Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Eric Clapton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Outdoor Recreation SnS

Color: Blue|Change
Price:$5.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 22, 2013
This (apparently somewhat iconic) gum-like substance is a reusable, pressure-activated glue. It's no good at holding up heavy things, and it seems optimized for vertical (on the wall) mounting, but when it comes to holding up a few ounces of something on a wall or door, it's pretty impressive. I use it primarily to temporarily attach things to walls before pulling up my screwdriver and mounting them permanently.

As always, do bother to read the instructions. All that kneading and pressing really does make a difference. Don't assume it's obvious. And do roll it off the wall when you're done, don't pull.

Oh, and a little bit of this stuff does go a long way. Don't overdo it.

Cheers
-- perry
0Comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2009
This product has an alternate use: eraser for drawings. This works much like the tradional kneaded eraser commonly used by artists. But this material is stiffer and will hold a point and is stickier than the usual kneaded eraser. It is great for getting into tight spaces for lifting graphite and charcoal in your drawings. When rendering highly realistic art in these mediums I highly recommend that my students use this product.
44 comments|80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2010
An earlier review mentioned that this worked well for speakers. I'd like to elaborate. After testing many solutions for mounting speakers on stands, Stereophile magazine (which has no aversion to recommending fancy, expensive solutions) found that good ole inexpensive blu-tack was just fine sonically. In other words, not only does it keep your pets from knocking speakers off the stands (I have cats), your speakers will sound good too.
55 comments|64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2011
I highly recommend Blu-Tack if you want to securely couple your speakers to stands. For those who don't know, Blu-Tack is basically poster putty that is not widely available in the USA. Generic poster putty that you commonly find in the USA may appear similar but is not as firm as Blu-Tack and therefore won't hold things as well (too gooey).

I once used 4 small blobs of Blu-Tack to couple 12lbs bookshelf speakers to metal stands. I accidently bumped into a speaker and the stand fell over and hit the adjacent wall. The speaker was still attached! In fact, I had to use fishing line to cut the Blu-Tack in order to separate speaker from the stand. I won't pull off easily.
0Comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2011
Tried to use it to adhere a poster to the ceiling. Fell down when the weather got warm. Works fine on vertical surfaces.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2012
This stuff is easy to find in Europe - not so in the US. Very happy to find it on Amazon. Principally used for holding up posters (or notes on the fridge). Also works great keeping speakers on their stands - both for the sticking power and the vibration absorption. Good stuff.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2012
Title says it all. The only stuff that sticks and stays stuck. Tried the white putty from 3M. It held for about 2 days.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2009
This is great stuff for holding big speakers on speaker stands. Was worried about my dog knocking them off.

No worries now!
11 comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2013
I bought speaker stands for the rear channels in my 5.1 home theater system. The stands in question are the excellent VTI BLE101 Surround Sound Adjustable Speaker Stand - Black (also available in Silver) which I also reviewed, and the rear speakers are the Pioneer SP-BS22-LR Andrew Jones Designed Bookshelf Loudspeakers -- both excellent products as well, incidentally. Obviously I then needed a means to attach said speakers to said stands, both to protect the speakers (and our cat) and because speakers that simply rest on surfaces won't sound as good, particularly for bass. The reason is that speakers exhibit a "recoil" effect when playing bass, and if they're allowed to physically move when playing bass, the power of the bass output is diminished, whereas if they're fixed in place, it sounds stronger. In searching for how best to attach speakers to stands, I kept running across this product, even in fairly high-end enthusiast circles such as AVS Forum. I decided I'd much prefer this option to drilling screws up into the bottom of my new speakers or using double-sided tape to attach Velcro strips, so I bought a pack -- and it's worked perfectly, despite the fact that the SP-BS22-LR speakers at just over 9 lbs are on the heavy side for rear bookshelf speakers.

To mount speakers with this stuff, you basically break off a piece large enough that when you roll it into a ball, it's roughly the size of a pea -- a single pack of Blu-Tack has enough of the stuff for probably 16 speakers, by the way. Roll 4 of these pea-sized balls for each speaker (make sure they're as consistently sized as possible), and place a pea-sized ball on each of the 4 corners of the speaker, or if the speaker is larger than the stand plate, as close to the corner of each speaker as will still attach to the stand. Then place the speaker on the stand and press directly down on the top of the speaker with as much weight as you can for about 30 seconds; the balls should flatten out into discs at that point. Depending on the speakers and stands you have, it may be easier to place the speaker upside-down on the floor and press the stand down onto the speaker for this. But however you accomplish it, that speaker won't be going anywhere from that point onward.

To remove it later, the easiest method is to slide a thin knife under the speaker to the Blu-Tack discs, then gently remove the Blu-Tack from the speaker and stand once they've been separated. If the knife option won't work, gently apply alternating clockwise and counterclockwise twisting motions to the speaker, and you should slowly start to feel it giving away. DO NOT ROCK IT BACK AND FORTH OR SIDE TO SIDE! Blu-Tack is designed explicitly to prevent that type of motion, so if you try to remove it by rocking the speaker, you will likely tear the veneer off the bottom of it.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2015
Great Tac!
I bought this and a cheaper alternative (for half the price) and found that even though this one is more expensive, it was much more well worth it.
I needed less of this tac as it was much more sticky and doing its job better.

And the biggest reason is that once I had to take down my posters, I found that the cheaper tac was IMPOSSIBLE to scrape off the walls where as this one literally slipped right off with a little rolling pressure! I was simply amazed how well this was to remove and you can even reuse it!
The other cheaper tac ruined my wall and is still there. I have yet to find out what to do with it as it is a problem.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 27 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.