Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Martin is hilarious.
This is one of the more offbeat movies that Martin Lawrence has starred in. He's a 20th century black man transported back to medieval England and the hilarity starts. He even teaches WWE wrestling moves to the natives when they rebel against the king.
Published on February 14, 2011 by Osirus

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Martin Lawrence going medeival.
The one thing that makes time travel movies so fascinating is how they show the cultural differences between the time traveler and the era traveled to. Throwing a Nike-wearing urbanite into medieval times might sound a bit out of place, but you do get some fun scenes. Unfortunately if it's not done the right way and the scenes that are supposed to be funny get tiresome...
Published on February 27, 2008 by SRFireside


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Martin is hilarious., February 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Knight (DVD)
This is one of the more offbeat movies that Martin Lawrence has starred in. He's a 20th century black man transported back to medieval England and the hilarity starts. He even teaches WWE wrestling moves to the natives when they rebel against the king.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Martin Lawrence going medeival., February 27, 2008
By 
SRFireside "ZOOM!" (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Black Knight (DVD)
The one thing that makes time travel movies so fascinating is how they show the cultural differences between the time traveler and the era traveled to. Throwing a Nike-wearing urbanite into medieval times might sound a bit out of place, but you do get some fun scenes. Unfortunately if it's not done the right way and the scenes that are supposed to be funny get tiresome. That is what this movie suffers from more than anything else.

Okay. You can't really expect much from a time traveling movie with Martin Lawrence in it. A Martin Lawrence comedy, no matter what genre they make it, is going to be pretty much the same. Black Knight does have some good qualities to it, but they get drowned out by... well... Martin Lawrence doing what he does in just about every comedy he's made. In other words it's funny the first few times, but how many times can you see this guy freak out over some predicament? It gets old really fast. The worst part about it is the other parts of the movie actually get interesting and you can see a lot of potential here, but then Martin starts up with his usual shtick and ruins the moment. Martin really needed to branch this character out more.

As far as making everything look and feel like a real 13th century kingdom they did a pretty decent job of it. I wouldn't go so far as to say it rivals the authenticity of movies like Dragonslayer or Lord of the Rings, but I would call it a good shot for a movie with a modest budget. That is until you start getting the music in. These people need to do their research on those long trumpets because they certainly didn't sound right. Also there is a scene where Martin Lawrence gets the local minstrels to play some Motown which ended up being not only unbelievable but just plain silly (and not in a good way). Yeah I know... Martin Lawrence and all that.

To be fair the plot and back-stories were solid. There were a couple of bumps here and there, but good enough nonetheless. I really did like how the whole movie came together in the end. You also get some good performances from Kevin Conway and Vincent Regan. Marsha Thomason does surprisingly well in spite of looking out of place in medieval England. Her performance definitely makes up for that. Martin is Martin so I can't say he really made a stretch in his performance.

Black Knight is mostly just for people who like the comedy style of Martin Lawrence. If his style gets on your nerves then you might want to shy away from this one. Still it's an okay movie if you can get past Lawrence's annoying recurring fish-out-of-water theme. Just don't expect Braveheart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Black Knight, January 6, 2010
This review is from: Black Knight (DVD)
Fast-talking con-man Jamal Walker has big-time plans--but for now he's stuck in a menial job at a medieval theme park. After slipping into the park's fetid "moat," Jamal finds himself in 14th century England--a world of knights in shining armor, a wicked king and damsels in distress. The Middle Ages will never be the same after Jamal uses his 21st century street smarts and attitude to help a down-and-out knight and a beautiful woman defeat an evil king. Black Knight is extremely funny but slow on the on plot and not as much action as I thought. Martin Lawerence wasn't his best but he brought the laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Better script would have helped., March 28, 2004
By 
JediMack (VALRICO, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Knight (DVD)
The main idea of this Martin Lawrence vehicle had some potential. A black, young adult, under achiever with potential gets sent back to medieval times to learn a valuable lesson. Some of the bits are funny and Lawrence shows he has some talent, but there was nothing solid enough here that to make us feel that we wanted to watch it again, unless it came on TV with the language edited.
It could have even been done to be more family friendly, but it wasn't. This movie is at best AVERAGE or 2.5 stars. I'll round down to 2 stars for some language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Knight, August 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Knight (DVD)
Hilarious!!!!! I love this Movie.......Martin has did it again in this tail of a young man who accidently falls into a puddle of water only to wake up in the medieval times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Martin Lawrence, this is beneath you!, April 25, 2004
This review is from: Black Knight (DVD)
Martin Lawrence is a favorite of mine, and I'd missed "Black Knight" in theaters and on DVD until a friend of mine brought it over recently for me to see.
I still really like Martin Lawrence, he's still a favorite, but boy was this movie a mess. Martin Lawrence plays a goofy (and goof-off) employee for a Renaissance Fair-like amusement park in southern California named Jamal, who dreams of a better life when a competing attraction called Castle World prepares to open down the road. As he contemplates this possible new job, Jamal spies a glowing medallion necklace in the fake moat at work, and in reaching for it accidentally falls in ...
When he comes out again, he's been tranported to the late 14th century, is promptly mistaken for a messenger from the Duke of Normandie, and becomes the jester -- then head of security -- while all the time plotting to get into the dress of a beautiful servant girl, whom he learns is part of a rebellion to overthrow the evil king and put the rightful queen back onto the throne.
When Jamal comes out of the water in the 14th-century, in jeans and a football jersey and sneakers that no one questions, I knew the script suffered from lack of common sense. Martin, good as he is, can't overcome the bad writing of a film that just never crosses the line to be believable. His clothes, style of talk, and slanguage fit right in from the beginning, and the silly sitcom-style circumstances that lead to his being made head of the king's security will just make you roll your eyes, and the cast surrounding Martin Lawrence are adequate -- but still can't make up for a script that just isn't funny.
Skip this one, and turn on some "Martin" on tv instead -- and say Good Night to this "Black Knight".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but not great..., August 17, 2002
By 
Karen (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Knight [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I'm not a huge fan of Martin Lawrence but I had seen the preview for the movie and thought it might be worth a laugh (besides...I had a free rental!). I have to admit that the first time I watched it, I didn't find it funny. However, I ended up watching it again with a friend and was mildly surprised the second time around.
It certainly isn't Martin Lawrence at his best. Tom Wilkinson as Knolte was disappointing...not for his portrayal but the fact that he chose to be in a movie like this. The best part of the movie for me was Percival, played by Vincent Regan. An almost unknown actor here in North America, this was certainly not the greatest bit of acting he's done. For a sample of what he can really do, check out his performance as Buck in The Messenger: Joan of Arc by Luc Besson. (Whatever you do, don't rent the poorly done Point Men).
This is one of those movies that, if you don't take it too seriously (and you're not supposed to), you might enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty bad, January 2, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Black Knight (DVD)
How can someone so funny be so not funny in a movie? Did the director just say, "Martin, do your thang" and turn him loose to do and say what came to mind? I agree with many of the reviewers that this movie is one of the worst comedies ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What was WRONG with Martin?, April 20, 2002
By 
Andre M. "brnn64" (Mt. Pleasant, SC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Knight [VHS] (VHS Tape)
What was WRONG with Martin Lawrence when he agreed to do this mess? Essentially, this is a low-grade millennium version of the 1931 Will Rogers satire "A Connecticut Yankee In King Arthur's Court", which itself was based on Mark Twain's novel. Will Roger's original film about a modern man who dreams he is transported to the middle ages was bad, but this is even WORSE! Bad acting, corny story, gross-out humor, ad nauseum. However, the scene with Martin teaching the medieval musicians to play Sly Stone's "Dance to the Music" is mildly amusing, as his outrageous speech to rally the peasants against the King (a wild mixture of Al Sharpton, Rodney King, and John F. Kennedy), and Marsha Thompson as his love interest is rather easy on the eyes. These latter factors give it 2 stars instead of 1. But if you like Martin Lawrence, stick to his TV show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the wrong Lawrence, December 28, 2001
By 
John Hobbs (manchester, NH USA) - See all my reviews
Martin Lawrence consitantly overplayed his charactor. I think Matt Lawrence would have been a better choice for this role. They could have called it the mtv generation get's knighted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Black Knight [Blu-ray]
Black Knight [Blu-ray] by Black Knight (Blu-ray - 2013)
$17.99 $11.86
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.