Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing!
This game has it all, an amazing fighting system that's deep for veterans and welcoming for newbies, easily the greatest story ever told in fighting games, some of the best net code/online in fighting games, gorgeous hand-drawn graphics, innovative modes of play such as 'Abyss' mode witch has an RPG-like leveling system, an amazing soundtrack that you will absolutely want...
Published 9 months ago by Swinster

versus
21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Losing the spark.
The box and its contents are very well made. The package and the artwork look very high quality. The little Nendoroid Rachel Alucard is lovely. Music is a bit recycled from the last 3 entries.

The game itself? Very solid fighter, the story falls a bit short from Calamity Trigger and Continuum Shift, but overall enjoyable. You also get points to unlock very cool...
Published 9 months ago by Sam


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing!, May 4, 2014
By 
Swinster (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This game has it all, an amazing fighting system that's deep for veterans and welcoming for newbies, easily the greatest story ever told in fighting games, some of the best net code/online in fighting games, gorgeous hand-drawn graphics, innovative modes of play such as 'Abyss' mode witch has an RPG-like leveling system, an amazing soundtrack that you will absolutely want to listen to outside of the game/on your Ipod/phone/stereo, amazing characters witch are all unique-no clone fighters here, and mastering each fighter is a game in and of itself, an awesome tutorial mode that comes with hilarious dialogue whilst also teaching you fighting game fundamentals, and much, much more.
I can't think of a bad word to say about it, I've been playing this none-stop since launch, if your a long time fighter fan then this is a must buy, if you are a newcomer to the genre then this is one of the best places to start
If your interested in the story, and it is brilliant, I would recommend starting with 'Blaze Blue Continuum Shift Extend', this is the second game in the series but on the disc is the story to the original and obviously Continuum Shift, although it is possible to make use of Chronophantasmas' ''Teach Me More Miss Litchi'' witch will go over the story for you, but if you wanted to get the full experience, play Continuum Shift first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally freakin' worth it!, March 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just got the item today. Wrote the shipper a 5-star review as well because the item is in excellent condition. Felt like I bought something straight from a shelf in the mall instead of getting it shipped overseas.

The item itself is marvelous! This is every Limited Edition BlazBlue Fan collector's dream item. Box includes everything that it says on the item description. Comes with a Yuuki Terumi DLC. Which is totally awesome because they made this DLC cross-compatible, so yeah, you can play as Yuuki Terumi on the Vita, too.

The artbook is wonderfully rendered. I might even go as far as to say that it's sensual, but, hey, I believe that is to be expected.

The Nendoroid figure is top-notch as well. Not that I'm a nendoroid afficionado or anything, but it looks well-crafted, all the pieces come together and it looks lovely even if it is about 2/3 the size of regular nendoroids.

This package is a total steal for 76$. Got it pre-ordered and that was how much I was charged. The game itself costs $50 on most game stores. $26 dollars for all the limited edition stuff IS TOTALLY FREAKIN' WORTH IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Losing the spark., April 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The box and its contents are very well made. The package and the artwork look very high quality. The little Nendoroid Rachel Alucard is lovely. Music is a bit recycled from the last 3 entries.

The game itself? Very solid fighter, the story falls a bit short from Calamity Trigger and Continuum Shift, but overall enjoyable. You also get points to unlock very cool artwork for anything you do in the game. Some of which will let you scratching your head wondering how did this game got a Teen rating.

However something bothered me and I have to let it out. Today standards are simple: Make a game and divide tiny aspects to sell as downloadable content in order to make more money. I already buy games having this in mind, but some of them are ridiculous and sadly BlazBlue Chrono Phantasma is one of them.

The collector's box comes with Terumi DLC, which is nothing more than Hazama with a yellow coat. The character people have been begging for since Calamity Trigger is not in the game but as another DLC, Kokonoe, she alone cost $8 USD. There's another 2 characters for $8 each as DLC, voice announcers, SD character for a mini-event mode. The total of these DLC go well over the hundred dollars and that's without counting the price of the game itself. Just a fair warning that you may not be able to experience 100% of what the game "has to offer" without spending more for something that should come as unlockable rewards inside the game itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated fighter, May 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BlazBlue: Chrono Phantasma - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
If you love classic style 2D fighters, this is the game for you- it's not the easiest game to get into, but your practice does pay off
Graphics-5/5 It surprises me how well designed a sprite-based 2D game can look in today's gaming industry very colorful and vibrant, the battles are flashy and appealing and seem to come to life, and the stages follow suit
Soundtrack-5/5 I love the different themes they have for character encounters, themes etc. A few of my favorites from continuum shift(extend) aren't as good in this game(Childish Killer, Queen of Roses) but I do enjoy the intense, speedy guitars they use in this OST
Gameplay-4/5 Quick and brutal combat is the name of this game; there is a strong online mode, story mode, versus, training, challenge, and unlimited mars and abyss.
There are quite a bit of modes to play, even for a fighter.
So if you like fighting games, you should give this one a try. One of my personal favorites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tremendously deep yet accessible fighter, August 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BlazBlue: Chrono Phantasma - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This is the first BlazBlue game I have played so I can't speak to how it differs from the previous versions. I've been a fighter enthusiast as long as the genre has existed, but am a decidedly average player. The first time I put the game in, I chose a character and tried the arcade mode on normal and was pretty thoroughly destroyed. Then I decided it would be best to have patience and do the lengthy tutorials. The difference was night and day after that, as I went on to stomp arcade mode on normal including several perfect rounds.

In the 20+ years since Street Fighter 2 first put fighting games on the map, this may be the most intuitive, user friendly interface I've seen. The face buttons are designated A,B,C & D, and combos flow very naturally once you learn to start with one of those letters for an attack and progress alphabetically to string hits together (such as hitting A A B down-B C, etc.), plus of course mixing in special attacks where possible. It's the perfect case of "easy to learn, difficult to master", as there are multiple meters to fill which give you added offensive and defensive abilities when called upon, such as increased damage, powerful special attacks only available when you have enough meter, and the ability to break an opponent's combo and send them far across the screen so you can regroup. The balance is excellent in that meters take long enough to fill that people can't just spam these things in lieu of fighting well, it's there for aggression or to bail you out when close to defeat. There's even a spectacular finish called Astral Heat you can trigger for the win under certain conditions, with a wildly flashy and satisfying set of animations unique to each character. There are no projectile attacks, as the game is about positioning and when to strike or counter, not players spamming fireballs that cancel each other 50 times straight (no offense SF).

The characters are wild, including a cat person, a blob type creature, a bionic woman, and one that looks VERY feminine but is actually a man. There's great variety in fighting styles and moveset as well as appearance, making this a game that's very easy to get lost in. Each character has six different palette choices so you won't bore of looking at your favorite. And yes, some of the female characters are hyper-sexualized, but certainly nothing you'd have to shield a child's eyes from. I for one don't mind a librarian who looks like Bayonetta one bit.

Graphics and sound are of very high quality, with the visuals never suffering the slightest hiccup. No drops in framerate or slowdown, and best of all even long combos look like a human delivering strikes, not a crazy blur where you can't even see what's happening. Even the flashy, colorful special attacks never obstruct your view so you can still effectively time your blocks and counters.

It's no easy task making a fighting game that can appeal to tournament level players while still being fun for novices, but BlazBlue Chrono Phantasma delivers. The numerous, steady paced tutorials make even the most complex parts of the game feel approachable and ensure you know the game's ins and outs, even if you aren't skilled enough to excel at everything. I would recommend this game to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A downgrade from the previous game., May 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BlazBlue: Chrono Phantasma - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
The new mechanics are interesting and the new characters are worth it. But overall, as an experience, the game is lacking. You get a feeling of 'cut corners' as you experience the rest of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely pleased., April 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was my first ever order from Amazon, and I couldn't be happier. It arrived 3 days earlier than the estimate, which is always welcome and although the packaging was a little iffy the product itself was in perfect condition, no different from buying it off a shelf in a store.
As for the product itself I love it. I've been an avid BB player since CT and this installment is my favourite one in the series; I just love what they've done with it. The LE is totally worth it for the price, the Rachel Nendoroid looks great on my desk and the moves poster is a very nice touch. I haven't listened to the soundtrack or watched the included blu-ray yet but no doubt they'll be fantastic. Probably my favourite part of the LE though is the artbook. Even though it's not hardcover the quality is great and the art is stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Phantasmic Confusion, June 28, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The only problem I had was that the Rachel Alucard figurine was poorly made. The parts kept falling off no matter how hard I tried to force them in and the directions were in Japanese and not easy to understand. Also, putting the music CD into a portable CD player does not work. I found that a little annoying since the CD from Continuum Shift worked right away in the player. The game itself was good but having new characters introduced with no back-story with the main characters just accepting them was a little hard to swallow. I do recommend getting this game for your collection based on story alone but if you want extras that won't work and having to pay top dollar for DLC, then go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing value for an amazing game., September 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I do not regret this purchase.I'd been looking to but Chronophantasma for a while,and couldn't find it at any local store nor could I find it on Ebay for a reasonable price ($80 for the normal game?!Way too much.).This purchase was an amazing value,and if needed I would buy it again.$70 for all the stuff you get is a great value,and the actual contents are very good as well.
How would I describe the game?3 words:Aggressive and awesome. The game feels a lot different from past Blazblue games,so it might take a little adjustment,but not too much. It's definitely more aggressive,both in attacks and in speech(I.E. Ragna is a lot more vulgar against Hazama than in CS.). The Overdrive system is a game changer for me,as it gives an even greater edge to good players and gives worse players a shot at redemption.Every Overdrive has a different effect,like Ragna's gives the Blood Kain effect,Noel's speeds up your Chain Revolver combos,Hazama's gives you the life steal ring and gets rid of his chains' deadzones,and Terumi's gives an even more increased rate of Heat gain and nullifies opponents' Heat gain on hit or block. My favorite character has to be Terumi. The lightning-fast Heat gain and the unparalleled amount of Distortion Drives (Including the Unlimited Distortions,he has 9!) make him just a blast to play as. I haven't played much of the Story Mode,but it has taken some things from XBlaze:Code Embryo in terms of how the story is presented.I am disappointed by Hazama's new voice actor,and they have done some voice modifications to certain characters(like Bang and Hakumen) but I still love the game all the same. Quick note,though, DO NOT go online until you've played a lot.You will get destroyed by all the higher-level players.
My overall conclusion:This is an amazing game,my game of the year honestly.If you're looking to buy this game,you cannot find a better value than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The game is great, the extras not so much, August 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
BlazBlue: Chronophantasma is an excellent addition to the already fantastic BlazBlue series, offering new mechanics to spice up the gameplay, redrawn sprites that looks much better, and remixed music that sounds great for the most part. However, I have several issues with the extra stuff included with the limited edition. One of the selling points for it is the inclusion of a Rachel Alucard Nendoroid figurine. It was much smaller than I expected, and is shoddily built. The head nearly came apart while putting her hair pieces in, her Nago umbrella would not stay together, and the piece that holds her up does not stay in place, making her not stand up properly. Her eyes were also colored wrong. The soundtrack CD was defective, it will not play on any CD player or computer I've put it in. iTunes won't even recognize that a disc has been inserted, so I can't add the awesome songs in this game to my library. I haven't tried the Blu-Ray behind the scenes disc yet, so I will update this after using it. The artbook is your standard collection of concept art and promotional art. Overall, I was very disappointed in what came with the limited edition, but I don't feel as though I wasted my money since it was only $10 more than the standard edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

BlazBlue: Chrono Phantasma - Playstation 3
$39.99 $38.70
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.