Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is the best blitz game you'll ever play
don't believe these other people they don't know what their talking about i own the game and it does not take 12 mins. to load it takes a min. or two.the game has great sound and the players look so real. so don't bleieve all this B.S. these other guys say hope this helps you and points you in the right direction.
Published on November 12, 2005 by aric

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Purist's Opinion
I am an old school football purist who appreciates realistic simulations like NCAA & Madden. I usually don't pay any attention to arcade style games like NFL Street, etc. mainly due to the mindless silliness and unrealistic gameplay that turn football fans like me off. But, Blitz has always been an amusing detour if you need a timeout from the real gridiron so here's a...
Published on September 11, 2006 by Lord Kayoss


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Purist's Opinion, September 11, 2006
By 
Lord Kayoss (Louisville, KY United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Blitz The League - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
I am an old school football purist who appreciates realistic simulations like NCAA & Madden. I usually don't pay any attention to arcade style games like NFL Street, etc. mainly due to the mindless silliness and unrealistic gameplay that turn football fans like me off. But, Blitz has always been an amusing detour if you need a timeout from the real gridiron so here's a nice review for those of you who fancy the idea at giving this one a look.

This latest PS2 version definitely has it's entertaining moments, from the storyline cut scenes in "Campaign" mode to the brash obscenities the players shout at each other between plays on the field. Fans of the older games need to take note that this isn't NFL Blitz. There are no National Football League teams/players/commentators in this one hence the subtitle "The League". Blitz has evolved into a strand-alone football game with it's own fantasy teams and players. The game really captures your interest in "Campaign" mode as you basically begin with watching your team get decimated at the previous season's end and shoved into division 3 as the franchise owner demands redemption. You customize your team by picking a city, stadium, coaches, team name, uniforms, equipment, etc. Once you're prepared you hit the field and begin your quest to get back into the limelight and out of the laughing stock of the league.

During actual gameplay, fans of the older Blitz games should feel right at home. The main play control engine follows the same basics as before, but with added modes like "Clash" and "Unleash". Engaging your "Clash" energy (by holding down L2) while on defense gives you an added striking capability where you can perform a "dirty hit" to force fumbles and injuries where you actually get to see the bones(s) break. And if one of your players goes down you'll usually have two options of either treating the wound normally which will sideline your player the longest, whether it be for several quarters or full games. Your other choice is to "juice" which will give your trainer permission to give your player an illegal injection to get you back in the game almost immediately. But be careful! Get caught juicing and you'll face fines and sanctions. Using "Clash" on offense gives your QB added passing strength/accuracy as well as increasing the chance of your receiver catching a clutch throw. "Clash" can also help your running back avoid tackles by stiff-arming and spinning.

Then, there's "Unleash" which occurs when you have 6 "clash" icons built up. "Unleash" is a major adrenaline boost that gives the user the maximum amount of momentum and maximizes the likelihood of successfully completing a play.

Also, using "Clash" & "Unleash" will contribute to "dirty hits", which will eventually lead to a brawl where an all-out melee occurs and the two teams knock the crap out of each other for about 10 seconds to see who can build up "late hits."

I have to touch on the language. Wow, this game is a lot like "Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas" with it's realistic jargon whether it be spouted from the players, the coach, owner, or your offensive coordinator who chimes in from the box with his sarcastic comments when he's happy or ticked. You'll even hear the "F" word here and there. Very cool - lol. And obviously parents, you don't want your kids playing this. Pay attention to the "M" rating on the box. "M" meaning "for mature audiences." It's an adult game, make no mistake.

There are other funny elements of the game like getting the opportunity to buy escort girls to send to the hotel room of the visiting team to "wear them out" before the game the next day. Players get arrested on drug charges and whatnot. Right now there is a sub-plot going on between one of my players and one of our cheerleaders - lol. Many aspects of the game are very intriguing and hold your interest to make you want to see what happens next.

Okay, here's the bad part - at least for me. Again, I'm a purist. I appreciate the real aspects of the game of football. Most of the unrealistic/comical parts of Blitz are fun, which is an element that the franchise has thrived on. But there's one thing about Blitz that has always irked the hell out of me and unfortunately this title is no different. The cpu keeps track of your progress and responds accordingly. Like if you intercept a ball and have a chance to go up big, watch your back because almost every single time they'll either force a fumble or pick off one of your passes or worse, injure one of your key players. If you go up a couple scores your turnover rate drastically increases. Any time the cpu needs a break in the game, it gets it. I hate that. In a real time simulation - if you do what you're supposed to do and perform well out there you'll execute and dispatch the opponent. You run your offense well and wear down the opponent's defense and vice versa. And if you screw up and the cpu goes up by a couple scores, you still have a chance to turn things around like in real life if you make the necessary adjustments and play smarter. In Blitz: you make one mistake and you could fall behind permanently. Real football doesn't work that way, unless it's just one of those days when you're not prepared or your opponent just plays a flawless game and out-hustles you. It's very unrealistic when you're late in the 2nd quarter and are about to score before the clock runs down and get the ball right back in the 2nd half when suddenly the cpu forces a fumble or picks off a wide-open pass, almost every single time. The same thing applies when you're ahead a couple scores. The cpu opponent magically transforms into a better team and starts a dramatic comeback, almost every single time. Challenging yes, but very unrealistic which takes away from the fun of the game and playing the game of football effectively. It's almost as if the cpu is programmed to apply a cheat code and get you back for beating it's @$$, like a sore loser. NBA Jam, another Midway game for PS2 is the same way. That's my only gripe. Other than that it plays really well and is fun besides getting frustrated over silly cpu momentum. If you're cool with that you probably won't have any complaints. And as always, if you get tired of the cpu's "cheating" tactics you can always pop your NCAA or Madden back in and go back to work in the real sense.

All-in-all, "Blitz: The League" is a pretty fun game. It has it's flaws as with any title, but even for us true purists it's a nice, amusing timeout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is the best blitz game you'll ever play, November 12, 2005
By 
aric (california) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Blitz The League - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
don't believe these other people they don't know what their talking about i own the game and it does not take 12 mins. to load it takes a min. or two.the game has great sound and the players look so real. so don't bleieve all this B.S. these other guys say hope this helps you and points you in the right direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take that NFL!, October 17, 2005
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Blitz The League - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
I played this at a video game convention and was VERY impressed. A great break from the overcroweded Madden and very easy to play. Good job, midway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what i thought it would be......, October 20, 2005
A Kid's Review
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Blitz The League - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
This game is fun but i thought it would be alot better than this.First off the graphics are okay but not he best.Its fun to break tackles and break bones in this game with big hits!But the loading period is way to long.Its not like Madden or your typical football game in a way its like street.Please RENT THIS GAME before you buy it and waste money on it.Luckily i rented it and saved 40 or 50 dollars.But if you loved the old Blitz games like i did you should love this one as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars football fan of watching and playing, October 21, 2005
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Blitz The League - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
i have been playing football on xbox for awhile now. i used to like madden but for some reason it seemed like the players were not running on the field they were sliding. so since for some reason nfl 2k6 has yet to come out , i've needed a new football game for the new season. the commercial for nfl blitz made my mind up very quickly. the best thing i like is the trash talk of the defense, and the breaking peoples bones is very cool. it is also cool to give your players illegal drugs to enhance their playing ability. the only thing i wish is that they could throw a few actual nfl players in to the game. i've been hooked on it ever since i got it. it also has cheerleaders with their butts hanging out. i think that whoever wants a football game that has hard hits in it, than blitz is defitently what your looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Football Game, March 5, 2006
By 
Matt V. Morgan (Valrico, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Blitz The League - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
This is an unorthodox football game.This is not an NFL game but a football game w/ made-up teams in a made-up league.There are 3 divisions and you start at the bottom.Beat the Division 3 level,move up to 2,Beat 2 to go to 1,beat 1 to beat the game.As you move up,you also unlock rewards.If you're tired of Madden's franchise mode,give this game a try.It won't get outdated just because of NFL free agency.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blitz is da best, November 17, 2005
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Blitz The League - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
first off if you actually time the loading your a nerd.blitz is just awesome I mean think about it what other game allows u to beat your opponent sensless with his own helmet.if u dont like this game your crazy.the multiplayer is decent.if u play your friends i suggest you use the NY Nightmare.(for people who want no challenge from opponents.i mean i use either them or the bearcats.the bearcats only have 1 good player9 Bruno Bataglia) use your unleashed w/him. and campaign mode has possibly the richest story mode ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much more than Madden, November 29, 2005
By 
Karl A. Krist (Woodland, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Blitz The League - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
This game is awesome. I've played Madden, I've played NCAA, and I've played 2k5 (best of the three.) None of them is as much fun as Blitz.

The reason I like it so much is the story...and all of the other options. There are some real RPG aspects to this game.

You buy equipment for your team, and each piece of equipment improves your team in different ways. You get to train your players to improve their stats. You get to bet on the games.

The game play is pretty good too. Some people were complaining about the AI taking off on long runs, making incredible catches, etc. etc. Well, the point to the game is that you want to STOP them.

But really, the best part of the game is the story...yes, a football game with a story. So far it's as good as Stranger's Wrath...very immersive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blitz, May 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blitz The League - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
The edgiest football game since NFL Blitz (actually it's more edger than that). It's amazing how this game has more originality, story and gameplay than all Madden games after 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my fiance., May 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blitz The League - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
My fiance kept saying he wished they made a Blitz for PS2 so when I found this, I had to surprise him with it. He loves it and I am happy I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Blitz The League - PlayStation 2
Blitz The League - PlayStation 2 by Midway Entertainment (PlayStation2)
$13.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.