Customer Reviews


225 Reviews
5 star:
 (193)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


107 of 115 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Funimation Release At Last
For many fans of the franchise, it is incredible news that Funimation has decided to assemble the full previously Geneon-exclusive property and release it as a complete series box set.

Black Lagoon is one of those rare anime titles that manage to combine a near endless succession of violence and gunplay with a gritty back-story that provides far more than just...
Published on September 15, 2009 by ONENEO

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disk are fake
My second season doesn't work! None of the disk are real. I want to know why and I want my second season!
Published 2 months ago by daisy


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

107 of 115 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Funimation Release At Last, September 15, 2009
By 
ONENEO (Buffalo, NY) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
For many fans of the franchise, it is incredible news that Funimation has decided to assemble the full previously Geneon-exclusive property and release it as a complete series box set.

Black Lagoon is one of those rare anime titles that manage to combine a near endless succession of violence and gunplay with a gritty back-story that provides far more than just a catalyst to advance the action-sequences along. Thanks to collaboration between Geneon Entertainment and Funimation, the Black Lagoon series is one of several titles in which while Geneon retains the license, Funimation holds the rights to the manufacturing, marketing, sales and distribution in North America.

In terms of the Black Lagoon mythos, The Complete Box Set represents the full two-season run of the anime, which was itself based on a manga written and illustrated by Rei Hiroe.

Released across eight discs (thin packs) and packaged within a cardboard outer slipcase, The Complete Box Set consists of episodes 1-24. Bonus discs are loaded with a host of interesting material including the show's Promo Video, "Red Faction" music video (performed by MELL), a behind the scenes documentary on the English production, an interview with director Sunao Katabuchi, textless opening and closings, and Funimation trailers. The show comes in at a total runtime of 660 minutes and wears a very appropriate TV MA (mature, 17+) rating.

Language options are standard sub & dub with both an English dub and original Japanese soundtrack (either of which is presented in Dolby Digital 2.0) & the choice of English subtitled if so inclined to turn them on.

The show, for those who have yet to experience it, has a distinctly Asian-movie quality about it. While graphic violence segments are often retained from the manga source material, the core of the show's uniqueness comes in the form of spectacular feats of physical display during the intense and frequently occurring battles. Think slow-motion back handsprings to avoid a stream of dangerously spinning blades ala John Woo.

Fantastic visuals aside, the story shows several moments of gang-driven brilliance throughout. Rather than focus on a single character's trials and tribulations, the Black Lagoon saga is known for its penchant for popping around on several seemingly disconnected story arcs, which are ultimately tied together pretty nicely. The first season introduced viewers to the Lagoon Company, which was essentially a band of mercenaries who smuggled goods in and around the waterfronts of Southeast Asia in the 1990s. As expected with a group of pirates, the team were often placed into a wide variety of scenarios which included violent firefights, hand-to-hand combat (with gleaming blades a plenty), and nautical battles that would, of late, fit right in on the headlines of the news. When not involved in death-defying blood baths, the members of Lagoon Company could often be found scheming on the stools of The Yellow Flag, a shady bar in Roanapur.

I bring up events of the past because the first season made it quite clear that while Lagoon Company does business with a wide variety of clients from many nations, they are particularly friendly relationship with a Russian crime syndicate by the name of Hotel Moscow. The Second Barrage sets up the story of a string of disturbing murders taking place where twin killers appear to be targeting members of Hotel Moscow.

Without giving too much away, the plot this time around follows three story threads that delicately dance around one another but all progress toward the greater goal of getting to the bottom of the string of murders in question.

Often criticized for its violent content and heavy existentialistic-themes, the truth about Black Lagoon is that true enjoyment is often the result of zoning out and simply enjoying the nearly endless and incredibly cool action segments (one guy can slice a fired bullet in two with a swipe of his katana- it doesn't get cooler than that).

English dub work is solid although the emotion and intensity level is superior in the original Japanese soundtrack. The only problem with viewing the subtitled version is that reading the text can often distract from the lightening-fast action taking place at any given moment.

In all, Black Lagoon The Complete Box Set is a welcomed release of a well-regarded franchise with enough new twists and turns to keep viewers (both experienced and new to the show alike) glued to the set. It's not for everyone, however, as the show is littered with adult-themes, violence, and gore.

Fans of action-driven story telling, scantily clad women with big guns, and action sequences that are often superior to big-budget Hollywood feature films, reserve a space on your shelf for Black Lagoon. An extra star for Funimation's decision to slap it all together into an 8-disc volume (6 discs plus 2 worth of bonus material) all for a little more than the individual seasons have been selling for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars (4.5 stars) If you are an anime fan who craves action with a well-written storyline, "Black Lagoon" is recommended on Blu-ray!, December 18, 2012
This review is from: Black Lagoon: Season 1 & 2 (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
In 2002, Rei Hiroe ("Gunparade March", "Phantom Bullet", "Blade Guns") would create his latest manga "Black Lagoon". Featured on Shogakukan's "Monthly Sunday Gene-X" and still an ongoing series today, the manga series would receive an anime adaptation by Studio Madhouse in 2006. The first "Black Lagoon" series featured 12 episodes and several months later, the second season titled "The Second Barrage" would air in Japan. And in 2010, the OVA series titled "Black Lagoon: Roberta's Blood Trail" was released in Japan via OVA.

Both seasons were released on DVD in the U.S. back in 2008 and 2009 from Geneon Entertainment and FUNimation Entertainment and aired on television via Starz Edge. And now the series will be released on Blu-ray as a complete set (not including the OVA's) in December 2012 courtesy of FUNimation Entertainment.

"Black Lagoon" is a series that has a strong following in the U.S. According to Rei Hiroe, the series was inspired by James Ellroy, John Woo, Quentin Tarentino and Stephen King and also the piracy cases that took place in the East China Sea back in the '90s. A big Tarentino fan, "Black Lagoon" pays homage to films by Quentin Tarentino but also films from the Coen Brothers.

VIDEO:

"Black Lagoon" is presented in 1080p High Definition (1:78:1 aspect ration). First, I have to admit that prior to watching this Blu-ray release, I was expecting the series that would look good as an upconvert, considering it was made back in 2006. And because it's a TV series, expecting the usual TV series softness. But prior to the Blu-ray release, I always thought that "Black Lagoon" was a series that looked stunning on DVD. Felt that Studio Madhouse did a wonderful job with the character design and shading of the characters and really going out in bringing Rei Hiroe's characters and the "Black Lagoon" world to life in an anime series.

On Blu-ray, I will say that the series looks much better with bolder colors, better line detail and I wasn't detecting any major banding or artifact issues while watching his Blu-ray release. There is softness, as expected from a TV series, but for an upconvert, "Black Lagoon" looks very good on Blu-ray!

AUDIO:

"Black Lagoon" is presented in DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 and Japanese Dolby TrueHD 2.0. And as one can expect from its lossless 5.1 soundtrack, there is better dynamic range due to the plenty of action in each episode, the 5.1 soundtrack utilizes the surround channels effectively, especially with LFE. Explosions, gunshots, this is an active anime series that sounds great on Blu-ray. But I also want to add that the English dub track was very well done! For a series that features a diverse group, the writers for the English dialogue knew they could make the storyline feel like a seedy underground environment and that is too have your characters become the badasses with profanity and all.

Where the Japanese soundtrack is very good and appropriate for television, "Black Lagoon" has an English soundtrack that works effectively because of its profanity and nature of the main characters. Revy is featured as a loudmouth, a person who can easily cuss up a storm and the writers took advantage of that. Especially making the characters feel real thanks to casting. The English dub track has is made better by its more mature dialogue.

SPECIAL FEATURES:

"Black Lagoon: Complete Set - Season 1 & 2″ comes with the following special features:

The Crew Behind the Scenes of English Version Production - (15:36) Featuring interviews with the original cast and crew of "Black Lagoon".
CD Commercial (Japan Only) - (:16) A short commercial for the CD soundtrack in Japan.
Promotional Video 1 - (1:55)
Promotional Video 2 - (1:19)
Second Season Promotion Video - (1:19)
Japanese Opening - (1:31)
Japanese Opening for "Black Lagoon: Second Barrage" - (1:31)
Textless Closing Song - (1:41)
Textless Closing Song - Episode 15 - (1:34)
Textless Closing Song - Episode 24 - (1:19)

EXTRAS:

"Black Lagoon: Complete Set - Season 1 & 2″ comes with the entire series on both Blu-ray and DVD.

JUDGMENT CALL:

Once in awhile, you come across anime series that manage to entertainment American audiences more than the audience in Japan. Typically, these are series that tend to feature a lot of action and series that happen to be very violent.

And with Rei Hiroe's inspiration from Quentin Tarentino and Coen Brothers films, he knew what he enjoyed about those films and did his best to create a storyline that incorporate the seedy criminal underground life. Full of people who are greedy, dangerous and often are deadly.

"Black Lagoon" is an interesting and unique anime series because most often, series that showcase protagonists who are thieves often are comedic and tend to use a slapstick style of comedy. But with "Black Lagoon", it's a series that was cleverly planned in how various crime organizations from different countries are integrated but also the moral dilemma that arises when the Lagoon team brings in Rock as their newest member.

You have characters who have come from terrible childhoods and had to compensate by becoming a criminal. Revy is a Chinese American who has lived in poverty and will do all it takes to never ever be poor, but at the same time, not many have tried to calm her anger. There is so much pain, so much hatred in her character but no one was brave enough to stand up to her, that is until we meet Rock.

What is interesting about Rock is that he's not great with fighting, nor is he great with artillery. He's a smart man who knows his geography, linguistics but also a man who gave his company his all, and now his company pretty much did all they can to kill him off because they were trying to hide their illegal dealings.

As Rock sees himself as a dead man with no strong ties to his past, he moves on as a new man with the Lagoon Company but also a man who has morals, a man who finds it difficult to think why criminals do the things they do. Why men, women, children get killed. But as his fellow associates don't question their jobs, Rock is there to challenge, to question them. And it becomes very difficult for a person like Revy, who has lived her life hating or fighting for what she hates. She has taken on the worst of the worst with her gun but yet this one man, without a gun, fights back with his words. Not afraid to upset her, not afraid to get in her face and tell her how he feels, knowing that he will get hurt by her. He doesn't care, as long as he gets his word out.

You don't really see this in a anime series. And throughout "Black Lagoon", we see Rock getting involved with various crime organizations and those wonder how the Lagoon company could hire someone so "good". But they start to realize that even though he is a "good" guy, he's also a smart guy that makes good decisions most of the time, especially in the best interest of the client and his Lagoon friends.

And "Black Lagoon" not only offers a deep and clever story, it also offers a lot of action and violence. What would you expect from an anime series that was inspired by Quentin Tarentino films? Suffice to say, it's the action that gets viewers all pumped. Along with "Hellsing", "Black Lagoon" is an anime series that shows crazy violence, gun wars, explosions, people being impaled. But it's what makes "Black Lagoon"so popular is that it delivers in action and storyline and also for its time, Studio Madhouse really created a series that looked amazing.

But how does it stack up on Blu-ray via upconvert? Well, it is important for people to remember that these are TV series and while there is wonderful animation, great character shading and art backgrounds, as one can expect from a TV series, there is softness. And it's important for people to remember that the series was released in 2006 and I've always said it before that series made after 2008, are the type of series that tend to look more amazing in HD. But with that being said, I have seen some really amazing upconverts from FUNimation of older series and "Black Lagoon" can be put in the category of very good upconverts. Colors are bold, line detail is very good and I detected no problems whatsoever in terms of banding, artifacts. Fans of the series will definitely be pleased with this Blu-ray release. And the Blu-ray also contains a good number of special features.

Was there anything that I found bad about this set? Not really, unless you were really hoping that the OVA series would be included. But you get both TV series included in this set and for its price on Blu-ray, it's a pretty good deal (especially compared to how much people paid for the DVD set back then).

Overall, "Black Lagoon: Complete Set - Season 1 & 2″ has received a distinction in America of being one of the better anime action series to be released stateside. I tend to look at "Black Lagoon" as an action anime series with a unique storyline that is a rarity to see among the plethora of action anime series released each year. But for the most part, I enjoyed the series then and I enjoy it even now on Blu-ray.

If you are an anime fan who craves kick ass action with a well-written storyline, look no further, "Black Lagoon: Complete Set - Season 1 & 2″ is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic in its own right, near Bebop perfection...., December 1, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Although it lacks the nuance and subtlety of Cowboy Bebop, Black Lagoon more
than makes up for that with fast moving stories and almost non-stop action and
mayhem. Black Lagoon has all the elements that made Bebop so good but it is
darker in vision and definitely way more violent. The music is well done, it's not
Yoko Kanno, but interesting enough for me to order the soundtrack, which is
available off Amazon for less than half the price here.* The packaging is weak.
Comes in a flimsy thin box. Using two discs for the bonus material is a waste
as neither is "loaded" with features. Lastly, there is humor and light moments
in this series to keep it balanced like Bebop and all the characters are interesting.
The Taiwan assassin "Chinglish" was a favorite and Sister Etta with her Rip Off
Church is an original twist. Nuns with guns. Revy is basically Faye from Bebop
on steriods but more in attitude and bloodlust than appearance. Animation of
characters and city is great. Background country scenes looks as may have been
farmed out to lesser studio. All around this series is a good buy and I am hoping
for more. *(buyer beware, my order took 3 weeks to arrive).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark, vulgar, and awesome, July 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Lagoon: Season 1 & 2 (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Excellent and brutal anime to add to any collection. While many stories pull punches and hide behind cute cats and kid-safe emo-battles (I'm guilty of owning and enjoying many such series), Black Lagoon throws you into a dark and violent world filled with rich characters and simple-minded villains alike. In fact, often the line between villain and hero gets blurred as you discover how messed-up this account of our world is.

If you watch this, be prepared for a mature story with adult themes, violence, dark humor, and an abundance of vulgarities. And if you're fine with that, you'll probably love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Die Hard meets Edger Allen Poe and Clint Eastwood in a freaky threeway, July 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Lagoon: Season 1 & 2 (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
This is my first time reviewing something on Amazon, and I have a tendency to be rather prolix, so bear with me.

I won’t go into plot too much, as I believe this is a show worth experiencing in its entirety, but will break down the pros and cons of the series.
Pros:
Action Action and MORE ACTION!!!
Fantastic animation
Appealing characters
Twisted story (if you can’t handle it this can be a con)
Unique pace and style

Cons:
Sort of a “dude” show (more on that later)
Box set feels incomplete (but the OVA, sold separately, finishes up the series nicely)

Pro/Con:
Voice acting is… a mixed bag.

Okay, here we go. I have been a big fan of anime all my life, and this has got to be in my top three series watched (and I have seen a LOT of them.) Black Lagoon is unlike any other anime series out there, to the best of my knowledge. It is what I imagine happens when a Japanese man with a fascination for guns and girls writes a manga paying honor to Quentin Tarantino, Clint Eastwood, and the Die Hard series.

At a first glance Black Lagoon is just another Michal Bay film, only animated, complete with subpar acting; but this is how it is supposed to be. You aren’t supposed to take the show seriously until it starts taking itself seriously. This can be haphazard at times, but the transition from “mindless shoot-em-up” to “story about the depravity of humanity” comes along in a surprising way.

This is a show where you are never more than ten minutes away from a firefight and never more than one minute away from an F bomb; it is clear that this show/manga was geared towards a male audience. However, as there is not a single female cast member who is not a bona fide badass, I would encourage everyone to watch this. It jumps away from the typical anime trope of “giddy teenage school girl” female characters, and the lead, Revy, is one of the most twisted sociopaths you’ll ever see.

The animation is amazing, too. From the characters expressions, to the intense detail placed in the action sequences, to the stunning hand-drawn backgrounds and tropical environments. No detail is omitted and you can really appreciate just looking at the scenes. Right out of the bag you’ll be introduced to amazing ocean environments that will leave you wanting to go to the beach. There is very little CG in this show and, in my opinion, it comes out better for it.

Now I’ll mention a little about the story before talking about the most important aspect of this show, the VA. The story starts of bland and un-inspired. Rokuro (Rock) is a Japanese business man whose luck runs out when he is hijacked by a group of international pirates known as Black Lagoon. A thousand bullets, one of those rare helicopter/boat collisions, and a few dozen explosions later nothing really changes aside from the fact that he decides to toss his old job and join up with Black Lagoon.
The series is a collection of Black Lagoon’s exploits after Rock joins. They are more like mercenaries than traditional pirates and pretty much work for the highest bidder. The story doesn’t get really compelling until the second season, “Second Barrage”, where the stories take a turn for the macabre. By the end of the series you will have that “Elfin Lied” feeling, where you will be questioning your own humanity and the meaning of life. Until then, though, just enjoy the ride and laugh at the curse words and vulgar behavior.
As I mentioned before the series doesn’t feel complete until you watch the OVAs, which is called “Black Lagoon: Roberta’s Blood Trail.” The manga which this anime is based off of is still under production, and the second season ended pretty much right when we start learning a little back story. You still won’t know much about the cast, except for Revy, by the end of the OVAs but it does feel like a better place to end, slightly more conclusive (though, again, the manga is still going on so we may even get more eventually)

Okay, lastly the Voice Acting. I know a fair amount of Japanese, and am traditionally in favor of Sub over Dub; I can tell good and bad voice acting regardless of language. I have only ever watched one other series where I prefer dub over sub, and that was Samurai Champloo. This show suffers the same fault as that series (or perhaps benefit, depending on how you look at it.) That is: the voice acting is…okay? In either language. I’ve watched Black Lagoon through in both languages and the quality is decent, but not great, it both languages.

NOW, as to why I prefer Dub over Sub in this instance? One: Watching a show in your native tongue when you have nothing to gain by watching it subbed is always easier. Two, and most importantly: The English language has a much more…. Colorful vocabulary. The majority of Black Lagoon (the pirates) is of American origins, and Rock is multi-lingual so everyone speaking English makes more sense. Not to mention it fits the tone of the series more, we Americans have 101 ways to say “F you” whereas in the Japanese language you are much more restricted. The cast is all pretty violent and vulgar, so having a wide variety in the curse words is a must for comedy’s sake.

Well that about covers it. A 4.5 star show in my opinion, with only the slightest of faults weighing it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great anime, March 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great anime for adults and I mean that not because of nudity but because of blood and gore and Mature themes.

Some people are going to say it's a rip off of cowboy bebop because they are bounty hunters but I personally think its better. It has a more character driven story and has an actual plot as opposed to just random bounties like the aforementioned. But that brings me to the only thing I don't like about this anime. Every episode is like a 2 or three part-er with a crazy 5 part conclusion.

Pick this up though if you're interested in complex plot that deals with the criminal underworld. They deal with Russian deserters the Chinese triad a Nazi cult and even a little bit of Yakuza at the end (which is my personal favorite).

ABOUT THE ACTUAL PRODUCT!!!

This is a great box set if you're looking to own both seasons. It comes with 8 discs in thin plastic cases 2 discs to a case in a cardboard sleeve. 2 discs are purely extra features witch I think is a great addition. I think they just put the two separate box set discs into one set and then repackaged it though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bang, boom & weee, August 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I started this series a couple years ago and i was very happy to own it all. I am sad that they only made two seasons as it has great potential for more. The writers ability to have stand alone episodes as well as a story line that covers several episodes is great. well worth watching and owning, i know i will be watching it again soon.
Think firefly meets apocalypse now. no space ship but a torpedo boat, no Fed but Crime syndicates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My favorite anime, but the packaging could use a little work, October 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Lagoon: Season 1 & 2 (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Okay, I'm not going to give a summary of the anime - it's my favorite anime of all time, I love it so much. The problem, was the actual box of the anime. It comes in a very thin cover box, with the dvd/bluray box inside. The outside cover easily bends and folds, and it was pretty torn up when it arrived at my house. The box itself has the same picture as the cover, with a thin plastic sheet over it. The plastic sheet continuously gets caught while trying to put it back into the cover box, and it bends and folds - making the box look terrible. I'm all about my anime looking as presentable as possible, especially if it's my all time favorite anime. Sadly, it sits on the shelf, looking a bit shabby, and that's disappointing. The actual quality of the discs, and the quality of the anime itself; however, is amazing, as I should expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Anime, August 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Lagoon: Season 1 & 2 (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
One of the most epic anime ever created or bought to life. It show you that the world isn't always black and white. Once you see the gray of life, there no point going back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LOVE The Series....Packaging damaged., July 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Lagoon: Season 1 & 2 (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Love everything about the anime series. One of my favorites. Have never seen it in Blu-Ray, just had to buy. The packaging came damaged and dented though. Smushed on two of the corners. Came in a box so, wonder who damaged it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Black Lagoon: Season 1 & 2 (Blu-ray + DVD)
Black Lagoon: Season 1 & 2 (Blu-ray + DVD) by Sunao Katabuchi (Blu-ray - 2012)
$54.98 $26.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.