The Bloodlight Chronicles: Reconciliation and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $14.95
  • Save: $1.49 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Usually ships within 2 to 3 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
The Bloodlight Chronicles... has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by BSquaredMedia
Condition: Used: Very Good
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Bloodlight Chronicles: Reconciliation Paperback – September 1, 2010


See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$13.46
$2.39 $0.01


Frequently Bought Together

The Bloodlight Chronicles: Reconciliation + Redemption (The Bloodlight Chronicles)
Price for both: $26.34

One of these items ships sooner than the other.

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Series: The Bloodlight Chronicles (Book 1)
  • Paperback: 240 pages
  • Publisher: ECW Press (September 1, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1550229540
  • ISBN-13: 978-1550229547
  • Product Dimensions: 8.7 x 6.4 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 11.2 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 2.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #4,725,795 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"ECW’s first sf title revitalizes the cyber-fiction genre with its vivid prose and believable characters. Verdict: Stylistically streamlined, this vibrant series opener should appeal to fans of Bruce Sterling and William Gibson." —Library Journal



"Reconciliation, the first book of the trilogy, can be read on two levels, the literal and the metaphorical. Literally, the book is an exciting read. Metaphorically, it is a subtle invitation to the reader to consider the place of spirit within the cosmos and within themselves."  —On Spec Magazine



"On the road much travelled of neo-cyberpunk, The Bloodlight Chronicles manages to tell a suspenseful and lean story not about glazing-eyes tech gone crazy but about gifted, yet human-sized characters we care about, with some welcome twists on beloved already classics."  —Élisabeth Vonarburg, award-winning SF author



"This tale should appeal to science fiction readers, especially those who enjoy the virtual worlds and considering where computers and the internet may eventually lead us. Well-written, this volume resolves enough of its plot issues to satisfy, while leaving the door wide open to continue the  adventure. Recommended."  —Canadian Review of Materials



"The characters are unique and extremely well rounded."  —Night Owl Sci Fi



"Stanton is an excellent writer of science fiction. Highly recommended."  —Bookgateway.com

About the Author

Steve Stanton is a writer who currently serves as the vice president of SF Canada, the nation's bilingual organization of science fiction, fantasy and horror writers. His short fiction has been published in 12 countries, including translations into Hebrew, Greek, Italian, and Romanian. He lives in Washago, Ontario.

Customer Reviews

2.9 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
This cyber punk story set in a very different future offers much for a first novel by an author and first book in the Bloodlight Chronicles trilogy. It took a while to get into the story but once I did I was hooked and am really looking forward to the other volumes in the series. Eternal's are people who appears almost vampire like, their blood rejuvenates them, they will live longer, be healthier. But in order to become eternal you must receive the alien virus, The internet can be plugged right into with wet ware. So we have Eternals, humans, virtual space, space travel and more all in a tightly written story packed with action.

Cast of Characters:
Zakariah Davis - Eternal, v-Space guru
Mia Davis - Eternal, wife of Zak, warrior
Rix David - human, son of Zak and Mia,
Jimmy - Zak's longtime friend and associate
Niko Davis - clone of namesake, sister to Zac
Phillip Davis - Zak's estranged father, power broker
Helena Sharp - rich, Director of the Eternal Research Institute
Dr. Silus Mundazo - Head researcher at the Eternal Research Institute
Colin7 - Clone of first human to have his intellect loaded into the machine
Colin McPherson - scientist, creator of wormhole technology, see above


This story revolves around Zakariah, and his story revolves around getting an activated sample of the virus for his son Rix. There is almost no length he will not go to; to protect his son in this way. Sometimes life get's far more complicated than we ever expect or plan and that is what has happened to Zak yet again. And as we will find out a number of people have been pulling strings to get Zak to help them with their plans and use the bait of the sample for his son.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
I'm not sure where to start with this one - probably because I was very lost at the beginning. I thought that perhaps I had picked up a second in a series, but I could find no reference to a first book anywhere. The book in a nutshell is vampires meet cyperspace, but this isn't clear at first.

The Eternals are somehow "chosen" to become immortal in a non-aging sense. People can link to cyberspace by hooking up with a cord coming out of their head which seems to be connected to microchips they have had implanted in their brain. Ok - so far I'm following, but then come the strange references to levels and ranks in the cyberworld with no real explanation of what they mean.

Now, if you take the Eternals and the cyberworld somewhat out of the equation, the realtionships between the people are fascinating. The story revolves around a father, mother, and son. The parents are both Eternals and are trying to find a way to "infect" their son as well. They travel to the ends of the known universe (literally) to try and find this virus. However, beyond this the relationship was rather odd. Perhaps as a result of being so virtual based, the family's responses to each other seemed overly strained and impersonal.

2/5
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
I simply couldn't get into it. The writing is so bad, trite, full of cliches, that the reasonably interesting ideas and plot just couldn't compensate. Too bad, but he needs a lot more practice writing before he starts publishing.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
Received for review from netgalley.

The premise for this book is fascinating: a virus that creates immortality, and the fight of the human race to be infected, the government's efforts to control those infected, and the broader black market for goods, and blood.

It was only after completing the book that I read the author bio, and my frustrations in reading the book made more sense. Stanton in well known for his science fiction short stories and this book read like a long short story. The reader was forced to fill in a lot of gaps on their own and this left the characters underdeveloped, but the action was intense and highly present throughout. Not a bad read, but I'd look for a short story collection.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the NetGalley book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 [...] : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again