Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Blood Feud: Detroit Red Wings v. Colorado Avalanche: The Inside Story of Pro Sports' Nastiest and Best Rivalry of Its Era
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 22, 2007
As a 27 year Detroit native living the last 13 years in Denver, I was in the emotional vortex of this great rivalry. This book was a great read and brought back all the polar feelings from these incredible games and bloody fights. Mr. Dater retells this story in a bioptic fashion, delving into the important characters and the stories behind the story. He points out the strange ironic twists that festered into this Hockey hatred. His fact finding was thorough and impressive on both teams. His writing style is casual, easy to read and similar to Jon Krakauer's "Into thin Air." Anyone who suggests Avalanche bias is way off base. This Denver newspaper writer is arguably tougher on the Av's than the Wings with most negative ink heaped on Lemieux and Crawford and some not too flattering episodes by Patrick Roy. Luckily this was an easy read because I had a hard time putting it down after page 1. Sent a copy to my brother in Detroit and he was late to work the morning he cracked it open. He showed the book to his boss and his tardiness was quickly forgotten and his book quickly borrowed.
11 comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2007
Adrian Dater has written an unbiased, insightful book about one of hockey's hardest fought rivalries. In this very readable account, Dater gives hockey fans a behind-the-scenes look at the people and events that made up this rivalry. Even though I followed this rivarlry on television and in the newsprint, I was unaware of the actual conversations and actions of the players and coaches on and off the ice. Mr. Dater also provides biographical accounts of some of the major participants, like Claude Lemieux and Darren McCarty. These accounts add insight into the rivalry. I would highly recommend this book to all hockey fans, young and old, especially to fans of The Detroit Red Wings and Colorado Avalanche.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2008
Adrian Dater's account of the feud (and it was bloody!) between the Detroit Red Wings and the Colorado Avalanche is chuck a block full of previously unknown, but hilarious, peculiar (Scotty Bowman is a unique dude to say the least), and riveting inside information and anecdotes. Dater, a hockey writer for the Denver Post, is no homer, and plays it fair, being equally snarky and funny about both teams. Dater covered every game of the 90's between these two rivals, and its all facinatingly covered in this book. Its a terrific read and manditory bookshelf inclusion for all true hockey fans.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2015
This book reads a lot like other sports memoirs, but I happen to adore this subject. Plus it was written by a professional writer, so it just reads better. I am all about the Wings, and this era was my very favorite. So much fun to look back, with an insider's view, to the most engrossing rivalry in the time where such rivalries could still flourish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2014
I remember the Avalanche-Wings rivalry as a fan, cheering for the proud home team in the burgundy and blue, and hating on the villains in their red and white. Dater provides some fascinating insight into the major players and coaches that began, fed, and survived this rivalry on both sides. Whether reading about Scotty Bowman or Marc Crawford, Darren McCarty or Claude Lemieux, it's an entertaining yarn that transcends simple fannish slogans. If you're at all a fan of the game, or especially a fan of either the Avalanche or the Wings, I recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2014
This book was fairly diplomatic for being written by a sports writer for the AV's. I really enjoyed learning about things which only the insiders were privy. This was the greatest rivalry of the NHL and we'll all miss the fun of watching it unfold.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2013
Adrian Dater is a fantastic sportswriter! A well-written history of a now-defunkt rivalry that boasts of the best goalie-fight ever, and the most fantastic clashes two hockey teams provided fans for years! If you are an Avs fan, you are sure to love this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2016
Even though this is a great topic I was put off reading this because of the author Adrian Dater who got himself fired from the Denver Post newspaper after acting like an idiot. OK, years later now and finally able to get past that I picked this up and it's insanely good. Sure I could without Dater talking about infighting among sports media or even reading a single word Woody Paige has ever written (Dater takes chunks of Woody's stream of consciousness nonsense and puts this in this book for some reason). Having said that the inside scoops on the main protagonists such as Claude Lemieux, Scotty Bowman, Patrick Roy and Darren McCarty in the "feuding" and the blood spilled are worth whatever you pay for this book.

Dater even gives us a transcription of what went down when Avs' coach Marc Crawford went infamously ballistic and got in Wings' coach Bowman's face during the '96 playoffs. Given what happened with Brendan Morrison being Crawford's whipping boy when he coached here in Vancouver and the lack of playoff success Cro' had in three other stops in the NHL, I lose even more respect, if I had any, for this "coach."

The book focuses exactly on the games, series and incidents we all remember and skips all the boring bits. It's basically mostly killer and little filler. My only other nitpiking point would be Dater takes long enough to get around to telling us what Stevie Yzerman and Joe Sakic were really like. Then again the title is Blood Feud so the focus is not on the scorers as much it is on the ruffians.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2015
As a life-long Red Wing fan, I found the behind the scenes accounts extremely riveting. Matter of fact, I think I'll go back and read it again! Quick and interesting read. A must for the Avalache/Red Wing fans out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2014
Brilliant book, covers it all... from the fans, to the media, to the players and on to management. The book is also balanced (if you can believe it), so that it can be enjoyed by both Avs fans or Red Wings fans. The greatest rivalry in pro sports history; so fierce, that in the playoffs, the hardest games played by these two teams were against eachother...not the finals. As iron sharpens iron! As an Avs fan, I have nothing but respect for that Red Wings team now...and I used to hate so much. That rivalry created the best teams the NHL had to offer (the Avs and Red Wings), and the two teams gave us some of the best NHL games and memories of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.