Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Astonishingly bad but lovable
If you like schlock, you will like this movie. Seeing a younger James Earl Jones is a curiousity. The acting really isn't bad. The story is discombobulated, at best. But it's entertaining -- you could do worse. Not appropriate for younger viewers due to a one-second glimpse of a pair of mammary glands.
Published on March 6, 2007 by Gordon M. Wagner

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK on a low-budget scale.
Ancient monster is unleashed on Greek Island where a man (Martin Kove) goes to search for his sister. James Earl Jones, Jose Ferrer and Lila Kedrova add credibility to this somewhat predictable thriller, but you can't help in getting swept away as the story unfolds. The awful music score and murky photography make this look ultra-cheap, and the ending is pretty...
Published on August 23, 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK on a low-budget scale., August 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Blood Tide [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Ancient monster is unleashed on Greek Island where a man (Martin Kove) goes to search for his sister. James Earl Jones, Jose Ferrer and Lila Kedrova add credibility to this somewhat predictable thriller, but you can't help in getting swept away as the story unfolds. The awful music score and murky photography make this look ultra-cheap, and the ending is pretty thrill-less, but overall good in a trashy sort of way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A tidy little film, October 10, 2007
By 
Sarah Bellum (Dublin, OH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blood Tide (DVD)
No, this film isn't great; yet, it doesn't suffer from delusions of grandeur, either. It rather neatly paces its story over its 82-minute runtime, providing few moments of excitement until its climax. Rather, it focuses on building the mystery of the secret surrounding the secret past of a tiny seaside village in Greece. American newlyweds Neil and Sherry Grice (Martin Kove and Mary-Louise Weller, respectively) have arrived in this Greek hamlet in hopes of locating Neil's missing sister, Madeline (played by Miss USA 1970 Deborah Shelton). Given the number of inhabitants here, it doesn't take long to find her, or to determine something has affected her deeply. According to American ex-pat Frye (James Earl Jones), she has "gone native." We don't find out until the end of the film what that means exactly, though we do have a good idea. Complementing the beauty of the Greek landscape (and really the reason I watched this film in the first place) is the mighty attractive Lydia Cornell. If you are of a certain age, you might recall Ms. Cornell from her role as Ted Knight's blonde daughter, Sara, on TV's "Too Close for Comfort." She is quite something in this film and she gets substantial screen time, though not enough to suit my tastes. Overall, I enjoyed the film. My biggest problem with the DVD, however, is the quality of the film. It appears to have been transferred from a VHS copy and, consequently, the colors are a bit faded, the image a bit soft and the sound pretty bad. Still, I have seen worse... much worse. I would like to see this film cleaned up and transferred from the original negatives; however, given the film's very minor status and fairly poor ratings, it is highly doubtful this will ever happen. 3/5 for the film, 1.5/5 for the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Astonishingly bad but lovable, March 6, 2007
This review is from: Blood Tide (DVD)
If you like schlock, you will like this movie. Seeing a younger James Earl Jones is a curiousity. The acting really isn't bad. The story is discombobulated, at best. But it's entertaining -- you could do worse. Not appropriate for younger viewers due to a one-second glimpse of a pair of mammary glands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Low budget but very intriguing., August 10, 2001
By 
"bcacciatore" (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blood Tide (DVD)
Visitors' curiosity while on a Greek island unleashes an ancient creature upon unsuspecting island goers. This very low-budget film suffers from poor lighting but has a solid cast (James Earl Jones, Jose Ferrer, Martin Kove and Oscar-winner Lila Kedrova) and an intriguing enough premise that it draws you in, even if it is far from a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What Were They Thinking?, May 13, 2006
This review is from: Blood Tide [VHS] (VHS Tape)
"Blood Tide" is an extremely cheap monster movie from 1982. It stars some very talented people, most notably the wonderful James Earl Jones as Frye, the legendary Jose Ferrer as Nereus, and the unknown Spyros Papafrantzizas as Dionysis [sic].

The movie opens with a little background on ancient virgin sacrifices then turns abruptly to the world of watercraft recreation. Indeed, the bulk of this film consists of either footage of boats whizzing around Greece, James Earl Jones chewing the scenery and mean tempered (watch for the spear gun intimidation scene), or various rituals in an old church.

The plot is somewhat reminiscent of "Jaws" (OK, it's in many ways fairly blatant...) especially the first "monster devouring girl" scene which is extremely similar (down to the skinny dipping subplot) to the famed "Chrissie's death" scene in "Jaws." It seems that the monster that hungers for the ancient virgin sacrifices has come back to life and is now devouring women at an alarming rate. There is a lot of prattling on about the monster, and many talky scenes, a lot of which take place in the dark; so dark, in fact that sometimes you can hear dialogue, but can only see pure black on the screen. (I wondered if my monitor had malfunctioned at one point. Really.)

This movie gets my vote for worst soundtrack of 1982, featuring not only a faux-pop song of extremely poor quality over closing credits (by Deborah Shelton), but also many extended piercing electronic notes designed to induce terror, or at least a little malaise. The monster itself (created by Vince Jeffords) is utterly laughable (and stays offscreen until about an hour into the film). Overall, the movie would probably rate one star if not for the talents of Jones and Ferrer, who do as much damage control as can be done.

Fans of bad movies may want to watch this once, but once is definitely enough. It is of thoroughly marginal quality, but does not contain enough camp value to make it a real joy to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blah Tide, April 4, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Blood Tide (DVD)
Gorgeous Greek locales and the ever-strong presence of Mr. James Earl Jones is not enough to save this shlock. I'm a big fan of monster movies, especially aquatic monster movies and this one delivers none of the cheesy entertainment you'd expect from greats such as Humanoids from the Deep and Piranha.

Martin Kove(bad guy from Karate Kid)and his wife venture to a remote and lovely Greek island in the Aegean, looking for Kove's sister. Typical of most Greek cultures, the islanders are far from friendly and the town mayor(Jose Ferrer) makes it clear that their welcome is officially worn out. But Kove is deadset on finding his sister, which he does, although she isn't too thrilled to see him. In fact, she's gotten a case of the weirdies. Along with her are Othello-quoting treasure hunter Frye(JEJ) and his blonde bimbo mistress. The sister is too wrapped up in uncovering the secrets of an ancient painting to leave, so Kove and his wife opt to stay. Frye, meanwhile, is frequently entering an underwater cave which has a large doorway that was walled up long ago. Thinking there's some goodies in there, he blows the place open with plastics and before you know it something is gobbling up young girls on the island. The mayor reveals that in ancient times a deadly sea beast dwelled beneath the island and it was only through the good ol' fashioned practice of virgin sacrifice that the creature was kept at bay. Can Kove and Frye stop the rubbery nonexistent monster before Kove's gorgeous but brainless soap opera actress sister offers herself up as the next main course?

First and foremost, Blood Tide has a terribly disappointing villain in its sea monster. The creature is barely seen, but when shown, it is a pathetic skinned horse/camel/dragon creature that certainly isn't the least bit frightening. I understand that many Greek sea monsters of mythology where often mammalian but personally I like my sea monsters to be reptillian or fish-like. Another thing that takes away this monster's scare factor is the fact that it has a wrinkled horse-like mouth filled with blunt incisor teeth instead of big sharp flesh ripping fangs which you usually expect of big sea predators. Also, the monster is dispatched relatively easily by monster standards, and one wonders why the ancestors of these Greeks didn't simply find someone brave enough and strong enough to take the creature out himself instead of imprisoning it. The only saving grace to this creature are the curious sound effects and underwater POV photography used. The waters of the Aegean are largely devoid of a lot of marine life so watching the monster stalk his victims through these deserted waters is somewhat effective.

But there is soooo much that is soooo bad with this film! The Greek culture is nicely portrayed, with a small hinted subplot about the clash between christianity and the traditional beliefs of the islanders. Jose Ferrer is wasted, but he has been in similarly awful films so its no huge loss. The Americans definitely fulfill the stereotype of the loud obnoxious tourists that people have come to know and hate, with Kove's wife remarking how "Greek" everyone is and Jone's girlfriend playing loud obnoxious 80's aerobic workout music on an otherwise lovely beach. There is no character developement whatsoever, and we never know why Kove's sister just up and decided to venture out to the island in the first place, nor why the islanders wanted to keep her a secret. Overall, Blood Tide is a lame monster flick that is short on monsters and thrills and long on yawns.

One more saving grace, the main piano theme is pretty stirring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Darth Vader: Treasure-Hunter..., August 2, 2005
This review is from: Blood Tide (DVD)
BLOOD TIDE is an interesting movie. It's sort of a monster movie, but we see so little of the actual monster or it's exploits, that it's easy to forget about it altogether! When we do see it, we get underwater stalking scenes not unlike those in JAWS. Aside from this, we get three bodacious babes and that mean guy from KARATE KID running around on a Greek island. There's also a nutty treasure-hunter (James Earl Jones) and an even nuttier town leader (Jose Ferrer). It seems there's an ancient curse on the island. The rarely seen monster is unleashed when Jones' character, Frye uses plastic explosives to open a sealed gate in an underwater cave. This gives us some rather decent flesh-munching sequences! Only a virgin sacrifice can stop the creature before it kills everyone. Will anyone survive? No spoilers here! BT is nothing spectacular, but it does have enough going on to be entertaining...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It needs a better release., June 17, 2013
By 
Grindhouse and Horror (I wish in the grindhouse era) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blood Tide (DVD)
This is actually a very well done low-budget horror flick with excellent scenery, suspense, nice soundtracks, some good atmosphere, and it's very well directed and acted. The story is about a couple on a Greek island which has an ancient sea monster nearby who requires human sacrifice. It's a slow moving film with a limited amount of gore. There's a couple of gore sequences that are shown underwater when the monster attacks and eats people, but there isn't any extreme gore. There's an emphasis placed on the films location, suspense and character development to engage the viewer instead of gore. As for the nudity, there's a very quick topless scene in the beginning. I thought the soundtrack in the beginning is really eerie, and they picked a great place to make the movie. You never get a full look at the creature. You just see its face and jaws and there's a part when it reaches up with its hand to grab one of its sacrificed victims. I would've liked to see the entire monster, but this slow film is a really good monster flick. The only problem is that some won't like it because it lacks action, is slow, and it does get talky at times.

The DVD quality has washed out color and poor contrast. Brightness is fine but the picture is somewhat soft. This transfer is obviously from a VHS source. The picture is clean looking and I've seen much worse transfers, but this would be so much better if it got a better release. I've noticed that other companies have released this film, but I don't know how the DVD quality is on those. The DVD that I have says "Digital Gold Collection" on the top of the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Give This Movie A Break", June 22, 2011
This review is from: Blood Tide (DVD)
Yeah, really folks. I think someone on IMDB noted that people, for some reason, have been really hard on this movie. What do you want? It was acceptable for a post-seventies horror romp. It came out in an interesting year - 1982. The year I graduated from high-school. Although, I had never heard of this film until recently; I came across it on - "Fifty SCi-Fi Classics". It was shot on location; in very exotic local, I might add. Replete with ancient Christian monasteries. Moreover, it has two legendary actors: Jose Ferrer and James Earl Jones. And so what if Jones hams it up a bit, and also plays a little bit of a heavy.

Some people noted the echoes from "Jaws". They are definitely there. I detected a nod (if a very remote one) to Italian/Argento style horror. This was in the massacre of the nuns. It does not show the nuns actually being killed. It shows the aftermath with corpses strewn all around. Perhaps this is what disturbed people. All the victims in the movie are women, and even minors. And the premise of the movie is "virgin sacrifice". And I think someone noted this too, that most of the victims, we can assume, are not virgins.

Moreover, there is even a litle back story going on. I think the female (sort of lead) the exotic, runaway, beauty - Deborah Shelton (Madeline) and Frye (J E Jones) had a thing. Parenthetically, Shelton (although very pretty) has such a seventies, teen, pre-teen, afterschool special, movie of the week, PSA - presence, it drips off the screen. She sings the closing credit anthem.

Yet at the same time, this movie lacks the sex which would become such a staple of the "Friday the 13th" franchise, among others. Although there is alot of "skin" shown.

Perhaps, it should be seen as a farewell to the seventies. As again, "Friday the 13th" and its "ad nasueam" sequels were being ushered in.

So finally, I do not see why a group of young people cannot pop a bowl of popcorn, and have alot of fun watching this movie. Thank You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good details, in plot with many subtleties, December 12, 2007
By 
Robert J. Crawford (Balmette Talloires, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood Tide (DVD)
This is a pretty fun film, not quite 4 stars but definitely 3.5.

I liked it because for a monster flick, there are several layers to it. Beyond a mysterious carnivorous creature, there is a pagan culture that has carried memories of a very distant time when there were remedies to keep it at bay - at a price of course. It is embodied in Jose Ferrer, who does the ancient European thing very well and kind of controls the events that unfold. Then you have the nearer past that is Christian, which adds its own odd beliefs (it is a nunnery that guards this tradition). Finally, there is the confused secular present, with the couple (you get to see Belushi's window girlfriend from Animal House!) and Jones, who is a darn good scoundrel layabout smuggler.

The center of it is a beautiful virgin artist, the sister of the "hero" looking to bring her back. She appears crazy, though Ferrer wants her there and hidden for some reason. Apparently, she is in touch with something. Her action is to study ancient paintings at the nunnery, where her relationship with the mother superior guides her into refurbishing a painting - yes, she discovers a third layer, beneath the first two.

This all leads to a fun climax, which I do not want to reveal. The psychology is good, the historical sense is fun if you can see it, and then there is action. Definitely an above average monster flick.

Recommended as fun passtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Blood Tide [VHS]
Blood Tide [VHS] by Richard Jefferies (VHS Tape - 2000)
Used & New from: $0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.