Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your normal princess in distress
Miriam lives in Saudi Arabia and is a princess. Seth lives in California and has an IQ that makes him a threat to the government. They are worlds away, almost destined never to meet. But arranged marriages, honor killings, secret flights across the world somehow manage to make the pair end up together. Fast past action, shockingly realistic events make this story a thrill...
Published on December 12, 2007 by Deborah

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Liked Blink Better
Read Blink a little while back and had read a review that said Blink of an Eye was somewhat expanded. Wanted to see what else Dekker had to say since I love his writing. But I found not that he had added to his message, but had rather removed parts that I had found most moving in the original. The scene in the desert where he found out Who he was really praying to was...
Published on March 30, 2010 by Becky Boyd


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your normal princess in distress, December 12, 2007
This review is from: Blink of an Eye (Hardcover)
Miriam lives in Saudi Arabia and is a princess. Seth lives in California and has an IQ that makes him a threat to the government. They are worlds away, almost destined never to meet. But arranged marriages, honor killings, secret flights across the world somehow manage to make the pair end up together. Fast past action, shockingly realistic events make this story a thrill ride to read with a forbidden love story thrown in between.

*Note: This book is a updated re-release of Blink which was originally published a few years ago*

This was my first Ted Dekker book that I have read. Well, I have read House, his collaboration with Frank Peretti, but this is the first full Dekker book that I chose to pickup. This book was actually different that what I thought was going to happen. I know Dekker's other works are more suspenseful or fantasy-ish. I had watched the movie Thr3e and had enjoyed it very much. Reading this book made me feel like I was watching the nightly news. This plot in this story is so relevant to this day and age. I liked Miriam's character very much. Without a doubt, she's one of the strongest female characters I've read in a while. This is mostly because she lives in an environment where she is not supposed to be strong. I was actually glad that Seth was sort of a dorky character. I think previous stories like this have always had an athletic, brawny, strong guy win the princess's heart. Actually there was even a part of me that was scared that if someone from the Middle East were to read this book, they might get insulted. The book was very well researched with regards to culture. This is also an action packed book, where the results can be quite intense and gory. If you have a squeamish stomach, I do not recommend reading this book. There are several scenes where it's almost too difficult to read because you know that scenes like this are taking place in the world. It brings awareness to the plight that many women live on the other side of the world. It really makes you feel grateful for the freedoms we have in our country. While there is a romance story, there is more than enough action to make up for male readers who hate romance. I would recommend this book to those who like a true, could have really happen story. Will definitely be looking forward to the movie of this book when it comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blink Rewrite, October 9, 2007
This review is from: Blink of an Eye (Hardcover)
If you look carefully, you'll find that Blink of an Eye is Blink, but with a few changes. This book is basically a rewrite to reflect the movie that is being made of it. Hard-Core Dekker fans will want this book just because its another version of a Dekker book. If you just like Ted Dekker and already own Blink, then I'd just leave this one on the shelf.

***Response to "Dances With God"*** NOTE: Since the addition of the following, "Dances" has taken his review off Amazon.
Are you sure we read the same book? Blink of an Eye expands its Christian message. It plumbs the depths of determinism vs. free will, illustrates the power of prayer, and shows that true love, sacrificial love, conquers all. I'd like "Dances" to tell me exactly what he believed the Christian message of Blink was because Blink of an Eye sets forth the same message as Blink, only a little better. Can't wait for the movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make not mistake this IS BLINK!, October 3, 2007
By 
Glee (new jersey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blink of an Eye (Hardcover)
I purchased this book thinking it was a new book maybe in a series, but this is just Blink with a new title. I loved blink, but I did not want to purchase it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is not a new book, but still a great one, July 24, 2008
By 
Bill Garrison (Oklahoma City, OK USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Blink of an Eye (Paperback)
Blink is a Christian suspense novel by popular Christian author Ted Dekker. It's the third book I've read by this author, and by far the best, both for the sheer excitement of the novel for the spiritual issues it addresses. The novel opens with Miriam, a young Muslim girl living in Saudi Arabia. She is at her friend's wedding and we quickly learn about marriage in Saudi Arabia. The women have no choice in husbands, and the women are treated as property. Miriam's young friend is terrified.

The plot switches to America and Seth Border, a student at Berkely. Seth is a "super genius." He has an IQ of 196 and is being coveted by all the top corporations and US intelligence agencies. Seth also experiences twice in the span of a few hours the ability to see the future. He sees a bird hitting a wall and a girl tripping a few seconds before they actually happen.

Back in Saudi Arabia, Miriam learns she has been pledged to marry Omar, a vile older man. This marriage will unite the bloodlines of a shiek and the royal family, and will be followed by a coup on the current Saudi King. To get away from the marriage, Miriam flees to America, where she studied abroad for a few months. Representatives from Saudi Arabia representing several parties chase after her. Miriam meets up with a professor she knew and the professor betrays her. Before the Saudis can take Miriam, Seth comes to her rescue. They'd both been at an awards dinner, and Seth saw a future in which a young girl was threatened at gunpoint.

Now, Seth and Mirian are on the run. I'll stop with the synopsis now. Blink is a great book filled with Seth and Miriam fleeing the authorities both in the US and Saudi Arabia. Along the way, they have great conversations about Islam and Christianity.

I'm rating this book so high for two reasons. First, the plot. For me, the book was a great educational tool on what life is like in Saudi Arabia and why the US can do little about it. Women are definitely oppressed in that country, yet it is one of the most progressive in the region. If the subject sounds boring to you, forget it. I believe you'll be intrigued from the first chapter.

The second reason is because of the spiritual aspects of the novel. Seth looks at the world around him and in his logical mind concludes that only a God could create such a world. Through mathematics, he has proven that there is only one future, and no matter what people do, God will always know what their ultimate choices will be. When Seth begins to see the future, he sees multiple futures, each depending on the choices people make now. This means the future isn't set and people do have free will. Dekker thus addressed free will in this matter and even attempts to address how we can have free will and God can know the ultimate future at the same time. Seth's ability to see the future comes into play when Seth prays and then sees the future change. A main theme of the book is prayer, and how prayer can definitely change the future. At one point, Dekker writes prayer is the most powerful weapon a Christian has.

Besides being exciting and thrilling, this book has given me a lot to think about in my spiritual life regarding free will and the power of prayer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Liked Blink Better, March 30, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blink of an Eye (Paperback)
Read Blink a little while back and had read a review that said Blink of an Eye was somewhat expanded. Wanted to see what else Dekker had to say since I love his writing. But I found not that he had added to his message, but had rather removed parts that I had found most moving in the original. The scene in the desert where he found out Who he was really praying to was almost completely gone. Supposedly, the changes were made to elevate love over putting forth one religion over another. But I found not that divine love was elevated. I saw only earthly love being elevated and the message glorifying the God of the Bible being obscured. Very disappointed since Blink had been one of my Dekker favorites up to this point. Haven't seen the movie, but if this version (which was supposed to be closer to the movie) is the indicator, I won't go out of my way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This newly-revised text lives up to his usual standard of thrilling-seeking thoughtful fare, July 15, 2008
By 
FaithfulReader.com (New York, New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blink of an Eye (Paperback)
Several years ago, bestselling author Ted Dekker published his fictional adventure-love story BLINK, which is now being re-released under a revised title, BLINK OF AN EYE: Love Changes Everything. With new added content, Dekker tells readers in a question/answer section at the close of the text how and why this expanded version is different from the original. The reason? In a word, movie.

BLINK OF AN EYE is being made into a major motion picture (which is set to release in 2008), and Dekker says that the theme of love has stayed primary in both the book and the on-screen version. He believes that with the current climate of distrust between Americans in general, even amongst American Christians, and those living in the Middle East, this overlying theme of love extending across a variety of spectrums is more important now than ever before. Avid fans of Dekker's will appreciate his candor and personal take on the rigorous process of transforming the written word into a likewise equally compelling big-screen hit.

The new book opens with Miriam, a Saudi princess, who helps prepare her best friend Sita for her arranged marriage. What should have been a glorious day of celebration abruptly turns deadly, and Miriam begins questioning the religious system she has been reared to conform to and believe in, and the culture to which she was previously loyal. Without missing a beat, Dekker quickly puts Miriam through the paces of making life and death decisions as she tries to escape a fate similar to her friend Sita's. Thankfully, for this fictional princess, she has both money and a plan in place.

Enter beyond-genius college student Seth Border, a once-abused child whose mental abilities and penchant for bucking authority get him into hot water with the powers that be. Seth's path quickly intersects with Miriam's at the U.S. college where she flees for help, and Seth becomes Miriam's protector and fellow renegade from both U.S. and Saudi officials. What gives the couple an edge is Seth's increasing ability to foretell potential future events. He sees multiple possible scenarios in advance, and as they traverse the country trying to avoid assassins, the king's hired guns and the American government, Seth and Miriam forge a bond of trust and love. But what kind of love? Brotherly love or romantic attraction?

Before the last page is turned, readers might well wonder how anyone, even a person with Seth's intellect, will figure out a way to garner freedom for Miriam when two governments are bent on realizing their own self-serving ends.

Dekker writes a fast-paced story that will have readers pausing only in those brief spaces where Miriam and Seth have a few moments to reconsider their own strongly-held convictions about God, faith, men and women's roles, as well as their black and white cultural conflicts. Like all of Dekker's books, humor is a welcome and expected ingredient that helps balance out the weightier matters the author poses. This newly-revised text lives up to his usual standard of thrilling-seeking thoughtful fare.

--- Reviewed by Michele Howe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Read Full of Heart and Suspense, December 31, 2007
This review is from: Blink of an Eye (Hardcover)
Seth Borders is possibly the most brilliant mind in the world. As a student at Berkley, he has made quite a name for himself as an expert in quantum physics, but truth be known he would rather be surfing. Academia has begun to suck the life out of Seth, and he is ready for a change.

Miriam is a Saudi princess who has just found out she is has been given in marriage to a monster. The forced marriage will result in a political coup, that will forever change the political face of the Middle East. Desperate for freedom, Miriam flees to America where her path crosses with Seth's.

As soon as Seth meets Miriam, he discovers that he can suddenly see the immediate future in short flashes. As his gift develops Seth finds that he can see all possible futures in any given moment. Soon Miriam's life is in danger as her people begin to hunt her down. Seth is the only one who can keep her safe as they flee across Southern California to avoid capture.

Originally titled, Blink, Ted Dekker's latest offering is a fantastic read full of heart and suspense. Here Dekker takes us into the turbulent political climate of the Middle East, and somehow manages to create a heartwarming story about faith, sacrifice, and love. This one ranks right up there with some of Dekker's best works. As usual we are treated to a complex and detailed plot interspersed with a myriad of twists and turns that allows the reader to fly through the pages with ease. The main characters are the novel's strength, and Dekker's insight into the Middle Eastern world is both intriguing and enlightening. Dekker always challenges readers in his writings, and Blink of an Eye is no exception. I for one will never look at the Muslim religion the same way.

Blink of an Eye is being made into a film and I can't wait to see how this story translates to the big screen. Original Dekker fans will love this retelling, while fans who are only familiar with The Books of History Chronicles owe it to themselves to experience another enjoyable side to his writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite Enjoyable, December 7, 2007
This review is from: Blink of an Eye (Hardcover)
This was my first time reading anything from this author. In fact, I have never heard of him before. The book was very enjoyable - a Saudi Arabian princess escapes form her country and forms an alliance with a clairvoyant American scholar. That is the basic plot of the story, and we follow the princess (Miriam) and the student (Seth) as they elude the police, government officials, and foreigners with an interest in having Miriam back in Saudi Arabia. I enjoyed the first half of the book much more than the second; although I was anxious to see how it all turned out, I did feel that the action went on a bit too long. The book could have easily been shortened without compromising any of the story. The characters were very easy to like and I particularly enjoyed Seth and his many different ideas - he was a fun character, although his 'gift' was rather strange and unbelievable. Overall, it was enjoyable - it follows a fairly straightforward path and has a nice resolution/end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book for 20's, April 5, 2008
This review is from: Blink of an Eye (Hardcover)
I have read the circle trilogy by Dekker, and im also reading the lost books at the moment as well, at first, my thoughts about this book were, that its not as good as the trilogy, but I'll read further anyway. Soon after that the book sucked me in like all the other dekker books ive read. its amazing. As with other dekker books it has a bit of God mixed in, and Ted does that so well. I thought that it was going to bash Islam and make them all look like murderers, but instead it showed both, the lovers and the fighters. It is not as much of a love story to me, but a story about love. it has moments of pure excitement, laughter, anger, and love. While reading it, i became attached to the characters, and Dekker took my mind on a roller coaster ride of thrills.

My advice, do not overlook this book, it is well worth buying. I'm so glad i didn't ignore it, and i think you will be too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do you own Ted Dekker's BLINK?, February 5, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blink of an Eye (Hardcover)
Than DON'T buy this novel. Same one, but a different name to apparently coincide with the name of the motion picture that is being made of it. I bought it thinking it was a completely different novel. I don't recall seeing anything in Amazon's write-up that said it was BLINK by a different name. Rather misleading to say the least. I had to return it since I don't need two copies of the same book. As for the novel itself, it is very good. 4.5 stars. Suspenseful, intriguing, cleverly plotted. If you're a Dekker fan, you won't be disappointed. If you're not a Dekker fan, this one might just change that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Blink of an Eye
Blink of an Eye by Ted Dekker (Paperback - July 1, 2008)
$15.99 $14.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.