Customer Reviews


961 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (139)
3 star:
 (197)
2 star:
 (213)
1 star:
 (304)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taken in context
I noticed that a lot of other reviewers described the main characters as boring, underdeveloped, vapid, and shallow. All of these things are true. That being said, they were MEANT to be that way...

I will explain. I lived in the place where the movie is set, Calabasas, from the age of three until I was twenty-one. I went to the same school as the...
Published 6 months ago by Kelly S

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why do people expect a reason when there is none?
This movie is a strong three star movie that does what it means to do; tell a story without making a judgement. Too many movies make obvious judgements and try to find a reason why when there is none. There is no side to take in this. Not really. A bunch of vapid teenagers rob a bunch of vapid celebrities. A bunch of people complained because there was no reasoning...
Published 2 months ago by DH


‹ Previous | 1 297 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taken in context, February 20, 2014
By 
Kelly S (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
I noticed that a lot of other reviewers described the main characters as boring, underdeveloped, vapid, and shallow. All of these things are true. That being said, they were MEANT to be that way...

I will explain. I lived in the place where the movie is set, Calabasas, from the age of three until I was twenty-one. I went to the same school as the characters/culprits, and frequented the same areas... and let me tell you, most of the teens/young adults in this area are exactly that: boring, vain, underdeveloped, vapid, and shallow. Most of these teens have spent the duration of their lives in the comfort of what we liked to call it, "The Bubble," with an obscene amount of privilege and zero adversity. So, the portrayal of the characters is actually an interesting commentary of the effects of affluence on teens.

If you have a particular aversion or distaste for this breed of human, then this movie is likely not your type. However, if you find the consequences of money upon adolescent development (or lack thereof) appealing, then you will find this movie to be an amusing commentary on that. I think many people considered this a drama, or action flick... when it is simply a comedy.

Had the characters been more developed the movie would have lacked veracity and rung hollow. I mean, what do you really expect from a group of over-privileged, vapid dropouts anyways?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 94 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superficial, voyeuristic... the things this film should be., September 21, 2013
By 
++++++ (Raleigh, NC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A quick scan of rotten tomatoes before this rental showed many criticisms hinged on a lack of character development and unclear meaning. This is why the film is good. Among all characters there were no facile attempts to create a plot or dialogue that goes beyond theft and the desire for fashion. No dumb love story. No developed background into the families that these kids are brought up in (aside from the mutual detachment of the kids and parents). This lack of development and depth seems to be an appropriate commentary on the thought processes that accompany this crime, there isn't much regard for forethought or consequence. Perhaps this is what I liked the most, is as a viewer, we are asked to simply watch and see what happens, which isn't a long shot from what the characters are doing themselves. It's mindless, but it's fun (and it looks good in the process). Aren't films allowed to be just that? If one wishes, there is plenty of substrate here for a commentary on the thinking that modern culture (I'm thinking mostly of social media) produces.

As a reference, the last movie I enjoyed watching was amour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exposing the hollowness of the bling culture, June 22, 2013
"The Bling Ring" (2013 release; 90 min.) brings the now-familiar story of how a group of teenagers living in suburban Los Angeles, with too much time on their hands and an insatiable appetite for "bling", decide to start robbing houses of celebrities while they are out of town. I am not spoiling the plot when I tell you that the "group of five" (4 girls and 1 guy), along with a couple of others, eventually get found out and caught. The first 50-55 min. of the movie deal with the break-ins and the remainder of the movie looks at what happens after their arrests.

Several comments: this is the 5th feature movie directed by Sofia Coppola, and as has been the case with her previous films, this movie is highly stylish in the way it looks at and brings the lives of these teenagers. In fact, the movie is eye-candy pretty much from start to finish. Coppola wrote the script based on the 2010 Vanity Fair article that exposed it all in details not seen before. As to the Bling Ring members themselves: it is perhaps somewhat understandable as to why Marc would get involved with this, as he is new to the school and desparately trying to fit in and make friends. But what about the four girls? There seems no rhyme or reason, other than the "need for greed", while apparently lacking any and all moral compass. Equally telling is the almost entire absence of parenting. Yes, there are parents, but they are too busy or too clueless. At some point we see Marc's dad asking Marc and Nicki what they are doing (while they are smoking weed in Marc's bedroom), and when Nicki simply says "sorry we made too much noise", Marc's dad simply walks away. An equally telling moment is when Nicki gets interviewed by a reporter towards the end, and she gets visibily irritated when her mom (played beautiflully in a small role by Leslie Mann) says a few words (interjects herself, in Nicki's mind), and she hisses "mom, this interview is about ME!" Yes indeed, the "me! me! me! culture is everywhere. The role of Nicki is played by Emma Watson, and she seems only to get better and better in her post-Harry Potter days (last year in the excellent "The Perks of Being a Wallflower" and recently also in a minor role in "This Is the End"). Can't wait to see what she'll do next.

Coppola doesn't take a strong "social stand" as such in the movie. Instead, she lets the camera do all the talking, easily exposing the hollowness of the bling culture. "The Bling Ring" opened with a lot of positive vibes at this year's Cannes Film Festival, and the screening where I saw this at here in Cincinnati this afternoon was reasonably well attended for a matinee. It might be the case of clever counter-programming, as it appears every week there is another superhero movie or some other mega-production movie opens (how many Iron Man 3, Man of Steel, After Earth, World War Z and other such movies can a person see in one summer?). If you are in the mood for something else, "The Bling Ring" may be just the thing for you. Slick and entertaining, yet exposing the moral vacuum that exists in certain environments, this movie flew by in no time. "The Bling Ring" is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why do people expect a reason when there is none?, June 17, 2014
This movie is a strong three star movie that does what it means to do; tell a story without making a judgement. Too many movies make obvious judgements and try to find a reason why when there is none. There is no side to take in this. Not really. A bunch of vapid teenagers rob a bunch of vapid celebrities. A bunch of people complained because there was no reasoning behind it; there was no "story" but really what was the reasoning behind the real life event? There was no reason why in real life so why should a movie be forced to fake one just so that the audience can feel better? This was not a perfect movie but it definitely does not deserve the one star reviews it is getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars yikes!, April 29, 2014
By 
N. Suarez "thenatpack" (South Pasadena, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have really enjoyed Sofia Coppola's movies in the past but this movie was just plain bad. I think you need to be a teenager to find this even remotely entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truth is definitely stranger than fiction, September 11, 2013
By 
Ferdy (Georgia, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What makes this movie so fascinating is that it's true. Five spoiled LA kids actually committed burglaries on the homes of rich and famous celebrities stealing designer clothing, jewelry, cash and drugs. These weren't kids who were from poor families or who were stealing to fund a drug habit. They were all from upper middle class households and the burglaries were more of a way to connect with the celebrities who were their idols. With the money and items they stole, they were given access to a whole lifestyle, one that they envied and practically worshipped through the constant feed of social media and celebrity websites. The group became celebrities themselves in their own social circles because they bragged about their accomplishments and showed off pictures of each other inside the star's private homes. Eventually, someone turns the kids in and they are all arrested. None, however, show real remorse for their actions. A few of the girls ended up getting a reality television show for a while solely as a result of their popularity and being part of the burglar bunch. This movie completely brings home the ridiculous nature of our country's obsession with celebrities and how that obsession affects young people. The film has its funny moments as well as moments that are really sad. The acting is all spot on. Emma Watson is dead on as one of the ring leaders and Leslie Mann as the cluelessly pathetic mother of three of the girls involved is hilarious but still sympathetic. Even the group members who ended up spending some minimal time in jail seem to have brushed it all off and continued their lives without ever realizing what has actually happened. The feeling of entitlement that they all have is still driving them and they fully capitalize on their notoriety without ever stopping to realize that they've been convicted of a crime, a bad thing. Are we becoming a world obsessed with fame and celebrity? The Bling Ring makes a strong case that we are, and with websites like TMZ and radar online providing that constant drip of photos and info into our veins, it's actually pretty easy to agree. Watch the Bling Ring. If nothing else, it will make you laugh but it might also make you think .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Emma Watson Made This Movie, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was a pretty decent movie. Coppola spent plenty of time on letting us know that these kids were all about status and acceptance. They didn't care what happened to anyone, just that they associated with celebrities and didn't get caught.
The best acting in the entire movie was Emma Watson who made vapid and self-centered hilarious. It was great watching her wholly transform into the character of Nicky and really get off on all the attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the hype, June 26, 2014
I know that it's supposed to be almost satirical, but this movie is not funny. The plot is an interesting idea, and I know it's based on try stories. But, Emma Watson has a terrible accent, and the rest of the characters are so vapid and flat that it's hard to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I wish they had a 2.5..., June 21, 2014
I like true (relatively) crime movies. This one was competently made and acted but was a little disjointed at times because it tried to tell more than the time could allow. I turn off many movies at 20 or 30 minutes, so I am fairly tough on them. This one was a pleasant movie to watch. I would do it again for a similar movie, but I probably won't watch this one twice. If you are bored, this is a good way to waste some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cool Premise. Poor Acting, June 20, 2014
This movie could have been really good. However, i felt the acting was just a tad lack luster. I am a huge Emma Watson fan (HP ALL DAY) but her 'valley girl' accent just isn't as powerful as that wonderful British tone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 297 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Bling Ring (Blu-ray + UltraViolet Digital Copy)
The Bling Ring (Blu-ray + UltraViolet Digital Copy) by Sofia Coppola (Blu-ray - 2013)
$24.99 $18.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.