Customer Reviews


139 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yet another gem from the hardest working hardrock/metal band in the business!
I've been a die hard Sevendust fan since I first heard 'Black' on the radio way back in 1997. Since then, and through a few ups and downs, Sevendust has released consistently good albums, just about every two years. Now, we have 'Black Out The Sun,' Sevendust's 2nd album with the return of Clint Lowery, and man, am I glad he is back! Don't get me wrong, the three albums...
Published 21 months ago by Nuggeth

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't really grab me
This was middle of the road 7Dust for me, fans only, probably won't win many new people over with this one.
Published 15 months ago by R. Walter


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yet another gem from the hardest working hardrock/metal band in the business!, March 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Out The Sun (Audio CD)
I've been a die hard Sevendust fan since I first heard 'Black' on the radio way back in 1997. Since then, and through a few ups and downs, Sevendust has released consistently good albums, just about every two years. Now, we have 'Black Out The Sun,' Sevendust's 2nd album with the return of Clint Lowery, and man, am I glad he is back! Don't get me wrong, the three albums with Sonny Mayo (particularly Alpha) were great albums, but to me, Clint is a much better fit for Sevendust and their always evolving, yet consistent formula.

Black Out The Sun, to me, is a wonderful cocktail of Seasons, Animosity and Cold Day Memory; songs like "Faithless" and "Decay" have that classic groovy Sevendust rhythm and crunch, whereas the brutal and in your face "Till Death" makes you want to punch a kitten in the face; tracks like 'Mountain' and 'Cold as War' find Lajon singing at the top of his game and providing that almost "bluesy" element that Sevendust is so good at.

It's too early to tell where Black Out The Sun will rank (for me) in Sevendust's already stellar discography, but one thing is for sure, Black Out The Sun proves that these guys are still capable of creating fresh, heavy and groovy music for metalheads both old and new!

BUY THIS ALBUM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do these guys know how to make a bad cd?, March 26, 2013
This review is from: Black Out The Sun (Audio CD)
Home, Animosity and Cold Day Memory wrapped into one amazing album. The lyrics as always are great and the guitar riffs, sounds and just the feel of the cd grabs onto you until the very end. Great to see that after 3 years these guys haven't lost their touch at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black out the one star reviews, March 29, 2013
This review is from: Black Out The Sun (Audio CD)
Seriously, what is with the 13 year old who gives no hint of even listening to a single song on this album, and then names like 20 bands outside of the genre. But a troll can't change the fact this is album is FANTASTIC.
One thing I may catch flack on is that I don't get it when people rank Seasons and Animosity toward the very top of Sevendust CDs. Even Morgan openly complained about Seasons at the time of the release of Cold Day Memory. Cold Day Memory felt like the successor to what is widely believed to be Sevendust's best CD; Animosity. Cold Day Memory is more commercialized than Black Out the Sun. You could feel when you first heard "Unraveling" that it could very well be their biggest hit radio wise, and it was. So I was confused and a little doubtful, because "Decay" does not sound like "Unraveling." It was supposed to be a bonus track at first. But BOTS is not Cold Day Memory. The songs aren't as commercialized. It takes a while to determine whether you like a certain song. Song structures are deeper rather than CDM's verse/chorus/verse/chorus/bridge/final chorus typical structure, though I do prefer CDM overall. This a CD where you will be in the mood to listen to some songs some days and others other days.

Sevendust is the only band in which I own and thoroughly enjoy every CD (well, I could be a bigger "Seasons" fan). They don't go soft, they don't find themselves, they don't get too experimental, they are Sevendust on all 9 releases and they do not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To heavy for fm radio, not heavy enough for metal stations., March 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Out The Sun (MP3 Music)
The story of Sevendust. I got into them on the first album, and even through the Sonny days I thought they put out good music. Home, Animosity, Seasons, and Chapter VII are my favorites and this is right up there. I am glad they never got too caught up in trying to please anyone but themselves, because the music is better for it. Go see them live, they are the real deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, April 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Out The Sun (MP3 Music)
Another Knockout album from a group that has been around for a while!! Well written and musically sound and artwork on the front is awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full Throttle Rock Review, July 24, 2013
This review is from: Black Out The Sun (Audio CD)
Sevendust - Black Out The Sun
Written by The Rock Man

By the late 1990s bands such as Creed, Saliva, Limp Bizkit, Staind and Korn were establishing themselves as the new face of rock and metal. Leading the charge was an energetic group from Atlanta, Georgia called Sevendust. The band's debut self titled 1997 release earned the group Gold status on the U.S. Billboard 200 Album Chart and since then the band has released seven more memorable studio albums. But in 2013 Sevendust deliver their finest offering yet with the release of Black Out The Sun.

I have been a Sevendust fan for a very long time and I am yet to hear a poor record from them, in fact I don't think it is possible for them to record a rubbish album, and Black Out The Sun only strengthens my faith in this band.

The album kicks off with Memory a beautifully arranged acoustic piece which links up with Faithless which is a true Sevendust rocker. The next track Till Death is more hard core at times and raises the audio assault to the next level, then begins a string of classic sounding Sevendust tunes lead by Mountain, Cold As War, Black Out The Sun, Nobody Wants It and Dead Roses. The quality of these tracks is so good that any number of these songs could have featured on previous albums and been a standout moment.

The album continues on with the first single Decay which highlights all the hallmarks that have made Sevendust leaders in the field of Nu-Metal. The very catchy Dark AM and Picture Perfect continue the journey before we come to the beautifully sung ballad Got A Feeling. Closing out the set is Murder Bar which reminds you this is Sevendust.

As always lead vocalist LaJon Witherspoon is simple magnificent, he has such a smooth vocal presence that blends perfectly with the heavy sounds created by John Connelly and Clint Lowery (guitars), Vince Hornsby (bass) and Morgan Rose (drums). If you have never experienced a Sevendust record before Black Out The Sun will provide you with the perfect jumping on point. From there you will want to check out their back catalogue, which as I said earlier doesn't contain one bad effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better of the more recent ones, April 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Out The Sun (MP3 Music)
I've been a long time fan and it hasn't been without some pain. Black Out The Sun is shaping up to be one of the better albums thats been released in the last few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, March 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Out The Sun (MP3 Music)
Been a Sevendust fan forever..... this does not disappoint... they still bring it full force!! Cant wait to see them live again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't really grab me, September 29, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Out The Sun (MP3 Music)
This was middle of the road 7Dust for me, fans only, probably won't win many new people over with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same old Sevendust, July 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Out The Sun (Audio CD)
I was really hoping this album would blow me away like other Sevendust albums have, but it really didn't get me excited at all. It just sounded like regular Sevendust.
There was nothing really special about this album.
It is still a good Sevendust though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Black Out The Sun
Black Out The Sun by Sevendust
Buy MP3 Album$9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.