Customer Reviews


224 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (140)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blizzard and Diary die at the hands of greed
First off, I have listened to Blizzard and Diary hundreds of times since I first bought Blizzard of Ozz in 1981. I know these albums inside out. They are the two that I would save from my collection if I could only pick two. What has happened here is that they have been defaced. I really doubt that Ozzy himself had much to do with this. I don't think he has much to do...
Published on April 12, 2002 by Concerned Fan

versus
540 of 552 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware! This is NOT the original album!
I recently heard that two of my all-time favorite albums, Ozzy Osbourne's "Blizzard of Ozz" and "Diary of a Madman," had undergone a 24-bit remastering process, and were to be re-released on CD. I couldn't wait to check them out, and I purchased them the moment they became available.
The first clue that something was wrong came while I was leafing through the booklet...
Published on April 9, 2002 by D. O'Malley


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

540 of 552 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware! This is NOT the original album!, April 9, 2002
This review is from: Blizzard of Ozz (Audio CD)
I recently heard that two of my all-time favorite albums, Ozzy Osbourne's "Blizzard of Ozz" and "Diary of a Madman," had undergone a 24-bit remastering process, and were to be re-released on CD. I couldn't wait to check them out, and I purchased them the moment they became available.
The first clue that something was wrong came while I was leafing through the booklet for "Blizzard." The old back cover photo of Ozzy on stage with guitarist Randy Rhoads, bassist (and lyricist) Bob Daisley, and drummer Lee Kerslake had been doctored so that only Ozzy was now visible. Strange, I thought.
Then I sat down to listen. My first reaction to "Blizzard" was that the drumming sounded sloppier than I remembered. Skipping from track to track, I noticed some things were sounding very different, and that the album seemed to have not only been remastered, but had been completely remixed from the original multi-track tapes.
Giving the liner notes a closer look, I discoved that all of the bass and drum tracks for both albums have been re-recorded by current Ozzy sidemen Robert Trujillo and Mike Bordin, respectively.
I'm not kidding.
At this point I began to get pretty upset. The bass and drum tracks have been re-recorded in such a way as to mimic the original sound of the albums, but it doesn't work: Trujillo's bass is actually noticeably out-of-tune on a couple of numbers, and Bordin's drumming never matches the feel of the original tracks. Of course, "Blizzard of Ozz" was a somewhat lo-fi album to begin with. What about "Diary of a Madman," the album I've long characterized as the "Sgt. Pepper" of Heavy Metal?
In my opinion, "Diary" has been ruined. From the opening drum triplets of "Over the Mountain" everything is wrong, wrong, wrong. Every ounce of magic the album had has been sucked out of it. Randy's guitar tones are completely messed up. Some of his solos and fills are barely audible, and his various effects and textures have been replaced with a dry, shrill tone in many spots. The new mix retains none of the charm, atmosphere, or detail of the original. Even "Flying High Again" sounds awful. Why on earth would Ozzy tamper with one of the greatest sounding albums in hard rock history?
Well, according to Sharon Osbourne, Daisley and Kerslake have been removed from the albums because they have been "harassing" the Osbourne family. The truth is that Bob Daisley and Lee Kerslake are suing Ozzy for non-payment of royalties and for crediting others (Rudy Sarzo and Tommy Aldridge) for their work on "Diary of a Madman." By removing them from the recordings, Ozzy can ensure that Daisley and Kerslake will receive no future mechanical royalties from his back catalog. This is simply an act of monumental greed and arrogance, and I implore you not to support Ozzy in this shameful endeavor.
These CD's are being promoted as "original recording remastered," with no outward indication to the buyer that they have been re-recorded with sidemen Randy Rhoads never even met. It is an unforgivable affront to Randy's memory, and it is deliberately misleading to Ozzy's longtime fans. Unfortunately, these will soon be the only versions of these albums you can buy, so get the 1995 22-bit remasters while you still can: They sound fantastic and are the only authentic versions of these hard rock masterpieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


223 of 232 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE! this release has re-recorded drums and bass tracks, April 2, 2002
By 
David V. Shook "Wizard66" (High Point, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blizzard of Ozz (Audio CD)
This is NOT a re-master repeat NOT a re-master!!! Parts of this edition have been RE-RECORDED!! I will start by showing you the re-issue information as printed in the booklet of this CD which I boughtat Best Buy in Winston-Salem, NC.
Reissue Information
Performed By:
Ozzy Osbourne: Lead Vocals/Harmony Vocals
Randy Rhoads: All Guitars
Robert Trujillo: Bass Guitar
Mike Bordin: Drums/Percussion/Timpani Drums/Gongs.
Mastered st Sterling Sound By Chris Athens
Danny Saber: Tubular Bells
Mark Lennon: Background Vocals
John Shanks: Background Vocals on "Steal Away (The Night)"
Bass, Drums, Percussion, Timpani Drums, Gongs and background vocals Re-recorded by Thom Panunzio and Herman Villacota Remixed by Thom Panunzio and Herman Villacota. Remastered by Stephen Marcussen at Marcussen Mastering
Before the reissue information the booklet says this
Original Album Produced and Performed by
Ozzy Osbourne: Lead Vocals/Harmony Vocals
Randy Rhoads: All Guitars
Bob Daisley: Bass Guitar/Harmony Vocals/Gongs
Lee Kerslake: Drums/Percussion/Tubular Bells/Timpani Drums.
As you can see alot of this cd IS NOT FROM THE ORIGINAL MASTER TAPES as previously advertiesed. Beware that the outside of the new CD does not tell you that parts were re-recorded. In part 2 of my review I will post and comment on the track listing of Blizzard of Ozz 2002 "New" Master Edition.
Part 2
I Don't Know- From what I can tell the bass is louder than the 95 remaster and the tone matches pretty well. Robert and Mike do a good job mimicing the original recording.
Crazy Train-This is were everything starts to go wrong!!! The bass is toned way differently from the original and you notice it right away! The sound effect you hear at the begining sounds totaly different from the original in pitch. The drums are toned differently as well.
Goodbye To Romance-Mike adds and extra symbal to the basic beat of the song.
Dee-From what I can tell this instrumental has been left alone other than re-mastering.
Suicide Solution-Not as bad as some of the other tracks as usual the bass is mixed higher than it should be. The vocal effect (commonly misintrupted as GET THE GUN) is turned down and only brought up at the last bit before your hear the effect that sounds like someone is saying Satan (or commonly misintrupted as SHOOT).
Mr. Crowley- The whole song is at a lower tone including Randy Rhoads guitar work. It also sounds like they used a different take of Ozzy vocals because he sings lower on words like "Charming". The song sounds almost sounds like a warn out cassette all the way through.

No Bone Movies-This wasn't done too bad. The drumming and bass at the end is only slighty different from the original.
Revelation (Mother Earth)-The bass is mixed too high again. It just too much of a booming sound where the orginal the bass had a more cleaner sound and better seperation between the notes. The drumming seems to match pretty good to the 95 remaster.
Steal Away (The Night)- Bass tone is slighty different from the 95 remaster.
The 2002 edition comes with the bonus track "You Looking At Me' Looking at You" Overall the production of the "NEW" master edition is only fair. The Bass and drums are louder than Randy's guitars on many of the tracks and it is very distracting. There are also minor changes to the arrangements due to Robert and Mikes playing style which also bother me. Don't get me wrong these are great muscians, however a classic record thats has been out for 20 years should not be messed with this way. I also don't like the fact that there is no warning on the outside packaging about the changes to the album and being lead to believe that this was remastered from the orginal master tapes. Well I'm taking this CD back and get an exchange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


113 of 119 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blizzard of Ozz?, April 10, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Blizzard of Ozz (Audio CD)
Ozzy has managed, in a single stroke, to ruin two classic albums, trash his artistic integrity, and destroy the legacy of his late guitarist, Randy Rhodes. Blizzard of Ozz and Diary of a Madman are seminal recordings, but these reissues have re-recorded drum and bass tracks, and are therefore NOT the remasters that Epic and Ozzy have advertised. And that these abominations should have been produced because of a royalty dispute with the original bassist and drummer reeks of Sharon Obourne's petulance. That Ozzy would let Randy's memory be soiled like this floors me. If you do not already own the 1995 remasters of these albums, then you better get them quick. They may be the last available original versions of these two that we'll ever see. Bottom line on the new reissues, absolute garbage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shame on Sharon/Poor Old Ozzy, October 8, 2005
This review is from: Blizzard of Ozz (Audio CD)
Yoko Ono multiplied by a thousand? Meet Sharon Osbourne. Was the TV show amusing? Sure, make Ozzy the Al Bundy of heavy metal music. What comes next? Removing drum and bass tracks so you don't have to pay the original musicians? A new low and a new lame. Sharon Osbourne pulling the plug on Iron Maiden during the Ozzfest, or staging hecklers? May Eddie sodomize Sharon in hell, where she'll assuredly be headed. She's turned Ozzy into a joke. Tell her to take all these "reissues" and stuff them. By the way, the Ultimate Sin album still exists, no matter how much you try to ignore it, Sharon. What, was Ozzy coked out and cheating on you then, so you want to bury that material, or is it simply you want to stiff a whole other set of musicians?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Abominable, June 6, 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blizzard of Ozz (Audio CD)
It's been said before, it will be said again: DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME listening to this re-recorded trash. The original is, in my opinion, a work of the greatest brilliance, full of energy and spirit and perhaps one of the greatest rock albums of all time.
Too bad it's been discontinued and replaced by this garbage. The re-recorded bass and drums sound awful, thick, ridiculous. Blizzard and Diary of a Madman have been ruined, and all that is left of their memory is the 1995 remaster. Hope somebody gets the clue and brings it back. This is no longer music. Removing Daisley and Kerslake from the CD is an offence to the fans, the art, and the ears. It's kind of like if Black Sabbath went back and changed all of Ozzy's vocals for Ronnie James Dio's. Why?!?!?
Ozzy, your music was the best. Please give it back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!, April 6, 2002
By 
MFP "Swamper" (Bolingbrook, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blizzard of Ozz (Audio CD)
... We should be told if parts are rerecorded or if we're not getting the original album remastered. Do not buy DIARY either,it is the same [situation]. I was fooled,so the best I can do is tell you not to buy this garbage. It's like painting a mustache on the Mona Lisa! Rating: Negative 1 Star!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars That (C-word!), May 26, 2006
This review is from: Blizzard of Ozz (Audio CD)
I just found out about this atrocity and am pretty freakin annoyed. In his haze of an existence, the wife took over Ozzy's career and does everything she can to disgrace his good name. Organizing a large group of fans to come to Ozzfest and pelt Iron Maiden with objects is just the latest that the miserable c-word has done. No wonder her kids are messed-up spoiled jerks who'll be dead via suicide or o.d. Ozzy will probably outlast those two pathetic reject clowns.

I've been listening to the 2 Randy Rhoads albums since the 80's and they are 2 of my favorite records. Rhoads was the most dynamic guitarist ever in my opinion. But the drums and bass on both albums, espcecially "Diary" are just as important and the wife of Ozzy replaced them w/ half-assed musicians trying to mimic the originals.

Please do not buy this album and support this abortion!! Find the originals which are far superior and don't give this c-word any more money!! Hopefully, she will die soon. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable Greed, April 13, 2006
This review is from: Blizzard of Ozz (Audio CD)
Sharon is "The Prince Of F*cking Darkness". Ozzy let his wife f*ck over two very talented musicians out of spite and greed. Bob wrote almost all the lyrics and split the music writing with Randy and Lee. Ozzy just sang the songs. They deserve their money. Ozzy is only as good as the musicians that surround him. With the exception of Zakk, his band blows. The current rhythm section's performance is pitiful on this album. The mixing is horrible. The bass is too loud and sometimes out of tune with the backing tracks. The drums? Forget it. Lee Kerslake was da man. His performance can't be topped. I can't believe Ozzy would desecrate the precious few tracks Randy played on with this rubbish. Says alot about what he has become. A businessman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS CD or any other ozzy product, September 15, 2005
By 
D. Sullivan "Battlemage" (Warwick, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blizzard of Ozz (Audio CD)
BOYCOTT OZZY!

What freakin balls to 1) not pay well deserved royalties to some real musicians who stood by Ozzy when he was teetering on the edge, and then 2) re-record those albums using sub-par musicians.

I recommend that you do not buy any ozzy product ever again. Do not give ozzy and his harpy of a wife another penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If it ain't broke don't fix it!, July 6, 2004
By 
Jose L. Passalacqua (Springfield, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blizzard of Ozz (Audio CD)
The great performance and feel of the album are gone! Lee Kerslake's and Bob Daisley's (two of the original players on the album)performance have been substituted by god knows who's. What lack of respect for the fans and the musicians that made this album a great success!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Blizzard of Ozz
Blizzard of Ozz by Ozzy Osbourne (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.