Blonde Bombshell and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $13.99
  • Save: $2.11 (15%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This book has already been loved by someone else. It MIGHT have some wear and tear on the edges, have some markings in it, or be an ex-library book. Over-all itâ?TMs still a good book at a great price! (if it is supposed to contain a CD or access code, that may be missing)
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Blonde Bombshell Paperback – June 18, 2010


See all 13 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$11.88
$0.48 $0.01
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"
Best%20Books%20of%202014

Frequently Bought Together

Blonde Bombshell + Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Sausages + Doughnut
Price for all three: $34.49

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 393 pages
  • Publisher: Orbit; 1 edition (June 18, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0316086991
  • ISBN-13: 978-0316086998
  • Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 1 x 8.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 12 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (24 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,614,888 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Starred Review. Driven mad by the lethally insidious... toxic aural garbage that is Terran music, the canine inhabitants of the planet Ostar send Mark Two, a bomb so smart it composes violin sonatas, to blow up Earth. Insatiably curious, Mark Two delays its mission, takes human form, and explores Earth to find out why the Mark One bomb vanished. After encountering software revolutionary Lucy Pavlov, a unicorn, two men who probably aren't werewolves, and drunken corporate stooge George Stetchkin, Mark decides not to complete his mission, precipitating confrontations with a third bomb (named Bob) and the entire Ostar war fleet. Holt, well-known in the U.K. for historical flights of fancy, is set to make a splash in the U.S. with this wickedly funny, take-no-prisoners mashup of love, Armageddon, activists, and one of the universe's most valuable commodities: octopi. (June)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

From Booklist

As you’d expect from Holt, Blonde Bombshell is rife with puns, complicated setups for ridiculous gags, and a riveting story that is completely implausible. The bare bones of it: signals from Earth are destroying civilization on the planet Ostar. The Ostarians send a bomb to destroy the clear and present threat. When it fails to do the job, they send another, complete with AI, to check on the situation. Of course, they make the classic mistake of sending an AI that’s too smart to just follow orders. The Mark Two or, more accurately, the probe it sends to Earth, Mark Twain, can’t find the planetary defense network it expected but does find a lot of odd coincidences to occupy itself with, including an unexpected Ostarian presence on Earth. Meanwhile, somebody is stealing vast sums of money, and the only possible means is teleportation. Impossible? Apparently not. Drunk genius mathematician-cum-banker George Stechkin gets caught up in the alien politicking and unexpectedly plays a key role in saving the world. Hilarious and satisfying. --Regina Schroeder

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
13
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
See all 24 customer reviews
This is a very cleverly written and funny book and not just for science fiction lovers.
vacation reader
After consultation with my local librarian (yay for libraries!), I tried reading Blonde Bombshell, by Tom Holt, to see if the book would fit those high standards.
L. Goodman
He has the gift of envisioning an alternate world in great detail, and using its differences to illuminate our own.
kairosguy

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By S. Baskin on June 6, 2010
Format: Paperback
What can you say about an author like Tom Holt?

His books are creative, odd, hilarious, and great reads, and Blonde Bombshell is no exception.

Blonde Bombshell takes place in the near future and revolves around computer genius Lucy Pavlov and intergalactic bomb, Mark Two (who takes a body and calls himself Mark Twain), and their efforts to stop the Ostar (an intergalactic race driven mad by the radio music signals humans sent through space) from blowing up Earth.

While at some points Blonde Bombshell is a little hard to follow, its off the wall humor more than makes up for it. Blonde Bombshell jokes about everything from corporate stooges, to the misuse of common expressions, to the idiocy of popular culture, hitting the mark on most of these jokes. But besides the humor, Holt demonstrates his ability as a talented writer in this novel, placing himself in the company of the irreverent Douglas Adams.

All in all readers should read Blonde Bombshell for the humor, and those that give this rip-roarious novel a chance will not be disappointed. An excellent read for fans of A. Lee Martinez, Christopher Moore, Terry Pratchett, and Douglas Adams, as this humorous fantasy novel provides exactly what it promises, a great summer read.

[...]
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Ripple on June 18, 2010
Format: Paperback
A very funny, science fiction tale set in 2017 when the Earth is under threat from a distant planet whose peace is being disturbed by Earth's music - but maybe the smart bombs are a bit smarter than those who designed them after all. Great fun.

The blonde bombshell in question in Tom Holt's latest book of that name is Lucy Pavlov. If you are reading this review in 2017 of course you will know who Lucy Pavlov is. She's the beautiful, talented, wealthy, CEO of PaySoft Industries - the revolutionary operating system that is running on every computer in the world. Of course, if that is indeed the case, then we've got a problem. A very big problem. Because what Lucy doesn't know is that she is literally a blonde bombshell - well she knows she's blonde, just not that her body is a shell for a bomb. A very big and a very smart bomb, but nevertheless a bomb. And she's been sent to destroy the planet. It kind of makes Bill Gates seem OK for the time being.

Yes, it's Sci Fi time - but not the fantasy sci fi type. This is very much in the comic sci fi genre. Tom Holt has something of a cult following although I've never read any of the vast list of previous books he's written. On this evidence, I can certainly understand why he is so popular.

Things started off pretty well with Blonde Bombshell - on the third page I was chuckling away at the line "George spent so much time in no fit state that he was entitled to claim it as his domicile for tax purposes".

So, Lucy, basically a computer probe, has been sent by the Ostar (where the canines live and have pet humans including an adolescent human called `Spot') to blow up the Earth in revenge. What could we have done that has so upset the hounds at the other end of the galaxy?
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By kairosguy on December 20, 2010
Format: Paperback
Tom Holt is rapidly becoming one of my favorite authors. He has the gift of envisioning an alternate world in great detail, and using its differences to illuminate our own. At the same time, he never falls into the sci-fi author trap of explaining how his Master Thesis(tm) actually really *would* work and finally show all those people who picked on him in grammar school what a smart guy he really is. No, Holt just delivers up hilarious punchline after hilarious punchline, while considering what it means to be human (by looking at us through the eyes of super-evolved canines). Douglas Adams and PG Wodehouse would be proud of the absurdities Holt has cooked up, and the excellent use to which he has put them.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Arthur W. Jordin on February 16, 2014
Format: Paperback
Blonde Bombshell (2010) is a standalone humor SF novel. It is set in the near future in space and on Earth.

In this novel, the Director of the Ostar Institute for Space Exploration is a very powerful person. He owns a pet named Spot.

George Stetchkin is head of security for Credit Mayonnais, an international banking consortium. He is a dipsomaniac. He has also lost his dog to aliens as a child.

Mark Twain is the pseudonym of a Level 6 organic probe of the Mark Two bomb carrier from Ostar.

Lucy Pavlov is the name of the richest woman on Earth. She has created a new operating system that far outperforms its predecessors.

In this story, the director is on Ostar walking Spot. He throws a stick for Spot to fetch. Spot runs after it and brings it back, but refuses to relinquish it.

Back on Earth, George has a terrible hangover, but also has an important board meeting at 9:00AM. He has trouble getting out of bed after the alarm goes off, but eventually manages to fall off to the floor. Since he is still fully dressed, he goes outside to where a hover car is waiting.

He is very reluctant to admit the truth to the board, so he starts waffling. The chairman asks if he has anything new to announce. Then his phone rings, so he takes the time to answer it. He receives news that gets him two days of grace on the investigation.

George goes for a drink to stimulate his brain. While he is waiting for the bartender to find a pencil, he figures out what happened to the money. Then two men come into the bar and one shoots George. When the bartender returns, George has disappeared.

Later the two men reinstate George in a hotel room.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?