Customer Reviews


208 Reviews
5 star:
 (156)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 92 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High-quality alum block
Definitely better quality than what I can get at the international store up the street, this block doesn't have the big air pocket in the middle that you sometimes get with cheap alum blocks. That means that I should be able to use most of it, instead of discarding it when it gets so rough that it causes more irritation than it relieves.

All that in mind, be...
Published on February 26, 2010 by D. Butters

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Okay
I would have rated this better but its too small and no case for storage. The price was okay so I can't complain.
Published 18 months ago by Torris The Bull


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 92 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High-quality alum block, February 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Definitely better quality than what I can get at the international store up the street, this block doesn't have the big air pocket in the middle that you sometimes get with cheap alum blocks. That means that I should be able to use most of it, instead of discarding it when it gets so rough that it causes more irritation than it relieves.

All that in mind, be aware that this is a pretty small block. The picture doesn't give you any reference, but it's maybe 2" tall. I guess I expected it to be about the size of a bar of soap, so it was a bit of a surprise. Not complaining, just want to get that information out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


100 of 105 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rather Expensive, but High Quality and Effective, May 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While this is a high quality product and while it works well, it is on the expensive side.

Pros:

* Works on Nicks and Cuts - This product works well on my face for the occasional (and sometimes not so occasional as when my toddler comes in and pokes me while I'm shaving) nicks and cuts and for soothing razor burn. I use a double-sided safety razor, but this would work equally well after shaving with any device. Small cuts cease bleeding rapidly after application and razor burn is soothed after gliding this block over the area.

* Natural product - this is simply a block of alum. For those who wish to keep their cosmetic and toiletry products as natural as possible, this is the way to go. No manufactured chemicals here!

* Unisex - A browse through some of the reviews of this and competing products leads me to believe that this is a product used mostly by wet-shaving men. Ladies: This will work just as well, just as soothingly, on any areas where you happen to shave and leave nicks, cuts, or irritation. As some areas are more sensitive than others, you will appreciate that this is a natural product that works very well with sensitive skin. (For those who are wondering, my wife has attested to me that the forementioned is true)

Cons:

* Value - While it does perform well, it has to be understood that this is, after all, just a block of alum, as any other. This is the same substance being sold under other brands, at wildly varying prices. It doesn't make sense, then, to pay for an antiseptic alum block when the very same thing can be had for a fraction of the cost under a less sexy label... discounting the benefit of snob-appeal, of course. Considering also that this really does come in a diminutive size, (approx. 2" X 1" X about 1" thick) I have to conclude that better value can be had elsewhere.

* Fragile - Not specific to this particular brand, alum blocks are exceedingly fragile if dropped on a hard surface. If dropped on the sink or a tile floor, this block WILL shatter, leaving you with many tiny pieces of alum that - while retaining their effectiveness against nicks and cuts - are especially difficult and impractical to use. If used with care and if the block is in one piece when you receive it (mine was not), it ought to last years. As with any alum block meant for use after shaving, or any similar crystal deoderant, take care not to drop it on a hard surface.

Other Thoughts:

I enjoy using this for cuts and nicks after shaving, but prefer witch hazel for a soothing, antiseptic aftershave treatment because I find it easier to splash my face rather than rubbing this block all over. That is partly due to the fact that I can't get a solid enough grip on the thing to keep it from slipping from my grasp and shattering into smaller bits.

If you are not a wet-shaving connoisseur, styptic pens from the drugstore stop bleeding nicks in their tracks for a fraction of the cost. If you are one who appreciates using the same natural, effective post-shave astringent as the ancients, go with this product or similar, less well known name brands or non-name brands. This particular product by Osma is priced fairly well; There are much more expensive name brand items, and there are a few, slightly lower priced products... all containing the exact same ingredient.

My rating is actually a composite, as follows: Effectiveness of the product/material: Five stars; Pricing of the product relative to alternatives: Three stars; Ease of use: Four stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best price anywhere, November 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I searched all over the internet for an Alum block - and this one is the best price. Store this on a soap-saver and it will last you years and years. We've used ours for a couple of months and it still looks brand new. This truly tones down razor burn and keeps skin from that ruddiness of shaving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Post-Shave Treatment, June 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bloc Osma Alum Block, 2.65 Ounce (Health and Beauty)
This product is fantastic to use after a shave. You simply wet your face and rub the Alum where you shaved. This will cause any small nicks or cuts to clot and seal up. Unlike Stypic, you won't be left with chalk-like marks on your face. It stings a little bit, but I believe it has antibacterial properties which are helpful to keep away razor burn.

Let me walk you through my post-shave routine to give you an idea. First I rinse my face with water to remove any remaining lather. Second, I clean my face with Witch Hazel in order to reduce inflammation and to really clean the shaved area. Then I wet the Alum and apply it. Once my face is dry, I apply my aftershave and I am good to go. It seems like a bit of a hassle, but my face feels fresh and clean for the rest of the day.

This is a solid addition to any shave routine, and it will definitely help you reduce post-shave complications.

Worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smaller than I expected..., November 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The pictures here made me think this block of alum was about 3"x5"x1" - it isn't. Which is probably a good thing, because a block that large would be harder to use than the actual sized Bloc Osma; which is around 1"x1 1/2"x 1/2". This is a good size to slide around the angles of your face following a nice, close shave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HANDLE WITH CARE !, December 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A quality alum block by its own for shaving nicks.
Be careful with any alum block for should they be
dropped, they shatter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One word of advice, March 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bloc Osma Alum Block, 2.65 Ounce (Health and Beauty)
Don't lick it
Wikipedia says it's sweet tasting
but for the love of god
please don't lick it
ugh
horrible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great., April 30, 2013
By 
T. Janz "TJ" (Harrisburg PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bloc Osma Alum Block, 2.65 Ounce (Health and Beauty)
It does what it's made to do. I do wish it came with some sort of storage container like other Alum Blocks but thats no big deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love My Alum Bar, March 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love my Alum Bar. It's great for razor bumps and small cuts. I highly recommend this product. I recommend this to all my friends looking to get into safety razors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saved my neck and face from a bloody mess, March 20, 2013
Ooops! the setting on my classic safety razor got changed some how and a nice cut starts the bloody face and sting. I grabed my Osma Alum Block, got it damp and went to saving my face from doom. I stopped the bleeding right away and the pain from the cut subided as well. Great product...good thing I had it when I needed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bloc Osma Alum Block, 2.65 Ounce
$8.99 $6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.