Customer Reviews


430 Reviews
5 star:
 (355)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


236 of 256 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changed the universe
I'm not discovering a new continent by saying there are things that completely change the universe after being invented. Such things like the wheel, electricity, the machine gun, the car, and finally, Red Hot Chili Peppers' 'Blood Sugar Sex Magik'.
I've grown up with this album and I can't even imagine leaving it. 'Blood Sugar' isn't just a music CD, it's something...
Published on June 8, 2002 by MUSIC LOVER

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I mingle with the Gods (3.5 stars)
Maybe it's just me but I don't think Blood Sugar Sex Magik lives up to all the hype that surrounds it. That's not to say I don't thoroughly enjoy myself when I hear this, but it's just not what I was led to believe some 7 years ago (when I was beginning to form preferences). All the energy that makes a CD great is there, and there's even some to spare, the great vocals...
Published on August 1, 2006 by Brett Corkins


‹ Previous | 117 18 1943 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the 90s, May 4, 2006
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
This album is great. Buy it and you won't be diassapointed, i promise. There's something for everyone on Blood Sugar Sex Majik. Theres so much awesome stuff, so many different styles at work here ranging from funk to metal to rap to punk. No doubt their greatest recording. With the help of wonder boy producer Rick Ruben RHCP have created not only a thoroughly interesting a enjoyable listen but also makes a political statement and makes it fun. If there were six stars available i would give it a seven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a masterpeice, January 24, 2003
By 
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
This album is simply a masterpiece. From the great emotions you feel from listening to "Under the Bridge" to the funk that makes you wanna dance in songs like "Funky Monks" and "Suck My Kiss". The Chili's have a style like no other combining funk, rap, and rock and really get that all acrossed in songs like "Give It Away" and "Power of Equality". I would recommend this album to anyone that is persuing the greastest album collection they can get and I am privileged to have this one in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The peak of the RHCP, May 3, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
This is by far the best Chili Pepper album. The Chili Peppers achieved perfection by combining funk, rock, and rap elements in the perfect blend and proportion. The album is its best on tracks like "Funky Monks" and "Apache Rose Peacock" where the band is able to truly delve into the regions of funk. Timeless and still great to this very day, "Blood, Suger,... is one album that can withstand repeated listons without becoming tiresome. It is a favorite in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the zenith of their careers, May 2, 2003
By 
Jesse J. Morris (Huntington Beach, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
Fairly or unfairly every RHCP release gets compared to this beast of an album. This is the album where everything came together for the boys and they became a house hold name. The bass was sick, drums banging, John's guitar playing was great, and Anthony was on point. Each song on this album is good. Sure there are better songs than others, but this is one of those albums you can just put on and listen to from start to finish. If you're new to RHCP music get this album before any of the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply a must for any modern rock collection., November 18, 1998
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
It's silly how good this thing is. RHCP explore many new sounds and styles of music. I picture some housewife making dinner in her kitchen and grooving to these great sounds in her underwear while the hubby's at work and kids are at school. She's eventually shocked at the lyrics, which are somewhat buried and are discovered only with some extended listening. This is simply a must have for any modern collection of rock music. I have a different favorite song every time I listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BLOOD SUGAR BABY! SHE'S MAGIK! SEX MAGIK! SEX MAGIK!, June 9, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
If you haven't heard this CD yet, THIS CD IS THE BEST MOTHERF**KING ALBUM BY THE PEPPERS!!! The best songs on it have to be: the high-energy rap of "The Power Of Equality", The sexual songs of "Suck My Kiss", "Sir Psycho Sexy", "Blood Sugar Sex Magik", and "Give It Away" bring you to their #1 hit, "Under The Bridge". This CD is da-bomb 4-Life and I can leave you saying that this CD will BLOW YOUR F**KIN' MIND!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love this album! so funky and catchy!, July 16, 2007
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
quick review: Rhcp is one of the best bands ever! if you love their funk/funk get this album! it mixes funk, hip hop, and rock for an awesome, original sound! the best are: suck my kiss, give it away, blood sugar sex magik, under the bridge, sir psycho sexy. but almost every song sounds good! a rare feat for artists! they took their time to create this great album! if you noticed when they do a hits album, most of the songs come from this album b/c the songs are so good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chili Peppers at their best!, November 6, 2006
By 
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
I have all of the RHCP cd's including the new Stadium Arcadium and I still feel as if Blood Sugar Sex Magik was their most creative cd released. This is the very "raw" music from the Chili's whereas Stadium Arcadium is the more "polished" version of the Chili's. I love them all but BSSM has to be one of the best cd's ever released! The deeper tracks on the cd are my fav's...check out Sir Psycho Sexy. If you get the chance to watch the Funky Monks dvd...you'll get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A review from someone who knows music, August 22, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
Blood sugar Sex Magik, has to be one of the finest modern rock albums recorded to date. Chad Smith lays down some of the most solid drum tracks you will ever hear. Anthony's vocals are extremely melodic and honest. As usual Flea rips It up and the guitar fits the band perfectly. Every song Is outstanding, no fillers. The song diversity Is also Impressive. No matter what kind of music you're into this Is an album for you. So If you don't have It Get It.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top 5 Album of the 1990's, June 26, 2000
By 
Azen (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
This album is so good using words to describe it won't do anyone much good. All I can say is that it came out when I was a freshman in high school, and my expectations of music were forever changed. So much soul, so much funk, and so much life are all I can say. This is the culmination of so many styles of music perfectly played with the help of Rick Rubin, who obviously takes the time to really understand the musicians he works with. The best out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 117 18 1943 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Blood Sugar Sex Magik
Blood Sugar Sex Magik by Red Hot Chili Peppers (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.