Customer Reviews


1,435 Reviews
5 star:
 (913)
4 star:
 (310)
3 star:
 (98)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (77)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


711 of 795 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth Knows No Author Nor Any Allegiance
I read the Mr. Klein's book, The Amateur, and that book reads like a tome on everything that has occurred during the Obama Administration. I would add that if one read Saul Alinsky's book, Rules for Radicals, that together the most casual observer could virtually glance at the books, then at the headlines, and get a foreboding chill straight to the bone. This is another...
Published 5 months ago by Michael Cantley

versus
90 of 104 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Feud presents in grisly details the sanguinary slugfest between the Obamas and Clintons over power in the White House
Blood Feud is a political hardball slammed into the guts of the two most powerful couples in the Democratic Party. Ed Klein who won fame for his earlier ":The Amateur": book about the Obama dysfunctional White House has returned with another blockbuster rich with gossip and political junkie insider poop.
Among the revelations of Mr Klein":
1, The...
Published 4 months ago by C. M Mills


‹ Previous | 1 2144 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

711 of 795 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth Knows No Author Nor Any Allegiance, June 23, 2014
I read the Mr. Klein's book, The Amateur, and that book reads like a tome on everything that has occurred during the Obama Administration. I would add that if one read Saul Alinsky's book, Rules for Radicals, that together the most casual observer could virtually glance at the books, then at the headlines, and get a foreboding chill straight to the bone. This is another classic by Mr. Klein and should be in everyones library. And for what it is worth I am a combat veteran, and my political views have morphed quite dramatically since reading these books. I find myself neither Democrat nor Republican or Tea Party, but more interested in the truth rather than rhetoric and campaign slogans. As Thomas Jefferson referenced, "Every government degenerates when trusted to the rulers of the people alone. The people themselves are its only safe depositories. " And lastly, "I predict future happiness for Americans, if they can prevent the government from wasting the labors of the people under the pretense of taking care of them.”

I hope this was helpful. God Bless the United States of Americal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


207 of 229 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Klein documents how the Obama-Clinton feud evolved and deepened, July 8, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The two lead families of the Democratic Party hate each other. Edward Klein documents why and how in this entertaining and fast moving book. It's a good political beach read.

It's mostly about three elections: that of 2008, where Barack Obama came from behind to knock off front-runner Hillary Clinton for the nomination, with charges and countercharges of race-card-playing in the South Carolina primary; 2012, where Bill Clinton made a whizbang nominating speech for someone he can't stand and Hillary drank the Kool-Aid in agreeing to lie about Benghazi - `it was a spontaneous riot caused by a video' - to seal Obama's reelection; and the 2016 election, where Obama promised Clinton he'd support Hillary in exchange for their carrying his water, then reneged on it.

There are tons of details and fly-on-the-wall accounts of conversations. The Clintons come off much better than the Obamas do. We know most of the Clintons' dirt already and, as a nation, don't seem to care too much, but meanwhile they seem to have a clue about how to run the country, while the Obamas don't. Barack Obama comes off as narcissistic, lazy, and shielded from reality by advisor Valerie Jarrett, effectively the shadow president since 2009.

I get the feeling the Clintons shrewdly used this book to get their version of events into play. Klein found leakers near the Obamas who are unhappy with them, but many Clinton sources appear to be lifelong friends seemingly given the green light to talk for this book - people who wouldn't jeopardize their relationship to do so. And for many of the quotations, there would be no question in the Clintons' minds who had given them - people party to conversations where only one or two others were present. So it stands to reason the anonymous sources don't mind the Clintons knowing.

The Clintons, heavily covered for over 20 years, may realize there isn't much that can hurt them that hasn't already been printed. We all know about Monica, Clinton's womanizing, the financial scandals dating back to Arkansas days, Hillary's temper and so on. And a lot of the inside poop here is either flattering - Bill Clinton as political mastermind, say - or humanizing. It's remarkable that the Clintons stay together after all they've been through, but they seem politically fascinated with each other. And it's remarkable how many times Hillary initially tells Bill off about something, only to agree later that he's right and go ahead with it. Quite cute, say, is the anecdote about how Bill convinced Hillary to "have some work done" on her face after leaving the State Department, by first doing it himself.

The new news is the medical stuff. Hillary's health problems have been more serious than generally noted. And Bill's heart condition is serious; Klein quotes his doctor, by name, telling him the disease is progressive, i.e. it will continue to get steadily worse. Bill's obsession with sealing his own legacy by putting Hillary in the White House has become single-minded. It's suggested this is the primary thing he wants to get done before he dies.

The Obamas seem more on the defensive and more paranoid. You don't get any sense of Klein's sources spinning the narrative back in their direction. Barack comes across as a narcissist stemming from a deepset insecurity about his lack of experience pre-presidency. He's someone who doesn't read much beyond popular novels but thinks he's brilliant. He's visibly bored with the dull business of running the country. He doesn't prepare in advance for big international conferences, who he'll meet and what they'll talk about; he figures he'll just wing it. Detractors (like Hillary) call his administration "rudderless".

He's threatened by Bill Clinton, who not only isn't intimidated by him but tries to lecture him. (There's a priceless account of a dinner between the two couples - the strained conversations, Obama ignoring Clinton by reading his Blackberry under the table, Obama sneaking out and coming back a while later smelling of cigarettes.) He's shielded from much by Valerie Jarrett, who surrounds him with sycophants and upon whom he relies too much. She has her own room in the presidential quarters and is the only outsider who eats with the family. He thinks he can move the world with his speeches.

You see Obama good at campaigning and manipulating, but not much else. Michelle more or less invites herself and friends to Oprah Winfrey's Hawaii estate for a joint birthday party, in part to draw her back into the Obamas' camp and keep her out of Hillary's. The weeklong stay goes fine, but Oprah resists any political rapprochement, and even starts promoting Hillary not long afterwards.

Obama picks Caroline Kennedy Schlossberg (a third Democratic family as powerful as the Obamas or Clintons) as ambassador to Japan, a way-too-late thanks for Kennedy family support in 2008 - and, apparently, just to get her halfway around the world from Hillary's candidacy.

It amazes me that the Obamas would work this hard to undermine their own party's frontrunner for the 2016 nomination. The Clintons will have raised a billion dollars for the run.

There's lots of dirt about both couples. Bill still womanizes intensively; you wonder if he'll die `in the saddle' like Nelson Rockefeller did. A guy with a bad heart condition?

His penthouse over the Clinton Library in Little Rock is his bachelor pad - Hillary avoids Little Rock - and effectively the Playboy Mansion South, the scene of many swinging parties. Klein suggests that the town not only shields its favorite son from scrutiny, but that its women, married and single alike, line up to sleep with him. Klein quotes one person saying Clinton will hit on married women even in front of their own husbands. (You'd think in Arkansas this would get a man shot, but then most other men there don't enjoy lifelong Secret Service protection.) He and Hillary lead separate lives, talking daily on the phone but rarely in each other's presence, and Hillary tells friends he'll have little presence in her White House should she be elected.

Klein notes some presidential couples become closer in the White House, where they finally have physical proximity after years of separation on the campaign trail, but this didn't happen with the Obamas, who are effectively estranged. Michelle Obama, of whom White House staffers are terrified, will burst in suddenly on her husband if he's in a room with other women; she's suspicious of him, believing he'd like to emulate Clinton's ways. Her post-White House plans, according to this book, don't include him. She and Valerie Jarrett, who plans to follow her, envision a high life of globetrotting funded by wealthy donors where they sit on corporate boards and don't have to do much work.

Barack Obama wants to retain control of the party, but Bill Clinton already sees him losing his clout and political capital.

The real question mark goes back to Bill Clinton's health. If he dies - a guy with this bad a heart condition? Waitresses and Little Rock matrons, think about it - some think Hillary, relying upon his advice forever, may not go ahead with a presidential run. It often sounds like more his obsession than hers, other than the first-woman-president thing. The family foundation's reins have been handed to Chelsea, in part to take pressure off Bill, and she is being positioned as his replacement as Mom's closest advisor and confidante. Others think Chelsea would encourage her mother to run if Bill dies because it's what he would have wanted. You get the feeling that Hillary, for all her ambition, doesn't have all that much fire in the belly - that it's Bill who's given her the vision, encouraged her, pushed her, made her see a path through obstacles, and been willing to fight battles large and small where she would have been more inclined to go along, get along and acquiesce.

Truly surreal is the ending. Bill tells an appalled Hillary, in front of friends, exactly how to stage his funeral if he dies before the election: what to wear (widow's weeds), where to do it (Arlington, he's a former commander in chief.) If properly done, he said, the video footage will be worth a couple of million votes." Not for nothing do they call him the smartest political mind of his time.

PS The day before I filed this, I saw a story online at Business Insider quoting an unnamed Clinton confidante attacking this book as lies, all lies, nothing but lies. The story didn't specifically rebut anything or cite any specific error in the book; it reprised a finding of an error in one of Klein's previous books. It suggests to me, though, this book is right, if the attack against it is as unspecific as "lies, lies, nothing but lies." Perhaps the Clinton camp is doing some preventive public fulminating so that they can deny the unflattering or unfavorable parts of it. I still think they planted a lot of this.

The same day, the Wall Street Journal had a front page story about Hillary distancing herself from the Obama administration. This is exactly what the book says she would do - it's half revenge, and half good politics, as seen by Bill Clinton, with the Obama administration in a tailspin on any number of fronts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


304 of 340 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, June 23, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book confirmed what many of us had already suspected. Based on body language, newspaper op-ed pieces (esp. by the liberal press), I had always had a hunch that the Clintons and the Obama camp had a serious animus between each other. This well-written and absorbing book really lays bare that animus and provides an illuminating insight into both the Clinton machine and the faltering Obama presidency. The seemingly docile and,obsequious Valerie Jarrett is finally exposed as the almost true President of the United States who literally pulls the strings on the Obama puppets as the Clintons exhult in Obama's missteps and contradictions. Edward Klein has produced a masterpiece of contemporary politics that will be surely read many years into the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


219 of 249 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well presented saga of four big egos and their skills and weaknesses, June 27, 2014
Edward Klein writes a great story. His writing, his reporting, is impeccable. His sources seem to be very credible. Of course, we all remember conversations slightly different than they were and in each person who does the telling the story seems to grow like a tornado in Kansas. But the original intent seldom changes. And facts are checked.

This book is a page-turner. I seldom pay much attention to the stories of politicians because they're all so shallow and egotistical and such experienced psychological lairs. But this book is not written "by" a politician but by a skilled and, hopefully, objective reporter. One of the first things we're taught in journalism school is to be objective. Unfortunately, however, people don't seem to be learning that anymore. I think Klein still maintains that vital journalistic skill.

Everything in the book has already been leaked or reviewed here. I won't repeat all that. All I'll say is that it's an eye-opener. I'd heard some of the stories before and suspected many more. With politicians, you're not dealing with normal people. Power is the coin of the realm to them --- the only currency they know or care about.

I personally do not like the Clintons nor do I like the Obamas. Nor for that matter do I like many on the other side of the isle. I dislike politicians equally and without bias or regard to party or anything else. Frankly, I liked the Clintons and the Obamas even less after reading this delightful book.

The egos of the two Clintons and the two Obamas are unbelievable. They all four feel entitled. That, I think, is at the center of this book. The feeling of utter entitlement coupled with childish fears and insecurities that make them close to pathological people ill fit to lead. And yet the American public vote for these people. They adore Bill Clinton as if he were a god. In return, Clinton uses the public's adoration for his advantage. He uses everyone and everything. But then, all pols do. It's just that Bill Clinton is superior at it. Both families want dynasties. It's all about them. Not the American people.

Edward Klein has given us an eloquent study on two powerful families and their inordinate need to get and keep total power long term.

-- Susanna K. Hutcheson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


106 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wake up Americans, June 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a real eye opener, especially for those who don't pay attention to what is going on in Washington. This is the best reporting I have experienced since Watergate. At least there is at least one person in this country who is still a "reporter".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 Stars; This is the best political tells all I have ever read period!!!, June 25, 2014
Blood Feud could be a prime time drama like Dallas. When you read this book and then go back to the various scenes depicted in this book you realize what the undercurrent that was going on. The Benghazi hearing, why Hillary was wearing glasses., Valerie Jarret, and Micheal Obama las dos perras controlling everything. Obama who's favorite thing is his own face in a mirror. If I where the families of those killed in Benghazi this book pins the blame on where it belongs and their rage should know no bounds. You must read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely riveting!, June 27, 2014
By 
T. Bauer (Bethlehem, PA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
No matter one's political leanings this book should be read by everyone interested in US politics because it is so darn interesting. Mr. Klein certainly has the background to have made the acquaintance of many of his interviewees, but it is unbelievable how many personal friends of the Obamas & Clintons he was able to persuade to be interviewed - even anonymously! I've become an Edward Klein follower!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


243 of 280 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dishy and Delicious, June 24, 2014
If you liked The Amateur you will love this. It was Valeri and Michelle who coined the name Hilldebeest for Hillary over a bottle of wine and on June 23 of 2014 Michelle said that they "have SEVERAL options for a woman President." Does that sound like she is rootin' for Hilldebeest? Not so much. Bill says he "Hates Obama like he has never hated anyone," because Obama played the race card on him in 2008. Also the birth certificate rumors were attributed to the Hillary campaign. Back stabbing, wheeling and dealing, palace intrigue and nasty politics! You gotta love it.
Valerie Jarrett is the Rasputin of our times, whispering in the Obamas ears, slithering around as a go between and influencing every corner of the WH. She exerts extreme control over this disastrous Presidency. Obama does NOTHING, and I mean NOTHING without Valeri Jarrett's approval and input. She basically invented them, got them into the Chicago political scene and then the WH. Her fingerprints, good or ill, are on every decision made by this WH.
My only complaint is that Klein can't attribute quotes of WH insiders. I understand why. No one wants to be the next Vince Foster or be audited to infinity and beyond by the OBAMA IRS. Mr. Klein has never been proved to be lying or of misquoting sources, nor has he ever been sued and he and has written many political intrigue books such as this. I am guessing it is all true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth about Benghazi at last, June 30, 2014
By 
Kate (Long Beach, California) - See all my reviews
I just finished reading this and the most enlightening sections were Bill Clinton helping Obama get reelected, and the section on Benghazi. That was a shock to hear Obama's own people talking about how he didn't want the attack on the mission in Benghazi and Ambassador Steven's death, to derail his reelection. He ordered Hillary to go along with the lie about the video and that the attack was simply a result of a spontaneous demonstration against it.

Hillary should have gone straight to the press and told the truth, or at the least, told the truth at the Congressional hearings. She had the proof in the form of memos, cable traffic, and Ambassador Steven's own diary entries. The worst thing that has ever happened to America is not Pearl Harbor and 9/11. It is Barack Obama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book or "Hard Choices". Not Even Close., June 27, 2014
By 
nvelli "Nvelli" (WALDWICK, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
Blood Feud really has no revelations that I didn't picture in my own head before reading but it certainly validates my perceptions of the Clintons and the Obamas. In fact, so did Hillary's "Hard Choices". It validated my view of Hillary being a self-promoting, can do no wrong, I hobnob with the elite, power hungry individual. In short, total fiction. What was "hard" was getting even 1/4 of the way through her book.
Stick with Blood Feud. It is a good read and will not lead to blood clots like Hillary's book will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2144 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Blood Feud: The Clintons vs. the Obamas
Blood Feud: The Clintons vs. the Obamas by Edward Klein (MP3 CD - June 23, 2014)
$14.99 $10.91
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.