Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Moving Interlude
Alhough "Blood Will Tell" is the sixth in the fabulous Kate Shugak series, it is more of an interlude between books rather than a story in itself.
This outing finds Kate reunited with her formidable grandmother, Ekaterina Moonin Shugak, the fabled matriarch of her tribe and of all the native Alaska peoples. Quite against her will, Kate has been roped in by...
Published on May 22, 2004 by Wendy Kaplan

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly (precedent)
This 6th installment of the Kate Shugak series is fascinating for its glimpse into both Native American politics and the two-edged sword of development of Alaska's natural resources. Fleshing out the details of this content would have required a longer book and might have turned off more action-oriented readers; but I considered exploration of these topics a major...
Published 19 months ago by Hirondelle


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Moving Interlude, May 22, 2004
This review is from: Blood Will Tell (A Kate Shugak Mystery, Book 6) (Mass Market Paperback)
Alhough "Blood Will Tell" is the sixth in the fabulous Kate Shugak series, it is more of an interlude between books rather than a story in itself.
This outing finds Kate reunited with her formidable grandmother, Ekaterina Moonin Shugak, the fabled matriarch of her tribe and of all the native Alaska peoples. Quite against her will, Kate has been roped in by her grandmother into leaving her beloved homestead, where she is just settling down with Mutt in anticipation of a lovely long winter, and traveling to Anchorage to attend the annual native Alaska convention.
As any devotee of this series knows, crowds of any kind are anathema to Kate, and having to attend such a convention is true punishment. But as readers also know, Ekaterina is not to be denied. So Kate and Mutt reluctantly say goodbye to peace and silence and travel off to the convention--only to be entangled in a nasty behind-the-scenes environmental ripoff that will not only cheat Kate's native people, but one that involves murder and danger.
Much more than usual, we earn about the Aleut customs and beliefs, and much more than usual, this reader was moved to tears several times.
A must for fans of this series to read, definitely a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cool and competent Kate, February 15, 2000
This review is from: Blood Will Tell (A Kate Shugak Mystery, Book 6) (Mass Market Paperback)
This story begins with the quandry of coming out of the outhouse and finding a moose nearby.Kate Shugak solves this problem and stocks up on meat for an Alaskan winter.As the story continues she goes with her grandmother to Anchorage to help with tribal politics,family matters and corruption. Kate does a wonderful job on her boyfriend's ex-wife and gets talked into going to a party all dressed up.It is a mystery and a story of a women finding her identity. The end is quite a surprise and may bring tears. This series is terrific,informative, and most of all-well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly (precedent), January 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This 6th installment of the Kate Shugak series is fascinating for its glimpse into both Native American politics and the two-edged sword of development of Alaska's natural resources. Fleshing out the details of this content would have required a longer book and might have turned off more action-oriented readers; but I considered exploration of these topics a major strength. The downside of Kate's latest adventure is multiple forays into criminal activity; and not of the "hero(ine) who can't wait for the rules in the heat of the action" variety. This is systematic; and it comes off as childish personal malice. It is a sloppy way to wrap up the book's subplot (Jack's ongoing custody battle) and resolve the main plot; and it diminishes the stature of two popular characters. Three stars: good main plot and supporting content; bad guys/gals thwarted in their evil scheming; an ugly turn for law enforcement characters. I've come to expect more of Kate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm hooked!, August 9, 2014
By 
Sandra J Thrash (Corpus Christi, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I started this series of Kate Sugak novels with book 1. I wasn't sure it was my kind of read as I usually go for intense mysteries. Well, her I am finished with book 6 and just ordered 7,8,9. Have you ever been to Alaska? Kate is a native and a proud one at that. She sure gets into a lot of messes along with her dog, Mutt. I have enjoyed traveling through the bush with them. Ms Dana Stabenow is an awesome writer. I highly recommend this series. That's all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I always love Kate Shugak. Always a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Stabenow, June 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a follower of Kate Shugak since the first book, I can only say that as soon as I finish one I want the next one. Never a disappointment -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read., June 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great book I would highly recommend this series of books to anyone interested in thrillers. It's hard 5 put them down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait toread the next one, May 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The adventure in Alaska is so exiting & interesting. But I think Dana could write about anywhere and it would be great reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVELY HEARTFELT MYSTERY READ, May 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
WELL WRITTEN STORY WITH LOTS OF INTERWOVEN MINI STORIES AND WONDERFUL LEGENDS. EASY TO IMAGINE THE BEAUTY OF ALASKA THROUGH KATES' WRITTEN THOUGHTS. SOME HUMOR THROUGH REVENGE. A QUALITY CLASSIC SHUGAK MYSTERY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, and VERY funny if you know these characters, April 23, 2014
By 
Sarah (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am reading the Kate Shugak books in order, and they are good fairly straight-forward mysteries with good characters. But here our author starts to have some real fun with her characters for some definite laugh out loud moments. Layered of course on top of a good, fairly straight-forward mystery.

Highly recommended, though it helps if you already know the characters for the previous books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Blood Will Tell (A Kate Shugak Mystery, Book 6)
Blood Will Tell (A Kate Shugak Mystery, Book 6) by Dana Stabenow (Mass Market Paperback - June 1, 1997)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.