Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for job seekers and professionals
Ms. Levit is a rising star in the career-advice genre, and this book proves why. Ms. Levit provides an upbeat and thoughtful guide to establishing, enhancing, and redirecting (if necessary) the course of one's career. She provides helpful anecdotes and examples to illustrate the 10 business "myths" and gives the reader sound, practical advice that can be applied across...
Published on October 4, 2011 by Laurel C. Van Allen

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Common Sense
Good book.

Well written.

Nothing new, but still worth reading.

A common sense refresher and a little myth busting supported by facts.
Published 14 months ago by QLJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for job seekers and professionals, October 4, 2011
By 
Laurel C. Van Allen (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blind Spots: 10 Business Myths You Can't Afford to Believe on Your New Path to Success (Paperback)
Ms. Levit is a rising star in the career-advice genre, and this book proves why. Ms. Levit provides an upbeat and thoughtful guide to establishing, enhancing, and redirecting (if necessary) the course of one's career. She provides helpful anecdotes and examples to illustrate the 10 business "myths" and gives the reader sound, practical advice that can be applied across many different fields and stages of one's career. In this economy, even subtle mistakes can be costly to one's professional trajectory, and this is where she really adds value in a market saturated with career-advice books: her book stands apart by providing insights that, if applied, can mean the difference between being stuck in a professional rut and moving forward to more exciting, challenging and lucrative responsibilities at work.

My personal favorite "myth" that she explores in her book is Myth #1: Overnight success is possible. Most "successful" people persevere for a long time and experience several setbacks before achieving an objective definition of success. Ms. Levit advises the reader that you'll be best served if you are able to make progress on achieving your dream incrementally over time. Especially in the post-financial crisis economy, maintaining a long-term strategy and being able to withstand inevitable setbacks is critical to eventually achieving one's dream. Anyone who has ever achieved professional success knows that it takes hard work, dedication, and sacrifice. By the end of the fast-paced chapter, the reader finds that Ms. Levit has completely obliterated the myth of overnight success.

Each of the myths Ms. Levit addresses is worth reviewing for the job-seeker, the working professional, the recent college graduate, and everyone with ambitions. Ms. Levit's book is an extremely well-written book with effective advice. This book is a "must-have" to add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential Career Book, October 9, 2011
By 
J. F. Roche (Philadelphia, PA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blind Spots: 10 Business Myths You Can't Afford to Believe on Your New Path to Success (Paperback)
I don't review many books anymore. I read a lot, but most business books are a tiny idea puffed up into 240 pages. And most are poorly researched, if they're researched at all.

Not so with Alexandra Levit's Blind Spots: 10 Business Myths You Can't Afford to Believe on Your New Path to Success. She pokes holes in 10 career myths with carefully considered and researched material. There are a lot of people out there dispensing career advice based on wisps of an idea -- and most of them are dead wrong. Or stupid. (It drives me nuts to see what some people pass off as career advice.) Levit calls on the experts -- and on her extensive knowledge of career development -- to write a highly readable book. I've enjoyed her writing for years -- and I think this is her best work yet.

If you're wondering, "Why me?" Or have come into the workforce with the idea that being clever is good enough, read this book. If you think you're getting ripped of and not paid what you're worth, read the chapter on compensation. And if you think you can snap your fingers and magically be an entrepreneur, read up. (You don't want to live on adrenaline 365 days a year. Trust me.)

Blind Spots is a book that you'll dogear. And bookmark. You'll write in the margins. And you'll show passages to colleagues. Most importantly, you'll see yourself in the stories. And when Alexandra Levit blows them up, you'll go, "Whew."

When you read Blind Spots you'll have a lot fewer of them in your career. Get reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoying, October 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blind Spots: 10 Business Myths You Can't Afford to Believe on Your New Path to Success (Paperback)
I'm still reading this one, but i really enjoy Alex's authentic voice. Having spent over a decade in corporate America before striking out on my own about three years ago i sort of assumed that this book would be aimed at someone a little less far along in their career. The truth is that there's a lot in here for someone with my background. While i may identify more with the established players that are profiled in the book, i'm still appreciating (and getting a lot out of) it. NB: I've known Alex for years: [...].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for anyone who wants to 'get real' about their career, October 4, 2011
This review is from: Blind Spots: 10 Business Myths You Can't Afford to Believe on Your New Path to Success (Paperback)
What I love about this book is that Alexandra tackles her subject head-on. In a world where entrepreneurs can feel like athletes (i.e. past your prime at 30) and everyone online appears to be oh-so-successful, it's easy to feel like you can "make it" overnight or that you can only achieve the life of your dreams if you tell the corporate world to suck it. But somewhere in the back of our minds we all know this isn't entirely real. Kudos to Alexandra for stepping up and actually saying so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blind Spots: The Top 10 Business Myths You Can't Afford to Believe on Your New Path to Success, November 6, 2011
This review is from: Blind Spots: 10 Business Myths You Can't Afford to Believe on Your New Path to Success (Paperback)
Blind Spots: The 10 Business Myths You Can't Afford to Believe on Your New Path Success is not your typical you-can-do-anything-if-you-work-hard-enough type of advice. Alexandra flips that advice on it's heels and debunks many of the myths so prevalent in the conversation today.

Destined to be an overnight success? Find comfort in the fact that being good at your job trumps everything? Know that if you do what you love the money will follow? Then this book is for you. Chapter by chapter, she explains why each of the 10 myths is just that - only a myth, what the current reality is and what you can to now get back on the path to success She ends each chapter with a "myth buster summary" that sums it all up in a few bullets.

Thinking you have this current reality career stuff down and see no need to take a look? I challenge you to scan the myths and see what jumps out at you. I'd find it hard to believe that there is anyone who would not gain a tip or two or a new perspective on an issue from this book - either for themselves or to share with another.

If you are a mentor, coach, sponsor or in a position or role where you listen to, advise and guide others along their individual paths to success, consider this a valuable resource to add to you toolbox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book! Detailed and Right to the Point!, October 27, 2011
By 
HK Mertens (Denver, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blind Spots: 10 Business Myths You Can't Afford to Believe on Your New Path to Success (Paperback)
Alexandra Levit successfully researched and detailed extremely practical suggestions for how to improve one's career position. When I was unhappy with a previous job I repeatedly heard "hard work pays off" and "you have to pay your dues," but I was frustrated and wasn't sure how....I think I was stuck on Myth #4. Reading Blind Spots would have been so helpful! It's beneficial to have such a well established source as Ms. Levit outline these 10 myths and describe how to better handle oneself. She gives solutions that make sense and are supported by many. If only I had this book eight years ago to give to a friend who struggled in the work-force for years as he believed myths # 1,5,6,and 9! Excellent Book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic author with great advice, October 27, 2011
This review is from: Blind Spots: 10 Business Myths You Can't Afford to Believe on Your New Path to Success (Paperback)
This should be required reading for anyone about to start a new job. Levit does a great job outlining why you shouldn't take some common advice and how you can succeed in the workplace. It's a great companion to her other books and would make a good college graduation gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, October 17, 2011
This review is from: Blind Spots: 10 Business Myths You Can't Afford to Believe on Your New Path to Success (Paperback)
I interviewed Alexandra for my Forbes column because I felt her book was relevant, timely and important to just about everyone whose looking to build a career in 2011 and beyond. She tells it like it is and debunks myths that I hear almost daily now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Helpful, October 12, 2011
By 
Sarah (BOULDER, CO, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blind Spots: 10 Business Myths You Can't Afford to Believe on Your New Path to Success (Paperback)
I echo the other positive reviews and highly recommend this book to anyone struggling to maintain their sanity in the working world. In this book, Alexandra Levit tells you the kind of advice you really need to hear but nobody will tell you to your face. She decodes so many aspects of working life and will challenge you and ease your worries all at the same time. I love her honesty. She fully recognizes the very real challenges of the working world but also empowers you to find success. Her other book, They Don't Teach Corporate in College, was also very helpful. I have yet to find any other self-help authors quite like Alexandra Levit. I really appreciate her balanced point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't put on your blinders for this book - pick one up immediately!, October 5, 2011
This review is from: Blind Spots: 10 Business Myths You Can't Afford to Believe on Your New Path to Success (Paperback)
This book is an essential read for any newcomer and/or veteran in the business world. At a time when we are continually faced with challenges in our economic climate, it is necessary to become as business savvy as possible in order to avoid professional downfall. In this book, Alexandra provides her readers with just the tools they need to not only stay afloat but thrive in these uncertain times. In "Blind Spots," she presents 10 common "myths" in the corporate world that can steer employees in the wrong direction. Through engaging anecdotes and practical "real world" advice, Alexandra debunks these myths one by one, helping guide her readers up the corporate ladder and along the right path to success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Blind Spots: 10 Business Myths You Can't Afford to Believe on Your New Path to Success
$15.00 $11.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.