The Bloodlight Chronicles: Reconciliation and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Usually ships within 1 to 4 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
The Bloodlight Chronicles... has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Very Good
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Bloodlight Chronicles: Reconciliation Paperback – September 1, 2010

7 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$14.95
$2.45 $0.01

Those Who Wish Me Dead by Michael Koryta
"Those Who Wish Me Dead" by Michael Koryta
When fourteen-year-old Jace Wilson witnesses a brutal murder, he's plunged into a new life, issued a false identity, and hidden in a wilderness skills program for troubled teens. The result is the start of a nightmare. Learn more | See related books
$14.95 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Usually ships within 1 to 4 weeks. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.


Editorial Reviews

Review

"ECW’s first sf title revitalizes the cyber-fiction genre with its vivid prose and believable characters. Verdict: Stylistically streamlined, this vibrant series opener should appeal to fans of Bruce Sterling and William Gibson." —Library Journal



"Reconciliation, the first book of the trilogy, can be read on two levels, the literal and the metaphorical. Literally, the book is an exciting read. Metaphorically, it is a subtle invitation to the reader to consider the place of spirit within the cosmos and within themselves."  —On Spec Magazine



"On the road much travelled of neo-cyberpunk, The Bloodlight Chronicles manages to tell a suspenseful and lean story not about glazing-eyes tech gone crazy but about gifted, yet human-sized characters we care about, with some welcome twists on beloved already classics."  —Élisabeth Vonarburg, award-winning SF author



"This tale should appeal to science fiction readers, especially those who enjoy the virtual worlds and considering where computers and the internet may eventually lead us. Well-written, this volume resolves enough of its plot issues to satisfy, while leaving the door wide open to continue the  adventure. Recommended."  —Canadian Review of Materials



"The characters are unique and extremely well rounded."  —Night Owl Sci Fi



"Stanton is an excellent writer of science fiction. Highly recommended."  —Bookgateway.com

About the Author

Steve Stanton is a writer who currently serves as the vice president of SF Canada, the nation's bilingual organization of science fiction, fantasy and horror writers. His short fiction has been published in 12 countries, including translations into Hebrew, Greek, Italian, and Romanian. He lives in Washago, Ontario.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Series: The Bloodlight Chronicles (Book 1)
  • Paperback: 240 pages
  • Publisher: ECW Press (September 1, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1550229540
  • ISBN-13: 978-1550229547
  • Product Dimensions: 6.4 x 0.6 x 8.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 11.2 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 2.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #6,656,881 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
This cyber punk story set in a very different future offers much for a first novel by an author and first book in the Bloodlight Chronicles trilogy. It took a while to get into the story but once I did I was hooked and am really looking forward to the other volumes in the series. Eternal's are people who appears almost vampire like, their blood rejuvenates them, they will live longer, be healthier. But in order to become eternal you must receive the alien virus, The internet can be plugged right into with wet ware. So we have Eternals, humans, virtual space, space travel and more all in a tightly written story packed with action.

Cast of Characters:
Zakariah Davis - Eternal, v-Space guru
Mia Davis - Eternal, wife of Zak, warrior
Rix David - human, son of Zak and Mia,
Jimmy - Zak's longtime friend and associate
Niko Davis - clone of namesake, sister to Zac
Phillip Davis - Zak's estranged father, power broker
Helena Sharp - rich, Director of the Eternal Research Institute
Dr. Silus Mundazo - Head researcher at the Eternal Research Institute
Colin7 - Clone of first human to have his intellect loaded into the machine
Colin McPherson - scientist, creator of wormhole technology, see above


This story revolves around Zakariah, and his story revolves around getting an activated sample of the virus for his son Rix. There is almost no length he will not go to; to protect his son in this way. Sometimes life get's far more complicated than we ever expect or plan and that is what has happened to Zak yet again. And as we will find out a number of people have been pulling strings to get Zak to help them with their plans and use the bait of the sample for his son.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
The premise of this book is intriguing - a virus of immortality is infecting the populace, but it doesn't pass from person to person in the normal way. One man infected with the virus sets out to seek its source to infect his son. In the process, he is running from those who would study the virus, those who want the virus for themselves, and those who are after him for illegally transporting grain.

The premise of this book is intriguing - a virus of immortality is infecting the populace, but it doesn't pass from person to person in the normal way. One man infected with the virus sets out to seek its source to infect his son. In the process, he is running from those who would study the virus, those who want the virus for themselves, and those who are after him for illegally transporting grain.

Some of the feel of this book reminds me of Tad Williams' "Otherland" series...but with quite a different writing style. Mr. Williams is not known for brevity of description. (Ha, ha!)

I agree with one reviewer who noted that even after reading the backstory I was wishing for more backstory. The action was so densely packed that I felt like I was riding a roller-coaster. Roller-coasters are fun, but in this case, I felt whisked past some of the more intriguing, deeper ideas and the character development in favor of more excitement. I like thrillers and books that build tension, but I do need some time to catch my breath from time to time! I just don't think this was the book for me.

I will, however, make sure that other people know about it - several people have seen me reading the book and have expressed interest in reading it.

I received a review copy for this book from the publisher.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By The Golden Reviewer on September 10, 2010
Format: Paperback
Zakariah and Mia Davis are Eternal - they have the alien virus - and will live forever. Their son Rix does not have the virus - he is human - subject to die like all humans. Zak will risk everything, even his own life. to get the alien virus for his son and give him Eternal life. Zak is a slider, a hacker, highly intelligent. He can and does create back doors into the system virtually going into cyberspace at will. Zak is wired for direct connection to global computer system where activities are conducted by avatars in virtual cyberspace. His avatar, business partner and surgical twin is Helena Sharp, Director of Eternal Research Institute (ERI).

Helena and Zak are going off planet through the McPherson Doorway to find the source of the virus. The mission goes terribly wrong and Zak is busted and burned. - he has been mind swept. All his memories are gone and he functions almost like a robot. He does not remember or recognize his wife and son. Mia is determined to winning back Zak's love and starting over.

You will thoroughly enjoy Zak's journey through cyberspace and his time in the belly of the beast. Stanton is an excellent writer of science fiction.

Highly recommended.

This book was provided by the publisher as a review copy.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
I'm not sure where to start with this one - probably because I was very lost at the beginning. I thought that perhaps I had picked up a second in a series, but I could find no reference to a first book anywhere. The book in a nutshell is vampires meet cyperspace, but this isn't clear at first.

The Eternals are somehow "chosen" to become immortal in a non-aging sense. People can link to cyberspace by hooking up with a cord coming out of their head which seems to be connected to microchips they have had implanted in their brain. Ok - so far I'm following, but then come the strange references to levels and ranks in the cyberworld with no real explanation of what they mean.

Now, if you take the Eternals and the cyberworld somewhat out of the equation, the realtionships between the people are fascinating. The story revolves around a father, mother, and son. The parents are both Eternals and are trying to find a way to "infect" their son as well. They travel to the ends of the known universe (literally) to try and find this virus. However, beyond this the relationship was rather odd. Perhaps as a result of being so virtual based, the family's responses to each other seemed overly strained and impersonal.

2/5
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again