Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Black Feminist Thought: Knowledge, Consciousness, and the Politics of Empowerment (Routledge Classics)
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 20, 2014
Patricia Hill Collins’ *Black Feminist Thought: Knowledge, Consciousness, and the Politics of Empowerment* develops an intersectional approach to the analysis of oppression.

Collins argues that African-American women are uniquely positioned to understand how oppression works because of their experiences at the intersections of race, gender and class based oppressions.

Using an interdisciplinary framework, Hill Collin’s own work gives voice to oral histories, poetry, fiction, music history, and more. Black Feminist Thought is a very readable and enjoyable text, but it also will make readers think hard about the nature of oppression on multiple levels. Readers will also explore the nature of resistance, from where the next effective forms of resistance will emerge, and what these will look like.

Readers interested in these topics will also enjoy Audre Lorde and Maria Lugones’ work - see *Sister Outsider* and *Pilgrimages Peregrinajes*, respectively.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2015
Collins is an amazing writer. I am thoroughly pleased by the way she presents the information in her book and would definitely buy other books by this author. I needed it for a graduate course and it was very clear and easy to understand and implement into class discussions.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2015
my sister had this book for a college class and recommended i read it. Im so glad she did. the book is amazing and collins totally breaks down the hypocrisy of mainstream (white) feminism as well as the civil rights movement in terms of its consideration to black women. It helped me understand black women as a people under-acknowledged with a dynamic and important history. I felt like it was really dense but not hard
to follow.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon September 16, 2011
Patricia Hill Collins, (born 1948) is Professor of Sociology at the University of Maryland, College Park, and the former head of the Department of African American Studies at the University of Cincinnati, as well as past President of the American Sociological Association Council. She has also written the books Black Sexual Politics: African Americans, Gender, and the New Racism,Another Kind of Public Education: Race, Schools, the Media, and Democratic Possibilities (Simmons College/Beacon Press Race, Education, and Democracy),Fighting Words: Black Women and the Search for Justice (Contradictions of Modernity), and Race, Class, & Gender: An Anthology.

She wrote in the Preface to this 1991 book, "This book reflects one stage in my ongoing struggle to regain my voice. Over the years I have tried to replace the external definitions of my life forwarded by dominant groups with my own self-defined standpoint... Finally, writing this book has convinced me of the need to reconcile subjectivity and objectivity in producing scholarship... I discovered that the both/and conceptual stance of Black feminist thought allowed me to be both objective and subjective, to possess both an Afrocentric and a feminist consciousness, and to be both a respectable scholar and an acceptable mother."

Here are some quotations from the book:

"I cite a range of Black women thinkers not because I think Black women have a monopoly on the ideas presented; instead I aim to demonstrate the range and depth of thinkers who exist in my community." (Pg. 16)
"Blue-eyed, blond, thin white women could not be considered beautiful without the Other---Black women with classical African features of dark skin, broad noses, full lips, and kinky hair." (Pg. 79)
"As bloodmothers and othermothers in Black extended families, women are key to transmitting an Afrocentric worldview." (Pt. 146)
"But because Black women have had to struggle against white male interpretations of the world in order to express a self-defined standpoint, Black feminist thought can best be viewed as subjugated knowledge." (Pg. 201-202)
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2013
I strongly recommend this book if you are looking to understand feminism and how race, gender, class and sexuality are pivotal in understanding one's place and identity in the world...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2013
This book has been a godsend for me in my research on Black feminism. She categorizes each topic and makes it easy to follow her theories.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2013
One of the most important pieces of oppositional knowledge to emerge in 20th century sociology. The matrix of domination with the connection of race, class and gender (she adds other status markers later in her work) has completely changed how we sociologists and people in general view inequality
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2015
Really good read, it'll make you think. Quality of book was good
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2016
Amazing text! It is a must need for all Scholars interested in Black feminist thought!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2015
I received the wrong addition of the book… Really unhappy with this purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.