Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Bleeding Out (Osi)
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars15
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$7.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 29, 2012
All i can say is wow. What a fantastic finish. This book was fantastic. I could not put it down. Family has been a strong theme throughout and this really shows that family is who you make it. I love these characters and hope to see them again.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2012
This book is the ending to a series I really liked. I think it is too bad that he decided to end it here. The story is not a bad one, but bleeding out is just that. He is having a language hemorrhage and he just can't stop the mind dump, depressing description after depressing description until you are ready to scream. If he ever went to a sad/bad poetry open mic night with this stuff he would win. I guess he needed to get it all out of his system to let this series go and he did that. There is nothing left to say about letting a loved one go. What is left to say is what happens next to all these characters, people we grew to care about over the years, but I guess we are never going to know.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2012
This story just wasn't as good a read as the earlier books in this series.

I think it was the long sections of inner monologue. I also thought the ending was a bit meh. Your mileage may vary.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2012
In Victoria, Occult Special Investigations squad agent Tess Corday is on medical leave recuperating from on the job injuries (see Infernal Affairs). With time on her hands, Tess follows up to what she learned about her paternal roots to find out more about her origin. On her way to buy cigarettes, Tess notices an anomaly, a stoned vampire.

OSI Detective Selena Ward calls Tess to ask her and Derrick to help her for a few hours investigating the murder of Lord Nightingale the ruler of the necromancers and governor of Ttrinovantum who died at the Simon Fraser University Bennett Library. The pair head to the crime scene. Soon Tess and her "family" (Derrick, Miles, Patrick and Mia) make inquiries into the homicide while she also looks into a drug that leaves vampires dazed and the whereabouts of her father.

The last OSI urban fantasy (see A Flash of Hex and Inhuman Resources) is a great finish to a strong paranormal police procedural. Tess is at her best as she works three cases (one authorized) with each different yet dangerous. Fans will enjoy the heroine's curtain call and hope for her to return one day soon somewhere else in Canada like Toronto.

Harriet Klausner
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2014
This is the last book of this series & I have loved all of them! I am so sorry it is ending. If you haven't read this series, go back to the 1st book & buy them all! The characters are unusual, the on-going intermingling of the characters is exceptional. The plots are superb & flow into the next book seamlessly. I have gone back to reread the earlier books & am very satisfied with the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2012
The osi series has been one fun ride. One twist after another jes battis has shown great growth for his characters. I loved this book but there was some bumps in the road that didn't make it go as smooth as I would if liked it too gone.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2016
I really enjoyed this book, we see Tess making decisions about what happens next and tying up all the loose ends. There was not as much conflict in this book, more reflection about how everyone goes forward.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2012
I have been following this series and I loved it. I hated to have it end. Night Child was the 1st one, then A Flash of Hex, Inhuman Resoures and now Bleeding Out. I will miss the gang. But I liked the ending. Bleeding out really surprised me about Tess' Father. It's a fun story. I do recommend it!

Thank you Mr. Battis for a wonderful ride. So what are your writing now?
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2012
Jes Battis' 'Bleeding Out' is the fifth, and final book in the OSI series featuring Tess Corday, a woman in touch with the earth, if not her own feelings.

This final installment sees OSI Detective Selena Ward calling Tess and Derrick in to deal with the investigation of a high profile murder, that of Lord Nightingale, who is the highest ranking necromancer and the governor of Trinovantum.

When an author wraps up a series, particularly if it's a lengthy one, there are a lot of loose ends to check off. Sometimes, making sure that everything is neatly taken care of can make the book feel like it's a list of events, with characters explaining what's going on. At other times it gives the reader a feeling as if they've shut the door after a long visit with old friends that they can remember fondly.

In some ways, Bleeding Out does exactly this very well. No character is left hanging, but at the same time, the pace of the book is so comfortable that the reader doesn't feel any urgency. Yes, there are some vampires 'juiced' and acting kind of freaky, but they lack any true menace. It feels more like the neighborhood kids got a little uppity, and OSI has to step in and remind them that there's no feeding on people without their consent.

Although there isn't any imminent peril to Tess or her little family, issue of her past, as well as that of her necromancer boyfriend Lucian do come to light. Among those is the truth about Tess' father, as well as some things that her mother has been concealing from her.

In short, Bleeding Out is well written, but at times almost too neatly done; the kind of final chapter that leaves readers satisfied, and won't annoy anybody who's been hoping for a few more answers to lingering questions in the OSI series.

(Reviewed for A Book Obsession..)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2013
This was not the book that I thought it would be. Bleeding Out begins with a murder, but the mystery is really centered around Tess. Who is Tess Corday outside of what she does for CORE and who she is in relation to the people she loves? As she ruminates on how all the people she loves will be moving on to start their own lives, this question comes to the forefront because she cannot make anymore decisions until she knows who she is. When a piece of forgotten information is extracted from her mind, forgotten memories and relationships begin tumbling out. The book becomes very Alice In Wonderland-ish at this point. Tess begins to see the magic in everything and the connectedness of everything. Battis knows how to turn a phrase beautifully, but I felt that the moment was drawn out to well past it's prime. The non sequiturs became annoying for me because they didn't seem to have any relevance until the end of the book. I would have liked to have had a bit of grounding to current reality here and there just to give it context.

However, Battis uses the same descriptive device when he describes Tess's love for her family and that piece is stunning. This is not an action packed book. Rather it is a work of world building within world building. As one character describes it, it is no longer a forensic thriller, but a science fantasy. The sibling dynamics were fun, the composure cleaning was hilarious, and the ultimate reveal of Tess's father was surprising. Not your typical urban fantasy (or forensic thriller), but if you are open to different genres and styles, it is worth the effort.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.