Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exactly What I Needed
Like the other Black & Decker book I own, this one eschews long winded explanations for pictures and a few explanations. In many cases, that's exactly what's needed, and drywall is just such an instance. I needed to know about drywall types, drywall fasteners, and drywall finishing, and this told me exactly what I needed to know. Additionally, it covers working with...
Published on May 28, 2012 by Pflarr

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Not informative...Mostly for new projects
Published 3 days ago by Thomas Buckley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exactly What I Needed, May 28, 2012
By 
Pflarr "generic_super_user" (Socorro, NM United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Like the other Black & Decker book I own, this one eschews long winded explanations for pictures and a few explanations. In many cases, that's exactly what's needed, and drywall is just such an instance. I needed to know about drywall types, drywall fasteners, and drywall finishing, and this told me exactly what I needed to know. Additionally, it covers working with drywall substitutes in wet situation, namely Hardy Backer Board and similar, as well as how to deal with transitions between HBB and regular drywall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DIY must-have, February 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just had a header beam installed in my basement. Part of DIY was to drywall around the beam, 2x6 supports, and 2 sides of 1'x12' of exposed ceiling. This book gave me the confidence to DIY.

As Dana mentioned, this is a must-have. Buy this book for under $20 and you'll save $1000's going forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great book for doing your own repairs, December 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this is part of the Black and decker series of books that i love, i own most of them. they are full of information for DIY-ers and it is all in picture so you can see what is going on. it shows you how to texture and make corners..things that you can do yourself..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, October 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pretty good, I learned some things I didnt know before. The drywall is already up so I'm glad I watched the DVD because I was definitely going to make a mistake when it came to mud & taping. I returned some things to Homedepot and bought the right tools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for beginner/DIYer, October 14, 2013
By 
Jim C (Pittsburgh, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have several of the Black & Decker books in this series, and they have taken much of the mystique out of home maintenance. This book takes the fear out of drywall repair and installation. Is there an art to it? Yes. Can you do it? Yes. The companion DVD gives some great advice and takes you step by step through a few typical scenarios you may encounter during a project. We have decided to refinish our basement, and I have complete confidence that I can hang the drywall as I've used the tips in this book to patch damage in other places with outstanding results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really good book on drywall, November 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I recommend this book. it is very helpful. it also includes a very good dvd. this is the best drywall book I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Teacher, October 4, 2010
By 
Dana Jetton Jacobs (Longwood, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This book was very informative. There are plenty of pictures along with the instructions.
If you are a DIY drywaller, this is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just right, April 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book had all of the information needed to help me repair dry wall on my first attempt. The pictures and sequence worked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great details...love the book, March 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black & Decker Working with Drywall (Kindle Edition)
I love the book. Since I purchased the kindle version is there a way to obtain the videos from the DVD?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book inspired me!, September 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have a drywall project in my basement after pluming leak. This book gave me lots of ideas on how to fix the problem. It also comes with a CD of the book for easy reference.
Hats off to Black & Decker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Black & Decker Working with Drywall
$10.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.