Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Tight, Tense Thriller
This is an excellent, extremely tight thriller. It's only 80 minutes long, and not a single moment is wasted - you learn everything you need to know about the three female protagonists and their relationships to each other long before they get in trouble. The story is sort of a cross between Deliverance and The Descent, except that the women aren't strangers to the area -...
Published 13 months ago by P. Freeman

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I'M A WOOD EXPERT
Sarah (Kate Bosworth) has an idea to spend time with her girlfriends camping on a remote island. Abby (Katie Aselton) and Louise (Lake Bell) have old boyfriend issues they need to still come to terms with. While on the island they bump into some hunters/poachers, three guys recently dishonorably discharged from the military. They hit it off fine, especially Abby and Henry...
Published 13 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I'M A WOOD EXPERT, May 26, 2013
This review is from: Black Rock (DVD)
Sarah (Kate Bosworth) has an idea to spend time with her girlfriends camping on a remote island. Abby (Katie Aselton) and Louise (Lake Bell) have old boyfriend issues they need to still come to terms with. While on the island they bump into some hunters/poachers, three guys recently dishonorably discharged from the military. They hit it off fine, especially Abby and Henry (Will Bouvier) until tragedy strikes and the film takes on Rambettes vs seasoned killers with guns.

I thought I would never get tired on these type of films, but I believe I have reached my saturation limit. The film is typical of the genre except the hunters lacked the personality to make this short film entertaining. Alex (Anslem Richardson) was a confusing character, poorly scripted. The theme is that we all do things that apologies don't mend, and centers around Abby who was wronged. Later Abbey tries to change how people feel through an apology. Might make for a rental if you like this type of film. Not the best of its kind.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, attempted rape, nudity (Katie Aselton, Lake Bell)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Tight, Tense Thriller, May 25, 2013
By 
P. Freeman (Elizabeth, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Rock (Amazon Instant Video)
This is an excellent, extremely tight thriller. It's only 80 minutes long, and not a single moment is wasted - you learn everything you need to know about the three female protagonists and their relationships to each other long before they get in trouble. The story is sort of a cross between Deliverance and The Descent, except that the women aren't strangers to the area - they've just gone away and come back. It's very well filmed, using its outdoor locations well and showing how being familiar with an area can give you a real advantage over someone who doesn't. The violence is realistic and not excessively gory - this isn't a horror movie, although it's definitely scary. All the actors are very good, and you'll be surprised who makes it to the end and who doesn't. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun and entertaining but nothing really original. A little gory in parts. I liked it and this is worth seeing. I say B, June 25, 2013
By 
Tony Heck (Belgrade, MT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Rock [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
"What happened was an accident. Abby is sorry." Three friends set out for a getaway weekend on an island they used to frequent when they were younger. While they are talking they are surprised when three men who have been hunting show up at their camp site. The two groups begin talking and drinking. When a fatal accident happens the girls relaxing weekend turns into a fight for survival. There are movies that are made that you have to really pay attention to and make you think. While this is very entertaining this is not one of those kind of movies. The movie is really nothing that deep but I did enjoy it. Be prepared for it though, some parts are very gory and a little hard to watch. On the other hand this is a "girl power" type movie so it does have that going for it. If you like movies like the Perfect Getaway then you will like this one as well. It was entertaining and a good watch but nothing that will keep you talking or thinking. Overall, fun and exciting but nothing that original. I liked it though. I give it a B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie it was a suspenseful on, June 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Rock (Amazon Instant Video)
It kept you on the edge of your seat , its not going to win any oscars but entertaining to say the least
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maybe even a little better than I expected, July 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Rock (Amazon Instant Video)
I see this film getting a lot of bad reviews and I'm not really understanding why. The three leads are likable enough where I would have watched a non-thriller about them reuniting during a vacation and settling their issues. However, once the plot kicked in the film got even better. It's not too often you get a film like this where you genuinely care enough about each character to not want to see anything happen to them, and that's what made this film suspenseful. The low budget definitely helped here too, because the fight scenes come off much more brutal and realistic, I was reminded of some of the grittiest survival thrillers of the 70's during the film's conclusion. If it wasn't for the three ladies (and I think Katie Aselton directing definitely helped) and their relationships, perhaps I wouldn't have cared for this movie so much. But they were definitely enough to keep my eyes glued to the screen from beginning to end and I felt satisfied when the film ended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting edge of your seat thriller!, August 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Where the females finally prevail. This is your typical jealous drunk girl, wanting all the males attention. And eventually biting off more than she wanted. I enjoyed this movie being a female, and of course wanting the men to get what they deserved. Worth renting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Black Rock- I liked it, September 20, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Rock (Amazon Instant Video)
I didn't like the beginning too much because they were all angry with each other. The movie progressed and I was pleased with the rest. I felt it was an original plot and screen play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars We've Already Seen This Movie Many Times, August 25, 2013
By 
Doug Park (Lexington, KY, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Rock (DVD)
Three attractive young women go camping on a heavily forested island, where they find themselves playing cat and mouse with some psychos.

BLACK ROCK is promising at first due to its immediately real acting and cinematography. Though the constant repetition of "f***ing" in about 75% of the sentences spoken here gets a bit tiresome after a while, the script is also very believable. These stronger elements, however, only serve to exacerbate the totally formulaic, predictable, and lackluster plot. I kept hoping for some sort of surprise or turnabout, but BLACK ROCK pretty much developed and ended exactly the way I thought it would. More development of character and settings would also have been helpful: If we could know the girls, guys, and the island itself a little bit better, BLACK ROCK might have been at least an average film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK if you have an hour and a half to kill, August 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Rock [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I disagree with those who say the acting in this movie is bad. The acting is definitely good and believable. Also, it gets straight to the plot and the action, so no time is wasted as far as that goes. However, this movie definitely isn't for those with a weak stomach for gore and violence because it's a little over the top in that area. Overall, I'd give it a B-.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a somewhat formulaic thriller, but okay., August 3, 2013
By 
Mike S. (Minneapolis, MN) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Rock [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie will take a lot of suspension of disbelief to get through. The story is pretty basic. Two sets of three friends are on a deserted island off the coast of Maine. In the group of women, two of them are estranged, and are basically conned into going camping by the third one. The three men have recently been dishonorably discharged from the military, which is pretty much all the set up they be for being bad guys. One of the guys ends up dead after trying to rape one of the women, and the other two decide to try and hunt down and kill the three women. There is more to it than that, but not a lot more. That is the gist of it.

The fact that the movie is short, just an hour and 20 min, is good and bad. On one hand it gets in and out quickly and does not try to do too much. On the other hand there is little to no character development at all, especially for the male characters. And it is just hard to buy that both of them would decide that instead of going to the police, the better option would be to go "Running Man" (for those of you over 30, for those under "Hunger Games")on the girls.

There are certainly some of the cliche thriller/suspense movie stuff going on. Bad decisions when trying to get away. The moment they decide to stop running and hunt the hunters and about 10 min of gratuitous nudity. It is definitely not a movie that will appeal to everyone, but if you accept it for what it is, and do not expect an academy award winner, it is entertaining enough to kill an hour + when you want to watch TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Black Rock [Blu-ray]
Black Rock [Blu-ray] by Bosworth (Blu-ray - 2013)
$19.99 $10.98
In stock on July 13, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.