Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saddle Up and Hold On - It's a Fun Ride!!
I love books that deal with horses. I especially look forward to those which deal with horse racing. Add to that setting a hero with some serious defects in his character, an interesting scenario which puts him on the side of the angels, several villians whom you will love to hate, some people you will genuinely care about and a generous sprinkling of serious nut cases...
Published on December 12, 2004 by John R. Linnell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Blind Switch
I found it a little slow to grab my interest at first, but I am glad I stuck with it as I really enjoyed the book's resolution.
Published 22 months ago by Alibongo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saddle Up and Hold On - It's a Fun Ride!!, December 12, 2004
By 
John R. Linnell (New Gloucester, ME United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love books that deal with horses. I especially look forward to those which deal with horse racing. Add to that setting a hero with some serious defects in his character, an interesting scenario which puts him on the side of the angels, several villians whom you will love to hate, some people you will genuinely care about and a generous sprinkling of serious nut cases and you have a very readable, thoroughly enjoyable first novel by John McEvoy. I have read most of the writings of the late, great Dick Francis and in my judgment, references to his writings in comparison to this story is comparing apples to oranges. Both authors have an interesting way of telling their story, but there is little comparison to how they go about it. This is a story that will hold your interest, tickle your funny bone and satisfy your sense of justice. That's a trifecta worth betting on!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Racing intrigue, October 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Hate to think there are people capable of such dastardly deeds but think author did a good job with the storyline. Characters fully developed and story was well told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Races, August 13, 2004
Blind Switch is worth the read! A lively book with full blown interesting, and some despicable characters, this book kept me going. McEvoy makes the world of horse breeding and racing a seductive one and one I would like to visit again. He blends the good guys with the bad guys as the story weaves from Chicago to Kentucky and en route we watch the main character grow and ultimately flourish.

A fast and refreshing story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blind Switch, September 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Loved this book! The characters were well developed, weird but believable. If you're a horse lover with a sense of humor this is a must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good horse racing industry mystery, July 15, 2014
By 
Lynne D Suess (EAST MOLINE, IL, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Can't wait to read the next one. Good horse racing industry mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very well written and a good story. I will definitely be ordering more Jack Doyle mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blind Switch, April 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Another writer who writes great series (Jack Doyle Series) I know I would enjoy reading all his books. This one was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Blind Switch, March 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found it a little slow to grab my interest at first, but I am glad I stuck with it as I really enjoyed the book's resolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Book, February 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A bit boring, still trying to finish it
Hope i will finish it soon
Too long to get to the heart of the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blind Switch: A Jack Doyle Mystery, January 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good book. Glad they got the horse killers.
Would recommend reading this book, May read it again down the road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Blind Switch (Jack Doyle Series)
Blind Switch (Jack Doyle Series) by John McEvoy (Paperback - March 31, 2006)
$14.95 $13.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.