Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars my two cents
I found the Platinum release of "Blondie - volume 1" to have a good picture and good sound, not perfection but completely watchable and enjoyable a real bargain for $5. This disc features 5 episodes running about 70 minutes each on a single side of one disc. The Episodes are:
EPISODE #1. "BLONDIE" The Boss sends Dagwood chasing after an important...
Published on June 1, 2004 by Anita

versus
86 of 93 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid and wait for a studio release
Don't take a chance on these discs as I did...wait for a studio release of the movies instead.
Platinum has done the type of job which could be expected of them...poor.
First, the transfer was made, not with the original films, but with the syndicated television versions of later years. Thus, each movie starts with excerpts from the movie to follow, and then...
Published on July 2, 2004 by Yarby


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 93 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid and wait for a studio release, July 2, 2004
By 
Yarby "yarby" (Medina, OH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blondie, Set 1 (Blondie / Blondie Meets the Boss / Blondie Takes a Vacation / Blondie Brings Up Baby / Blondie on a Budget) (DVD)
Don't take a chance on these discs as I did...wait for a studio release of the movies instead.
Platinum has done the type of job which could be expected of them...poor.
First, the transfer was made, not with the original films, but with the syndicated television versions of later years. Thus, each movie starts with excerpts from the movie to follow, and then with the King Features Syndicate opening credit sequence.
The picture on these transfers are muted grays. Never do any of the blacks look black, or whites look white.
WORST OF ALL, concerning the video portion....Platinum has elected to place a company logo "bug" in the lower right hand corner...just the type of nonsense that one buys DVD's to avoid!!!!
The sound is equally poor...a steady stream of background noise appears throughout the movie, and the volume must be turned up to hear the dialogue.
All in all, this is a set to avoid, regardless of your feeling toward these movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars my two cents, June 1, 2004
By 
Anita (Salt Lake City, UT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blondie, Set 1 (Blondie / Blondie Meets the Boss / Blondie Takes a Vacation / Blondie Brings Up Baby / Blondie on a Budget) (DVD)
I found the Platinum release of "Blondie - volume 1" to have a good picture and good sound, not perfection but completely watchable and enjoyable a real bargain for $5. This disc features 5 episodes running about 70 minutes each on a single side of one disc. The Episodes are:
EPISODE #1. "BLONDIE" The Boss sends Dagwood chasing after an important contract, but Blondie suspects he's chasing another woman.
EPISODE #2. "BLONDIE MEETS THE BOSS" Blondie takes over Dagwood's job. Dagwood rescues a woman whose boat overturns while on a fishing trip, but suspects something else when she sees a photo.
EPISODE #3. "BLONDIE TAKES A VACATION" Blondie schemes to save a friendly Hotel from bankruptcy.
EPISODE #4. "BLONDIE BRINGS UP BABY" When Baby Dumpling plays hooky from school Dagwood goes looking for him and gets arrested for kidnapping.
EPISODE #5. "BLONDIE ON A BUDGET" Dagwood plans a big surprise for Blondie; he asks ex-girlfriend (Rita Hayworth) to help pick out a fur coat for her.
I found the begining of each episode a bit confusing, as it shows a few snip-its as preview before starting each film, leaving me wondering if I had pushed the wrong button. Overall great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blondie: Great Nostalgic Family Entertainment, April 9, 2004
By 
Dan Miller (Roselle, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blondie, Set 1 (Blondie / Blondie Meets the Boss / Blondie Takes a Vacation / Blondie Brings Up Baby / Blondie on a Budget) (DVD)
This DVD is an incredible value and a real treasure. The DVD includes five complete episodes of the Blondie comedies from the 1940s for an astonishingly low price. These remastered movies have very good sound and visual quality. The comedies have also held up very well and are as funny and engaging as they were over half a century ago. Baby Dumpling and Daisy the dog are cute scene-stealers throughout the series. My teenage daughter actually laughs out loud at these comedies, and it's a nostalgic pleasure for me to watch them again after so many years. Because of the enjoyable experience of watching these comedies and the exceptional value, I'd award them more than five stars if I could. This purchase is worth many times the price I paid. (Although the DVD case lists the run time as 72 minutes, the actual run time is five times that since each episode runs a little over 70 minutes.) This DVD features "Blondie," Blondie Meets the Boss," "Blondie Takes a Vacation," "Blondie Brings Up Baby," and "Blondie on a Budget."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First five "Blondie" films on DVD., December 28, 2004
By 
James McDonald (Lancaster, California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blondie, Set 1 (Blondie / Blondie Meets the Boss / Blondie Takes a Vacation / Blondie Brings Up Baby / Blondie on a Budget) (DVD)
What a wonderful treat and nice surprise that the "Blondie" film series is finally available on DVD and I only see Amazon.com selling them. Still available on VHS, and very collectible, thanks to Bridgestone Multimedia Group and Hearst Entertainment, You can buy the films individually on VHS or as a set on VHS at moviesunlimited.com, if Amazon is sold out.
Amazon.com is offering Blondie--Volume One and Blondie--Volume Two at the price of $4.99 each (price is subject to change).
Blondie--Volume One contains the first five "Blondie" flms in correct order.
BLONDIE (1938) 68 min.
During the wee late night hours on tv in the 1980's, I discovered the "Blondie" film series. They were so funny that a good laugh could help me sleep. I never forgot how much I enjoyed the films I saw. Made by Columbia Pictures Corporation, there are 28 films in all spanning from 1938 to 1950. Penny Singleton, Arthur Lake and Larry Simms were in all the films for 12 years. Larry Simms was in "Blondie" at the age of 3 until he was 15. We literally saw Larry Simms grow up to be a fine teenager and Danny Mummert too. Penny Singleton lived until November 12, 2003 at the age of 95. Her last project was doing the voice of "Jane Jetson" in Jetsons: The Movie (1990). Each film begins with a short preview of a few scenes in the film, then followed by the hilarious postman mishap. The Blondie films are warm to the heart and very enjoyable to see and I highly recommend them. They are fine for children to see.

Thanks to "Blondie's Page" by Blair Whipple.

BLONDIE MEETS THE BOSS (1939) 71 min.
As you may know by now after seeing the first film of the series, "Blondie" (1938), the films are wholesome and have a pure sense of humor. This second film "Blondie Meets The Boss" is just as funny as the first. If the Blondie films seem to be serious at times, please take it in light-hearted fun. Everything works out in the end. Dagwood (Arthur Lake) wears the apron this time. You might recognize the boy who plays "Alvin Fuddle". He is Danny Mummert. He played Baby Dumpling's pal beginning with the very first film, Blondie (1938), at the age of 4 until the last film, Beware of Blondie (1950), at the age of 16. Danny Mummert did 24 Blondie films in all. As always, the film ends with a happy ending and a smile on your face. Isn't Daisy a hoot?

BLONDIE TAKES A VACATION (1939) 68 min.
This film, the third in the Blondie film series, takes a refreshing change of pace. The Bumsteads (Penny Singleton, Arthur Lake) finally get to take a two-week vacation. The vacation isn't exactly trouble-free though. There is much concern for Baby Dumpling (Larry Simms). This film makes a dramatic turn when Baby Dumpling gets caught inside a hotel on fire.

BLONDIE BRINGS UP BABY (1939) 67 min.
Just when the new mailman thought he had a new clever idea to deliver the mail to the Bumsteads without the letters literally becoming "air mail", here comes Dagwood (Arthur Lake) again! Alvin (Danny Mummert) is back to visit his pal Baby Dumpling (Larry Simms) to exert his intelligence. Today is Baby Dumpling's first day in school and not all goes well.

BLONDIE ON A BUDGET (1940) 71 min.
Dagwood (Arthur Lake) is trying to sweet talk Blondie (Penny Singleton), who is working seriously on the household budget, into giving him $200. After seeing his father put too much sugar into his coffee, Baby Dumpling (Larry Simms) spills the beans and tells his mother that daddy wants the money to join The Trout Club. Blondie wanted to buy a new fur coat. Alvin (Danny Mummert) walks in to offer social comfort, but when he offers to answer the front door, who should it be but Rita Hayworth. Here is where the fun begins. Isn't that taxi driver talented with impersonations? By the way, Baby Dumpling has his first wiggly tooth.
The next film in the series is BLONDIE HAS SERVANT TROUBLE.

The cover of this first Volume is very nice looking and the back of the case gives a little detail about each film presented (you can read more in my reviews for each film in the "Blondie" VHS section). Getting this DVD volume is a bargin, however the films have not been restored and the "Platnium Disc Corporation" logo appears in the lower right-hand corner from time to time. On VHS, the film print looks a little sharper than the DVD volumes ans on VHS there is no logo seen during the film.
DVD contains no extras, no bonuses, no inserts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLONDIE, THE BEST MOVIE SERIES EVER, May 10, 2005
This review is from: Blondie, Set 1 (Blondie / Blondie Meets the Boss / Blondie Takes a Vacation / Blondie Brings Up Baby / Blondie on a Budget) (DVD)
The Blondie movies have been outrageously underrated by film historians but the public has been lapping them up for almost 70 years now. They are still wildly funny and unlike other "family" series notably the Andy Hardy movies, they are never cloying and smothering in phony sentiment. These little gems are outright comedies with laughs still potent after all these years. Penny Singleton and Arthur Lake are brillantly cast as Blondie and Dagwood, as a comic team they deserve to be mentioned in the same breath as their uptown contemporaries William Powell & Myrna Loy and Spencer Tracy & Katharine Hepburn. Singleton and Lake also had the added assistance of an amazingly funny toddler, Larry Simms as Baby Dumpling, and Daisy, the funniest dog in the movies bar none and that includes Powell/Loy's beloved Asta.

It is disappointing that this DVD series uses TV prints with the sitcom-like theme song and the pre-movie clip of the film (which was used to pad out these shortish films into a 90 minute or two-hour movie slot on television) rather than the original film credits and the prints are not always razor sharp but still they are very good prints and the price is unbelievably cheap. Five licensed movies for under five bucks??? Incredible. There are a ton of major studio sets like this that sell for a good four times that price if not more.

This DVD contains the first five movies in the Blondie series in order of release 1938-1940, opening with the outstanding introductory film BLONDIE and closing with the hilarious BLONDIE ON A BUDGET featuring the gorgeous young pre-stardom Rita Hayworth as Dagwood's old flame who pops back in town. Each of these five films are excellent comedies - heck, to get them on individual DVDs at around $10 would be great so getting all five for five bucks in an attractive plastic case. WOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blondie ROCKS!!!, September 27, 2004
This review is from: Blondie, Set 1 (Blondie / Blondie Meets the Boss / Blondie Takes a Vacation / Blondie Brings Up Baby / Blondie on a Budget) (DVD)
To all of those gripers out there, I have a big screen 61" TV and the quality and sound are EXCELLENT. If you are waiting for master prints, good luck. I am very pleased with both sets. For 5 bucks, these are masterpieces. Definitely a must have for any Blondie fan. Go out and get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Make Yourself a "Dagwood" Sandwich and Enjoy the Movies!, July 30, 2004
By 
This review is from: Blondie, Set 1 (Blondie / Blondie Meets the Boss / Blondie Takes a Vacation / Blondie Brings Up Baby / Blondie on a Budget) (DVD)
When I was kid back in the 1970's, almost every weekend, I would sit (with a bowl of Coco Puffs) in front my family's little 19" inch set and watch a Baltimore local station broadcast the "Sunday Morning Movie". This must of been the start of my love of classic old B&W movies from yesteryear. I loved watching Tarzan, King Kong, Abbott & Costello and the Marx Brother's Movies. But among my favorites was watching the 1930's &'40's series of "Blondie" movies that featured actors Penny Singleton and Arthur Lake. I couldn't get enough of hearing that exasperated yell of "Bloooonndieeeee!!!" and watching the poor mail carrier get run over in more ways then I can count! The 28 films, which ran from 1938-1950 were based on the Chic Young comic strip of the same name. The movies were a hilarious look at family life featuring hapless husband and dad, Dagwood Bumstead (Arthur Lake), his busybody but loving wife, Blondie (Penny Singleton), their precocious child, "Baby Dumpling" (Larry Simms) and finally the Marcel Marceau of pooches, Daisey. Most of the films usually had some variation of Dagwood getting fired by his tempermental boss, Mr. Dithers (Jonathan Hale) and Blondie getting him his job back. No, these were not Academy Award winning spectacles. They were just very funny, simple, low budget B films, that were always good for giving big belly laughs. Now, for the first time in 2 volumes the "Blondie" series is now available in the DVD format. As far as the quality of the DVDs go this is the perfect example of "getting what you pay for". These budget priced DVDs have been produced on the cheap. The picture quality is watchable, but is on par with a VHS tape. For some strange reason you also get a 5 minute preview (usually the ending of the film) before each feature starts, which can be most disconcerting. Worst of all, every so often, the DVD company's logo appears in the lower corner of the screen! Despite these deficiencies, I would still recommend these DVDs simply because the "Blondie" films are just so entertaining and fun! Hopefully some one will have the common sense to put out the other 18 films (especially the ones with WWII era themes & plotlines). Highly recommended for both adults and kids alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing collection, February 13, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blondie, Set 1 (Blondie / Blondie Meets the Boss / Blondie Takes a Vacation / Blondie Brings Up Baby / Blondie on a Budget) (DVD)
I find it amazing that Platinum was able to squeeze five full length films on a single disc--but they did. The running time listed on the package (72 minutes) happens to be incorrect. That's the running time of the first film alone. There are four more after that, and each one runs for over one hour!

I found the quality of the picture and sound to be quite good, and whoever compiled these had a great sense of which films to include. In this package you'll find some of the better Blondie movies made between 1938 and 1950.

It might be best to pace yourself when watching these. The humour still holds up after all these years, although after watching all ten of the films on volumes one and two, you may be finding that you've had enough of the old familiar gags.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blondie Volume 1 & 2, September 1, 2005
This review is from: Blondie, Set 1 (Blondie / Blondie Meets the Boss / Blondie Takes a Vacation / Blondie Brings Up Baby / Blondie on a Budget) (DVD)
Don't listen to the gripers or knitpickers! Quqlity is very good indeed. Well worth the price. Where else can you get such a deal on classic comedy's like these? I still laugh after watching these, after seeing them in the 40's and 50's.

Real family shows. Horray for Plantinum Disc! I also found Hoppalong Cassidy discs excellent quality from Plantinum. Keep up the good work Plantinum! Let's hope you release more of Blondie once again.

Thankyou

Fearless Frank
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 5* for the movies but Poor Encoding - Quality Suffers, May 30, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blondie, Set 1 (Blondie / Blondie Meets the Boss / Blondie Takes a Vacation / Blondie Brings Up Baby / Blondie on a Budget) (DVD)
Poor quality encoding. During high motion (Dagwood running out the door late for the bus, or Daisy running to get the newspaper) you'll be sure to notice blocky video. I'm sure the originals didn't have that. There are also errors noticed during playback such as garbled video (during "Blondie") you'd see normally if the DVD was dirty or scratched (it's not either from what I could see.)

Regardless of the above, the movies are still very enjoyable to watch and I appreciate the fact that they're available on DVD.

Conclusion: Movies get 5 Stars and DVD production/compression gets 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.