Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best wide angle peephole for residence
This is a great peephole, one of the widest angles available. Installation is as simple as drilling a hole in your door and screwing this thing in. I need a wide angle view because my porch entrance is to the left of my front door. This peephole has an incredible range and covers any blind spots that a traditional peephole may have. Consider that in a home invasion,...
Published on November 5, 2011 by David

versus
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 290 DEGREEs???
I know that few bucks won't give you superior quality. I received this peephole viewer. I don't see 290 degrees because there is no way you can see both sides of my house. I know it is a piece of false information. It works like 190 degree only.
Published 22 months ago by A. Barnes


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best wide angle peephole for residence, November 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Metal 290 Degree Wide Angle Peephole Door Viewer Scope
This is a great peephole, one of the widest angles available. Installation is as simple as drilling a hole in your door and screwing this thing in. I need a wide angle view because my porch entrance is to the left of my front door. This peephole has an incredible range and covers any blind spots that a traditional peephole may have. Consider that in a home invasion, robbery, etc. 1 person may appear at your door while others crouch down to the side of the door waiting for you to open it. This wide angle view allows you to see them. Install this peephole then train and educate your family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should fit most doors, July 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Metal 290 Degree Wide Angle Peephole Door Viewer Scope
I was looking for a measurement range to make sure it fit my door but could not find one in the description or reviews. I took a chance and purchased this and found that the screw adjustor allows it to fit almost all doors.

The fish eye lense on this product is amazing. We have two blind spots on our entry and this peep hole picks them up easily. Install was very simple with a 5/8" drill bit.

One other nice feature is that with traditional peep holes, the person on the outside can see light through the lense and can tell when someone puts their face up to the peep hole. The way this product is designed, the apeture is very small looking from the outside and you cannot tell when someone is looking through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Black Metal 290 Degree Wide Angle Peephole Door Viewer Scope, October 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Metal 290 Degree Wide Angle Peephole Door Viewer Scope
Awesome wide angle. Easy to install and quick delivery. I would recommend this product again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I see you, February 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Metal 290 Degree Wide Angle Peephole Door Viewer Scope
Nice quality and looks good. I can see everything around the door with no hiding spots. Really happy with this viewer. I used the SPEYEGUARD Stationary Peephole Cover - Satin Nickel (HB) in conjunction with the viewer.

Make sure you or a buddy have a drill with a 5/8 drill bit. If not you can do what another poster did and just file out the hole a little bigger with a round file.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very wide angle!, February 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Metal 290 Degree Wide Angle Peephole Door Viewer Scope
Very wide angle of view. In fact, I can see the ground directly below the door and to both sides. Seems to be of high quality. Wished that I had not waited so long to buy one of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looks Good, Works Great!, February 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Metal 290 Degree Wide Angle Peephole Door Viewer Scope
Overall, I am very satisfied with this Peephole. The optics and wide angle view are perfect for my front porch and my wife and I took turns trying to hide from view and this device picks up everything. The only drawback was the requirement to drill a 5/8" hole (resulting in only a 4-star rating), though this was easily remedied. First I took a nail punch to mark the position to be drilled so the bit wouldn't walk. Next, I drilled a 1/4" pilot hole completely through the door. Having a 1/2" drill bit, I then enlarged the hole. Next, using a small round hole file, I simply wallered out the hole to accept the peephole. I can assure you, a round file costs much less than a 5/8" drill bit and took less than 10 minutes to complete, not including the clean up that is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great optic., July 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Metal 290 Degree Wide Angle Peephole Door Viewer Scope
I have a porch that had a couple blind spots but this scope allows me to see them. Now I can tell if there is anyone else near the door.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars black metal 290 degree wide angle peephole, September 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Metal 290 Degree Wide Angle Peephole Door Viewer Scope
I think that the viewing quality of this product is sharp and clear. Optics are good. I had originally purchased their 360 degree peephole but found the stem too wide to drill that big a hole in my nice wood door. This one works well enough and I will recommend the company and the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 290 DEGREEs???, January 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Metal 290 Degree Wide Angle Peephole Door Viewer Scope
I know that few bucks won't give you superior quality. I received this peephole viewer. I don't see 290 degrees because there is no way you can see both sides of my house. I know it is a piece of false information. It works like 190 degree only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, January 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Metal 290 Degree Wide Angle Peephole Door Viewer Scope
When we bought our house, the peephole viewer was smashed and so we needed to replace it, I was excited to find this one with such a wide viewing angle. It's good quality, was easy to install (well except that the hole drilled before wasn't straight and had to be fixed so that we didn't have to force it as the previous viewer seems to have been - but that wasn't the fault of this device!) and gives us a wonderful view of our entire front patio area instead of just the front step, which is great for peace of mind before opening the front door.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.