Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Disturbed $5 Off Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Shop Popular Services gotS5 gotS5 gotS5  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Metal Gear Solid 5 Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation STEM Toys & Games
Listen with
Join Amazon Prime now
You get unlimited access to over a million songs, curated playlists, and ad-free stations with Amazon Prime. Play album in Library Get the free Amazon Music app for iOS or Android to listen on the go.
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).
Buy Used
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: VERY GOOD Condition with Very Minimal to Minor Cosmetic Blemishes Throughout Disc. 100% Guaranteed to Play. Complete with Artwork and Case. Plastic Case May Have Minimal Signs of Wear Throughout. *** Qualify for FREE Super Saver Shipping on Orders of $35.00 or More! Fast Shipping Through AMAZON Fulfillment! As Always a 100% 30 Day Money Back Guarantee! ***
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Black Foliage: Volume one
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Black Foliage: Volume one

6 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Now with Prime Music Join Prime Prime Members
Black Foliage: Animation Music
"Please retry"
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, March 16, 2004
"Please retry"
$196.01 $3.12

Listen to Samples and Buy MP3s

Songs from this album are available to purchase as MP3s. Click on "Buy MP3" or view the MP3 Album.

Song Title Time Price
  1. Opening0:25$0.99  Buy MP3 
  2. A Peculiar Noise Called "Train Director" 3:02$0.99  Buy MP3 
  3. Combinations0:05$0.99  Buy MP3 
  4. Hideaway 2:34$0.99  Buy MP3 
  5. Black Foliage (Animation 1) 1:11$0.99  Buy MP3 
  6. Combinations0:14$0.99  Buy MP3 
  7. The Sky Is A Harpsichord Canvas0:04$0.99  Buy MP3 
  8. A Sleepy Company 3:40$0.99  Buy MP3 
  9. Grass Canons 3:21$0.99  Buy MP3 
10. A New Day 2:29$0.99  Buy MP3 
11. Combinations0:15$0.99  Buy MP3 
12. Black Foliage (Animation 2) 1:23$0.99  Buy MP3 
13. I Have Been Floated 3:39$0.99  Buy MP3 
14. Paranormal Echoes 3:30$0.99  Buy MP3 
15. Black Foliage (Animation 3)0:44$0.99  Buy MP3 
16. A Place We Have Been To 2:25$0.99  Buy MP3 
17. Black Foliage (itself) 2:54$0.99  Buy MP3 
18. The Sylvan Screen 6:07$0.99  Buy MP3 
19. The Bark and Below It11:25$0.99  Buy MP3 
20. Black Foliage (Animation 4) 1:36$0.99  Buy MP3 
21. California Demise 3 2:46$0.99  Buy MP3 
22. Looking for Quiet Seeds 3:13$0.99  Buy MP3 
23. Combinations0:11$0.99  Buy MP3 
24. Mystery 3:25$0.99  Buy MP3 
25. Another Set Of Bees In The Museum 3:07$0.99  Buy MP3 
26. Black Foliage (Animation 5) 2:08$0.99  Buy MP3 
27. Hilltop Procession Momentum Gaining 3:22$0.99  Buy MP3 

Product Details

  • Audio CD (March 16, 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Cloud Recordings
  • ASIN: B00008LO98
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #362,256 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful By E. A Solinas HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on November 27, 2004
Format: Audio CD
Hardly anybody does psychedelic space-rock the way the Olivia Tremor Control do -- and their second album "Black Foliage: Animation Music" is no exception. It sounds like the soundtrack to an acid party on Mars, with their elaborate tapestry of electronica, tape tinkering, and jazzy psychedelic pop. It's one of those rare albums that cannot be compared to anything else, only to itself.

It opens with.... well, "Opener," a wavery 25-second intro that slips into the sputtering Beatles-esque "A Peculiar Noise Called "Train Director" and the sweeping sweet grandeur of "Hideaway." Other songs strike different notes: "A Sleepy Company" sounds like a brass band getting drunk, while "I Have Been Floated" is a solemn little pop song with ghostly sound effects. "Another Set Of Bees In The Museum" is a fun little song that is blurred over by fuzz.

But the Olivia Tremor Control doesn't stick strictly to their own brand of psychedelic pop. They also dabble in experimental songs, such as brief interludes all called "Combinations," which appear to be tapes being messed around with -- the results are odd computerized vocals and random blips. "Black Foliage Animation 1" is a solid little tune that descends into bubbling, computerized chaos, and then gives up to the chaos completely. And the climax is "The Bark and Below It," an eleven-and-a-half-minute epic that starts on a soft little melody that is swamped by sonic thunder, only to reemerge among clangs, bells, electronic burps, a slurred keyboard melody, a xylophone, and what sounds like a heartbeat.

Listening to all of "Black Foliage: Animation Music" is a bit like a pleasant hallucination, especially if you listen to several of their odder songs in a row.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
By J. Anzalone on October 4, 2006
Format: Audio CD
Really enjoyable psychadelic record that is even more enjoyable if you can appreciate the sound collage. I can't do the long piece, The Bark and Below It, but the experiments are interesting and interwoven. You really probably won't "get" them until you've heard them quite a bit, but the album itself is enjoyable, and it is rewarding when the collage becomes cohesive after you've spent time listening to and enjoying the music.

The album flows differently than Cubist Castle, but the individual songs are stronger. Grass Canons is a haunting standout track.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on March 24, 2004
Format: Audio CD
Long awaited reissue of The Olivia Tremor Control's ambitious, highly influential second album from 1999. 74-minutes of perfect symphonic pop songs in an elaborate tapestry of tape manipulation, free jazz, and electronics. Includes detailed liner notes, and a 12-page full-color booklet featuring the beautiful artwork of singer W. Cullen Hart.
W.Cullen Hart - vocals, guitar, electronics
Bill Doss - vocals, guitar
Peter Erchick - vocals, piano, organ
John Fernandes - bass, saxophone, clarinet, violin
Eric Harris - drums, theramin

Julian Koster - banjo, saw, accordion
Jeff Mangum - vocals, melodica, percussion
Robert Schneider - vocals, guitar
Jeremy Barnes - percussion
Recorded 1995-1998 in Athens, Georgia.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?