Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, been waiting for the DVD release with anticipation!
Fantastic Film and great service in getting the DVD over here to me in Australia! Loved the way the film develops with little dialogue.
Published 16 months ago by Dawn China

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For Georgina Haig fans only
Georgina Haig may arguably be compelling enough to watch her shovel dog feces for an hour or so. If you agree you're in luck, because that's basically what this movie is. For disclosure purposes I should admit to only managing to get halfway through the film. Other than watching Georgina Haig herself, there was no character I cared about and nothing really interesting...
Published 11 months ago by Darrin D. Vernier


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For Georgina Haig fans only, August 7, 2013
This review is from: Crawl (Amazon Instant Video)
Georgina Haig may arguably be compelling enough to watch her shovel dog feces for an hour or so. If you agree you're in luck, because that's basically what this movie is. For disclosure purposes I should admit to only managing to get halfway through the film. Other than watching Georgina Haig herself, there was no character I cared about and nothing really interesting. It's not scary, just boring. The name 'Crawl' is evocative and appropriate because I felt as if I was crawling through the film in agony myself just trying to get to the end. Georgina's work in the last season of The Fringe was outstanding but even she couldn't single handedly save this project despite a valiant effort. If you're looking for something in which a smart director casts her in a great film this is unfortunately not it. If you're just looking for a Georgina Haig slide show you're all set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The Slow Burn aka Boring", February 21, 2013
This review is from: Crawl (Amazon Instant Video)
"Crawl" is an Australian Crime/Thriller that was picked up by Bloody-Disgusting Selects, for those who don't know Bloody-Disgusting is a horror website that also acquires foreign horror for American release. I've seen quite a few of the BD selects and for me they're usually a hit or miss. Brad Miska from Bloody-Disgusting says and I quote "This film is absolutely fantastic, and I guarantee you guys are going to dig it, especially if you like a good slow-burn!" with the slow burn part being absolutely true but is it indeed fantastic, well no not at all. Slow burn I've kind of figured out after a few films equals boring and "Crawl" is a boring movie.

A seedy club owner hires a Croatian cowboy hit man to dispose of a former friend and acquaintance with whom he had a falling out, presumably over money. Soon after the police are on the trail and suspect the club owner had something to do with it. The club owner discovers the cowboy is trying to set him up for the murder for unknown reasons and goes on the hunt to find him. The cowboy now on his way out of town by coincidence gets into a car accident and ends up at the home of one of the waitresses from the club and is now trying to find new means of transportation to escape.

I've heard people compare this to "No Country For Old Men" or a Coen Bros film which is nice but far from. It's not a horrible movie and the acting is just fine but no where in the film did I find anything fantastic. A few murder scenes with nothing special and weak suspense do not add up, the soundtrack wasn't bad but that doesn't make anything about "Crawl" fantastic. Overall I found "Crawl" to be quite boring at times but not as bad as some reviewers make it out to be, its mediocre at best, just another "ehhhh" film that if you skip you won't be missing anything special.

If you want to see some good BD Selects go watch "Cold Fish (Bloody Disgusting Selects)" or "Truth Or Die (Bloody Disgusting Selects)" which I think are the best two films they acquired!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CHOCOLATE, September 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crawl (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
This review is from: Crawl (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
George Shevtsov plays a slow and methodical Croatian hitman. Through circumstances he ends up broken down at Marilyn's (Georgina Haig) house. She is an employee of Slim (Paul Holmes) who hired "the Croat" to perform the hit. At this point we have the home break-in formula.

The film utilizes a 1950's suspense thriller soundtrack. There are attempts at dark comedy and symbolism that doesn't work too well. A quirky film that misses the mark.

Worth a rental.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex. Blurred shower nudity, spanking. Drug use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slow and Familiar, May 16, 2013
This review is from: Crawl (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
Marilyn Burns (Georgina Haig) is a waitress in a small town, waiting for her boyfriend Travis to come back. With a strange twist of fate, however, Marilyn Burns (yes, nod to a Tobe Hooper film) encounters someone else - someone just known as "The Stranger" (George Shevtsov), who has just finished his job. And he is a contract killer.

The measured pace and brooding mood of the Australian film may remind us of the Coen Brothers' film noir, and in some tense scenes the director's approach works, especially when Marilyn has to wait alone in a dim-lit room at night. But then we have to wait for something interesting to happen. It takes so long. When it does happen, with some unexpected moves on the part of the criminal, it is too late. The film is almost over.

"Crawl" spends so much time about characters' traits before furthering the story. The problem is, the characters are not very interesting, and the story doesn't have much to offer. These characters find themselves crossing paths while getting involved in a crime, but why should we care? The premise itself is not bad; it is the slow and heavy-handed narrative that kills it.

"Crawl" is generally atmospheric with some tense moments, but too slow and familiar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, been waiting for the DVD release with anticipation!, March 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crawl (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
Fantastic Film and great service in getting the DVD over here to me in Australia! Loved the way the film develops with little dialogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Diamond In The Rough!, March 1, 2014
By 
PR GUY "PR Guy" (Redlands, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crawl (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
The acting and storyline was superb! All 5 stars. George Shevtsov and Georgina Haig were excellent! I don't think I've enjoyed a psycho thriller as much as this with very little dialogue...just intense editing, cinematography and sound. This will take hold of you to the very end. I loved every moment. Chilling, riveting, believable and gruesome. What more can a horror/gore fan ask for? Great job Paul China.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie., July 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crawl (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
This is one great Movie. The story is good and it got a good flow all the way thru. AAAAAA++++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purpose of Purchase Fulfilled, October 10, 2013
By 
Daniel McCreedy (University Place, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crawl (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
The only reason I purchased this video was because I like to see performances by actor George Shevtsov. Otherwise I do not usually purchase horror films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This Time CRAWL To Me, May 13, 2013
By 
Aria Araya (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crawl (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
I always enjoy a good Aussie horror flick, and this wasn't too bad. I like the story, but the pace of it was too slow. There are certain horror flicks that work well when done like this, but this one isn't one of them. The character of "The Stranger" wasn't too believable for me. I mean, here's a guy that looks 60 yrs old, slow moving, but amazingly is strong enough to trek back and forth hundreds of yards wounded and bleeding. Now, I like his creepiness and very little dialogue as that adds to the mystery of his character. All in all, good enough to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crawl review excellent, April 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crawl (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
excellent movie for all movie lovers great suspense made on a small budget just goes to show waht you can achieve if you have the faith in your ability
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Crawl (Bloody Disgusting Selects)
Crawl (Bloody Disgusting Selects) by Paul China (DVD - 2013)
$6.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.