Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series
I have all the books in this series and I must say they are great.

They get a little to technical at times but are such a great read.

Was introduced to Ingram and his pal Rhino in this one. Two guys who definetly know how to take care of themselves and others. Hope these two end up as part of Black Eagle.

Gotta love the Prez. She's the...
Published 17 months ago by Claudette

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An easy read, but....
I had bought the other Black Eagle Force books and found them to be an easy and fun read. Sort of like mind candy. This book follows the same path as the previous books and one can see the ending well before the end of the book. What really bummed me out was the definite anti-Muslim rhetoric that is scattered through out the book. I can handle the pro-conservative,...
Published 14 months ago by Peter T. Lawrence


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, February 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Eagle Force: Blood Ivory (Kindle Edition)
I have all the books in this series and I must say they are great.

They get a little to technical at times but are such a great read.

Was introduced to Ingram and his pal Rhino in this one. Two guys who definetly know how to take care of themselves and others. Hope these two end up as part of Black Eagle.

Gotta love the Prez. She's the kind of Pres this country needs. Take the fight right up the ass of the aggressors and no ROE's. Do what needs to be done and the UN and anyone who doesn't like it can kiss her ass. Yup. The kind of POTUS this country needs big time.

Great story with Ingram in Africa and Mike, Mickey, Jill and Marie on that honeymoon cruise. Just to bad for the bad guys that the Black Eagle folks were on site. They sure threw a wrench in the bad guys monkey works.

Loads of action and I recommend this one to anyone who likes good guys who know how to get the job done. Great read.

Five stars all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required Reading for anyone who cares about this planet!, October 24, 2013
As a Charter Member of the Black Eagle Force fan club, I have to say that I think Blood Ivory has taken the genre to the next level. Fast paced and passionate, with a sense of justice that is a pure adrenalin rush, this commentary on the dark underbelly of poaching and how little is done to rectify it is both alarming and stirring. I know Black Eagle Force is a fictitious corps of dedicated warriors. But if it were de facto, I'd do more than fund it, I'd join it. Adding Ingram to the Farmer/Stienke team of authors is a stroke of genius. (But I have to admit, I still don't know how three alpha males can cooperate so beautifully on a writing project.) Well done gentlemen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FIVE STAR REVIEW FOR THE BEST ACTION ADVENTURE BOOK THIS YEAR, November 26, 2013
By 
Kory (Granbury, Texas, US) - See all my reviews
Blood Ivory is an awesome book with an incredible amount of information about a world many people are totally unaware exists. Poachers, kidnappers and terrorists beware of Black Eagle Force. You will pay the price when they catch up with you. With state of the art technology and savvy military skills BEF is an adventure you don't want to miss. All of the characters are well written and keep you on the edge of your seat. My two new heroes are Mark Ingrham and Maria Sanchez and I can't wait to read Blood Brothers. Doran Ingrham, Buck Stienke and Ken Farmer have me hook, line and sinker with all of the BEF novels. I hope there is a movie in the works. I will be the first in line. Keep up the good work guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood Ivory a Thundering Thriller- Pulp Fiction for 21st Century, September 11, 2013
By 
M. Carlton (Washington, DC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Review of BLOOD IVORY By Stienke/Farmer/Ingrham.

This is a thrill ride military blockbuster by the trio of Buck Stienke and Ken Farmer (who previously brought you 3 other volumes of exploits by the Black Eagle Force) and first time author Doran Ingrham, who's former life adventures and exploits make up a lot of this books factual basis.

Black Eagle Force is a military supergroup of Marines, espionage specialists, and Navy Seal types who work behind the scenes to keep America's interests safe throughout the world. Quite often it involves using the latest in military technology to achieve their goals and to keep the enemy at bay.

In this the 4th volume of Black Eagle Force adventures, the regular cast of characters is joined by Mark Ingrham, a former marine specialist and currently Kenyan Wildlife Service agent in Africa who works full time protecting the endangered species there from poachers and those who finance their heinous activities...most particularly elephant ivory and black rhino horn poachers.

The book takes off with a rip roaring start as Mark and the family he protects in S.Africa are targeted by assassins. It is hair raising and full of near misses and near death escapes. Death of course, for those who would attempt to thwart Mark and his protected family. From there the adventure goes world wide with Pirates in Somalia highjacking a luxury liner containing the newly married sons and daughters of the President of the United States....all undercover members of Black Eagle Force.

There are other great review available that summarize the book, in this review I'll give an impression of the book.

It's a rip roaring adventure, similar to the pulp fiction made famous in the early 20th century by such authors as Edgar Rice Burroughs, except in this up to date version the weaponry is more staggering and based to a certain extent on what is available to the military now. It boggles the mind to contemplate if some of what is written here is now in use in today's modern military.

The authors are former military men, so the basic setup is based on that day to day reality. The language is familiar to jar-heads and fans of the military genre. Keep in mind this is not a book for the kiddies, there is extreme violence at times, graphic descriptions of gun and other weapons at play on easily blown apart human and animal flesh, and language suited to the large scale fighting between the poachers, the Somali pirates, the terrorists and the Black Eagle Force/Mark Ingrham unit, fighting for God Freedom and all that is cherished in the good old USA.

The sections of the book that describe the poaching industry in Africa are probably the best in this volume - in detailing what is happening there, and the efforts of a few dedicated individuals to stop the destruction of some of the last dwindling species of great animals from the Dark Continent, most notably the African Elephant and the Black Rhino. The rapport between Mark Ingrham and his friend and work partner "Rhino" approaches slapstick at times and is welcome comic relief from all the intensity taking place around them.

The end of the book has a satisfying 1 - 2 punch in the form of a surprising method of dealing with terrorist belief systems and a last chapter return of Mark Ingrham using some of his oldest knowledge in dealing with a particularly unsavory character.

This was a fun adventure to read. So I recommend it to action adventure addicts who would like to have an adrenaline ride.

The only suggestion I'd offer the authors in their future endeavors of BEF and Mark Ingrham is to scale the villains up a bit mentally, so that they actually pose a challenge to the superior mental smarts and spirit of the members of the Black Eagle Force. The bad guys here have good to merely OK weaponry, some of it is borrowed from post USSR weapons depots, but they are kind of dumb dumbs, and get their asses kicked rather big time consistently by the BEF.

I'll enjoy these adventures even more if they are pitted against foes that are their equals in mental acuity as well as weaponry....we, the breathless audience have to be led to believe that the Black Eagle Force could really lose this time....

This book would indeed make a fun pulse pounding movie. It is written in a visual style that makes this a real page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two adventures in one book, August 7, 2013
I have been privileged to read all of the Black Eagle Force novels by Buck Stienke and Ken Farmer and comment on them. In my opinion, Blood Ivory is the best, so far. I don't know if it is by accident, the premise, their learning curve or the addition of a third writer, Doran Ingrham, or all of the above. You can make up your mind when you have read it. You will not be able to put it down until you find out what happens.
Senator Brietbart and his daughter are kidnapped while on a photo safari in Kenya by elephant and rhino horn poachers. The BEF joins Mark Ingram, a Kenyan Wildlife Service agent and inactive US Marine on the trail of the kidnappers in Kenya. They work together to save the Senator and his daughter. (Not a spoiler, we knew that was going to happen.)
At the same time, the honeymoon trip of the President's two sons and their wives on the maiden voyage of the Royal Pleiades, the largest cruise ship in the world, is abruptly brought to a halt with a hijacking in the Indian Ocean. The ship is hi-jacked by al Queda and Somali pirates and the intrepid BEF agents work to get the ship back. (Not a spoiler here, either, we knew it was going to happen.) Read how the BEF agents foil the plans of the perpetrators with some BEF tactics combined with some MacGyver devices. President Annette Thompson, the mother of the two grooms, calls on the BEF to help with handling these predicaments.

""Once the Black Eagle Force has recaptured the Indian vessel and it is under our protection...I want you to turn your best efforts into decimating the Somali piracy threat...once and for all.""
""I'm honored to accept the responsibility, Madame President, Mr. Secretary. What are the ROEs?"
"There are none, General White. There are none."

Thus begins the beginning of the end - or does it? Do the two stories merge or not? You will have to read the book to learn how it all happens and the end result. You will feel as if you are a member of this elite force as you follow the BEF on another exciting clandestine mission (or two).
Buck Stienke is a retired captain and fighter pilot for the United States Air Force and a graduate from the Air Force Academy. He was a pilot for Delta Airlines for over 25 years and also executive producer of the award winning film Rockabilly Baby.
Ken Farmer served in the Marine Corps and graduated from Stephen F. Austin State University. Ken has been a professional actor, writer and director with memorable roles in Silverado, Friday Night Lights and Uncommon Valor. He continues to write and direct award-winning films, including Rockabilly Baby.
Doran Ingrham's former life included the USMC, Risk Management/Close Security Specialist and extensive experience dealing with terrorists. He has appeared in commercials, TV and films. He now lives with his wife in an undisclosed location.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action packed from start to finish,a great read!, July 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great book! Action packed,made me feel like I was right there in the middle of everthing! Very well written,looking forward to reading more books written by these authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good Guys Triumph!, July 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Eagle Force: Blood Ivory (Kindle Edition)
The Black Eagle Force has done it again! They beat the bad guys into submission... All around the world! Buck, Ken, and Doran crafted a super action story that finally solved the terrorist problem for good. I couldn't put this book down until I finished it. Great job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood ivory, June 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Eagle Force: Blood Ivory (Kindle Edition)
Great book , introduced a new kick butt hero with a shadow past joining up with a high tech gov back security force.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reading entertainment, June 23, 2013
Hats off to Ken & Buck and the wonderful advice from Doran. Brothers in Arms, et al. I have kept up with all of their books and have enjoyed each and everyone. If you have spent any time in the service of our nation, you will totally enjoy reading their work. Can't wait for the next one.

Goatey
Lebanon, Oklahoma
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good story, May 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Eagle Force: Blood Ivory (Kindle Edition)
Well constructed , Wish we had that level of tech actually available to our defenders of the free life as we like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Black Eagle Force: Blood Ivory
$3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.