Kindle Price: $4.99
Read this title for free. Learn more

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

OR
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Get the Free Kindle App

Enter email or phone number to get a link

Processing your request...

Blackout (Darkness Trilogy Book 1) Kindle Edition

64 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$4.99

Length: 182 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Move over Hunger Games and Divergent, there is a new kid on the block and it promises to keep the interest level at an all time high." -- Tracy Riva Books & Reviews 

"Blackout is an action-packed, romantic dystopian thrill ride that picks you up from the prologue, rips out your heart a few times, and leaves you shocked. Fans of The Hunger Games, The Darkest Minds, and The Bachelor will absolutely adore this book. Readers will be screaming for book two of this new trilogy." -- Pat Tierney of Get Kids to Read 

"I devoured Blackout in one sitting. The characters got under my skin like close friends and the plot captured my imagination. I didn't want it to end!" -- Jalyn Ely, author of THE PHOTO OF OTTO WRIGHT 

"Blackout is an amazing dystopian novel with a love story that will tug at your heart. It comes highly recommended to any dystopian and romance lovers. It's a love story that will hold onto your attention throughout the pages until the very last word." -- The Schwartz Reviews 

"Once I started, I didn't want to put it down. Each chapter brought a new twist that kept me guessing until then end, and then I wanted more." -- Rae Z. Ryans, author of CHIVALRY AND MALEVOLENCE 

"Powerful and engaging. Blackout takes dystopia to a new level and gives the readers a story reminiscent of Kiera Cass's The Selection (but with more blood). This is one new series to watch out for." -- Julie Rimpula of Books and Insomnia

From the Author

madeleinehenry.com

Product Details

  • File Size: 3034 KB
  • Print Length: 182 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: New Heroes Media; 1 edition (June 19, 2014)
  • Publication Date: June 19, 2014
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00L5DUS2G
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #551,648 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Madeleine Henry was born and raised in New York. This spring, she graduated from Yale University and began her adult life in New York City. Madeleine majored in psychology and wrote her senior essay on the extreme popularity of the Twilight book series. In college, she also ran a marathon and had a brief but enthusiastic stint as a stand-up comedienne.

BLACKOUT is Madeleine's first book. Parts of the story are drawn from two weeks she spent foraging for food and water in desert Utah while enrolled in a survival skills field course. She has since recovered.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful By thereader18 on June 21, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
Henry, Madeleine. Blackout. New Heroes Media. NY. 2014.
A copy of this book was provided in exchange for an honest review.
This review is also posted on Get Kids to Read:[...]
Grades 10+

Blackout by Madeleine Henry is an excellent dystopian young adult thriller that marks its place among the best of the genre. With the success of Divergent and Hunger Games, the YA literary landscape has been flooded with dystopian novels. Some are simple copycats,others are destined to mark their place.

Blackout stands out as an excellent dystopian thriller. The book is about the result of a country wide blackout in 2015. When power was finally able to be restored, there was only enough to power half the country. Almost instantly the United States built a wall to keep the people without power, the Dark Zones out.

Phoenix is the main character. He is a strong fully developed character. When the love of his life Star is sent into the United States in exchange for power, Phoenix follows hoping to be reunited on the other side. What he finds is not what he expected. The United States has completely collapsed and now they run a dating game, offering a few people from the Dark Zone at a very high price.

Blackout is an action packed, romantic dystopian thrill ride that picks you up from the prologue, rips out your heart a few times leaves you shocked. Fans of The Hunger Games, The Darkest Minds and The Bachelor will absolutely adore this book. Readers will be screaming for book 2 of this new trilogy.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Kantw8 on July 11, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Think Hunger Games meets Maze Runner. Clearly this was written for the younger readers, so adults may not like it that well (I didn't). There is an intriguing plot - those on the north side of the "Frontier" (wall) have electricity, and those on the south side don't but would do just about anything to get it. I found the two main characters to be somewhat shallow. Phoenix seems mostly wimpy, while Star remains a bit of a mystery throughout the book. You don't learn that much about her in book one. Maybe her character gets developed more in the next book.

This is the first book in the trilogy, but I found that it doesn't really come to any kind of conclusion - leaving you to buy the next book to find out what happens next. I typically don't read trilogies for that reason - it just seems like a marketing ploy to get you to buy more books. I get that. I was hopeful that book one would come to some kind of conclusion, but it doesn't.

The plot has enough mystery to keep you guessing, but I found some weaknesses in the story. No electricity for decades, but as soon as you are exposed to it you know how to use mobile phones and social media (including typing) like you've been doing it all your life? Really? Okay, perhaps in the post-electric world you found an manual typewriter and learned to type - maybe. I don't get why no one from the south didn't try crossing to the north during while the wall was being constructed.

Overall I did not like the story. You can't really call it a romance story and there really wasn't much romance to it. It seems to be more about unrequited love. Also, it's got a similar theme as in the Hunger Games, but no where near the level of writing. There's not much dialog in the story.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Heather Rexon-Capewell on June 20, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
Blackout meshes love and hope with the twisted reality of greed and dystopia. What lengths would you go to for the one you love? Once I started, I didn’t want to put it down. Each chapter brought a new twist that kept me guessing until then end, and then I wanted more.

Phoenix and Star are the main characters, but the world—and subsequent characters– is shown through the eyes of Phoenix. We narrow in on his world and see a survivor, but a young man who puts the needs of others before his own. He’s not perfect. None of the DZ’s come close to perfection, but he tries hard to make his family proud.

All of this abruptly changes when he arrives at the Carnival. Each step he takes changes him, and as heartbreaking as some of those changes were, I enjoyed watching Phoenix grow. He’s a teenager having to make grown-up decisions most of his life, but now the stakes are even higher.

Star … okay there were times I felt empathy for her situation. She did a brave thing, and nothing she does is out of character, but sometimes I did want to slap and scream at her. I’m a romantic at heart, and I did understand her actions, but … yeah … I still wanted to whop her upside the head but I believe this conflict was intentional too.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By S.A. Molteni on June 20, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
Blackout" by Madeleine Henry is a superbly written dystopian novel, full of action, suspense, romance and adventure.

The story begins after the world is plunged into darkness and America is divided by a concrete wall (the Frontier). The northern part of the nation above the wall has electricity, the bottom part below the Frontier does not. The lives of those without electricity in the Dark Zone is harsh, dangerous and barely above existing for most of the inhabitants in the region. The lives of those with electricity is much easier (thus the term, "Easies" used to describe them).

The main character, Phoenix, and his girlfriend, Star are selected along with several other teenagers to be allowed into America. In exchange for this, their families are given electricity and Star hopes it will be the answer to her younger brother's chronic illness.

Once in America, Phoenix and Star are thrown into a contest given by the richest families in the country. At first glance, the intentions of the families appear to be genuinely altruistic and the teens quickly adapt to the lifestyle. However, during the course of the contest, secrets are revealed that shake Phoenix to his core and make him question the true reasons for the contest.

"Blackout" was an easy read and it kept me on the edge of my seat throughout the entire story. Ms. Henry has delivered a great story with a wonderfully thought out plot. I loved the ending and am looking forward to the sequel.

I would definitely recommend it to those who enjoy books such as The Hunger Games and other young adult dystopian, post-apocalyptic type novels.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?