Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nankurunaisa
Vampires are usually portrayed as sexy mysterious people, or as bloodthirsty monsters. In "Blood+," you get two for the price of one.

While this is technically a spinoff of "Blood: The Last Vampire," this series stands easily on its own -- gallons of gore, taut action scenes, mystery, and a young vampire finding out the truth about the past she can't remember...
Published on January 3, 2008 by E. A Solinas

versus
17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent release with one major glaring flaw
I've been looking forward to this release for a very, very long time, and it's almost everything I wanted. The packaging is good, the video and audio quality is good, and the show, of course, is excellent.

However, Sony, for some reason I can't begin to understand, did not give an English subtitle track for the Japanese audio. They instead have basically...
Published on March 10, 2008 by Tia


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nankurunaisa, January 3, 2008
This review is from: Blood +: Part One with Bonus Disc (DVD)
Vampires are usually portrayed as sexy mysterious people, or as bloodthirsty monsters. In "Blood+," you get two for the price of one.

While this is technically a spinoff of "Blood: The Last Vampire," this series stands easily on its own -- gallons of gore, taut action scenes, mystery, and a young vampire finding out the truth about the past she can't remember. And this boxed set -- containing the first half of the series -- is definitely worth getting.

Saya Otonashi is anemic, and she doesn't remember anything about her life before she was adopted by a kindly veteran, George, and his sons Kai and Riku. Other than that, she's a perfectly normal Okinawa schoolgirl. Then a monster -- a vampiric Chiropteran -- attacks her at her high school. She's saved by the mysterious Haji, who forces her to drink a little of his blood.

She destroys the monster in a matter of seconds -- unaware that her punky, overprotective brother Kai also saw the monster. And Saya's confusion only grows when she finds that George is discussing her mysterious past with a man named David, who is from a secret Chiropteran-fighting organization called Red Shield. When Saya's father is attacked and kidnapped, she, Kai and Haji all join the rescue effort.

And afterwards, they become a part of Red Shield, though Saya doesn't know why she is so vital to their mission. Her fight takes her across Vietnam and Russia, through bloodied jungles and Siberian wastelands -- and her own half-forgotten memories -- as David tries to track down a train car with someone called "Diva" inside. But then Saya is told the truth about her own nature -- and her relationship to the cruel Chiropteran queen, Diva....

While the original movie focused mainly on action, "Blood+" is more densely plotted, and more mysterious in its story. Primarily it's a horror/coming-of-age tale (with a bit of a love triangle), but there are also traces of mystery, comedy, horror and tragedy woven in here.

In fact, the writers juggle multiple storylines (including one about a reporter and a schoolgirl) with ease. They also spun up a rich, complex vampire mythology, with multiple vampire breeds -- the horrific bloodthirsty fiends, the sexy Chevaliers like Haji and Solomon, and the cruel, childish Diva. There's also the Schiff, hooded half-vampires who show up long enough to give Haji some new punctures, but don't yet have much effect on the storyline.

The animation is another exquisite part of the story -- detailed, realistic, and a bit gothic with all the shadows, pale light and old-world buildings. And there are some beautiful, striking images, like glowing blue roses, Saya's sword, and chateau ruins. But for all its beauty, "Blood+" is crammed with violence -- dismemberment, ripped-off faces, and buckets of blood from vampires and humans alike.

Saya can be a bit whiny, but her terror and confusion gradually iron out into a likable, somewhat tragic heroine. Haji takes awhile to be fleshed out, but he's a tragic, adoring character when he is, especially in the long flashbacks to his childhood and travels with Saya. And Crispin Freeman's vocals don't hurt the effect.

Kai is a particularly likable character, just because he's so normal -- an ordinary kid who is in over his head, and just trying to protect those he loves. All the supporting characters -- Riku, Julia, David and the cherubic Lewis -- are well-written. Even minor characters get plenty of detail, such as the Schiff and Diva's Chevaliers (particularly Solomon and the increasingly loopy Carl).

"Blood+: Part One" is a violent, bittersweet start to a brilliant series, as well as a great spin on typical vampire stories. It'll also leave you desperately wanting to know what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of the Packaging, March 7, 2008
By 
T. Panar (Johnstown, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood +: Part One with Bonus Disc (DVD)
Another reviewer has already done a good review of the content, so mine shall focus on the physical characteristics of the merchandise.

The box:
The box is a stiff cardboard material with a removable (lift-top) lid. The lid is approximately 1" deep and feels quite sturdy. There is a secondary cardboard insert glued to the bottom portion of the box that guides and holds the lid in place. The outer shell and lid are very well done, very clean lines and really good match on the artwork. The insert in mine however looked like a reject from a factory floor; the cardboard, although very sturdy, is frayed and very rough around the edges. For how nice the exterior box is, I am surprised at the look of the inner support.

The t-shirt and manga preview:
Yup, they were both there :). They were packed into the box along with the DVDs. I'm not big into these types of extras, so other than a quick glance at the manga they didn't get examined.

The discs:
There are three disks in thin-pak holders. Each of the first two disks holds 10 episodes, and the last disk contains 5 episodes plus some extras. Given that thin-paks for anime usually indicate "bare-minimum", I was a little put off by the thin-pak; however, the artwork did look clean on the disk covers, so it wasn't all bad. One peculiarity is that the DVDs by no means fill up much of the interior of the box. I'm not sure if the volume 2 DVDs (last half of the series) are intended to fit into this box or not, but once you take the t-shirt out the DVDs are no longer snug and secure in the box.

Summary:
The most important point of a box is that it is sturdy, and this one is. However, it is also there to protect and corral the DVDs into a secure container, and with the amount of extra space in the box, it does not meet this requirement (unless the rest of the series will be released as thin-paks and fit in this box).

So overall, 5 stars for content and 3 stars for packaging.

Regards,
-T. Panar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Only Great Anime, But A Great Story, December 22, 2008
This review is from: Blood +: Part One with Bonus Disc (DVD)
*Warning-This Review Contains Spoilers*
Blood+ avoids the problems many anime series have by having a plot that is intriguing and characters that develop through the series and who you genuinely care about. It also actually has a good ending! If you watch a lot of anime, you know how many series do not have satisfying endings. The characters in Blood+ do not seem like the hundredth version of a stock character from other series; they're unique and complex. The animation is beautiful and so is the music composed by Hans Zimmer. There are also 4 opening and 4 closing theme songs for this series and they're all great; I think you only get to number 2 in this set. This show was always shown with a graphic violence warning on Adult Swim, and when there are battles, they are pretty bloody but not gratuitous. Occasionally, the plot did slow up a little too much for me just when it seemed like something really big was going to happen between Saya and Diva, but I only minded because I was so into the story. The most special thing about this show to me was the relationship between Saya and her adopted family and between her and Hagi. This is one of the most moving anime series I've ever seen. Saya goes through some of the hardest things that happen in real life, like losing a parent and sibling and feeling great remorse for something terrible that you've done in the past, then struggling with guilt and indecision. The way these events were depicted was sometimes heartbreaking. These were real things that I could relate to and lift Blood+ far above a lot of other anime.

About the set itself: I prefer dub to sub, but because I love this series so much, I did want to watch it in Japanese with an accurate translation, so was disappointed like other reviewers in the "dubtitles." I also didn't like that you can't get the subtitles OFF of the theme songs. I find them irritating as they obstruct the animation, which is why I prefer dubbing in the first place. I usually switch the subtitles to Korean because it blends in better. The box comes with a T-shirt and a manga sampler; if you remove these, as I would like to, it makes the box too big for the DVDs and they rattle around. The bonus disc of interviews with the Japanese voice cast was more interesting than I usually find these features to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ATMOSPERIC AND FUN, June 16, 2008
This review is from: Blood +: Part One with Bonus Disc (DVD)
Blood+ is a sequel to the 2001 Anime Film, Blood: The Last Vampire. The series premiered in Japan in 2005 and then in the U.S. as part of the Cartoon Network's Adult Swim group in 2007. The opening prologue is set during the Vietnam War as a young woman goes on a maniacal killing spree, killing monsters as well as innocent civilians and soldier. Now cut ahead to Okinawa in 2005, that young woman, Saya, has been adopted by a former American Soldier, George, who runs a pub in Okinawa. Kai has two brothers, also adopted by George, Kai, the older brother and Riku, the youngest of the children.

Saya has been living with George and her brothers for the past year but has no memory of anything before that. Saya's peaceful life with her family is changed for ever when a horrific beast attacks her one evening in her high school. A mysterious man intervenes, giving Saya a sword. Saya cuts herself, allowing her blood to flow into grooves on the sword, and with a skill that she didn't realize she had, slays the beast. The monster is a Chiroptean, giant, bat-like creatures possessing great strength, speed and almost total invulnerability. They live on the blood of humans although they are not vampires in the traditional sense. The only thing that can kill the Chiropteans is Saya's blood.

It's difficult summarizing Blood+ because there numerous sub-plots and a large roster of characters. Saya's mysterious protector is her servant Haji, but she's also protected by a secret organization called "Red Shield" dedicated to destroying the Chiropteans. In the first few episodes we'll learn part of Saya's background and how she came to be adopted by George. Blood+ however, spoon feeds its mysteries. We learn something new about Saya or the other characters in nearly every episode but the show's pacing is very deliberate.

The character development is among the very best I've ever seen in any Anime. You get to know all of the characters and their personalities and it's hard not to develop an attachment to them. Saya is not a gung-ho stereotypical heroine. At times she's so reluctant to fight that it's frustrating. Even when friends and family are in peril she has difficulty early on coming to grips with what she is and her abilities. And just WHAT is Saya? I'll not play spoiler and that's one of the mysteries that takes a while to be fully revealed. Her reluctance to fight however does allow other characters such as Haji and Red Shield's Mr. David to shine with their own skills.

Blood+ has a different look than traditional Anime. Combining traditional cell animation with CGI, it has a darker and grittier tone but also a fluidity that cell animation lacks. At times it gives the look an almost dream-like quality. The Chiropteans are often cloaked in shadows with just their blood-red eyes visible. This is a bloody, often brutal series that pulls no punches.

You'll note that I listed the cast with the American voice actors. This is because I watched the English audio as opposed to the Japanese audio. I realize that this is sacrilege to Anime purists but when you're watching a DVD for the purpose to review it, and take notes, it's difficult to try and follow sub-titles as well. The American voice actors are all extremely experience and have numerous Anime credits.

The boxed set includes the first 25 episodes of the series on five discs with the sixth disc featuring bonus material included extensive interviews. The set also includes a Manga sampler booklet and an exclusive Blood+ T-shirt.

I can't claim to be an Anime fanatic or expert but Blood+ drew me into its world unlike any other series and it's one of the best I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent release with one major glaring flaw, March 10, 2008
By 
Tia (UT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blood +: Part One with Bonus Disc (DVD)
I've been looking forward to this release for a very, very long time, and it's almost everything I wanted. The packaging is good, the video and audio quality is good, and the show, of course, is excellent.

However, Sony, for some reason I can't begin to understand, did not give an English subtitle track for the Japanese audio. They instead have basically captions for the English dub track, which is close in meaning - but only close. If I wanted the English-dub dialogue I would be watching the English dub, but since I'm watching the Japanese audio I want a translation of what they're saying.

Based on this I'm very uncertain if I'll bother to buy part two of the series. I almost wish I could return this set, because the discrepancy between what I'm hearing and what I'm reading is VERY distracting.

If you're going to watch the English dub, by all means, buy this set. But if you want to watch with Japanese audio, I would really recommend avoiding it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too Expensive!, October 13, 2010
By 
This review is from: Blood +: Part One with Bonus Disc (DVD)
This is where Sony killed the R1 anime industry. I love this anime (torrented each episode as it went up, saw it on adult swim, rented it from Netflix, and now own a fine bootleg copy of both seasons for $50 total), but $100+ per season for a poorly assembled DVD with no extras, over half of the show's animation farmed out to inferior houses (watch the background quality change all the time)? Sorry, this is the perfect example of a big company deciding to screw the little guy. And in the process crush a tiny anime industry that was already on the ropes. It's a sad, ugly business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood+: Part I Top Notch Anime, December 11, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blood +: Part One with Bonus Disc (DVD)
First of two parts containing episodes 1 thru 25. Part 2 contains 26 thru 50. I bought both because I don't like to wait for the next episode if broadcast on TV. I had bought this series years ago when it first showed here on Adult Swim TV and got a cheaper copy/dub that came from China and while the video was good the translations sucked. I went back and bought the OEM produced product thru Amazon the fall of 2009 to add to my collection, cause I like it so much. Buy the original Sony product dubbed correctly unless your going to watch in original Japanese speak. They aren't cheap, but if your a true connesuir of top notch anime this set is on the must have list. These are very good anime, gets a little bogged down in the later half but does finish well, leaving you wanting more of these characters. Was really wanting to see Saya and Kai get it on, but its platonic so far as he considers her his little sister, and Haji would be a problem, too. If you don't know what I'm talking about, get this, and Part II, you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Anime *Only First Season in this Set!*, April 6, 2009
This review is from: Blood +: Part One with Bonus Disc (DVD)
I'm rating the anime as a whole a 5/5. However, this box-set only includes the first season which hardly concludes the central plot of Blood+.

The storyline was fresh, I fell in love with the characters and especially the main character, Saya. I highly suggest this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great anime!, February 27, 2008
By 
Kasumi Fuu (Canton, OH USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blood +: Part One with Bonus Disc (DVD)
I absolutely love this anime! It draws you in with the mysterious plot and keeps you intrigued with great action scenes and incredibly heart-wrenching storylines embedded within Saya's journey to discover herself. I highly recommend this anime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Saya, September 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blood +: Part One with Bonus Disc (DVD)
When I first saw this air on TV I only saw three episodes. I remember thinking that the Saya we see here is very different then the Saya we saw in blood the last vampire. In this Saya has lost all memory of how and what she is. She's living a happy life until one day she hears a song. Once again Saya most pick up the sword and fight those who feed on humans. She does regain her memories but at the cost of almost losing her little brother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Blood +: Part One with Bonus Disc
Blood +: Part One with Bonus Disc by Kazuhiro Ozawa (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: $145.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.