Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is easy to say, this flim will blow you away!
Tommy Lee Jones is at his insane and malevolent-genius best as Ryan Garrity, an escaped I.R.A. bomber. He has the film's most chilling line, when he calls Jeff Bridges and says "I've come to create a new country called chaos, and a new government called anarchy."
Great special effects, not in the bombs but the close ups of everyday devices we see (?) Garrity use to...
Published on November 18, 2001 by Eric V. Moye

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh well.
I do love Tommy lee jones, but I fell asleep during this one. It may not have picked up fast enough for me or maybe it is just too seemingly old for me to fall in love with. I may just have to give it another go.
Published 11 months ago by NicoleG


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is easy to say, this flim will blow you away!, November 18, 2001
By 
Eric V. Moye (New York, by way of Dallas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blown Away (DVD)
Tommy Lee Jones is at his insane and malevolent-genius best as Ryan Garrity, an escaped I.R.A. bomber. He has the film's most chilling line, when he calls Jeff Bridges and says "I've come to create a new country called chaos, and a new government called anarchy."
Great special effects, not in the bombs but the close ups of everyday devices we see (?) Garrity use to make his weapons. When the phone is reconnected, or the oven ignited, we know that a huge conflagration will follow. It is fascinating, and among the more gripping scenes of the movie.
Why the "pros' dog this out is beyond me. Neither it nor Jones are wacky. It is more spellbinding that just the reviews suggest.
The music of U-2 makes a great backdrop to the impending action. Forrest Whittaker and Lloyd Bridges make great supporting cast members.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat slow but entertaining nevertheless..., December 28, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Blown Away [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I very much enjoyed this film which I consider more of a drama/thriller than a pure action romp. Tommy Lee Jones is very hammy as a sadistic Irish bomber who likes to get things done loudly and violently. Jeff Bridges' Irish accent is terrible but I really enjoyed his character. I consider this one of the few action movies I've seen where I actually care about what happens to the characters and sympathize with their weaknesses. I also appreciate the fact that the movie gives the viewer time to breathe in-between exploding set pieces, (which are all well done). Something isn't going "Boom!" every ten minutes and the violence isn't that bad for an "R" rated movie. Largely an ignored piece of work which is too bad. It deserved better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Explosions Galore, May 11, 2001
By 
Joe J Barclay (Chula Vista, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blown Away (DVD)
Jimmy Dove (Jeff Bridges) is ready to give up his dangerous job on the Boston Bomb Squad and settle down with his girlfriend(Suzy Amis). Shortly after Jimmy accepts a teaching position a mad bomber strikes in Boston. When Jimmy discovers that the mad bomber is his former mentor(Tommy Lee Jones) he is forced back into the life he thought he left behind and his secret past is revealed.
This film takes off with an exciting prison break and never slows down. Jeff Bridges and Tommy Lee Jones are great in thier roles and have an excellent supporting cast including Forest Whitaker, Lloyd Bridges and Suzi Amis. I found this movie very tense and exciting. The only downside is the dvd it self. The disk only includes a theatrical trailer. You can watch the film in widescreen or standard with DD 5.1. All in all its a great movie for any thriller or action junkies like myself and is a steal at this low price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NONE BETTER, June 6, 2003
This review is from: Blown Away (DVD)
Even though there's only one 1-star review of this movie, I still saw a number of reviews that say that Blown Away has little or no plot and is mainly just action/explosions. Those reviews couldn't be farther from the truth.
Blown Away teaches a valuable lesson: its ok to put a friendship at stake if its for a good cause. When Jeff Bridges left Belfast, Northern Ireland and changed his name, it was after his former friend, played by Tommy Lee Jones, was put away in Castle Gleigh prison in Northern Ireland. It seems unrealistic to see Jones' character ever breaking out AND finding Bridges, but he uses his own talent with building explosive devices to escape prison and he spots Bridges, whose name changes from Liam McGivney to Jimmy Dove on the screen.
Without spoiling anything, Tommy Lee Jones' character, Ryan Gaerity, does kill friends of Jimmy Dove, and the deaths are followed by very well-crafted scenes that seem to convey the emotion, pain and suffering of Bridges very effectively.
Both Jones and Bridges are well-cast and suitable for their roles. They both portray the Irish descent very believably, especially Jones (who, in the same year, 1994, did a pretty bad job of trying to sound southern in the movie "The Client").
I saw this movie for the first time when I was 13, and at that time i wasn't supposed to be watching it because it was rated R, and now, at 20, I still watch it and consider it one of the most underrated movies ever just because critics think that the high presence of explosions takes away from the plot. Its a shame that it didn't get better reviews, but, Tommy Lee Jones went to Harvard to learn how to act, and he sure did a good job in this movie. He won a few awards as best villain, deservedly. Today, movies like "The Matrix," are bringing in millions for not having a plot. Go for "Blown Away." You'll be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXPLOSIVE, February 27, 2004
By 
This review is from: Blown Away (DVD)
The highlight of this pyrotechnically superb thriller is midway in the film when the audience and hero Jeff Bridges thinks a bomb has been placed in his home, to kill his new wife and daughter. The camera pans in on several normal things, with such intensity and ferocity, you're sure the house is gonna blow: a gas stove has never seemed so menacing.
While BLOWN AWAY doesn't have the most original of plots, it has a sincerity and intensity that buoy the movie along, with several expertly filmed sequences. Bridges rushing to save his two friends from an exploding truck; Bridges watching as his uncle (played by Lloyd Bridges) is wired to blow; the climactic explosion on the Dolphin--these are outstanding set pieces, expertly helmed by Stephen Hopkins.
Jeff Bridges is marvelous in his role, ably supported by his aformentioned father; Suzy Amis, Forest Whitaker and the devilishly profane Tommy Lee Jones.
Hold on to your seats and ignore the critics on this one---it delivers explosively!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big Booms and Great Acting!, March 10, 1999
This review is from: Blown Away (DVD)
If you like the "edge of your seat" blowing stuff up movies, then this one is for you! Sometimes you never knew when things would actually blow up because the director would tease you a little. Tommy Lee Jones did a great job with the accent and the "crazy" look that Gaerity had. I'd buy this movie again. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, June 28, 2014
This review is from: Blown Away (DVD)
Old school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, April 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blown Away (DVD)
GREAT MOVIE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Movie for everyone, March 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blown Away (DVD)
Movie was great. Had a lot of action in it and the plot was easy to follow. I could watch it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blown Away!, February 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blown Away (DVD)
DVD as described. Been looking for this DVD for a long time and glad I found it. Received in a reasonable amount of time and was a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Blown Away
Blown Away by Stephen Hopkins (DVD - 1997)
$20.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.