Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 5, 2010
Picture is clear on this DVD release. Several extras are included in a good looking sturdy box that will nicely protect the DVD's. Episode guide included on the sleeve. Box design is fairly slim and won't take up too much space on your shelf.

This is one of the best new shows out there. The whole cast is fantastic, especially Frank (Selleck) and Danny Reagan (Donnie Wahlberg). The episodes have been well written, the plots are excellent, great shots of New York City.

This show offers a nice mix of a police drama and a family drama. Each week the show just seems to keep getting better.

Looking forward to the Season 1 release!
11 comment| 115 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2010
This is one of the best new programs on the air this season ! The selection of parts for actors fits each character, and they blend personalities with the story line lending a dramatic portrayal of respect, duty, and honor to the reputation of any police department portrayed on television today.
0Comment| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Tom Selleck stars in "Blue Bloods", a new police procedural drama for the 2010-2011 season. Selleck plays Frank Reagan, veteran cop risen to Commissioner of the NYPD. He is also patriarch of a close-knit clan, including Donnie Wahlberg as son Danny, a hard-nosed detective; Bridget Moynahan as daughter Erin, an assistant district attorney and single mother; Will Estes as youngest son Jamie, a rookie cop; and Len Cariou as Frank's father Henry, himself a retired police commissioner.

The storylines typically involve a compelling crime of the week that manages to involve the whole family in some way, helped along with a generous helping of intergenerational family dynamics, often featuring sibling rivalries. The gracefully aging Selleck is spot-on as a widowed father trying to help his kids and grandkids navigate life's challenges.

A parallel theme is the mystery surrounding the missing Reagan, Frank's son Joe, a cop murdered on the job. Early in the season, the FBI reaches out to Jamie to be an undercover source against the Blue Templar, a secret police society gone bad. This theme will gather steam, leading to a dangerous and dramatic season finale.

"Blue Bloods: The First Season" is highly recommended as good entertainment; this reviewer hopes for a second season.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2011
Blue Bloods is such a breath of fresh air! Something positive on television for a change - a strong and close family with honor! It would be difficult to go wrong with Tom Selleck and Donnie Wahlberg, but even the supporting cast is excellent. The show deals with difficult and heavy issues from murder to terrorism to corruption, etc. but somehow you always feel uplifted at the end as the family comes together, often with the generations gathered around the dinner table. Tom Selleck (Frank Reagan) is the NYC Police Commissioner, Donnie Wahlberg (Danny) plays his son and a detective, a daughter is an attorney in the DA's office, another son is a rookie on the force and so on. They do their jobs with pride and professionalism and their family bond is strong. Highly recommend this series!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2010
I was drawn to this series by Tom Selleck. It looked stronger than other series coming out of the starting gate, incorporating elements of Charles Bronson's Family Of Cops as well as Hill Street Blues, one of the best police series ever. The dialogue and acting will become more natural as the cast and crew gain experience. Some of the police work is absurdly miraculous. One senses that the original scripts called for a couple hours per episode, and someone gave the order to snip them down to twenty minutes, thus robbing stories of smoother development. This feeling is particularly strong in an episode that pays tribute to officers affected by the tragedies that occurred on 911.

I like the inter-generational aspect that touches on issues pertaining to the changing nature of police work. If you like police drama with some "police humor," check it out!
88 comments| 78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2011
I agree with other reviewers that Blue Bloods is the best new series this past season. Not only the best "cop" series, but the best series period. Tom Sellack is much better here than he ever was in Magnum, PI! I guess being quite a bit older now, he has also matured greatly in his acting. Aging works in acting as well as in fine wine?
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2011
I have followed the concept write-ups and CBS (Network TEN here in Australia) promotion of "Blue Bloods", and it gives me great pleasure in saying that the tone of this new drama (created by Mitchell Burgess and Robin Green, executive producers of "SouthLAnd"; and executive produced by Leonard Goldberg) offers something very special to those of us who reminisce and crave a return to the days defining Robert J. Thompson's second golden age of television drama - I am thinking of Steven Bochco classics like "Hill Street Blues" and "Brooklyn South"; and the lesser known, but one which I hold fond memories of, "Our Family Honor". I highly, highly, highly recommend it!!!! And I look forward to the DVD!!!!
22 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2011
We didn't know what to expect in this new series, but it is a wonderful show, and we try to never miss a single episode.
A pleasant surprise is former heartthrob Tom Selleck, who lends real dignity to the role of Commissioner.
Today's issues are deal with in an even-handed manner, and the characters voice opinions that ring true.
The writing is tight and tense. The viewer cares about the outcome.
Note to Hollywood: there really are families out there like the one in this series--loyal, loving, close, but not perfect.
We need to see more of them portrayed.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2011
This is one a the few series out today that keeps the family values in the story line of a family of police officers. The dynamic of even the small kids having their say at the Sunday dinner table with all the family present from Great Grandpa to the grand kids manages to keep a realatively realistic story. Three generations of police officer who stand up for what they believe in and hold those they work with to those same standards. The characters of the Grandfather and father show thier love for their lost wives by visiting their graves and keeping them very much alive as a shinning example of how they are able to keep the idea of family alive yet move about their every day living as police officers and attorneys without being drawn into the ugliness of the job. They can share the joy of young kids, and the annoyances, the holidays shared, the time to allow the teen to fly guardedly from the nest and still make time to listen to each others questions in how they cope with life on the uglier side of New York streets. Great drama, cudoes to the writing staff such a great show, Tom Selleck is the focal character or the tree with the other members being the limbs and grandpa being the roots of the family that ties traditions with honor.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2015
I love this show!! I have watched it from inception and have not really been disappointed. I love the family storyline thread that runs through the episodes. I love that the female characters are smart, strong and just as capable as the male leads. (this is sadly rare in tv). I enjoy the family dinners as well and how they support each other!

Tom Selleck is always good! I am enjoying watching this series on Prime.

My only complaint is that It was wrong for CBS let Jennifer Espsito go. I thought she was a good part of the show and an excellent partner to Danny.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.