Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dale E. Basye does a tasteful job at keeping the Circle of Heck books appetizing and refreshing
After the fateful marshmallow bear incident that sent Milton and Marlo Fauster to Heck, their lives have never been the same. Sure, Marlo was a bad kid who deserved to go to Heck and spend an eternity or until you're 18, whichever comes first. Milton, however, was a pure soul who didn't deserve to be there but was nonetheless forced to sign a binding contract under the...
Published on July 1, 2010 by KidsReads

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For fans only
Inventive wordplay, puns, hip cultural references, and remarkably dated cultural references, this book has it all. In fact it has over 400 pages of it. As did each of the first two practically identical books.

If you have gotten this far into the series, then you are a committed fan, and I say good for you. If you are looking at this book as an introduction...
Published on October 19, 2011 by Pop Bop


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dale E. Basye does a tasteful job at keeping the Circle of Heck books appetizing and refreshing, July 1, 2010
By 
KidsReads (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
After the fateful marshmallow bear incident that sent Milton and Marlo Fauster to Heck, their lives have never been the same. Sure, Marlo was a bad kid who deserved to go to Heck and spend an eternity or until you're 18, whichever comes first. Milton, however, was a pure soul who didn't deserve to be there but was nonetheless forced to sign a binding contract under the unpleasantness of Principal of Darkness Bea "Elsa" Bubb. Marlo managed to escape Principal Bubb's clutches the first couple of times thanks to quick thinking and the realization that she might make something out of herself in Heck. Milton escaped to earth using the buoyancy of Lost Souls but returned to find his sister and his best friend, Virgil, and perhaps retribution for the eternal injustice of Heck.

Having previously been separated from Virgil in Limbo, Milton is shocked when he stumbles upon his best friend in Blimpo, the bulging middle section of Heck. Under the incapable leadership of vice-principals Burgermesiter and Lady Lactose, the overweight kids of Blimpo have been subjected to a new regimented exercise program consisting of DREADmills. Shaped like hamster wheels, the DREADmills provide energy to the Transdimensional Power Grid and supposedly provide an opportunity for the husky kids to lose weight. To supplement the DREADmills, the students also have access to Hambone Hank's Heart Attack Shack barbecue provided by Chef Boyareyookrazee. If the barbecue didn't taste so hauntingly good, Milton and Virgil might not suspect anything, but they are convinced that foul play is involved.

While Milton and Virgil sort through the delectable ribs, Marlo is up to her neck in her new Infernship program serving under Madame Pompadour, who runs Heck's Girl Friday the 13th program. Marlo originally jumped at the chance to make a difference from inside the system of Heck since she never really amounted to anything on the outside. Cool-under-pressure Marlo begins to crack, however, when her Infernship turns out to be more challenging than she realized. She's finding it impossible to keep up with Madame Pompadour's demands to be an amazing assistant and impeccably proper and beautiful.

If this story was set in heaven, then Milton and Marlo would be reunited and spend their days frolicking with the angels in the clouds. If it took place in H-E-double-hockey-sticks, then the Big Guy Downstairs would get involved in the most unmentionable way. This is Heck, though, which means that the powers-that-be and the powers-that-be-evil complicate matters. Both Marlo and Milton stumble upon an evil plan hatched by Lady Lactose and Madame Pompadour to take over control of Heck. Principal Bubb is stopping at nothing to hunt down Milton and take his soul, and Marlo doesn't even recognize herself anymore. It appears as though both Fauster siblings have bitten off more than they can chew.

Dale E. Basye does a tasteful job at keeping the Circle of Heck books appetizing and refreshing. The endless puns, analogies and allusions keep you snickering on each page, and the laugh-out-loud moments are frequent and quite hilarious. At the heart of the series is Milton and Marlo's complex relationship, which is more fully realized as the books continue. Any reader can relate to each sibling's struggle with identity and the quest to do something more with what life may have preordained for you. With four more circles planned, this imaginative series has only started hitting its stride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series, June 23, 2014
Good kids go to Heaven, bad kids go to Heck. Heck is the Hell for minors. Just like Hell, it has different circles, for different classes of sin.

In this third installment in the Heck series, Milton Fauster, recently re-deceased, is returning to Heck, to rescue his friend Virgil and his sister Marlo. Because Virgil is portly, he is sentenced to the circle of Blimpo for the sin of gluttony. Meanwhile, Marlo is completing an internship for Satan. As always, Milton fights against the whole Heck enterprise.

I absolutely adore these books, and you cannot tell me that they are written solely for children. There are so many sophisticated jokes, and parallels to classic literature (Dante's Inferno and Faust are just two examples)for them to be intended solely for the juvenile set. The books are clever and funny. The writing is really enjoyable, and I cannot help but root for the characters of Milton and Marlo. I want them to turn Heck upside down.

These would be great books for kids and parents to read together. I have recommended this series to several patrons at my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For fans only, October 19, 2011
By 
Pop Bop "Pause and Reflect" (Denver, Colorado, United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blimpo: The Third Circle of Heck (Paperback)
Inventive wordplay, puns, hip cultural references, and remarkably dated cultural references, this book has it all. In fact it has over 400 pages of it. As did each of the first two practically identical books.

If you have gotten this far into the series, then you are a committed fan, and I say good for you. If you are looking at this book as an introduction to the series, I strongly urge you to go back and start at book one, (which sets out the premise and all the main characters).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Series Yet!, October 13, 2010
By 
Reason for Reading: Next in the series.

I read this series for the pure fun of it and for Basye the third time is the charm. Blimpo is the best book yet of this series. As anyone reading the series knows, when we were told at the end of book two that the next volume would be called Blimpo, my eyes lit up knowing we would be returning to the character Virgil from book one. Virgil, who became Milton's best friend in the first book, is the central figure in this volume earning him the position of hero.

Milton and Marlo are right where we left them at the end of Rapacia. Marlo is her usual opinionated, aggressive self and getting herself in trouble while at the same time finding out things she shouldn't know; putting herself in a dangerous position when Milton finally comes to rescue her as promised in book 2. Milton is simply trying to keep away from Principal Bubb and hide. His first choice of friends include Jack Kerouac and a blind Viking who can see, both of whom are absolutely hilarious. But when Milton comes upon Blimpo, he puts on a fat suit and goes undercover to rescue Virgil. Little does he know of the nefarious plot going down between the vice principals to become make Blimpo much more powerful in the whole realm of Heck. The fun teachers in Blimpo are King Tantalus, complete with portable pool of water and peach tree, and the chubby Elvis.

The humour level was right where expected, funny and silly, worthy of a smile. This volume does bring back the toilet humour of book one but it isn't overly done and fits well when used. The storyline is becoming more involved. While each book has its own individual open and shut plot, this book introduces some elements that will be ongoing and adds a deeper, overall story arc to the series. While not exactly ending with a cliff hanger, as foreshadowing is used to let us know where things are headed, the book does end with certain characters in situations that leave the reader anxious for the next volume. The only negative remark I have about Blimpo is the size. At well over 400 pages it is the largest of the series, with the others being 300-odd pages each. I am not a fan of authors who seemingly think that every book in a series needs to get larger and larger until the reader is stuck with unwieldy door stoppers by the end of the series. If Blimpo is larger because of the topic matter, then I see that as an extension of the author's humour and can appreciate it, but I certainly hope to see the next volume back down to around the size of Book 2 (362 pgs).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this series., May 29, 2010
Blimpo the third circle of heck is where the overweight kids go. 11 yr old Milton and 13 yr old Marlo Fauster have already been introduced to Heck and seen the second circle Rapacia.

Milton has escaped from Heck, he snuck back in it to save his sister, Marlo and his friend Virgil. Milton must hide from principal Bea "Elsa" Bubb. The principal is out to get Milton because he's escaped from Heck twice and it doesn't make her look good. Milton is getting some help from the Phantoms of the Dispossessed or PODs. The PODs can't be classified so they wander through Heck. The leader of the POD's is Jack Kerouac

Milton sneaks into Blimpo because that's where Virgil is. The kids in Blimpo are forced to run on dreadmills, they are a new source of energy. Elvis Presley is the music teacher. Marlo is starting an Infernship for the Guy downstairs. In this book Marlo and Milton don't see each until close to the end. The chapters alternate between the siblings.

I like that the author decided to separate Miltion and Marlo. This way we get a better feel for their individual personalities and get to see more of Heck. Marlo and Milton are both have different perspectives thanks to their time in Heck. This is a very smart series. I appreciate the growth, even Virgil is changed by being in Blimpo.

I loved Blimpo as much as Heck. I enjoyed Rapicia, just don't think its as strong as the other two. Blimpo moves very well. There are some great visually creepy moments.

"Suddenly, a scream pealed from the mist shrouded herd of bewliderbeasts. In the blink of an eye, a swooping shape had attached itself to the creature charging toward Milton. The bewilderbeast screeched, the unmistakable shriek of something about to be killed. Nothing was as frightening Milton thought in the abrupt silence of the creature's scream, than some terrible creature terrified by something even more terrible."

Basye is doing an excellent job of keeping this series funny, entertaining, exciting and thought- provoking. One thing I really like, each book answers the initial questions it set out to answers. As the series continues its getting more involved, in a very good way.

There are a few famous people - Kerouac, Elvis and Nixon (the ethics teacher) in Heck, that adults will get a kick out. Though its always about the young reader. The author seamlessly adds in these names. So if a young reader doesn't know who any of these people are its not big deal.

I think Blimpo would work well as a stand alone. Though I highly recommend starting this series from the beginning. They would make a book club selection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The food is made of..., May 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In case you stumble upon Blimpo on accident, be forewarned, one must really pass through Heck: Where the Bad Kids Go and Rapacia: The Second Circle of Heck in order to truly appreciate Blimpo, otherwise one could end up a little confused.

I had felt that Rapacia had been good, though not as good as Heck. I'm a bit undecided about how to compare Blimpo to Heck, but it's better than Rapacia was.

Yes, the horrible horrible horrible puns and acronyms are back. Potty humor (there's a BOWEL movement for example). While pegged as a young reader series, there are things here that are much more amusing to the big kids among us (the celeb guest stars for example - Milton goes on the road with Jack Kerouac). Basically, yes, all of the things that make you either love or hate the series are back.

There are multiple storylines:
- Milton has vowed to save Virgil from Blimpo
- Blimpo, something is going on there, but what?
- Milton has vowed to save Marlo from H-e-double-hockey-sticks
- Marlo is working for the big guy downstairs in some internship program that brings to mind a very nasty episode of Ugly Betty.
- Bea "Elsa" Bubb is on the war path (isn't she always?)
- Damian, Necia, and the KOOKS still have their issues up above. Including Lucky.
- The angels are still wondering about what is happening in Heck

If you want a book that has a beginning and an end, you'll be disappointed. There was just so much happening here that pieces got resolved - sort of. Much like Rapacia, this book sets up the next book. But somehow, it's not all that disappointing that we're left with more questions than answers this time around as it was set up rather well.

I'm giving it 5 stars because I really did love it, though I was torn between 4 and 5 stars. Maybe 4 1/2. There was still something a little off, I think it was the parts focusing on the people up above. I'm not sure why, it seems out of place in this book, but it's such a small part of the book that it's not enough for me to lower my rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for the next one, September 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Before you read Blimpo, read "Heck: Where the Bad Kids Go" and "Rapacia: The Second Circle of Heck".

At first I was a little leary of my son reading books about dead kids, it sounds rather grotesque - and maybe it is. But it's a hilarious underworld. We were addicted after reading Heck. Heck was such a fun read, that I read the next 2 with my son and we reccommended them to my 19YO daughter who shared them with all her friends. Clearly the Heck series applies to all age groups.

Of the series so far, I think Heck was the best. Blimpo leaves a few too many open ends, but it still gets 5 stars for being non-stop fun. Puns abound in the afterlife. While the book keeps in suspense, it's an hilarious suspence. This is a read with your kids book. Kids won't get some puns, but they'll still love the story and adults will be laughing right along.

The story is cleverly written, funny, suspenseful and, although it's about the afterlife, I do not find it to be irreverant at all. I can't wait for the next book to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ingenious, June 3, 2010
By 
When my mother first held up a copy of "Heck", I was quite skeptical. It seemed okay to buy (especially the fact that I had a BOGO Free for Borders), and I began to read in the car. I was immediately hooked. The clever, witty humor made me laugh out loud so much that I couldn't read it in school. Blimpo was just as great. Though it was much longer, Blimpo's pace went along great and left me wanting more. Dale E. Basye is a genious, and should press on to write all Nine Circles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heck yeah, November 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blimpo: The Third Circle of Heck (Paperback)
My 10 year old daughter is a very picky reader and she loves these. I even read one out of boredom...it was cute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blimpo: The Third Circle of Heck, July 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book had that feature that once you start reading a chapter you can't stop, which is a great feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Blimpo: The Third Circle of Heck
Blimpo: The Third Circle of Heck by Dale E. Basye (Paperback - April 26, 2011)
$7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.