Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blackberry Planet: a must-read for mobile industry folks
I liked this book because it gave me an insight into the history of RIM (the company that develops and markets the Blackberry). My favorite parts were chapters 2 (birth of ..), 3 (lawsuits ...) and 4 (brand to icon ...). If you are interested in the mobile technology space, especially in anything related to the smartphone, then you must read this book.

Parts of...
Published on November 1, 2009 by Shankar Saikia

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars boring drivel
The good news is that chapter 2 was interesting and good and shows that the author has potential writing skills. The bad news is that chapter 1 was total drivel like obama likes his blackberry a lot and a lot of people use it. The rest of the book was boring and lacked any substantial real information.
Unfortunately I would recommend that others spare themselves...
Published on December 4, 2009 by Catherine G. Soldan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars boring drivel, December 4, 2009
This review is from: BlackBerry Planet: The Story of Research in Motion and the Little Device that Took the World by Storm (Hardcover)
The good news is that chapter 2 was interesting and good and shows that the author has potential writing skills. The bad news is that chapter 1 was total drivel like obama likes his blackberry a lot and a lot of people use it. The rest of the book was boring and lacked any substantial real information.
Unfortunately I would recommend that others spare themselves the agony of reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blackberry Planet: a must-read for mobile industry folks, November 1, 2009
By 
This review is from: BlackBerry Planet: The Story of Research in Motion and the Little Device that Took the World by Storm (Hardcover)
I liked this book because it gave me an insight into the history of RIM (the company that develops and markets the Blackberry). My favorite parts were chapters 2 (birth of ..), 3 (lawsuits ...) and 4 (brand to icon ...). If you are interested in the mobile technology space, especially in anything related to the smartphone, then you must read this book.

Parts of the book were a bit of a drag, and the author appears to be a little too biased in favor of the Blackberry. Nevertheless, the book is worth the $17 I paid for it. It was a quick read and I finished reading it in less than 4 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Editorial needed, October 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book has many grammatical errors. It would be a easier read if it was proof-read prior to publishing. It gives the information sought in researching BlackBerry/RIM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Fair at Best, June 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a technology and business profile enthusiast, I was excited to read this book about the founders of the blackberry, a device that i have been loyal to for the past 8 years. However, after reading this book, I was let down by the fact that it was a dry book with very little flair like other technology profiles offer. The only interesting parts were when RIM was intensely compared to Apple. Other then that, the book really didn't offer much information.
I would recommend to skim this book at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat Informative, January 2, 2011
By 
This review is from: BlackBerry Planet: The Story of Research in Motion and the Little Device that Took the World by Storm (Hardcover)
This book was somewhat informative, but a lot more boring and derivative -- and a bit kooky. I did not really enjoy reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Crackberry story, January 1, 2010
By 
This review is from: BlackBerry Planet: The Story of Research in Motion and the Little Device that Took the World by Storm (Hardcover)
Good overview of the company history, the key players, and a chronology of how RIM developed the Blackberry product. The book is not technical and I wish the author dedicated some pages to the infrastructure pieces, as I still have a poor understanding of all the BIS/BES moving components which define the Blackberry service. Other then that, Alastair Sweeney did a great job of covering the NTP lawsuit and the early history. If you're interested in the mobile space, it's a worthwhile investment - pick it up & scan the middle chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very informative, very interesting, February 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BlackBerry Planet: The Story of Research in Motion and the Little Device that Took the World by Storm (Hardcover)
the book details the interesting story of RIM and how it started. I needed the book to find out about RIM's marketing strategies and it contained it as well as many other things. Also has a lot of cool facts like Obama's high score on BrickBreaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

BlackBerry Planet: The Story of Research in Motion and the Little Device that Took the World by Storm
$29.95 $22.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.