Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accurate as words on paper can get!
After spending an unfortunate 2 decades in the Federal, as well as various state mximum security prisons, (they tend to move higher up gang members somewhat frequently), I've lived side by.side with societies former misfits, under the best of times. Whites outnumbered and all looked at as soft, sex offenders, punks, chumps, nobodies, etc. Well, a plan was out into action...
Published on July 20, 2012 by Alex Coste

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Old Info With Inaccurate Twists
I am a Californian ex-convict. I'm white, 58 years old and have always had a good reputation inside. Although I've never been an actual member of either of the two gangs (the only two of any real consequence) I'm an accociate of both with several old friends who are still active.

This book was written by someone who obviously does not have much first hand...
Published 23 months ago by Stephen Reb


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Old Info With Inaccurate Twists, December 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blood In Blood Out: The Violent Empire of the Aryan Brotherhood (Paperback)
I am a Californian ex-convict. I'm white, 58 years old and have always had a good reputation inside. Although I've never been an actual member of either of the two gangs (the only two of any real consequence) I'm an accociate of both with several old friends who are still active.

This book was written by someone who obviously does not have much first hand experience with the subject. One very glaring example was already pointed out by jason76. Nazi Lowriders have about as much to do with motorcycles as they do with kayaks.

Regarding drugs and money/power in the federal prion system, the federal cops exaggerate, to say the very least. With the exception of a few prisons with the highest security levels, i.e. Leavenworth, Atlanta, Lompoc USP, Lewisberg, Marion, Terre Haute and Florence USP, the other 100 or so medium security joints are not very violent, at least by state prison standards. The AB and the Eme don't really control the drugs in most of them, mainly because they aren't present. They're locked down elsewhere. Drugs enter those facilities in the same old ways they always have. The minimum secuity camps don't even warrant discussion. The rats who inhabit them are too frightened to get high.

At any rate, I feel pretty certain that this author picked up most of his information through long hours of googling, then mixing it up with a little imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pack of lies and misinformation, December 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blood In Blood Out: The Violent Empire of the Aryan Brotherhood (Paperback)
I have to say this is the most inaccurate piece of garbage that I have ever read. I know Barry Mills the Baron. I know Terrible Tom and TD and most of the other characters in this book. How do I know them? I was in the Mexican Mafia and was in the Control Unit at Marion Federal Penitentiary with them and many of the others. I spent time with many of the characters in this book in other prisons across the country. I really don't think this writer ever met anyone in the AB or he would have shown part of their human side. The writer also has some very inaccurate information about dates and the way many of the crimes came down. I was there for some of the crimes that he writes about and it is a joke to read what this writer says about them. I think he did a very bad goggle job on this book. NOT ONLY THAT he steals the name of the book from Art Blajos's book called Blood In Blood Out.
Yes, I might have been a gang member convicted of Bank Robbery and murder but, I have gotten out and organized large gang treaties and work today to end gang warfare. I have received awards from 4 mayors, the chief of police and also been recognized as an expert on the administration of justice in the United Nations. I got them by telling the truth and being accurate in information. This writer is a pack of lies.

Bobby Castillo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Inaccurate, December 12, 2011
By 
USMC7579 (Glendale, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blood In Blood Out: The Violent Empire of the Aryan Brotherhood (Paperback)
In only the first chapter I discovered two glaring inaccuracies. US Marshall's would not be doing cell extractions, custody personnel would. The author claimed the Marshall's not only did the extraction, but had their firearms in their possession when they did. Custody personnel work the cell floor unarmed but for pepper spray. Fire arms are never allowed into the cell areas because they could be taken by prisoners to facilitate an escape. Secondly, the author claims one of the prisoners being extracted lost consciousness as a result of being tasered. Being tasered generally causes you to loose motor skills and fall to the ground. It DOES NOT cause one to loose consciousness. I have been tasered as part of my law enforcement training; as soon as the officer releases the trigger, the effects of the taser stop. Generally, a taser "ride" lasts around 20 seconds or so, just long enough to control and handcuff a suspect.

I've only read the first chapter so far. The book is written in a hyperbolic pulp fiction detective novel sort of way which cheapens and detracts from the seriousness of the subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accurate as words on paper can get!, July 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blood In Blood Out: The Violent Empire of the Aryan Brotherhood (Paperback)
After spending an unfortunate 2 decades in the Federal, as well as various state mximum security prisons, (they tend to move higher up gang members somewhat frequently), I've lived side by.side with societies former misfits, under the best of times. Whites outnumbered and all looked at as soft, sex offenders, punks, chumps, nobodies, etc. Well, a plan was out into action to take a dramatic stand. And the administration, right down to the very core of the US Justice System, could not handle this new commission of psychopathic giant convicts with nothing to lose. This, along with pure unadaulterated hate, life sentences, jailhouse geniouses. And sick and tired of watching the white man be victomized, took control of the
US Prison Sytem in a way never thaught possible. Old fashioned deadly brute force. Studied the art of killing, weaponry, prison politics, recruiting different white men to rewrite the mission statements, and brutalize, murder, and sacrifice their own lives to "live"
There really was no choice. Stand idle by while white inmates were beaten, raped, killed, brutalized, simply for being white. Racism as a whole is dispicable. But the difference between it in prison life, is sickening. Me being young, vulnerable, and just starting a long stretch in prison, alone, no family, no friends really, I was stuck. Having grown up with hispanics and blacks my whole life, mattered not one bit in prison. Nod of respect to lifelong friends of another race, but off to our section of the yard. If never been incarcerated you'll never get a full understanding. This particular convict grew older and retired. But the book is REAL TALK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and worthwhile, November 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found that the book gave a good insight into the workings of the Aryan Brotherhood and told the particular story well. Not as engrossing as some other books I have read about organised crime but I still was not disappointed with this read.
Overall I would say that it is well written and enjoyable although I would maybe have liked to find out a bit more of the history of this organisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Had Potential ..., January 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blood In Blood Out: The Violent Empire of the Aryan Brotherhood (Paperback)
Of the myriad of street, biker and prison gangs in the United States, a few seem to separate them themselves from the group out of sheer notoriety; the Aryan Brotherhood's lust for violence and power behind bars is one of those groups. A rather selective and secretive group, the Aryan Brotherhood (AB) is often the subject of both myth and reality. While I was hoping BLOOD IN BLOOD OUT would provide a deeper look at the history, structure and reach of the AB, I found myself reading a story that never provided the details I was expecting.

A National Geographic documentary stated the AB only represented something like one tenth of one percent of the prison population but accounted for twenty percent of prison murders ... a staggering statistic. It also portrayed the group as having a dynamic reach throughout the US prison system (state and federal) and outside the prison system as a major player in the drug trade, despite its leadership being housed in SuperMax facilities. Brutally violent and angry men heavily inked with Nazi insignia hiding a cerebral side that includes business savvy, competent leadership and even a secret language. One would assume that the combination of these traits would provide the backdrop for a revealing, shocking, edge-of-your seat read, but, unfortunately, John Lee Brook' s BLOOD IN BLOOD OUT didn't deliver.

John Lee Brook starts with the backgrounds of the three leaders of the AB that led to lives in prison, membership to the AB, ascension to the AB hierarchy and an eventual fight against the federal government. The recap of the trial against the AB (and the three leaders) comprises the majority of the book and provides readers with some insight of the gang's ruthlessness thanks to the testimony of several AB defectors. I was hoping this would set the stage for a comprehensive history of the organization (especially considering BLOOD IN BLOOD OUT is the only book available on the subject), but rather than bringing readers back to the roots of the organization and giving us a tangible history, we are instead offered a somewhat "sketchy" story of the AB's eventual meth empire. "Sketchy" in the sense that that story is told using pseudonyms, seems embellished at times and incorrectly represents a major part of the story (the Nazi Low Riders are stated to be a motorcycle gang, not a prison gang). While the details behind the story may be factual, the manner in which it is written reads like fiction (especially the interaction between the young Mexican chemist and the Nazi Low Riders) and this had me questioning the story's credibility. Sure there are moments throughout the book that drive home the ruthless nature of the AB members (often toward one another) and eerily drives home the fact that under the Nazi-tattooed skin, these men are not simpletons, but highly intelligent and unscrupulous. There are several accounts of how violence, money and drugs allow the AB to thrive both inside and outside prison walls. Pieces here and there, however, don't provide a clear history of the organization and I found it to be a glaring problem throughout. A brief timeline of "major events" is offered, but it mainly centers on those involved with the federal case. By the book's finish, I had a better understanding about the federal case against the AB, but gained little knowledge of the AB has a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aryan Brotherhood sits dead red in Brook's bull's eye, July 29, 2011
This review is from: Blood In Blood Out: The Violent Empire of the Aryan Brotherhood (Paperback)
Let's face it. When a nonfiction author has characters with nicknames like the Hulk, the Baron and Terrible Tom, how can he miss? But John Lee Brook (that has to be a nom de plume, eh?) does much more than just hit the target with his infiltration of the Aryan Brotherhood prison gang, BLOOD IN, BLOOD OUT. He's sitting dead red in the center of the bloody bull's eye here, offering a work that blends true crime with sociological study, business strategy review, psychotherapy, legal thriller, snappy dialogue and outrageous action sequences to make your hair stand on end.

The result is a travelogue to an alternate universe where the cliché "survival of the fittest" means exactly what it says in the rawest terms of the jungle law, writ by fang and claw. That's life inside the prison system where the AB has been a fundamental piece of the organizational hierarchy for several decades. Brook shares what he has learned about how its leaders reached that pinnacle, maintained control and turned their power into a black market business so prosperous they had to store their cash in a warehouse.

Much of BLOOD IN, BLOOD OUT has been revealed before piecemeal in newspaper articles, public documents and trial transcripts. But Brook adds some apparent AB insider interviews to his roundup of available data to assemble the full story and craft the most readable detailed expose yet of the whole sorry history of the Brotherhood.

His method of telling the story primarily through personality profiles of the key participants is reminiscent of Hunter Thompson's pre-gonzo-era classic Hell's Angels: A Strange and Terrible Saga (Modern Library) or William Queen's more recent memoir of his police work infiltrating the Mongols motorcycle club in Under and Alone: The True Story of the Undercover Agent Who Infiltrated America's Most Violent Outlaw Motorcycle Gang. All three are prime examples of gangland storytelling at their finest with the academic touch left in the dust.

Anyone fearful that Brook has glamorized the AB with this book can rest easy. It's clear the Hulk, the Baron and Terrible Tom probably enjoy having their underworld achievements on display in BLOOD IN, BLOOD OUT. For the rest of us, however, what emerges is a sad depiction of the fate that awaits life's losers. One telling moment, for example, involves Brook's contrast of the demeanors of Hulk and the Baron with that of the solid citizens deliberating their death penalty case as jurors. "They looked as if they had just heard the judge read off the departure times of cargo ships leaving the Port of San Francisco," writes Brook of the AB brain trust sitting in court. He continues: "On their part, the twelve jurors looked as if they had just received word their favorite pets had been run over by a truck."

And if there still were any doubt about the simple final message of BLOOD IN, BLOOD OUT, Brook goes ahead and makes it crystal clear, when he concludes: "The simple and terrible lesson of the Aryan Brotherhood was this: Crime did not pay."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars like what happened on Death Roll S, August 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a story about the top Dogs flexing their Chest. they left out many important facts , like what happened on Death Roll S.Q. 1974/1975 When the three S.L.A. Members were housed in the very last cage. & young Speedy Mike challenged a young Mafioso & the General KATSEQUATTL Offered the A.B. Shot Callers a deal they couldn't refuse. PLEASE Write a book & put in it what real happed to Big Smitty brother Mousy the old man Red up in Vacaville 1973 Tell the truth, Its ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars "Non-Fiction" Implies A Reasonably Factual Account - "Interview" Suggests Q and A Between Persons Who Actually Exist............, June 7, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blood In Blood Out: The Violent Empire of the Aryan Brotherhood (Paperback)
That a gullible publisher bought Brook's transparent con job doesn't greatly surprise me; however, when I read laudatory reviews from readers who purport to be "in the know" as to the prison experience in general and the "fellas" more specifically, I ask myself what motivates a reader who, after paying for it, ingests the literary equivalent of oregano or baking soda to then attempt to corral other unsuspecting readers for fleecing by this charlatan. Misery loves company? Trying to take the sting out of the burn by spreading it around? Superficial and insincere attempts to lend a veneer of authenticity/credibility to a poorly written collection of skewed truths and outright lies serves only to perpetuate the fraud. Who, if I might inquire, has ever heard of a Protective Custody Unit that separates the "baddest of the bad guys from the ordinary bad guys?"(Foreword) And if Brook met T-Rex in Protective Custody, it begs the question as to the perceived necessity for providing them protection. Perhaps the answer is tied to Brook's past as a priest. Neither Barry Mills nor T.D. Bingham ever saw the inside of the SHU or any other area of Pelican Bay. (Chapter 1) Federal prisoners since the 70s, and pretty much slammed in Marion until AD Max opened in the 90s, they were never invited to Pelican Bay. In early October, 2002, following the RICO indictment in the Central District of CA, the two of them, along with a few others housed in AD-Max and a couple dozen other indictees from other pens were flown out to the coast for trial. I could re-read this piece of garbage and point out 300 more lies, distortions, false assertions of insight into the character of men Brook doesn't know the first thing about, but nothing in my Karma calls for me to suffer through 250 pages of Brook's fantasized and invented history, his totally concocted "interviews," and the sensationalized and hyperbolic rehashed source material anyone with a room-temperature IQ can easily locate with a search engine. I wouldn't recommend this mess for reading by my worst enemy. Mr. Brook: Your use of a nom de plume reflects both awareness of your transgressions and an instinct of self-preservation. What possessed you to key in the suggestion that Barry would ever in life toss the feds a brother in place of himself? Do you even realize what you are implying as to his character? STFU!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars waste of money, December 25, 2013
This review is from: Blood In Blood Out: The Violent Empire of the Aryan Brotherhood (Paperback)
I thought it was going to be informative but it was fiction and I am disappointed I wasted my money. After twenty years working I jail it was another b.s. inmate story. I like to read these for the training aspect but the lies made it useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Blood In Blood Out: The Violent Empire of the Aryan Brotherhood
Blood In Blood Out: The Violent Empire of the Aryan Brotherhood by John Lee Brook (Paperback - June 15, 2011)
$19.95 $16.57
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.