Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MIRACLE ON 125TH STREET
This is the Christmas story of Langston Cobbs (Jacob Latimore). He lives in Baltimore with his mother (Jennifer Hudson) who has fallen on hard times. She sends her son to Harlem to live with her parents, the Rev. Cobb (Forest Whitaker) and his wife (Angela Bassett). Langston is focused on helping his mother save her home. He sees wealth in his grandparents home and his...
Published 9 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ok JT
it was kind of a strange movie to me a musical type of movie.I really didn't like it that muchbut the singing was great.
Published 3 months ago by JOE TYLER


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MIRACLE ON 125TH STREET, December 7, 2013
This review is from: Black Nativity (DVD)
This is the Christmas story of Langston Cobbs (Jacob Latimore). He lives in Baltimore with his mother (Jennifer Hudson) who has fallen on hard times. She sends her son to Harlem to live with her parents, the Rev. Cobb (Forest Whitaker) and his wife (Angela Bassett). Langston is focused on helping his mother save her home. He sees wealth in his grandparents home and his mother who needs so much. There are some family secrets Langston attempts to uncover as why his parents are separated and why his mom doesn't live at home.

The film is a musical with a range of songs from hip-hop to blues, to gospel. Langston was named for Langston Huges who wrote the original "Black Nativity." Jacob Latimore unfortunately opens with a voice cutter which I loathe, however Jennifer Hudson can really belt out a tune and hit those high notes. Her singing is worth the price of admission, I just wish they had written more for her. The film ended awkwardly as we learn the family secret which was anti-climatic as compared to Latimore's dream. Is it too late for a rewrite and produce an alternative ending for the DVD?

An African-American spiritual that is not for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something For Everyone, December 19, 2013
This review is from: Black Nativity (DVD)
"I would rather be a lamppost in Harlem than the Governor of Georgia." This is a famous quote from Langston Hughes (1902-1967), who was part of the Harlem Renaissance that began in the early 1920s. His classic play, "Black Nativity," appears on American stages each holiday season, so it's time an updated musical version is offered on film.

We have a fatherless boy sent by his destitute mother in Baltimore to stay with her estranged parents in Harlem until she finds a new job and another place to live. He is confused and angry; plus his backpack is stolen just minutes after he gets off the bus in New York City.

Here you see some of the cast:
* Jacob Latimore (Lots of TV) is Langston, bewildered by the rift between his mother and his grandfather. No one will tell him why they aren't speaking, so all he wants is to go back to Baltimore and try to help his mom.
* Forest Whitaker ("The Butler") is Langston's grandfather, the Reverend Cornell, a dedicated minister and loving husband, but inflexible where his daughter is concerned.
* Angela Bassett ("American Horror Story") is the lovely and wise Aretha Cobbs. Langston says, "I don't even know what I'm supposed to call you. Should I call you Grandma?"
* Jennifer Hudson ("Winnie Mandela") is Langston's single mother, out of options and desperate to protect her son, even though she will NOT accept any help from her family. That inflexible apple didn't fall very far from that inflexible tree....
* Vondie Curtis-Hall (Lots of TV) is the pawnbroker our young hero visits in a naïve attempt to raise money for his mother.
* Tyrese Gibson ("Fast Five") is a spooky guy who just seems to keep showing up in that Harlem neighborhood.

This PG-rated musical features a wide range of selections, from original ballads and traditional hymns to rap, so it has something for everyone. The finale is the Christmas nativity presented in Reverend Cornell's Harlem church, so it's seasonal as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, AWESOME,AWESOME, January 4, 2014
By 
This review is from: Black Nativity (DVD)
Heartwarming and moving. This movie is a cross cultural experience that will appeal to all ages. The music was uplifting and I told my family that we should make this movie an annual event much like Polar Express and Lampoons Christmas Vacation both of which are holiday staples and now Black Nativity will definitely be added to our Christmas family movie viewing..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Story Telling, May 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Nativity (DVD)
Musicals have lost their place in American cinema for many reasons. So to be able to cast a story in music and retain audience interest and attention these days is an awesome accomplishment. The cast is superb and the veterans actors stimulate the performances of the more novice performers. Saadiq's musical arrangements and compositions are stellar and the performances demand respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgiveness and Reconciliation, April 29, 2014
This review is from: Black Nativity (DVD)
This movie is a must-see! Yes, it's a musical, but it's very heart-touching and relevant. I cried throughout the movie, as I saw a lot that I could relate to, on a personal level. Everyone did a fine job acting as their character and the vocals are powerful, especially Jennifer Hudson's. Beautiful and inspirational story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family Values, May 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good story! I was so emotional at the end of the movie, I really love the movie and the characters. 😘
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST, May 4, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Nativity (DVD)
I didn't realize it was a musical, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. The acting was good and some of my favorite actors were in the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Nativity, June 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a good movie. I did not realize this movie was a musical, the characters singing was a surprised. If you do not like singing within scenes, you would not like this movie. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ok JT, June 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Nativity (DVD)
it was kind of a strange movie to me a musical type of movie.I really didn't like it that muchbut the singing was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I expected better. It was ok but not the best acting ..., July 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I expected better. It was ok but not the best acting that am use to from the cast members.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Black Nativity
Black Nativity by Kasi Lemmons
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.