Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Clean Fun
G.M. Jackson has assembled a group of short essays that good naturedly take on some of the paradoxes, preachments, and just plain silliness of theism, religion, and the Bible. His mixture of logic and playfulness demonstrate how easy it is to "roast" religion. This is an amusing read for non-believers and possibly even for believers who don't take themselves too...
Published on December 27, 2010 by Christopher L. Brockman

versus
56 of 65 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Using other author's names in the title is pretty low
I must admit that my disappointment with this book is my own fault. I read the title as "Blame Hitchens, Dawkins & Harris--Essays of New Atheism". In other words, a collection of essays by those authors. My bad.

The essays are sophomoric, in my opinion. For example: "There is some passage in the Bible that says, 'The children shall rise up and kill their...
Published on September 15, 2011 by Mark Wilden


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Clean Fun, December 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blame Hitchens, Dawkins & Harris--Essays of a New Atheist (Kindle Edition)
G.M. Jackson has assembled a group of short essays that good naturedly take on some of the paradoxes, preachments, and just plain silliness of theism, religion, and the Bible. His mixture of logic and playfulness demonstrate how easy it is to "roast" religion. This is an amusing read for non-believers and possibly even for believers who don't take themselves too seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 65 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Using other author's names in the title is pretty low, September 15, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blame Hitchens, Dawkins & Harris--Essays of a New Atheist (Kindle Edition)
I must admit that my disappointment with this book is my own fault. I read the title as "Blame Hitchens, Dawkins & Harris--Essays of New Atheism". In other words, a collection of essays by those authors. My bad.

The essays are sophomoric, in my opinion. For example: "There is some passage in the Bible that says, 'The children shall rise up and kill their parents,' or words to that effect. Yikes!" Would it have been so hard for him to actually find and quote the passage correctly? Is "Yikes" really the most thoughful commentary on it?

The author presents the book as saving our time and money. Don't let him patronize you. Just read Hitchens, Dawkins and Harris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worth the price, April 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blame Hitchens, Dawkins & Harris--Essays of a New Atheist (Kindle Edition)
99 cents is about what this is worth. While he makes some good points, it really does seem like an adolescent wrote it. I think there is great potential in a review of the Bible as farce, but this is not it. Got through about 25% until I just coudln't take it any longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad (3.5 stars), June 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blame Hitchens, Dawkins & Harris--Essays of a New Atheist (Kindle Edition)
A collection of essays challenging theistic ideas, basically. It was entertaining and simple- an enjoyable read if you have twenty minutes to kill. It's lacking in real science, but it serves its purpose I think. I enjoyed most of the humor,and there were a few arguments I was unfamiliar with, so it was nice to read something new. It's worth the 99 cents for what it is; I had a few laughs. If you're questioning a religion (mostly Christianity), you should check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars EVEN LESS HERE THAN MEETS THE EYE, March 11, 2013
This review is from: Blame Hitchens, Dawkins & Harris--Essays of a New Atheist (Kindle Edition)
Far from being a summary of the ideas of the prominent thinkers whose names are in the title, this e-book is superficial drivel. The author appears to have little understanding of the issues he tries to write about and none at all of the views on those issues held by his heroes in the title. In short it's a rip off even if you get it free.

Instead of wasting your time with this lightweight, use your Kindle Fire browser to go to YouTube and find videos of these eminent thinkers discussing the real issues, adding Dan Dennit to the names in the title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun & Engaging Read- With a Great Price, May 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blame Hitchens, Dawkins & Harris--Essays of a New Atheist (Kindle Edition)
Spectacular and engaging, a fun read, great humorous tone in authors voice, whicH can be not just read, but heard as well. Was worth more than 99 cents. Besides the fun tone, this ebook also gets you thinking. I like that, as not many books provide such a great engaging tone while teaching you something as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good intro to atheism, February 26, 2013
By 
Dennis Chinea (Ridgefield, NJ, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blame Hitchens, Dawkins & Harris--Essays of a New Atheist (Kindle Edition)
Many essays on all of the different "God is the almighty" philosophies. Easy to understand if your mind is open to the there is no God side of life. I enjoyed the point of view and tend to agree with most of the conclusions. I am new to atheism - always had my doubts about religion and am now studying the alternatives. This was certainly a worthy start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First book I have read by G M Jackson, January 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blame Hitchens, Dawkins & Harris--Essays of a New Atheist (Kindle Edition)
Definately makes one "think" outside of the boxes we place ourselves in. Would recommend it to those who are to set in their ideas only because others opinions and perspectives will make them better people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, January 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blame Hitchens, Dawkins & Harris--Essays of a New Atheist (Kindle Edition)
About what I expected, though I'm always interested in hearing these ideas expressed from another point of view. A light and entertaining read as well. I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good quick read..., December 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blame Hitchens, Dawkins & Harris--Essays of a New Atheist (Kindle Edition)
Probably was a quick write as well... a series of short essays on a theme... some well thought out, others, not so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9e7c939c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.