Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down.
I have never been a Palin fan and I have followed her antics over the last few years. Nevertheless, I was shocked at just how vindictive this woman was. She couldn't let any criticism of her pass and the depths to which she would go to extract vengeance was astonishing. Her vendettas against Chuck Thoma and Jim Minnery, and her delight at David Kernell's plight were...
Published on May 27, 2011 by Helen

versus
60 of 67 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yet another Unmaking of Sarah Palin
This book, by some of Palin's closest confidantes, tells the story (via a multi-year trail of her emails currently being legally contested) of how her accumulation of power changed her. She apparently acquired, and then used her power like a blunt instrument; wielding it through fear, cowardice, betrayals, and organizational chaos. That is, by "kicking up enough...
Published on May 28, 2011 by Herbert L Calhoun


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down., May 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have never been a Palin fan and I have followed her antics over the last few years. Nevertheless, I was shocked at just how vindictive this woman was. She couldn't let any criticism of her pass and the depths to which she would go to extract vengeance was astonishing. Her vendettas against Chuck Thoma and Jim Minnery, and her delight at David Kernell's plight were sickening. This book paints a picture of a woman more interested in marketing herself and extracting retribution from her "enemies" than a woman interested in the business of governing.

What was also startling was her complete disregard for the people who had helped her along the way. The number of people she threw under the bus when she had no further need for them tells its own story.

This book also reaffirms to me that Palin is not mentally stable - she is very emotionally fragile. She didn't even trust her own husband. Todd had to ring or email her staff in the mornings to let them know what sort of a mood she was in! Her treatment of her own children is especially sad.

All in all, this is an excellent book and a real eye-opener. I strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


313 of 358 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all American (and especially GOP) voters, May 24, 2011
I admit that I was a tad hesitant to purchase this book (I ordered the excellent Kindle version, by the way), as much of the debate over Palin has been completely and utterly polarized and thus an objective view of her is naturally hard to come by. I consider myself an independent voter who places a great deal of value in truly getting to know possible presidential candidates- their platforms, their beliefs, their mannerisms, and their abilities at leadership.

Wow, in all of these regards, this book is a winner. Frank Bailey paints a realistic and believable picture of a woman who has used fear and ignorance as stepping stones into national prominence, otherwise bypassing the traits and qualities that we Americans should hold dear in politicians. I was particularly delighted that Bailey chose to include the "early years", during which he too was a blind supporter of Palin. It's important to remember that we can all fall into the trap of (supposed) beauty and seemingly down-to-earth individuals, but we must remember that being a quality politician is about so much more.

In the end, Bailey successfully and persuasively paints Palin as what she really seems to be - a power and money hungry yet completely unintelligent woman that relies on vague and often very strange methods of leadership, and how this supposed "leadership" was actually a total abandonment of her post (governor of Alaska) because she was simply too annoyed at the aspects of her job to continue. A highly recommend this book to all who believe that politics are worth reading about, especially Republican voters who are still unsure of whom they prefer in 2012. This is a real eye-opener and you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


140 of 160 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Story of Self-Realization, May 28, 2011
By 
I was truly drawn into this book. The authors have managed to craft a very human story, not a "bash Sarah, tell-all."

Don't get me wrong, there's plenty not to admire about the Palins in this book. Anyone who has followed her bewildering rise to fame will not be surprised by how petty, vindictive, and immature their behaviors are. The big surprise, IMO, is how easily people fell into the Palin world of persecution and drama.

Bailey comes across as a normal, nice guy who simply stopped thinking, stopped questioning, stopped looking at the world through eyes other than Palin's. He demonstrates the real power of Palin's victim meme. No slight was too small for attention and retribution, and there was no such thing as "overkill."

Troopergate gets the bulk of the treatment here. There are a couple of things that don't get covered I would have liked to have had some insight on--the creation of the Yahoo accounts in particular, and the situation in Emmonak.

The emails are all his own, from his personal Yahoo account. They demonstrate beyond a shadow of a doubt that Palin lied during her Troopergate testimony. It'd be nice to see some charges filed regarding that. It was an egregious ethics violation and shows how little understanding she has regarding good government. In Sarah's mind, "good government" is her. Bad government is any challenge to her. There is no middle ground.

Palin is not the villain in this tale. She's too unaware of what she's doing to be considered "villainous." She has no clue she's harming *people*; everyone else is just an extra in the drama of her life. People enter and exit her life like actors on a stage. That the have a life beyond her stage is not considered. It's like she's truly fourteen, and cannot see beyond herself/family. I really pitied her more than anything. She's like a spoiled child who needs a new toy every day or feels like no one loves her. I find it hard to believe she's my age.

Bailey is properly contrite. He does a great job of looking at his actions with hindsight, but is as bewildered as the rest of us as to how it really got that far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moral Autopsy Results in "Blind Allegiance":, May 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was shocked to read this book. Yes, I expected "Blind Allegiance" to document the lies and crass self-aggrandizement of Alaska's Sarah Palin. I did not expect such a beautifully written, well-documented and ultimately spiritually inspiring saga of the disintegration of one man's moral integrity as he works for Palin. This is a journey of a well-meaning soul's travail through hell and his ultimate spiritual re-discovery.

Initially,being a total new-comer to political activism, Bailey naively perceives Palin to be a self-less political reformer who expresses his ideals and warrants his help. In end, after five years of hard work at the expense of his family and reputation, he recognizes that he had sold his soul to a shattered idol.

As Bailey participates in Palin successful efforts to become a wealthy national celebrity, he begins to understand that she does not have the emotional stability or common sense that he assumed. He sees that she does not really care about the people who elected her or care about fulfilling her governmental responsibilities. He sees that his faith in her has been betrayed. She seeks not good government but good personal publicity.

Frank Bailey was a 35 year old political innocent when he was captured by the charm and apparent political courage of Sarah Palin. A Republican disgusted by the corruption of Alaska's then governor, Frank Murkowski, Bailey signed on to Palin's seemingly hopeless primary run against the well-funded governor with the willingness to clean the toilets of her shabby campaign headquarters, not with the goal of being Governor Palin's chief of staff. But during his five year Palin career, he went from an innocent to a dirty political operative himself as he carried out the erratic, arrogant and unethical demands of his political idol -- his "Reagan in a Skirt".

Bailey documents his descent into Palin's emotionally strewned nightmare with e-mails he received from Palin, her husband, Todd, and others in the their inner political circle, a circle which changed as old members were thrown aside and new members of the faithful recruited. With Bailey's help, Palin got to the very pinnacle of Alaska's government and then to the pinnacle of Republican Party national politics as vice-presidential nominee for John McCain's run against Obama.

The chronicle shows that virtually Palin's only political skills came in the form of marketing herself to voters through her physical looks and charm. Her skill set did not include knowledge of the real problems facing her state or her country, much less knowledge of how to actually run a government.

The majority of Palin's time in office was spent putting her considerable power to use in demolishing anyone who she perceived to be an enemy. She included in her enemies her former brother-law, Trooper Wooten and anyone who dared to voice the slightest criticism of anything she did or said. Palin was ruled by her emotional whims not reason, and thus she ruled Alaska. "Off with their head" said the queen of public charm and vicious attack, while her minions, of which Bailey was one of the most loyal, immediately proceeded to sharpen their swords and attack. Many innocent people were badly injured in her forays.

Bailey was not innocent and it is not a pretty story to read of his own moral disintegration, but this chronicle of Palin's rise to fame and fortune, is extremely well documented through e-mails sent to Baily by Palin herself, her husband, Todd, and members of the shifting inner circle. The writing/editing team of Ken Morris and Jeanne Devon is to be congratulated for this work.

It is an important book for all voters, everywhere, to read, as it shows how easily we can be fooled by physical and emotional charm, or the glittering words of potential candidates who seem to express our ideals.

We need to look at candidates' deeds, their actual experience in governing, before we allow them election to critical offices. We only just missed electing Palin to the second highest office in our land, as vice-president to the 72 year old McCain, by a few million votes. We can't allow effective political marketing of shallow candidates to over-ride effective governing, and this applies as equally to the Palin-bots as the Obama-bots.

Read this beautifully written book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


211 of 245 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for all political junkies, May 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blind Allegiance To Sarah Palin (Kindle Edition)
A must-read for all political junkies, future campaign workers, literature professors, and anyone who enjoys a classic tale of betrayal and power.
Bailey drank the Palin Kool-Aid early on -- he was in the inner circle throughout her meteoric rise from smalltown mayor to national influence. The book is as much about one good man's fight to avoid being disillusioned by his idol, as it is about the detailed pettiness and vindictiveness of Sarah & Todd's Alaska reign. You can feel the emotional struggle Bailey undergoes to maintain his status as Sarah's confidant and trusted consigliere while the cognitive dissonance of reality piles up around him, and eventually destroys his loyalty. The book is a primer on how not to build a solid political machine: how can anyone run for office after making enemies out of trusted friends and dedicated staff?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 67 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yet another Unmaking of Sarah Palin, May 28, 2011
This book, by some of Palin's closest confidantes, tells the story (via a multi-year trail of her emails currently being legally contested) of how her accumulation of power changed her. She apparently acquired, and then used her power like a blunt instrument; wielding it through fear, cowardice, betrayals, and organizational chaos. That is, by "kicking up enough rightwing fairy dust" to bootstrap her way up to the next higher job, leaving in her wake a trail of unfinished business and a lot of angry voters, ex-friends and associates.

The email trail uncovered by these authors is powerful testimony to how little "real" managerial skill and experience Palin actually has exhibited over the course of four high-level jobs. However on her resume of "devious in-fighting," lying and betrayal, she comes out as a world-class bureaucratic manipulator.

The Palin signature appears to be "suck your friends in;" and as soon as they are not looking, stab them in the back, and then move on to the next highest job. So far this vicious invocation of the infamous "Peter Principle" has served her well. She has proven to be an expert at parlaying meager talents - basically a photogenic face and a knack for schoolgirl schmoozing -- into jobs that are all well above any of her demonstrated abilities?

The book also tracks the authors own evolution: from one smitten by the Palin mystique and message "to shake up the system for the Christian Right," and from the outside, to one of complete and utter disillusionment with Palin's incompetence, lying, treachery and reliance on fear and organizational chaos as her preferred way of keeping her troupes in line.

Although, I am about as far from being a Palin lover as one can get, I still question the integrity of authors who jump ship just in time to cash in on the Palin phenomenon. It smacks of using Palin's own tactics of "riding the train" until the riding gets rough, and then jumping the tracks to saddle the next easiest pony.

After reviewing Palin's own illiterate monstrosity, "Going Rogue," Jeff Dunn's excellent book about Palin's penchant for lying, I am going to take a break from the "Ice Diva," as she prepares to make a run for the presidency in 2012.

[Are we at the bottom of this slippery slope yet? God help America!] Three Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbalanced, Charismatic Lady, May 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blind Allegiance To Sarah Palin (Kindle Edition)
While Sarah Palin was standing front and center in the limelight,(during the 2008 election) I tried to put my finger on why she ignited a such a conflicted emotional reaction in me. Frank Bailey has portrayed an individual whose leadership style-leadership by ego- is annoying in private, but potentially disastrous in a place of public responsibility. On the one hand she is mesmerizing, charismatic, and motivating. On the other hand she is deceitful, conniving and manipulative. In reading the book it dawned on me why my own reaction was so extreme. I suffered under a boss for the better part of twenty years who could have been her twin. Not pleasant or healthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kudos to Frank Bailey for having the guts to write this, May 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been fascinated by the train wreck that is Sarah Palin and this book, the first by a former member if her inner circle, does not disappoint. Lots of new information and details. Hopefully more of her former staff (and boy, it sounds like there are a lot of them) will have the courage and step forward as Bailey has done.

The Piper lemonade stand story, in particular, gives eye-opening insight into Sarah Palin's pettiness and vindictiveness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


127 of 148 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John 8:32, "Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.", May 25, 2011
Whether politically you lean right or left, this book is impossible to put down. Bailey's story paints a vivid picture of life and community in Alaska. After reading this book, there is no way to dismiss Bailey's convictions as genuine and humble. The man literally gave up everything to follow his heart in supporting Palin, who time and again displays a complete lack of regard for her closest allies, and utter contempt for her enemies. The book is less a bashing of Palin and more a story, supported by facts, of how Palin's thirst for attention compromises her relationships with her supporters, friends and family. To deny Palin as a megalomaniac, by definition is refusal to accept the facts substantiated in Bailey's recollection of Palin's rise to power. Put simply, from page to page her facade comes crumbling down as you see her touting her evangelical principles from one side of her mouth, while manipulating the citizens of Alaska, including her children from the other. Regardless of your political affiliation, it is impossible to complete this book and not feel compassion for Bailey's pure intentions and inevitably come to an obvious conclusion: Sarah Palin is a monster. Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


205 of 242 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now I understand why she quit her job as governor, May 24, 2011
Sarah Palin is an enigma. We want to like her. A lot of us still do like her. If you can believe what is in this book you might not keep liking her for long.

Palin is in many ways the epitome of someone who has realized the American Dream. The author of this book was there as she began her rise to higher office. And he documents the changes that he observed in Sarah along the way. And she did change. A lot, according to him.

Palin reportedly just bought a mansion in a gated community in Arizona. There are rumors that she might run for the US Senate in Arizona. She could win if she does. But President Palin? I don't think so. Not gonna happen. This book will be debunked. Who really cares what she does in private? Even so, her dirty laundry makes a presidential campaign problematic. Just ask Mitch Daniels why he isn't running...

On the other hand this is not a celebrity bashing book. The author was actually there. Close to her. He has the e-mails. And he remains a conservative. Not sure about Palin's conservative credentials any more. She talks big. She earns big. This book makes me sad for America,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Blind Allegiance To Sarah Palin
$9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.