Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Collins' Intersectional Approach To The Analysis of Oppression, A Feminist Philosophy Classic
Patricia Hill Collins’ *Black Feminist Thought: Knowledge, Consciousness, and the Politics of Empowerment* develops an intersectional approach to the analysis of oppression.

Collins argues that African-American women are uniquely positioned to understand how oppression works because of their experiences at the intersections of race, gender and class based...
Published 2 months ago by BestPhilosophyBooksDotOrg

versus
0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Required for Class
This book was required for class. MAKE me buy something and I like it less. I thought it was kind of boring...but again, I had to have it for class...which is probably why I thought it was so boring.
Published 23 months ago by ARFedewa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Collins' Intersectional Approach To The Analysis of Oppression, A Feminist Philosophy Classic, November 20, 2014
This review is from: Black Feminist Thought: Knowledge, Consciousness, and the Politics of Empowerment (Routledge Classics) (Paperback)
Patricia Hill Collins’ *Black Feminist Thought: Knowledge, Consciousness, and the Politics of Empowerment* develops an intersectional approach to the analysis of oppression.

Collins argues that African-American women are uniquely positioned to understand how oppression works because of their experiences at the intersections of race, gender and class based oppressions.

Using an interdisciplinary framework, Hill Collin’s own work gives voice to oral histories, poetry, fiction, music history, and more. Black Feminist Thought is a very readable and enjoyable text, but it also will make readers think hard about the nature of oppression on multiple levels. Readers will also explore the nature of resistance, from where the next effective forms of resistance will emerge, and what these will look like.

Readers interested in these topics will also enjoy Audre Lorde and Maria Lugones’ work - see *Sister Outsider* and *Pilgrimages Peregrinajes*, respectively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great feminist book, May 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Feminist Thought: Knowledge, Consciousness, and the Politics of Empowerment (Routledge Classics) (Paperback)
This book has been a godsend for me in my research on Black feminism. She categorizes each topic and makes it easy to follow her theories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book..., April 12, 2013
By 
Artist (Brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Feminist Thought: Knowledge, Consciousness, and the Politics of Empowerment (Routledge Classics) (Paperback)
I strongly recommend this book if you are looking to understand feminism and how race, gender, class and sexuality are pivotal in understanding one's place and identity in the world...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN INSIGHTFUL ANALYSIS, September 16, 2011
By 
This review is from: Black Feminist Thought (Paperback)
Patricia Hill Collins, (born 1948) is Professor of Sociology at the University of Maryland, College Park, and the former head of the Department of African American Studies at the University of Cincinnati, as well as past President of the American Sociological Association Council. She has also written the books Black Sexual Politics: African Americans, Gender, and the New Racism, Another Kind of Public Education: Race, Schools, the Media, and Democratic Possibilities (Simmons College/Beacon Press Race, Education, and Democracy), Fighting Words: Black Women and the Search for Justice (Contradictions of Modernity), and Race, Class, & Gender: An Anthology.

She wrote in the Preface to this 1991 book, "This book reflects one stage in my ongoing struggle to regain my voice. Over the years I have tried to replace the external definitions of my life forwarded by dominant groups with my own self-defined standpoint... Finally, writing this book has convinced me of the need to reconcile subjectivity and objectivity in producing scholarship... I discovered that the both/and conceptual stance of Black feminist thought allowed me to be both objective and subjective, to possess both an Afrocentric and a feminist consciousness, and to be both a respectable scholar and an acceptable mother."

Here are some quotations from the book:

"I cite a range of Black women thinkers not because I think Black women have a monopoly on the ideas presented; instead I aim to demonstrate the range and depth of thinkers who exist in my community." (Pg. 16)
"Blue-eyed, blond, thin white women could not be considered beautiful without the Other---Black women with classical African features of dark skin, broad noses, full lips, and kinky hair." (Pg. 79)
"As bloodmothers and othermothers in Black extended families, women are key to transmitting an Afrocentric worldview." (Pt. 146)
"But because Black women have had to struggle against white male interpretations of the world in order to express a self-defined standpoint, Black feminist thought can best be viewed as subjugated knowledge." (Pg. 201-202)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Feminist Thought: Knowledge, Consciousness, and the Politics of Empowerment (Routledge Classics) (Paperback)
I love this book or a few chapters of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pathbreaking, February 28, 2012
This review is from: Black Feminist Thought: Knowledge, Consciousness, and the Politics of Empowerment (Routledge Classics) (Paperback)
Collins' work is more than just a sociological classic. She pushes anyone - student of sociology or citizen of the planet - to reexamine how they think power is structured in society. Simply put, she'll help you puzzle through the question: what matters more, gender, race, or class? And she does it by covering quite interesting topics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, June 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Feminist Thought: Knowledge, Consciousness, and the Politics of Empowerment (Routledge Classics) (Paperback)
One of the most important pieces of oppositional knowledge to emerge in 20th century sociology. The matrix of domination with the connection of race, class and gender (she adds other status markers later in her work) has completely changed how we sociologists and people in general view inequality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Required for Class, February 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Feminist Thought: Knowledge, Consciousness, and the Politics of Empowerment (Routledge Classics) (Paperback)
This book was required for class. MAKE me buy something and I like it less. I thought it was kind of boring...but again, I had to have it for class...which is probably why I thought it was so boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was for a class..., December 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Feminist Thought: Knowledge, Consciousness, and the Politics of Empowerment (Routledge Classics) (Paperback)
I did not actually get to read the whole book, my teacher did not really stress reading this so I unfortunately cannot write and honest review. Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Black Feminist Thought: Knowledge, Consciousness, and the Politics of Empowerment (Routledge Classics)
$35.00 $28.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.