check Amazon first in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AF-100 on GH400 Trimmer Edger, October 15, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Black & Decker AF-100-3ZP 30-Feet 0.065-Inch Line String Trimmer Replacement Spool, 3-Pack (Lawn & Patio)
The factory replacement spool for the GH400 Trimmer/Edger is the way to go. I have been very pleased with the easy to load and use spools. I have had bad luck with other trimmers, but this one is great with the factory replacement spool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars works perfect!, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black & Decker AF-100-3ZP 30-Feet 0.065-Inch Line String Trimmer Replacement Spool, 3-Pack (Lawn & Patio)
Installed just like it was from the factory, lets out just the right amount, cuts through anything..best way to buy more trimmer string
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, October 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black & Decker AF-100-3ZP 30-Feet 0.065-Inch Line String Trimmer Replacement Spool, 3-Pack (Lawn & Patio)
The string trimmer was exactly as expected and at a very good price. I will continue to replenish the supply from this source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, September 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black & Decker AF-100-3ZP 30-Feet 0.065-Inch Line String Trimmer Replacement Spool, 3-Pack (Lawn & Patio)
This is a great deal for this item. The cost is significantly less than what these items are being sold for locally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded my expectations!, January 6, 2007
This review is from: Black & Decker AF-100-3ZP 30-Feet 0.065-Inch Line String Trimmer Replacement Spool, 3-Pack (Lawn & Patio)
Works great, very fast service, better price than I can get locally!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 291 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.