Customer Reviews


210 Reviews
5 star:
 (148)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Site
Dalton Fury was the senior ranking military official at the battle of Tora Bora in december 2001. As a delta force commander, he led 40 delta and 10 British special boat services (SBS) commando's, and about 50 support personnel, to hunt down and kill Usama Bin Laden. In Black Site, Dalton Fury draws on his hard won combat experiences and operational knowledge, in order to...
Published on January 31, 2012 by psherman

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of a Guys Book
This book is written by someone who use to do this for a living so the realism and the facts of how the these missions take place are true. If you want an inside view of how these things go down, this will be a good read. If you are looking for a character driven story line this is not it. Its all action and the only thing you learn about any of the characters is that...
Published 18 months ago by K Foster


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Site, January 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Site: A Delta Force Novel (Hardcover)
Dalton Fury was the senior ranking military official at the battle of Tora Bora in december 2001. As a delta force commander, he led 40 delta and 10 British special boat services (SBS) commando's, and about 50 support personnel, to hunt down and kill Usama Bin Laden. In Black Site, Dalton Fury draws on his hard won combat experiences and operational knowledge, in order to create Kolt "Racer" Raynor, an impetuous switched on and aggressive delta operator. The journey to becoming a delta team member is a long hard one, but the fall from hero to zero is rapid. That fall happens to Racer, when on a high risk mission to the badlands of Pakistan, he disobeys orders, which costs the live's of his teammates, and results in the downing of a rescue helicopter with a team of delta warriors aboard. He is booted from the unit and becomes persona non grata (PNG). He takes to heavy drinking and his life spirals out of control. He is given a 2nd chance to redeem himself, after delta learns that the team survived the crash and is being used as human shields for senior al-Qaeda and Taliban personnel from Reaper and Predator UAV drone attacks. The Pakistani government and the Intelligence Services (ISI) are unreliable. The U.S. is not allowed to send in a rescue team. Racer is sent in under deep cover alone to find the location of the missing team and bring back proof of life. In the process, he stumbles upon a plot by al-Qaeda to attack a "Black Site", where the U.S. with the help of some Pakistani special forces are running a joint interrogation operation for high value targets (HVT's). Black Site is a cover to cover non-stop edge of your seat action thriller. Dalton Fury's unique story telling ability, will put you in the middle of the action with Kolt. The action is so intense at times, I could feel my pulse rate increase. Throughout the book I had to remind myself that this was fiction. To this retired MSgt, the plot lines and action sequences are as close to real world as you can get. The open ending begs for a sequel, which the author is in the process of completing. Very much looking forward to "Tier One Wild". Note: I received an advance reading copy (ARC) which I won in a drawing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Site, February 4, 2012
This review is from: Black Site: A Delta Force Novel (Hardcover)
Dalton Fury over delivers in his book Black Site. The hero, Kolt Raynor, is smart, resourceful, and tough. The only thing that will stop Kolt from achieving his objective is death, and Kolt proves he is hard to kill. Kolt draws on his experience in Delta Force to conduct missions even Delta can't get authorization for. The action and drama is intense as Dalton Fury creates a story so real you will feel you are there with Kolt, and you will likely duck for cover as you pull for Kolt. There is no BS in this book. All the characters and situations are based on reality. I worked with Dalton in the military, and I was very impressed with the book. The audio version is well read, and is a good option. I found myself playing the audio at home on the Blu Ray because it grabbed me so well. Everyone I have recommended the book to has thanked me.

I won't spoil it with a description of the action. You will go through this book fast. Dalton leaves us wanting more. Even though this book just came out, I am ready for the next adventure of Kolt Raynor. If you don't like this book, you must be Taliban.

Jamie sends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome., February 2, 2012
This review is from: Black Site: A Delta Force Novel (Hardcover)
I bought this book the day it came out and finished it the same day. I can't remember ever spending $25 on a book and feeling like I got a bargain. Knowing the author's background, the fact that this book is fiction is lost in the first chapter. The line of what's real & what isn't is blurred right from the start. Rich with details that only someone with first hand experience in similar situations could employ- details of the guns, equipment, gear, military slang, inner thoughts & feelings, etc. The details any military minded individual crave.
And I can't say enough about the quality of writing in this book. It's paragraphed to perfection, starts & stops where it should- I lost track of how many times I had to stop reading, look up, take a deep breath and take in what I just read before going on. This book is one wild ride and I get the sense the author really enjoyed writing it.
Imo, the sequel can't come soon enough.
(note: I also think Black site would translate to film or a video game beautifully. Any movie director would be crazy not to jump at the chance to put this story on film and I wouldn't be suprised if there was plans for a movie already in the works).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read!, September 2, 2012
This review is from: Black Site: A Delta Force Novel (Hardcover)
If you like the Mitch Rapp series from Vince Flynn, here is your new favorite author... It's a mix of Clancy's Rainbow Six and Mitch Rapp , which I really liked. It also has a good sense of realism, rather than relying on miraculous events or near super human skills that in the real world would prove impossible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Hero, February 25, 2012
By 
Ron Lealos (Vancouver, WA) - See all my reviews
WOW! This is an excellent start to a new career for one of the toughest guys around. The character Fury has created is up there with Vince Flynn's good guy and a thinker as well. I was enthralled with the scenes set in faraway danger and war zones that were well fleshed out and bloody. This is not for the shy, and a great contribution to special ops literature. I think Fury has found a talent and will only improve with more practice. Highly recommended.
Ron Lealos
Author of Don't Mean Nuthin'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So I got kicked off of B&N so what, Amazon is always reliable, February 15, 2012
This review is from: Black Site: A Delta Force Novel (Hardcover)
So I finally get to release my review, thank god haha. Kolt Raynor is one bad Axx Mxxxxx Fxxxxx. From start to finish Kolt "Racer" Raynor will keep you on your feet and guessing whats to come. The real life action portrayed in this book is relevant on every page. I can't boast to much about what I truly feel about this book and Kolt because if I do i'd have to say good by to Amazon and writing reviews. All I can say is pick this book up before Tier One Wild comes out, its going to be epic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Black Site, February 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Site: A Delta Force Novel (Hardcover)
I read the authors first book, Kill Bin Laden, which is fantastic! In my opinion if you read KBL first this will give you a good insight into what you'll read in Black Site. It was surprising the way the book started. The protagonist in the book has really fallen from what he once was. I liked that the author didn't make the protagonist Superman, which for me made the story more believable. The book did slow for me throughout the middle, but the ending of the book really ratchets up the action. There is nothing that I didn't like about the book. I just wasn't blown away by it. One thing I noticed also was the love that the author has for his former Unit. I'm excited for the next book in the series called Tier One Wild.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoo-yah!, February 15, 2012
This review is from: Black Site: A Delta Force Novel (Hardcover)
Men who have been there would know what the book tries to convey. No idea how anyone could give this work anything less than 5 stars, really.

This first novel is a very welcome addition of the new writer/operator to the reading theater over-saturated with thrillers. The Black Site stands very strong and firm in both the narrative style and the story. Hard to put down once you can relate to the events

Hope the character will have a long life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great New Thriller!, February 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Site: A Delta Force Novel (Hardcover)
This is a great new military thriller and I can't wait for the next installment. It is a book about redemption and winning the good fight against terrorism. Dalton Fury shows the knowledge that he has gained over a 20+ career in Army SOF. His writing style kept me engaged and I could not put this book down. The hero, Kolt, is a fallen man but gains redemption by being who he really is, a man's man.

Dalton Fury is in the same league as Brad Thor and Vince Flynn. If you are looking for a book that you will love and not be able to put down, get this book NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Standing Ovation, February 11, 2012
This review is from: Black Site: A Delta Force Novel (Hardcover)
Few action/war fiction books have the ability to achieve what Dalton Fury has achieved with his first stab at this genre of books. Author of Kill Bin Laden, and former Delta Commander, Dalton Fury gives a unique, and believable point of view through the eyes of none other than Kolt Raynor. At times Raynor is a stone cold, hardened warrior willing to go the distance with the demons of his past, but not without regret and a sense of responsibility for a mission gone wrong. What truly captures the character of Kolt Raynor is the author's attention to detail. Fury paints a backdrop through what one can only reason to be his own life experiences into a believable work of fiction. Tying in current events, using the emotions of those who long for a battle to fight and an adventure to be had, and breathing life into a character who could give Ludlum's Jason Bourne a run for his money, Fury is successful in what he set out to do and then some. Overall, Fury has set the bar to a height few authors today have the ability to reach, enabling his character to embody a hero not seen since Fleming created James Bond. In plain English, you can't expect anything less from a former Delta Operator charged with putting Bin Laden's head in a box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Black Site: A Delta Force Novel
Black Site: A Delta Force Novel by Dalton Fury (Hardcover - January 31, 2012)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.