Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great album by an underrated artist!
Hil St. Soul is back with an amazing effort, blending smooth jazz, r&b, acid jazz, hip hop and funk with a breezy but powerful voice that compliments the great music and songwriting perfectly. I love all of her albums, and this one does not disappoint. It's unfortunate that an artist of her talent isn't a mega star here in the US, but when you look and listen to what...
Published on June 24, 2008 by trevtnyc

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Soulful
This is the second cd I have purchased of hers. She is very talented and the cd has a lot of great songs. She is a great vocalist. I think she should work with some major producers so that she can get out there more.
Published on November 12, 2008 by Kimberly T. Jenkins


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great album by an underrated artist!, June 24, 2008
By 
trevtnyc "trevtnyc" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Rose (Audio CD)
Hil St. Soul is back with an amazing effort, blending smooth jazz, r&b, acid jazz, hip hop and funk with a breezy but powerful voice that compliments the great music and songwriting perfectly. I love all of her albums, and this one does not disappoint. It's unfortunate that an artist of her talent isn't a mega star here in the US, but when you look and listen to what people consider good in this country I can see why. Don't ever sell out, Hillary, you are incredible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Rose, June 15, 2008
By 
This review is from: Black Rose (Audio CD)
While you always see the beautiful Hilary Mwelwa on the cover of Hil St. Soul albums (pronounced "Hill Street Soul"), the project is really a duo effort by the Zamiba born/London raised singer and producer Victor Redwood Sawyerr (founder of the UK's Blak Twang). The soulful combo divinely mixes pop with nu jazz... they have delivered a brand new collection of hypnotic, velvety smooth, urban grooves with rich vocals on BLACK ROSE. Hilary's commanding vocal prowess is once again in the spotlight and showcased on this very sophisticated song list. She reports, "I've grown and evolved as a person since my last CD and I share some of what I have learned and experienced on this album." Hil St. Soul's beautiful and smart front woman holds a degree in biological sciences... her approach to lyric writing is socially philosophical and self-revealing. The smooth urban collective is critically acclaimed, receiving praise globally since their debut with SOUL ORGANIC. USA Today calls Mwelwa's voice "Always enticing!" while The Associated Press says that the HSS sound is "organic, soulful and all their own." Fans of neo soul, nu jazz, lounge, chill and Smooth Jazz will truly enjoy BLACK ROSE with tunes like the poignant and catchy "Don't Forget The Ghetto," the airy and urban "Sweetest Days," and the Smooth Jazz single, "We Were In Love." That which we call a BLACK ROSE, by any other name would sound as sweet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilary is Real...just a Blessing of talent, vocals, and groove..., August 22, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Rose (Audio CD)
I'm investing and gathering all of the Hil St. Soul material. This is a great work and many would otherwise sleep on the songs---never hearing such vocals/production. It's modern day Soul to Soul reminiscing with a flair of the UK and smooth R&B groove. Don't sleep on this on Soulidified or any other CDs. Hil St. Soul gets better with each work. "Make Time For Love" and Relax with Hil St. Soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best so far, July 30, 2008
This review is from: Black Rose (Audio CD)
I think this is their best effort yet. Black Rose is better produced and more refined than any of the other cd's they have put out. Well worth listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Rose, July 12, 2008
By 
M. Lymore "soulzkidd" (Seattle, Washington United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Rose (Audio CD)
Once again Hil St. Soul proves she is the one to watch Black Rose is a stunning piece of work that combines Soul Jazz and Hip Hop as a winning combination. Great job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous new album..........Black Rose, July 7, 2008
By 
This review is from: Black Rose (Audio CD)
I have all her albums but I have to say this one is the best one yet. She sounds like Jill Scott and Angie stone! Really great neo soul album a must get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, April 7, 2009
This review is from: Black Rose (Audio CD)
In a genre full of under-the-radar artists, Hil St. Soul is a fine example of such an artist as she's flown under the radar even amongst the genre's fans. But one constant has been just plain good music, and that's what we have with this CD that's full of varying degrees of up-tempo songs. At first, I wanted to like this CD more than I did, but it grew on me after a couple of listens.

The CD starts with a couple of nice up-tempo tracks, then "Sweetest Days" and "Life" have a nice feel to them. I'm particularly fond of "We Were In Love", which is the first song I heard off this CD, a song thinking back to a love that once was. The CD closes out with a very nice song, "Smile".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4 1/2 STARS, December 17, 2008
By 
KobeLove (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Rose (Audio CD)
I HAVE THE PREVIOUS 3 ALBUMS & WHILE THEY ARE ALL DECENT, THIS IS MY FAVORITE AS MOST OF THE TRACKS ARE SOLID. MY FAVORITES: "BROKEN AGAIN, " "LIFE, & "GRAVITY."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Soulful, November 12, 2008
This review is from: Black Rose (Audio CD)
This is the second cd I have purchased of hers. She is very talented and the cd has a lot of great songs. She is a great vocalist. I think she should work with some major producers so that she can get out there more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great music..., October 7, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Rose (Audio CD)
i never heard of hil st. soul but this cd was recommended to me on amazon. i'm a big music fan with diverse tastes and i really like this cd. her vocals are strong and her lyrics are solid too. hil st. soul is a talented artist. i plan to get some of her other music. i would love to see her live. my favorites on this cd are broken again and black rose. if you like the feel of jill scott, ledisi or n'dambi you would like hil st. soul. these are the artists music lovers should support!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Black Rose
Black Rose by Hil St. Soul (Audio CD - 2008)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 2 to 3 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.