Customer Reviews


350 Reviews
5 star:
 (186)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (61)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars R. Kelly is back
I like R. Kelly album. I can't say it is his best CD ever but it is the R. Kelly we know he hasn't changed at all. His CD before this one was really disappointing. I think he tried to do something a bit different but it just wasn't what I expected from him. I like most of his songs but there is one I really love the one where him and Kelly Rowland are singing together...
Published 11 months ago by Tricie Williamson

versus
52 of 61 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just Buy "Genius" (if you haven't already) And Forget The Rest
#7 - Genius is the only song on this album worthy of R. Kelly's long, distinguished catalogue. Auto-tune and R. Kelly do not belong in the same studio no matter what the no-talent, wannabe-a-singer, manufactured-star-fakes" are doing on the radio now. Let's hope "R-uh" sits down at his piano and gets back to writing and singing real music again!
Published 12 months ago by Jim S


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 61 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just Buy "Genius" (if you haven't already) And Forget The Rest, December 10, 2013
This review is from: Black Panties (Deluxe Version) [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
#7 - Genius is the only song on this album worthy of R. Kelly's long, distinguished catalogue. Auto-tune and R. Kelly do not belong in the same studio no matter what the no-talent, wannabe-a-singer, manufactured-star-fakes" are doing on the radio now. Let's hope "R-uh" sits down at his piano and gets back to writing and singing real music again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 96 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Full Length Bad Idea, December 10, 2013
This review is from: Black Panties (Audio CD)
Sequence of events:

Sextape scandal forces R. Kelly to make grown, soulful music to stay relevant, and it works. Albums such as Chocolate Factory and Happy People saved his career from tanking

Then he tries sneaking his way back into the bedroom on albums such as TP3: Reloaded, Untitled, and Double Up. The outcome wasn't as great.

So he goes back to the grown up soulful R&B music that focuses on the Pioneers before him 2 albums straight (Love Letter, Write Me Back) and NAILS IT!!

And now he returns as a "Sex Genius" (best song BTW) that wants ladies to show their pu**y so he can get in his knees and ask it to marry him...

REALLY???!!!!

Black Panties proves that R. Kelly's job as a sex therapist is pretty much done, but he still can be a baby maker. All he needs is to do is replace his immature lust with some R&B soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Embarassing, December 20, 2013
This review is from: Black Panties (Deluxe Version) [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
I'm an R. Kelly fan. I have been since the early 90's. I feel that up through TP-2.com, his albums were mostly flawless. He's been inconsistent ever since, but the majority of his work has still been good. While I would normally buy an R. Kelly album without hesitation, I'm happy I was able hear this album before hand. Because it's garbage.

Yes, he's a great vocalist, but he's using his voice to sing terrible music. "Genius" is great. I could listen to that song all day. That song represents his talent.

The remainder of the songs are terrible. R. Kelly's previous albums balanced love, life, and intimacy. This album sounds like it was written by a 14 year old who just lost his virginity. Love is lacking. Real life is lacking. All we have is over-sexed music that is lyrically distasteful and tired.

The production isn't all bad, but he has definitely compromised the majority of the songs for the sake of the crap storm that is Top 40 music. Genius, Physical, and Shut Up are the best songs lyrically and production-wise.

I don't know who R. Kelly made this album for. It's too filthy for young people, yet the sound is geared toward them. The subject matter is too common for anyone moderately intelligent to enjoy. This album doesn't do anything for music or the artist himself. I'm hoping he decides to make serious music again, because if this is the direction he takes, I know he's going to loose lots of the people who've supported him throughout his career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not like!!, December 13, 2013
This review is from: Black Panties (Audio CD)
It's time to leave that nasty music behind, R. Kelly; you are older and suppose to be wiser.
I'm quite sure there's more to sing about besides p**** and using the n-word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Garbage!, December 12, 2013
By 
Marc A Hopkins (MARTINSBURG, WV, US) - See all my reviews
WHY? After your last two great grown folk albums you try your hand at the current non lyrical R&B singing about sex, sex, sex. We all do the act and know the act, but music should hold more substance than the simplistic lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Trash. Save your money., April 18, 2014
This review is from: Black Panties (Audio CD)
One good song. The rest is trash. Totally disappointed. R. Kelly use to be the "go-to" for grown and sexy music. This s*** is some garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kelis you can do better!!, December 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Panties (Deluxe Version) [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
The album is NOT R Kelly's best body of work. Every song has the word p**** or n****. I was really excited about this album, but after buying and listening to it OMG. I can't dare play this cd in the car with my daughter. Kelis you can do better. Stick to what works like your Love Letter and Write Me Back albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a waste of my money, January 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Panties (Deluxe Version) [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
This is the worse piece of s--- I think R-KELLEY has ever put out.. Back to music Kelley, or are you really loosing it as people say?. I threw the cd in the trash where it belonged. You are a fine artist, get back to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Word - POS! Stay Away!!!!, January 1, 2014
This review is from: Black Panties (Audio CD)
This album is degrading, mysogynistic, insulting, profane, sloppy, tasteless, unappealing, and down right sickening. Quite possibly the worst R&B album I've ever heard....oh wait, this is NOT rhythm & blues! Any woman who comes within a mile of this POS should be utterly ashamed of herself, and no decent man with a modicum of respect for women of any kind would defile their ears with this filth! The fact that more than 200,000 sadists out there actually picked this album up is nauseating.

For those of you still interested in associating yourselves with this filth, I'll save you some money and summarize the album here:

1) "P-ssy" is to be beaten up, murdered, tore up, and turned black and blue.

2) A real brotha marries the p-ssy, not the woman.

3) He enjoys intimacy with underage girls...and when those haters around you, I mean, parents and concerned citizens ask questions, "Shut Up"...(I'm dead serious)

Sorry, this album is just not worth another minute of my time OR YOURS...and CERTAINLY not worth owning even if someone gave you a copy and paid you to take it. This man should be JAILED for this s***.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What in the world was he thinking!, June 10, 2014
By 
This review is from: Black Panties (Audio CD)
I can't believe I actually expected an album named Black Panties to be tasteful. This album is anything but that, its trashy, obsence, and vulgar down to its very core and utlitmately become unlistenable. He has talked sex blatantly before but here its just done trashy. After listening to two track from this album I had shut it out. I think another part of what makes Black Panties an utter failure is that after two mature albums "Love Letter" and its sequel "Write Me Back" this album comes off as even more childish and immature than it probably would have had it came before. All said do yourself a huge favor and save your money because R. Kelly has been here and done this before and in alot better style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.