Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful and easy to understand
Blood Moons Rising, by Mark Hitchcock, is a simple-to-read, to-the-point look at the current prophecies about an upcoming lunar pattern. In 2014/2015 there will be what is called a "tetrad"--an occurrence of complete lunar eclipses ("blood moons", for their reddish hue) on Passover and the Feast of Tabernacles for two consecutive years. Several noteworthy...
Published 4 months ago by Jenni

versus
36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Critical Look at the Blood Moons
Mark Hitchcock's latest book, Blood Moons Rising takes a critical look at the Blood Moon phenomena. I must say that Mr. Hitchcock's criticisms, though pointed, were given with a genuine spirit devoid of vitriol or condemnation. I found things to both agree and disagree with in this book.

I agree with him that the Blood Moons do not portend the immediate...
Published 4 months ago by William Struse


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful and easy to understand, March 21, 2014
Blood Moons Rising, by Mark Hitchcock, is a simple-to-read, to-the-point look at the current prophecies about an upcoming lunar pattern. In 2014/2015 there will be what is called a "tetrad"--an occurrence of complete lunar eclipses ("blood moons", for their reddish hue) on Passover and the Feast of Tabernacles for two consecutive years. Several noteworthy prophecy experts point to this upcoming tetrad as a sign of epic, imminent activity by God...perhaps even the Rapture of the church.

Interestingly, I just read a book by a respected author and pastor that mentioned this phenomenon last week; previously it was unknown to me. Hitchcock takes a thorough look at all elements of the prophecy, first expounding what its proponents have to say and then progressing through biblical passages to look at how these views line up.

I appreciate this book's readability. Whether or not you are a Christian, you will easily be able to follow his train of thought, because his approach is down to earth. It isn't filled with a lot of "Christian-ese." For instance, he narrates through, and then provides a chart of, the end times "schedule' predicted in the Bible. If you are curious about the upcoming blood moons and how they line up with biblical passages that refer to the sun and the moon, you will find easy to understand answers here.

I also appreciate the author's respect for the prophecy experts he quotes in the book.

I like especially that Hitchcock encourages readers, rather than becoming fearful or anxious about end times scenarios, to do four things (based on 1 Peter 4:7-11): "keep our heads clear, our hearts warm, our homes open, and our hands busy."

I received this book for free, for review purposes, from Tyndale Publishers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Blood Moons, March 29, 2014
This review is from: Blood Moons Rising: Bible Prophecy, Israel, and the Four Blood Moons (Paperback)
Prophecy and end-time discussion is bug business today. We constantly see new books, studies, and movies that deal with various interpretations of end-time events. People are curious. People are scared. People today want to know if the failing economy and ongoing wars are a precursor to some apocalyptic event. The Bible is every clear in two things: the world as we know it will come to an end and there will be signs that point toward that end. Pastor and attorney Mark Hitchcock has written a book that addresses one of these believed signs pointing to the Lord’s coming. His book is called “Four Blood Moons; Bible Prophecy, Israel, and the Four Blood Moons”. The theory that a series of four blood moons are linked to the return of the Lord Jesus Christ was first brought to mainstream media by Mark Blitz and then picked up by John Hagee.

Hitchcock, speaking of signs says, “Simply stated, prophetic signs of the times are current events that foreshadow future events predicted in the Bible. Signs of the times are like signs on the highway: they point toward or herald what’s ahead. They indicate what’s coming. Signs of the times are not fulfillment of prophecy per se but are events that indicate future fulfillment of prophecy.” One such supposed “sign” that is gaining traction today is called the Blood Moon Prophecy. This prophecy is wrapped up in an astronomical event known as a tetrad. A tetrad is the appearance of four blood moons (lunar eclipses) falling on two Jewish feast days (Passover and Feast of Tabernacles) in successive years. Adding to the interest of this prophecy is the reality that significant events have happened in the nation of Israel in conjunction with the occurrence of these blood moons. There have been three previous tetrads (1493-1494, 1949-1950, and 1967-1968) with the next predicted for 2014-2015. This will be the final tetrad of this century. Hitchcock begins his book with an introduction as to what spiritual signs are how one should approach and respond to them. In order to present the proper framework and context for this later discussion regarding blood moons, Hitchcock gives ten signs that he believes are the “biblical framework or mirror for events today that serve as true signs of the times”. Chapters five, seven, and eight offer the much needed background and context.

Hitchcock’s book takes on a critique feel toward the latter half. He deals a lot with John Hagee’s book, “Four Blood Moons; Something is About to Change”. Hitchcock is not convinced that the blood moon prophecy, as an actual signpost to the Lord’s coming, holds water as many proponents do. Beginning in chapter seven, Hitchcock lays down his own groundwork as to why the blood moon prophecy is full of holes and is not reliable. The major premise of the blood moon prophecy is that the four blood moons serve as signs of major events in Israel’s history. Hitchcock examines the five passages of scripture that blood moon proponents base their theories upon. He concludes that blood moon theorists have two main problems. First, the major events that took place in the nation of Israel occurred before the actual tetrad. So, in the author’s conclusion, they can serve as a sign pointing forward. Second, the blood moon theorists are guilty of faulty methods of interpretation. When they look at the scriptures dealing with blood moons, they neglect the other signs that go along with it. Having read John Hagee’s “Four Blood Moons” prior to this one, I am convinced that blood moon theorists are guilty of proof-texting and sensationalism.

Mark Hitchcock has written a great book. It is well researched, balanced, and fair to the other books on the same subject. As this subject gains attention in the future, it is important to have a work that deals with the Blood Moons Prophecy in a way that highlights its flaws and shortcomings. I would highly recommend this book to any Christian who is interested in the signs that are pointing to the coming of the Lord.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Critical Look at the Blood Moons, March 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mark Hitchcock's latest book, Blood Moons Rising takes a critical look at the Blood Moon phenomena. I must say that Mr. Hitchcock's criticisms, though pointed, were given with a genuine spirit devoid of vitriol or condemnation. I found things to both agree and disagree with in this book.

I agree with him that the Blood Moons do not portend the immediate Rapture, the 2nd coming, or the Great Tribulation.

In the same spirit in which he wrote this book I would like to point out several problems I have with the book:

*The first is that as an author of over 20 books Mr. Hitchcock knows that a title helps sell a book. Though I respect his efforts at presenting a balanced look at the Blood Moons it's disappointing that his book cover and book description in no way implies the critical nature of his subject matter. I believe a lot of people will buy this book based upon its presentation, thinking they are getting something they are not.

*The second is Mr. Hitchcock's statement that the feasts in Leviticus 23 are "Jewish feasts" for the "Jewish people, not the church.". This is not textually accurate. Lev. 23:2 states the following:

"Speak unto the children of Israel, and say unto them, Concerning the feasts of YHWH, which ye shall proclaim to be holy convocations, even these are my feasts."

The feasts of Lev. 23 are YHWH's feasts. In Col. 2 Paul shows that Gentile Christians were in fact celebrating the Biblical holy days which he described as "a shadow of things to come". Further Zech. 14 makes it clear that during the Millennial rule of Christ all nations will be required to keep the Feast of Tabernacles. It's also worth noting that Paul told the Colossians not to let other believers judge them in how they kept the Biblical holy days.

Mr. Hitchcock goes on to say that the "basic interpretation of the feasts relates to Israel." This again is not accurate because Paul makes it clear the feasts are a picture related to the Messiah not the Jewish people.

*Ironically one of the main pillars of Mr. Hitchcock's criticism relies upon an interpretation of Bible prophecy which makes even more assumptions than those who believe in the Blood Moons. By his own admission some of these assumptions rely on reverse engineering. Here is his quote:

"Another way to understand signs of the times is that we can observe the end-times scenario in Scripture and reverse engineer it to the events that must precede that scene and pave the way for its arrival."

To illustrate this belief Mr. Hitchcock goes on to quote Thomas Ice and Timothy Demy, he quotes (in part) the following: "The Bible provides a detailed prophecy about the seven-year tribulation.... Using Revelation as a framework, a Bible student is able to harmonize the hundreds of other biblical passages that speak of a seven-year tribulation..."

Contrary to the above claim neither the Old nor New Testament once specifically mentions a "seven-year tribulation". This is strictly an interpretive belief built upon the prophecy of Daniel 9.

The reason I bring this point up is that a "seven-year tribulation" is a good reminder for all of us (myself included) that it is easier to point out the weaknesses of other people's beliefs than examine our own. I have no doubt that Mr. Hitchcock is a sincere believer in Yeshua, who like most of us earnestly looks for the return of Yeshua. But I think it is illustrative to note how many assumptions Mr. Hitchcock makes in order to believe his interpretation of a "seven-year tribulation", a belief I might add which is central to his eschatological timeline.

Mr. Hitchock's belief in a "seven-year tribulation" assumes the following:

1. That the final "week" of Daniel 9 is a period of "seven years"
2. That a special 360 day "prophetic" year is in mind. Though this year is not mentioned in the Scripture it is assumed based upon five 30 day months mentioned in Genesis. This further assumes there were 12 of those months and that contrary to accepted practice of that day there was no intercalation of the 5 missing days. (It's important to note that this makes his "seven-year tribulation" really a six year, ten months, and three week tribulation.)
3. That somehow a Biblical lunar/solar reckoning of time (as proscribed in the OT) was kept along side his special 360 day prophetic year used to calculate the prophecy of Daniel 9. That somehow this 360 day year will once again be recognized and used during the final "week" of Daniel 9.
4. That Nehemiah and Ezra were contemporaries of Artaxerxes Longimanus. This is a really big erroneous assumption which surprisingly few Biblical scholars even realize they have made. The entire chronology of the 2nd temple era (as found in the Bible) shows that Ezra and Nehemiah were contemporaries of Darius "the Great" Artaxerxes.
5. That the book of Ezra, contrary to its plain reading, is written out of chronological order.
6. That Ezra and many of the priests and Levites of the 2nd temple era lived to an age of between 2-3 times their contemporaries.

There are many more assumptions inherent in Mr. Hitchcock's belief in a "seven-year tribulation" (some reasonable some not so) but the above is sufficient to show that all of us need to look at these topics with a serious dose of humility.

In summary I'd say that even though I disagree with many of Mr. Hitchcock's conclusions this book does provide a counterbalance to the some of the more sensational claims concerning the Blood Moons. More importantly to me anyway this book offers a good example of how fellow believers can offer a dissenting opinion without descending into name calling and condemnation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensible analysis!, April 5, 2014
By 
Bama Fan (Tuscaloosa, AL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I actually bought this book hoping to bolster my hopes that the blood moon tetrad would signify what I wanted them to...the rapture of the church. However, Mark Hitchcock, cuts through all the sensationalism with Biblical accuracy and reminds me of the facts...rather than what I want the facts to say. Hitchcock is a prophecy expert but NOT a sensationalist. He's the real deal and you will be embarrassed that you didn't read this book first before others written on this subject. Other authors, like Hagee, don't bother with letting the facts get in the way of a good story and wishful thinking. However, Hitchcock sticks with the truth of the Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blood Moons: Fact or Fiction, April 4, 2014
This review is from: Blood Moons Rising: Bible Prophecy, Israel, and the Four Blood Moons (Paperback)
Mark Hitchcock has served as senior pastor of Faith Bible Church in Edmond, Oklahoma for over twenty years. He earned a PhD from Dallas Theological Seminary after graduating from law school in 1984. The author goes into great detail of why the upcoming four lunar eclipses, “blood moons,” are not a specific sign of the end. He uses Scripture in its context to support his conclusions. “My goal is to present what I believe Scripture says about the end times, examine the historical evidence for the blood moon prophecy, and leave you to make your own decision.” (p. xi)

“These total lunar eclipses are known as blood moons because when they occur, the moon takes of a reddish hue or blood color.” (p. 8) In 2007, Pastor Mark Blitz first discovered that the four upcoming blood moons would fall on Jewish feasts, and he noticed that in the past there was blood moons that “foretold” historical events for the Jews.

The author, using information from NASA, shows that the four upcoming blood moons will occur on four Jewish feasts days in 2014-15, and revealing that there will be a solar eclipse in between the second and third blood moons. The four blood moons, feasts days and solar eclipse are listed as follow:
April 15, 2014.............Passover
October 08, 2014........Feast of Tabernacles
March 20, 2015...........Solar Eclipse
April 04, 2015..............Passover
September 28, 2015....Feats of Tabernacles

The author spends some time explaining some of the “prophecies” told by John Hagee in his book, Four Blood Moons, showing how Hagee takes Bible verses out of context and misapplies them to America, thus being guilty of replacement theology, a gross and heretical teaching that states that God is done with Israel, and either the church today or America have replaced Israel in prophecies.

Hitchcock does an excellent job of going over what Scripture says about the end times, laying the groundwork for why the current craze of the four blood moons is overblown and not Scriptural. “We don’t read the Bible in light of the headlines, but we do read headlines in light of Bible prophecy.” (p. 18) He states that the main sign of the times is that Israel was reborn as a nation on May 14, 1948, thus setting the stage for future prophecies to be fulfilled.

The author talks about the four pillars that the blood moons theory is based upon being espoused by Blitz and Hagee: God uses signs in the sky; science confirms that four blood moons will occur of four Jewish feast days; five verses from the Bible mention signs involving the moon in the last days: and finally historical data that shows what has happened to the Jewish people on previous blood moons.

Hitchcock spends an entire chapter (five) and gives a good summation of the different Jewish feasts and how they relate to the end times and prophesy. He mentions that the four spring feasts (Passover, Unleavened Bread, Firstfruits, Weeks) of the Jews were fulfilled in the first coming of Jesus, while the three fall feasts (Trumpets, Atonement, Tabernacles) of the Jews are fulfilled in relation to the second coming of Jesus, while the time period that we are currently in is the summer between the spring and fall.

The author then spends three chapters supporting his claim that the prognostication by Blitz, Hagee, et al are not Scriptural but taking each of the passages out of context to fit their theory of the four blood moons. He points out that the three previous set of four blood moons (or tetrads) did not all occur before some significant historical event that happened for the Jews, but at times happened after. For example, on pages 130-133 he writes that the first tetrad occurred in 1492-93, and all occurred after the Great Expulsion of Jews (March 30, 1492) from Spain by King Ferdinand and Queen Isabella.

Overall, Hitchcock does an excellent job of debunking the hysteria about the four blood moons using Scripture to back up his claim.

Tyndale House gave me Blood Moons Rising for the purpose of this review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful look at a currently popular subject, March 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Really helpful information to pick apart and analyze the assumptions and ideas under girding the current Blood Moons idea popularized by Mark Biltz and John Hagee.

Mark Biltz first noticed some rather unusual correlations between a tetrad of Blood Moons with a solar eclipse in the middle and he related it to certain historical events.John Hagee took his teaching and expanded on it, and popularized it. It's a really interesting idea.

Up till now I haven't seen a good clear point by point analysis and counter argument covering the whole controversy. There are 2 good articles on the Berean Call and Answers in Genesis, but both articles are brief and not as gentle in tone as Mark Hitchcock's book.

As other reviewers note, the tone of this book is very friendly towards Mark Biltz and John Hagee while respectfully disagreeing. The analysis is of their writings on this subject is calm and respectful and never devolves into straw man argumentation, or character assassination. This is refreshing. People can and should disagree kindly and politely which is something I've noticed about Mark Hitchcocks writing in the past. Mark remains a friendly and sympathetic voice in the discussion. This makes for a better book if not a better tone within Christianity.

I had my concerns with the Blood Moons hypothesis, and wanted something easy reading that I could recommend to others if they wanted an opposing point of view before making up their mind about this.

I like to read something from both sides of any argument, but particularly when something is sweeping into church on a tidal wave of popularity. When it verges on date setting which Hagee kind of hints at but never quite says, it's important to have something to combat the silly stuff.

Great book, glad I got it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are There Biblical Prophecies About Blood Moons?, April 22, 2014
Title: Blood Moons Rising: Bible Prophecy, Israel, and the Four Blood Moons
Author: Mark Hitchcock
Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.
ISBN: 978-1-4143-9708-5

“The central question is this: Is the blood moons prophecy different from all the apocalypse forecasts we have seen before? Is this another prophecy miscalculation, or could this celestial event be the most incredible sign of the times the world has ever witnessed?” Mark Hitchcock asks in his book, "Blood Moons Rising: Bible Prophecy, Israel, and the Four Blood Moons."

This two hundred and seventeen page paperback targets those questioning the concept that the 2014-2015 blood moons involving four lunar eclipses correlate with Biblical prophecy. Using mainly the New American Standard Bible, there are ten chapters, three appendixes, and ending notes regarding the subject.

After the author’s preface kindly explaining his stance on John Hagee and Mark Biltz’s interpretations and conclusions that the four current-day lunar eclipses are not related to Biblical end-times, the first chapter discusses current interest in prophecy and how the Bible is a source for answers.

Believing Christians should not approach future events with skepticism or sensationalism, he feels we should consider stage-setting without specific dates. Using Biblical application, he discusses ten coming attractions such as the gathering again of the Jews, the pre-Tribulation Rapture, the Roman Empire reuniting, Israel’s temple rebuilt, the Mark of the Beast defying God, Revelations’ judgments, Armageddon, and Jesus returning and reigning.

The next six chapters dissect the blood moons prophecy theory in regard to eclipses with partial views, the significances of Jewish feasts, the star of Bethlehem, and Scriptures in Joel, Matthew, Luke, Acts, and Revelations related to the moon turning to blood.

There are chapters about the three prior blood-moon tetrads where exact dates did not always coincide with monumental Jewish events. Also discussed are other doomsday date setters, Shemettah, and the parable of the fig tree.

The final chapter reiterates how God is in control and only He knows the day and time of His reappearing so we should focus on a personal relationship with Him rather than speculate the imminent Rapture or a seven year Tribulation.

Using Scriptures, Hitchcock lays out a valid, logical explanation that readers will understand the blood moons theory is improbable and applied incorrectly to Bible prophecy.

Thanks to Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. for furnishing this book in exchange for a review based on the reader’s opinions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Total Eclipse of Reason -- Persuasively Debunks the Blood Moons Fad, April 20, 2014
Just several days ago, on the evening of April 14 and into the early hours of April 15, there was a total lunar eclipse. This is where the moon is completely swallowed up in the Earth’s shadow. The result of this phenomenon makes the moon to appear blood red in color. The second one in 2014 is to occur October 8. In 2015, there will be two more lunar eclipses, one on April 4, 2015 and the other on Sept. 28, 2015. However, Mark Hitchcock asks, are these signs that God is about to do something big in 2015?

In his book, Blood Moons Rising, Mark Hitchcock seeks to answer the question as to whether there is any prophetic significance to what is called the Tetrad of Blood Moons. A Tetrad as defined by John Hagee, a major blood moons’ advocate, is when “four total lunar eclipses (Blood Moons) . . . consecutively occur during specific intervals of time. Lunar eclipses are common but total lunar eclipses are less common,” explains, Hagee. “Furthermore, a Tetrad linked to Jewish history has happened three times in the past five-hundred-plus years – it’s very rare.” Hagee goes on to impress upon his readers and viewers that these Tetrads are signs of something that will occur that is very important in regard to Israel and/or the Jews.

Without giving a lot of details, I must say that Mark Hitchcock does a fine job of debunking that theory. He argues historically, looking at the past Tetrads; biblically, looking at the context of the prophetic passages used as proof-texts by the Blood Moon advocates; and even logically, reviewing the very definition of signs and when and how they appear. As an alternative, the author takes the reader to signs from the Bible and offers help and hope in an uncertain world instead of the fear and dread such speculation as the Blood Moons theory brings.

Beside the critique that Mark Hitchcock gives to the Blood Moons theory, one will find lots to love in his book. For pastors and teachers there are some great quotes and illustrations to use in your teaching and preaching. The volume includes charts and outlines on the Fall and Spring Feasts of Israel, Hitchcock’s understanding of the chronology of the end times, a listing of the major events of unfulfilled prophecies, and a timeline of events regarding Israel since 1948 to name just a few.

I give this book my highest rating. It is informative, encouraging, biblical and timely. Read Blood Moons Rising and pass this information along to others. They will be grateful that you did.

Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars May Catch You Off Guard, May 19, 2014
By 
This review is from: Blood Moons Rising: Bible Prophecy, Israel, and the Four Blood Moons (Paperback)
If you've read anything by Mark Hitchcock, you may be surprised at his conclusions of this book about the moon.

It is certainly interesting to look at the history of the moons rising red during the times of the Jewish festivals. But we don't want to give too much away as to what Hitchcock thinks and concludes about prophecy and the end times hysteria.

This is very easy to read. You won't have to worry about getting an End Times dictionary out to understand the jargon as with other Revelation-like books.

Hitchcock provides an open swath of approaches. Almost a who's-who of thinkers/scholars when it comes to this sort of work. Then he pulls the reader along to his own ideas.

Some will scoff, others will nod in agreement. The bottom line is I don't think he'll change many minds with this book. I think the lines have already been drawn and the teams have been set in stone. No one is changing their minds.

Having said that, I will repeat, this was a very easy read.

This book was provided for review, at no cost, by Tyndale Publishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To the point and Enlightening..., April 18, 2014
This review is from: Blood Moons Rising: Bible Prophecy, Israel, and the Four Blood Moons (Paperback)
These days you can't go anywhere without hearing about the end times, or bible prophecy. It's everywhere you look: television, books, magazines, movies, radio, etc. So of course as Christians and people we are going to be intrigued by any and all claims or prophecies whether we agree with them or not.
For this reason I could not wait to read Blood Moons Rising by Mark Hitchcock. This author graduated from law school in 1984, and earned his PhD from Dallas Theological Seminary. He has served as a senior pastor of Faith Bible Church for over twenty years.
Immediately upon reading the first few chapters I knew I was going to love this book. There is no lecture, there is no hard to understand terms, and you do not have to have a dictionary sitting beside you to look up every other word. It's a book that is perfectly understandable and easy to read for many of us, not to mention to the point which I greatly appreciate in books like these. The blood moons prophecy is centered on the belief that the tetrad of blood moons in our times are linked to the return of Christ. Now I will not deny that each time we have had a tetrad of blood moons in history there has been a crucial event or impact upon Israel and the Jews. The bible mentions blood moons and solar eclipses many times, which the author makes reference to often through the book. However there is no proof that these tetrads in our years will or will not signify the coming of Christ. I'm not saying that absolutely nothing will happen but this book makes a lot of good points in why this theory is full of doubt and doesn't stand well enough on it's own. There is too much interpretation, and mankind is often wrong when assuming.
This book is not about getting you to believe in certain theories or prophecies, but rather lays out the evidence, gives opinion as well as facts, and leaves you to conclude your own beliefs on such theories and prophecies. In a religion book this is quite refreshing. I was able to read this book and absorb myself in it without feeling like I was studying, and felt more like I was learning as well as becoming enlightened in many things.
I do think the blood moons could hold some significance for Israel, but I'm not sure if I believe it will be the end. Too much is to come before that time. There are many signs that we are in our end times, but we cannot predict the exact time and place. That is made perfectly clear in the bible. We do need to keep our eyes out for the signs of the end times, and I do believe we are seeing some. I also believe there are many more to come. But one thing remains clear, we always have to keep our eyes open and always expect the unexpected. Because we do not know the exact day or hour it could happen anytime. We all have different viewpoints when it comes to the end times, we are all scared, we are all curious, and we will continue to be so. I recommend this book to those that are uncertain of the blood moons as even though I have read about and heard of the prophecy I feel more knowledgeable after reading this book compared to prior. It's always good to enlighten yourself with a book that not only covers facts and beliefs, but also lists shortcomings in those beliefs. The author did all of this in a most respectful manner, and as he said he would left me to reach my own verdict. I do appreciate that in a book, and I recommend it to you as well. There's no pressure in this book and I think it's a must read for Christians or any others that are interested in bible prophecy.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my unbiased review. All opinions expressed are solely my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Blood Moons Rising: Bible Prophecy, Israel, and the Four Blood Moons
Blood Moons Rising: Bible Prophecy, Israel, and the Four Blood Moons by Mark Hitchcock (Paperback - March 21, 2014)
$15.99 $13.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.