Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Women's Cyber Monday Deals Week Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Train egg_2015 Fire TV Stick Beauty Deals Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer mithc mithc mithc  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Cyber Monday Video Game Deals Outdoor Deals on bgg

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by RedHouse
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: UK BASED SELLER ALL OVERSEAS SHIPPING VIA AIRMAIL *COVER MAY DIFFER TO ONE SHOWN * 1996 date seen in book , foxing to pages . covers rubbed all overseas shipping is by Air Mail
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Black Gold, Red Death Paperback – September 5, 1996

1 customer review

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Hardcover, Import
"Please retry"
"Please retry"
$66.93 $0.02

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Editorial Reviews

From the Inside Flap

Martin Gallagher has never known real danger before. A newspaper reporter in San Antonio, his mundane life cracks wide open when his half sister Stella reveals the truth about herself: she is the secret leader of a Mexican revolutionary movement, and she desperately needs his help.
Stella begs him to deliver a vital cache of documents that could save the revolution. Wary and unsure, Martin only knows one thing -- he must help his sister, no matter what she asks. Dodging informants, the FBI, and the CIA, Martin believes he's safe -- until he comes face-to-face with a ruthless and deadly-accurate assassin known as Tony Sleep. Even the inexperienced Martin knows a deadly enemy when he sees one and realizes Stella is the only one he can turn to -- and she's in no position to help . . . . --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author

David Lindsey is the author of several popular thrillers including MERCY and, most recently, REQUIEM FOR A GLASS HEART.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Time Warner Paperbacks (September 5, 1996)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0751510238
  • ISBN-13: 978-0751510232
  • Product Dimensions: 7 x 1 x 4.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 7.8 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,758,176 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

David Lindsey has published 14 novels in the mystery, thriller, suspense, and spy genres. He began his writing career in 1983 by publishing two mystery novels in the same year. One of those novels, "A Cold Mind" featuring Houston homicide detective, Stuart Haydon, has been called by reviewers "one of the best suspense novels of all time"; and "a classic of the genre." Lindsey began working closely with the Houston Homicide Division for his research, and by the late 1980s Lindsey had written four Haydon novels.

In 1988 he changed directions and began extensive research for a novel that would become one of the first to be published about a then new criminal phenomenon, the serial killer. Published in 1990, "Mercy" became an international bestseller. In 1992 the German television network Zweites Deutsches Fernsehen (ZDF), featured Lindsey in an hour-long special program in their "Literature and Culture" series. "Mercy" was optioned for a feature film production, and remained under option for over a decade before it was finally filmed and premiered on HBO in April 2000.

In 1992 "Body of Truth", the fifth and last novel to feature Stuart Haydon, was published and won Germany's Bochumer Krimi Archiv award for the best suspense novel of the year. Lindsey turned to international settings with "Requiem for a Glass Heart" (1996) and "The Color of Night" (1999). The first novel dealt with international crime, while the second was set in the world of spies and international intelligence. "The Rules of Silence", Lindsey's twelfth novel was published in 2003, and was the first to be set in his home city, Austin. It was immediately bought outright by Universal Studios for a feature film production.

After publishing his thirteenth novel, Lindsey spent the next several years pursuing two large teleplay projects before his curiosity brought him back to novels in 2007. He began researching the astonishing rise of the government's outsourcing of national intelligence. Silently, and out of sight, privatized spying had become a multi-billion dollar industry in the years following 9/11. The industry's growth has been so explosive that private contractors now command over 70% of the nation's entire intelligence budget. Some of the corporations have become information industry giants with government contracts in the billions of dollars annually.

Lindsey thought this subject was tailor-made for long form fiction, but he soon realized that the story he wanted to tell was too large to be encompassed in a single volume. In 2011 Lindsey, writing under the pseudonym Paul Harper, published "Pacific Heights", the first volume in a serial novel featuring former intelligence officer Marten Fane. "Sorrow's Spy", the second volume in the Marten Fane Story serial novel will be published in 2012.

Lindsey researches and writes his novels in his library, which is adjacent to his home in Austin, Texas.

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

By DAVID on February 15, 2014
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
I think this is David Lindsey's first novel. The author writes well so even his okay novels aren't too bad. Consider it okay entertainment.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?